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Dear Commissioner:

			

We are submitting the forms reference above for your approval. These forms are new and are not intended to replace

any other forms currently in use.

The enclosed forms are designed to provide group term life, accidental death and dismemberment, short term disability

income and long term disability income coverage in the following manner:

 

1.	On a direct issue basis.  The policy form will be issued in your state to groups recognized as eligible for group

insurance in accordance with state insurance laws, rules and regulations, i.e. employer groups, union groups, trustee

groups, etc. 

 

2.	On an out-of-state group trust basis.  Coverage may be offered in your state to participating employers under a policy

issued to a multiple employer trust sitused in Rhode Island. The trustee/policyholder for these funds is BankNewport,

located at 747 Aquideneck Ave, Middletown, Rhode Island 02842.

 

This policy will be used with group application form XGR/2812, which was approved by your Department on September

11, 2009 (Arkansas file number 43398).

 

With regard to marketing information, this program will be offered on a contributory or non-contributory basis, where the

insured may be required to contribute none, all, or a portion of the premium.  Coverage will be marketed through

agent/broker solicitation.

 

These forms are exempt from filing in our domiciliary state, Michigan.

 

The forms are in final print, subject to minor variations in formatting, duplexing, shading and fonts.  Any items intended

to be variable are bracketed.  As a point of information, variable data may vary from case to case.  For example, the

nature and structure of a group may require that certain terms be changed to fit the specific group.  Amounts may vary

or provisions may be modified to fit a specific policyholder’s request.  There may be other variations that may be

changed as a result of negotiations between the policyholder and the Company.  Please be assured that variable data

will never exclude or limit provisions required by the jurisdiction in which the group policy is issued.  With respect to

mandated requirements, benefits greater than the mandates may be provided, where permitted.
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We request the Department's approval of the enclosed forms.  If you have any questions or comments regarding this

submission, please contact me.

 

Sincerely,

James Crowley

Telephone:  (860) 737-1310

Email: james.crowley@sunlife.com

 

 

Company and Contact

Filing Contact Information

James Crowley, Compliance Consultant James.Crowley@sunlife.com

175 Addison Road 800-451-2513 [Phone]  1310 [Ext]

P.O. Box 725 860-737-6598 [FAX]

Windsor, CT 06095-0725

Filing Company Information

Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada CoCode: 80802 State of Domicile: Michigan

175 Addison Road Group Code: 549 Company Type: 

Windsor, CT  06095 Group Name: State ID Number: 

(860) 737-1000 ext. [Phone] FEIN Number: 38-1082080

---------

Filing Fees

Fee Required? Yes

Fee Amount: $50.00

Retaliatory? No

Fee Explanation: Policy form filing x $50 = $50

Per Company: No

COMPANY AMOUNT DATE PROCESSED TRANSACTION #

Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada $50.00 10/07/2009 31110306
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Dispositions
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Approved-

Closed

Rosalind Minor 10/14/2009 10/14/2009
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[ ] 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 
 
Policyholder: [ABC COMPANY, INC.] 
 
Policy Number: [12345] 
 
Policy Effective Date: [January 1, 2009] 
 
Policy Anniversary: [January 1, 2010] 
 
[Policy Amendment Effective Date: [June 1, 2009]] 
 
This Policy is delivered in [State] and is subject to the laws of that jurisdiction.  Premiums are due and payable 
[monthly] on the [first] day of each [month].  Policy anniversaries will be annual beginning on [January 1, 2009]. 
 
Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada (“Sun Life”) agrees to pay the benefits in accordance with all provisions 
provided by this Policy for [[Employee] Basic Life, [Employee] Optional Life, Dependent Basic Life, Dependent 
Optional Life, [Employee] Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment, [Employee] Optional Accidental Death 
and Dismemberment, Dependent Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Dependent Optional Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment, Short Term Disability, Long Term Disability Insurance and Dental Insurance.] This 
Policy is issued in consideration of the Application of the Policyholder, and continued payment of premiums by 
the Policyholder.  The following pages including the Certificate, any Riders, Endorsements or Amendments are a 
part of this Policy. 
 
For the purpose of effective dates and termination dates under this Policy, all days begin at 12:00 midnight and 
end at 11:59:59 p.m. 
 
Signed at Sun Life’s U.S. Headquarters, One Sun Life Executive Park, Wellesley Hills, MA 02481. 
 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

[ ] 
     [Donald A. Stewart, Chief Executive Officer] 
 

 
PLEASE READ YOUR POLICY CAREFULLY 
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In this section, Sun Life defines some basic terms needed to understand this Policy.  All male terms include 
the female term, unless stated otherwise. 
 
For purposes of this Policy: 
 
Application means the document pertaining to the plan of insurance applied for by the Policyholder.   
 
Certificate means a written booklet prepared by Sun Life which includes any Riders, Endorsements or 
Amendments, containing a summary of: 
1. the insurance benefits an [Employee] is entitled to; 
2. to whom the benefits are payable; and 
3. any limitations, exclusions or requirements that may apply. 
 
Eligible Classes means the class(es) eligible for insurance as shown in the Benefit Highlights section of the 
Certificate(s). 
 
Eligibility Date means the date or dates an [Employee] in an Eligible Class becomes eligible for insurance under 
this Policy.  Classes eligible for insurance are shown in the Benefit Highlights section of the Certificate(s). 
 
[Eligible Employer means an Employer that is participating in the Trust.]   
 
[Employee] means a person who is employed by the Employer [within the United States [or Canada,]] scheduled 
to work at least the number of hours shown in the Benefit Highlights, and paid regular earnings [, who has 
provided the Employer with sufficient and authentic documentation establishing eligibility for employment in the 
United States as required under the Immigration Reform and Control Act, 8 U.S.C. 1324a(b)(1), who is not an 
"unauthorized alien" as defined by 8 U.S.C. 1324a(h)(3)].   

 
[If an [Employee] who is a citizen of [the United States [or Canada],] is working on temporary assignment outside 
of the United States [or Canada] for [12 months] or less, the [Employee] will be deemed to be working within [the 
United States [or Canada]]. [If an [Employee] who is a citizen of [the United States [or Canada]], is working on a 
temporary assignment outside of the United States [or Canada] for more than [12 months], the [Employee] will 
not be considered an [Employee] under the Policy unless Sun Life approves the [Employee’s] eligibility under the 
Policy [in writing].] [If an [Employee] who is not a citizen of [the United States [or Canada]] and the [Employee] 
is working on temporary assignment outside of the United States [or Canada], the [Employee] will not be 
considered an [Employee] while working on the temporary assignment].] 
 
[For the purposes of the Group Policy, [Employee] also means a person who receives an IRS 1099, as well as any 
[physician] [proprietor] [and] [partner], if applicable, to the extent the individual is [scheduled to work] [actually 
working] for the Employer at least the number of hours shown in the Benefit Highlights, and is paid regular 
earnings from the Employer.]]   
 
Employer means [ABC Company] [an Employer that is participating in the Trust named on the policy face page] 
and includes any Subsidiary or Affiliated company named in the Application. 
 
[Employer’s Effective Date means the date the Employer becomes a participant in the Trust and a covered 
Employer under the Policy.] 
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Grace Period means the [31 days] following a premium due date. 
 
Policyholder means the entity to whom the Policy is issued. 
 
U.S. Headquarters means Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada, Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts   02481. 
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Certificates 
 
The certificate(s) and any Certificate Amendment forms providing [Group Life, Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment, Short Term Disability or Long Term Disability] as applicable to each Employer that are 
attached to the Policy are hereby incorporated in and made part of this Policy. 
 
The following items found in the Certificate and/or any Certificate Amendment will control: 
 

1. Benefit Highlights 
 

2. Eligibility and Effective Dates  
 

3. Termination of Insurance 
 

4. Benefit Provisions 
 

5. Claim Provisions 
 

6. General Provisions 
 

7. Definitions 
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[Termination of Policy 
 
This Policy will terminate for any of the following reasons: 
 
1. Failure to pay any premium due before the expiration of the Grace Period.  
 
2. The Policyholder may terminate this Policy by advance written notice delivered to Sun Life at least [31 

days] prior to the termination date.  This Policy will not terminate during any period for which premium 
has been paid.  The Policyholder will be liable to Sun Life for all premiums due and unpaid for the full 
period this Policy is in force 

 
3. Sun Life may terminate this Policy on any premium due date by giving written notice to the 
 Policyholder at least [60 days] in advance if: 

a.     the number of insured [Employees] is less than [10]; or 
 b. less than [100%] of the [Employees] eligible are insured [for Non-Contributory Insurance;] or 
 c. less than [75%] of the [Employees] eligible are insured [for Contributory Insurance;] or 
 d. the Policyholder fails to: 

i. furnish promptly any information Sun Life may reasonably require; or 
ii. perform any other obligations pertaining to this Policy 

 
[4. Sun Life may terminate this Policy on [any policy anniversary] by giving written notice to the 

Policyholder at least [60 days] in advance.] 
 
Termination of this Policy may take effect on an earlier date when both the Policyholder and Sun Life agree.] 
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[Termination of the Employer’s Participation in the Trust 
 
An Employer’s participation in the Trust and under this Policy will terminate for any of the following reasons: 
 

1. Failure to pay any premium due before expiration of the Grace Period. 
 

2. The Employer may terminate its participation in the Trust by advance written notice delivered to Sun Life 
at least [31 days] prior to the termination date.  The Employer’s participation in the Trust will not 
terminate during any period for which premium has been paid. The Employer will be liable to Sun Life 
for all premiums due and unpaid for the full period during which the Employer is a participant in the 
Trust.  

 
3. Sun Life may terminate the Employer’s participation in the Trust on any premium due date by giving 

written notice to the Employer at least [60] days in advance if: 
 

a. the number of insured [Employees] is less than [10]; or  
b. less than [100%] of the [Employee]’s eligible are insured [for Non-Contributory Insurance;] or 
c. less than [75%] of the [Employees] eligible are insured [for Contributory Insurance;] or  
d. the Employer fails to: 

 i furnish promptly any information Sun Life may reasonably require; or 
 ii perform any other obligations pertaining to its participation in the Trust. 

 
[4. Sun Life may terminate the Employer’s participation in the Trust on [any Employer Plan Anniversary 

Date] by giving written notice to the Employer at least [60 days] in advance.] 
 
Termination of the Employer’s participation in the Trust may take effect on an earlier date when both the 
Employer and Sun Life agree.] 
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Termination of Benefit Provision 
 
A Benefit Provision will terminate for any of the following reasons: 
 
1. The [Policyholder] may terminate a Benefit Provision by advance written notice delivered to Sun Life at 

least [31 days] prior to the termination date.  The Benefit Provision will not terminate during any period 
for which premium has been paid.  The [Policyholder] will be liable to Sun Life for all premiums due and 
unpaid for the full period that Benefit Provision is in force. 

 
2. Sun Life may terminate a Benefit Provision on any premium due date by giving written notice to the 

[Policyholder] at least [60 days] in advance if:  
 a. the number of insured [Employees] for that Benefit is less than [10]; or 
 b. less than [100%] of the [Employees] eligible for that Benefit are insured [for Non-Contributory 

Insurance;] or  
 c. less than [75%] of the [Employees] eligible for that Benefit are insured [for Contributory Insurance;] 

or 
 d. the [Policyholder] fails to furnish promptly any information Sun Life may reasonably require 
 
3. Sun Life may terminate any Benefit Provision on [any policy anniversary] by giving written notice to the 

[Policyholder] at least [60 days] in advance. 
 
Termination of a Benefit Provision may take effect on an earlier date when both the [Policyholder] and Sun Life 
agree.
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A. Statements 
 
 All statements made in any Application are considered representations and not warranties.  No representation 

by: 
 
 1. the [Policyholder] in applying for this Policy will render it void unless the representation is contained in 

the Application; or 
 
 2. any [Employee] in applying for insurance under this Policy will be used to reduce or deny a claim 

unless a copy of the [Employee’s] written application for insurance is or has been given to the 
[Employee] or the [Employee’s] beneficiary, if any. 

 
B. Entire Contract - Policy Changes 
 
 1. This Policy is the entire contract.  It consists of: 
 
  a. all of the pages of the Policy; 
  b. the Application of the [Policyholder] [each Eligible Employer]; 
  c. each [Employee’s] written application for insurance ([Employee] retains his own copy); 
  d. any Certificates incorporated and made a part of this Policy. 
 
 2. This Policy may be changed in whole or in part.  Only an officer of Sun Life may approve a change.  

The approval must be in writing and [endorsed on or attached to] [becomes a part of] this Policy. 
 
 3. No other person, including an agent, may change this Policy or waive any part of it. 
 
C. [Employee’s] Certificate 
 
 Sun Life will provide a Certificate to the Policyholder for delivery to each [Employee].  The Certificate is 

intended to provide an explanation of the Policy benefits. 
 
D. Furnishing of Information - Access to Records 
 
 1. The [Employer] will furnish at regular intervals to Sun Life: 
 
  a. information relative to individuals: 
     i. who qualify to become insured; 
    ii. whose amounts of insurance change; and/or 
   iii. whose insurance terminates. 
 
  b. any other information about this Policy that may be reasonably required. 
 

The records which, in the opinion of Sun Life, are material to the insurance, will be opened for inspection 
by Sun Life at any reasonable time. 
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 2. Clerical error or omission will not: 
  a. deprive an individual of insurance; 
  b. affect an individual’s amount of insurance; or 
  c. effect or continue an individual’s insurance which otherwise would not be in force. 
 
 The Policyholder or Employer’s failure to report notice or proof of claim in a timely manner shall not 

constitute clerical error. 
 
E. Misstatement of Facts 
 
 If relevant facts about any individual were not accurate: 
 1. an equitable adjustment of premium will be made; and 
 2. the true facts will be used to determine if and in what amount insurance is valid under this Policy. 
 
 If the amount of the benefit is dependent upon an individual’s age, (as shown in the Benefits Highlights), the 

benefit will be the amount an individual would have been entitled to if his correct age was known. 
 
 If an adjustment results in a refund of premium, the refund will not exceed a period of more than [12 

months]. 
 
F. Legal Proceedings 
 
 No legal action may start: 
 1. until [60 days] after Proof of Claim has been given; nor 
 2. more than [3 years] after the time Proof of Claim is required. 
 
G. Agency 
 
 For all purposes of this Policy, the Policyholder [or third party administrator] acts on its own behalf or as an 

agent of the [Employee].  Under no circumstances will the Policyholder [or third party administrator] be 
deemed an agent of Sun Life. 

 
H. Incontestability 
 
The validity of this Policy shall not be contested, except for non-payment of premium, after it has been in force 
for two years from the Policy Effective Date. 
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A. Premium Rates 
 
 Sun Life determines its initial or any subsequent [monthly] premium rate on the basis of the coverage being 

provided.  After the initial [monthly] premium rate has been in effect until [12 months from January 1, 2009], 
Sun Life has the right to recalculate any premium rate. However, Sun Life has the right to recalculate the 
initial or any subsequent [monthly] premium rate when any of the following occurs: 

 
 1. the terms of this Policy are changed, including but not limited to the benefits shown in the Benefit 

Highlights; or 
 2. a new Division, Subsidiary or Affiliated Company of the [Policyholder] is added to or deleted from this 

Policy; or 
 3. the number of [Employees] insured changes by [25%] or more from the number of [Employees] insured 

on the [Policy] [Participating Employer’s] Effective Date or the immediately preceding [Policy] 
[Employer] Anniversary Date;] or 

 4. one or more class(es) are added to or deleted from this Policy. 
 

 [No premium rate may be increased unless Sun Life notifies the [Policyholder] at least [31 days] in advance of the 
increase.  Premium rate increases may take effect on an earlier date when both Sun Life and the [Policyholder] 
agree. 

 
B. Payment of Premiums 
 
 1. All premiums due under this Policy, including adjustments, if any, are payable by the [Employer] on or 

before the respective due dates at Sun Life’s U.S. Headquarters or at another location designated by Sun 
Life.   

 
 2. The premiums due under this Policy on each premium due date are based upon the premium rates in 

effect for the benefit provided.  The premium due is the sum of the [monthly] premiums for all insured 
[Employees] [and Dependents] for all benefits. [For benefits based on the [Employee’s] salary, the 
premiums due under this Policy on each premium due date are based on each [Employee’s] salary as of 
[January 1st] each year.  The premium due for employees hired after [January 1st] of each year and before 
the next following [January 1st] will be based on the [Employee’s] salary on his or her effective date of 
insurance. The premium due for [Employees] that change classes after [January 1st] of each year will be 
based on the [Employee’s] salary on the effective date of the change in class.] 

  
 3. Premiums payable to Sun Life will be paid in United States dollars [and Canadian dollars] [and Canadian 

dollars at the accepted daily rate of exchange], on the premium due date. 
 
 [4. The premium for additional or increased insurance becoming effective during a Policy month will be 

charged from the next premium due date. 
 
 5. The premium for insurance terminated during a Policy month will cease at the end of the Policy month in 

which such insurance terminates.] 
 
 [6. The premium for additional, increased, reduced or terminated insurance will cause a pro-rata adjustment 

on the next premium due date.]  
 
 [7]. Except for fraud, premium adjustments, refunds or charges will be made for only: 
  a. the current Policy Year; and 
  b. the prior Policy Year. 
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C. Grace Period 
 

The Grace Period is [31 days] following a premium due date.  During the Grace Period the Policy shall 
continue in force, unless the Policyholder has given Sun Life written notice to discontinue this Policy.  In any 
event, premiums are payable for any period of time the Policy remains in force. 

 
[D.   Experience Rating Refund 
 
 On each Policy Anniversary a retrospective experience rating refund process is applied to the [[Employee] Life 

and Dependent Life Insurance].  Sun Life allots to this Policy such amount, if any, as Sun Life determines to be 
available as a refund as a result of that process.  Sun Life reserves the right to change the basis of that process.] 

 
 
 
 



SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

POLICY AMENDMENT 
 

Effective [January 1, 2009], Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada issues this Amendment to be attached to and 
form part of Group Policy No. [12345] issued to [ABC Company]. 
 
 
The Policy is changed as follows: 
  

[The name of the Policyholder as set forth on the Policy face page is changed to read: 
Policyholder:   <New Name> 
Notice is hereby acknowledged by Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada that all right, title and interest of <old 
name> in and to the group policy has been assigned to <new name>. 
It is hereby agreed that said <new name> will assume the rights and obligations of said <old name> under the 
policy and that the policy will continue in force and effect.] 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Nothing contained in this Policy Amendment will be held to affect any of the terms of the Group Policy other than as 
stated herein.   
 
 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

  [ ] 
 [Donald A. Stewart, Chief Executive Officer] 
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Employee Group Benefits 
 

UNDERWRITTEN BY 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 
Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada certifies that it has issued and delivered a Group Insurance Policy to 
the Policyholder shown below [insuring certain Employees of the Employer shown below]. 
 

POLICYHOLDER:  [ABC COMPANY, INC.] 
 

[[EMPLOYER]:  ABC EMPLOYER] 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

[All Salaried Employees] 
 

 
GROUP POLICY NUMBER:  [12345] 

 
[EMPLOYER’S EFFECTIVE DATE: [January 1, 2009] 

 
[CERTIFICATE] EFFECTIVE DATE: [January 1, 2009] 

 
[CERTIFICATE AMENDMENT EFFECTIVE DATE: [June 1, 2009] 

 
This Group Certificate cancels and replaces any prior Certificate issued to you that describes any 
coverage shown in this Certificate. 
 
This Group Certificate contains the terms of the Group Policy that affect your insurance.  This Group 
Certificate is part of the Group Policy. 
 
[This Group Certificate is governed by the laws of Rhode Island, which is the state of issue of the Group 
Policy.] 
 
 

[Group [Voluntary] Life] 
[Group [Voluntary] Accidental Death and Dismemberment]  

[Group [Voluntary] Short Term Disability] 
[Group [Voluntary] Long Term Disability] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
          [Logo]



 

Welcome to Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada (“Sun Life”).  Sun Life is pleased to be your 
Employer’s insurance carrier for the benefits provided in this Group Certificate.  The description of 
Eligible Classes in the Benefit Highlights will help you determine what benefits apply to you. 
 
The Certificate is intended to provide a summarized explanation of the current Group Benefits. In the 
event of any changes in benefits or group provisions, you will be provided with a new Certificate or 
supplement which describes any changes. 
 
Possession of this Certificate does not necessarily mean you are insured under the Group Policy. The 
requirements for becoming eligible for insurance and the dates your insurance begins or ceases are 
explained within this Certificate. 
 
This Certificate uses insurance terms and phrases that are listed in the Definitions Section. 
 
For information, call the Sun Life Group Customer Service Center toll free at [1-800-247-6875] [or 
Medical Group Insurance Services (MGIS) toll-free at 1-800- 969-6447].  
 
 

NOTICE TO CERTIFICATEHOLDER 
(APPLICABLE TO ARKANSAS RESIDENTS ONLY) 

 
 
THIS NOTICE IS TO ADVISE YOU THAT SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR 
COMPLAINTS REGARDING YOUR SUN LIFE GROUP INSURANCE PLAN, YOU MAY CONTACT 
THE FOLLOWING: 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
GROUP CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER SC1219 

U.S. HEADQUARTERS OFFICE 
ONE SUN LIFE EXECUTIVE PARK 

WELLESLEY HILLS, MA   02481 
 

 Phone: [(800) 247-6875] 
 
ALSO AVAILABLE TO YOU IS THE CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION OF THE ARKANSAS 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT: 
 

ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION 

1200 WEST THIRD STREET 
LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201-1904 

 
Phone:  (501) 371-2640 OR (800) 852-5494 

Fax:  (501) 371-2749 
Email:  insurance.consumers@arkansas.gov 

mailto: insurance.consumers@arkansas.gov�
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[EMPLOYEE [BASIC] [LIFE] [AND] 

[ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D)] INSURANCE] 
 
ELIGIBLE CLASSES 
 
 [Employee [Basic] [Life] [and [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment] Insurance] 
 
 [All active [full-time] [United States] Employees [working in the United States] who are regularly 

scheduled to work at least [30] hours per week.] 
  
 [Employee [Optional] [Life] [and Accidental Death and Dismemberment] Insurance] 
  
 [All active [full-time] [United States] Salaried Employees [working in the United States] who are 

enrolled in Employee Basic Life Insurance and who are regularly scheduled to work at least [30] 
hours per week.] 

 
[BASIC [LIFE] INSURANCE] 
 
[CLASSIFICATION 
 

1. Officers 
2. Managers 
3. All other Employees] 

 
   [LIFE]     [AD&D] 

 
1. [[2] times your Basic [An amount equal to your 
 Annual Earnings*] amount of [Basic] 
  Life Insurance in force] 
 
2. [[1.5] times your Basic [[2.5] times your Basic 
 Annual Earnings*] Annual Earnings*] 
 
3. [$20,000] [$20,000] 
 

   [LIFE]     [AD&D] 
 
[You may elect one 
of the following Options: 
 
[Option I] [$50,000] [None] 
   
[Option II] [1 times your Basic [2 times your Basic 
 Annual Earnings*] Annual Earnings*]] 
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[OPTIONAL [LIFE] INSURANCE] 
 
[CLASSIFICATION 
 
1. Officers 
2. Managers 
3. All other Employees] 

   [LIFE]     [AD&D] 
 
 
[All Eligible Employees [You may elect 1, 2, 3, 4 or   [You may elect 1, 2, 3, 4 or 
 5 Times your Basic Annual  5 times your Basic Annual  
 Earnings.] Earnings.]] 
 
[*rounded to the [next higher $1,000] [, if not already a multiple of $1,000]]  
 
[The [Basic] [Optional] Maximum Benefit [for Class 1] is [$150,000].] 
 
[The Combined Maximum Benefit for Basic and Optional Life Insurance combined [for classes 1 and 
2] is the lesser of: 

- your Basic Life Insurance added to your Optional Life Insurance; or 
- [3 times your Basic Annual Earnings; or] 
- [$100,000.]] 

 
[The Minimum Benefit [for [Basic] Life Insurance] is [$50,000].] 
 
[(Applicable to Employees hired on or after January 1, 2009 [and Employees in the Waiting Period on 
January 1, 2009])] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for [Basic] [and] [Optional] Life Insurance [combined] is [the lesser of:] 
- [$150,000][; or] 
- [[2] times your Basic Annual Earnings.] 
 
[(Applicable to Employees insured for [Basic and/or Optional] Life Insurance on [December 31, 2008])] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Basic and Optional Life Insurance is the total amount of [Basic and 
Optional] Life Insurance you had in force on [December 31, 2008] [or the Guaranteed Issue Amount 
shown above, whichever is greater].]  
 
[Your amount of [Basic and Optional] Life [and Accidental Death and Dismemberment] Insurance will 
reduce [to] [67%] when you reach age [70], [to] [50%] when you reach age [75], and [to] [25%] when you 
reach age [80].]  
 
[Your [Basic] Life [and [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment] Insurance terminates at your 
retirement, unless you are eligible for Retiree [Basic] Life [and [Basic] Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment] Insurance.] [Your [Basic] [and] [Optional] Life [and [Basic and Optional] Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment] Insurance terminates at your retirement.] 
 

 [Evidence of Insurability satisfactory to Sun Life will be required if: 
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[- you elect no coverage and later elect [Basic] Life Insurance; or] 
[- you elect [Basic] Life Insurance only and later elect [Optional]Life Insurance [in excess of 

[$10,000]]; or] 
[- you elect an increase in your amount of [Optional] Life Insurance [in excess of [$10,000]; or] 
[- you elect an amount of [Basic] Life Insurance in excess of [1] times your Basic Annual Earnings; or] 
[- you elect an amount of [Basic] Life Insurance [in excess of one level]; or*] 
[- your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance is in excess of the Guaranteed Issue Amount; or] 
[- any subsequent increase which exceeds [the greater of] [$20,000] or [15%] [of your amount of 

[Basic] Life Insurance] if, after the increase, your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance is in excess of the 
Guaranteed Issue Amount; or] 

[- you decline enrollment in your Employer’s medical plan and later enroll in your Employer’s medical 
plan].]  

 
[*However, your Evidence of Insurability will not be required if you elect [Optional] Life Insurance 
within [31 days] following a Family Status Change. 
 
Family Status Change means: 

- your marriage; or 
- birth of your child; or 
- your adoption of a child].] 

 
[*However, you may elect to increase your amount of [Optional] Life Insurance by [$10,000] without 
Evidence of Insurability only once during any [12 month] period [or within [31 days] following a Family 
Status Change. 
 
Family Status Change means: 

- your marriage; or 
- birth of your child; or 
- your adoption of a child].] 
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[RETIRED EMPLOYEES [(Basic Life Insurance only)]] 
 
CLASSIFICATION 
 
[All [United States] Employees who retire at age [55] or over with [5] or more years of service with the 
Employer] 
 
 [LIFE] 
 
 [[50%] of your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance 
  in force on the day before your Retirement.] 
 
[Your amount of Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance will reduce [to] [67%] when you reach age [70], [to] [50%] 
when you reach age [75], and [to] [25%] when you reach age [80].]] 
 
[Your amount of Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance terminates at age [70].] 
 
[RETIRED EMPLOYEES  
 
CLASSIFICATION 
[Class A Hourly Employees] 
 
[Class B Salaried Employees] 
 
[Class C All Employees] 
 
 
[BASIC] [OPTIONAL] [LIFE] INSURANCE 
 
 
 
Class A 
 
 
 
 
Class B 
 
Class C 
 

[LIFE] 
 

[[50%] of your amount of 
[Basic] Life Insurance in force 
on the day before your 
retirement] 
 
[$25,000] 
 
[$10,000] 

[AD&D] 
 

 [An amount equal to your  
amount of Retiree [Basic] Life 
Insurance in force] 
 
 
[$25,000] 
 
[$10,000] 
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[Your amount of Retiree [Basic] [and Optional] Life [and [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance] will reduce [to] [67%] when you reach age [70], [to] [50%] when you reach age [75], and [to] 
[25%] when you reach age [80].]] 
 
[Your amount of Retiree [Basic] [and Optional] Life and Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
terminates at age [85].] 
 
You must elect Retiree [Optional] Life Insurance within [31 days] following Retirement. 
 
[You may not elect Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance later than [31 days] following Retirement, nor reinstate 
terminated coverage.]  
 
[You must elect Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance in order to elect Retiree [Optional] Life Insurance.] 
 
[You may decrease your amount of Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance.  You may not elect to increase your 
amount of Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance [unless satisfactory Evidence of Insurability is submitted to Sun 
Life].] 
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[DEPENDENT [SPOUSE] [BASIC] [LIFE] [AND] 
[ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D)] INSURANCE] 

 
[(Applicable only if you elect spouse and/or child insurance)] 

 
ELIGIBLE CLASSES 
 
 [Dependent [Basic] [Life] [and [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment] Insurance] 
 
 [All active [full-time] [United States] Employees [working in the United States] who are enrolled 

in Employee Basic Life Insurance and who are regularly scheduled to work at least [30 hours] per 
week.] 
 
[All Employees who retire at age [55] or over with [5] or more years of service with the Employer] 

 
 [Dependent [Optional] [Life] [and [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment] 

Insurance] 
 
 [All [United States] active [full-time] [United States] Salaried Employees [working in the United 

States] who are enrolled in Employee Optional Life Insurance and who are regularly scheduled to 
work at least [30 hours] per week.] 

  
 [All [United States] Employees who retire at age [55] or over with [5] or more years of service with 
 the Employer who elect Optional Life Insurance.] 
 
 DEPENDENT [[BASIC] [LIFE] INSURANCE] 
 
CLASSIFICATION 
 
[Class A Hourly Employees] 
 
[Class B Salaried Employees] 
 
[Class C Retired Employees] 
 
CLASS 
 
[A] 
 
[B] 
 
 
 
[C] 

[Spouse] 
 

 [$10,000] 
 

[[50%] of your 
amount of [Basic] Life 
Insurance in force] 
 

[$5,000] 

[Child under age [19]**] 
 

 [$5,000*] 
 

 [[25%] of your  
amount of [Basic] Life 
Insurance in force] 
 

[$2,000] 
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[You may elect one of the following Options:] 
 
 
 
[Option I] 
 
 [Option II] 
 
 
 
 
[Option III] 
 
 

[Spouse] 
 

 [$10,000] 
 

[You may elect an amount of 
Dependent spouse [Basic] Life 
Insurance in [$10,000] 
increments.] 
 
[[50%] of your  
Basic [Annual Earnings*]] 

[Child under age [19]**] 
 

 [$5,000*] 
 

[You may elect an amount of 
Dependent child [Basic] Life 
Insurance in [$2,500] 
increments.*] 

 
 

$[5,000]  
 

[The Dependent spouse [Basic] Maximum Benefit is [$50,000]] 
 
[The Dependent child [Basic] Maximum Benefit is [$10,000]] 
 
[You may elect] [Your Dependent [spouse] is also insured for] an amount of [Basic] Accidental Death 
and Dismemberment Insurance that equals your Dependent [spouse’s] amount of [Basic] Life Insurance 
in force.] 
 
[*the amount of Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance for your child [under 15 days] is [none].] 
[*the amount of Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance for your child [age 15 days but] under [6] [months] is 
[$1,000].] 
 
[**to age [23] if your child is an enrolled full-time student [and depends on you for [50% or more of] the 

child’s financial support].] 
 
[(The amount of Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance cannot exceed [[50%] of] your amount of [Basic] Life 
Insurance).] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amounts [for Employees hired on or after January 1, 2009] [and Employees in 
the Waiting Period on January1, 2009] for Dependent spouse [Basic] Life Insurance are as follows: 
 
 [AGE GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT 
 
 [Under age [60]  [$10,000] 
 [Ages [60 to 69]]  [$5,000] 
 [Ages [70 to 79]]  [$2,500] 
 [Ages [80 or over]]  [none]] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Employees insured for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance 
[on December 31, 2008] is the amount of Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance you had in force on 
[December 31, 2008] [or the Guaranteed Issue Amount shown above, whichever is greater].] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount [for Employees hired on or after [January 1, 2009] [and Employees in 
the Waiting Period on January 1, 2009] for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance] is [$10,000].] 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Employees insured for Dependent child [Basic] Life Insurance [on 
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December 31, 2008] is the amount of Dependent child [Basic] Life Insurance you had in force on 
[December 31, 2008].] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount [for Employees hired on or after [January 1, 2009] [and Employees in 
the Waiting Period on January 1, 2009] [for Dependent child [Basic] Life Insurance] is [$10,000].] 
 
[[OPTIONAL [LIFE] INSURANCE] 
 
CLASSIFICATION 
[Class A1]  [Salaried Employees [enrolled in Employee Optional Life Insurance]] 
 
[Class A2] [Hourly Employees [enrolled in Employee Optional Life Insurance]] 
 
[Class A3] [Retired Employees [enrolled in Employee Optional Life Insurance]] 
 
CLASS 
 
[A1] 
 
 
 
 
[A2] 

Spouse 
 

[You may elect an amount of 
Dependent spouse [Optional] Life 
Insurance in [$25,000] 
increments.] 
 
[You may elect an amount of 
Dependent spouse [Optional] Life 
Insurance in [$10,000] 
increments.] 

 

Child under age [19]** 
 
[You may elect an amount of 
Dependent child [Optional] Life 
Insurance in [$2,500] 
increments.*] 
 

 [$5,000*] 
 

[You may elect one of the following options:] 
 
 
 
[Option I] 
 
[Option II] 
 
 
 
[Option III] 
 
 
[Option IV] 
 
 
 

Spouse 
 

 [$10,000] 
 

[[50%] of your  
amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance in force.] 

 
[[50%] of your  
Basic [Annual Earnings.*]] 
 
[[50%] of your  
amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance in force.] 
 

Child under age [19]** 
 

 [$5,000*] 
 

 [[25%] of your  
amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance in force.*] 

 
[$5,000] 
 
 

[[25%] of your  
amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance in force.*] 

 
 

[The Dependent spouse [Optional] Maximum Benefit is [$50,000].] 
 
[The Dependent child [Optional] Maximum Benefit is [$10,000].] 
 
[You may elect] [Your Dependent [spouse] is also insured for] an amount of [Optional] Accidental Death 
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and Dismemberment Insurance that equals the Dependent [spouse]’s amount of [Optional] Life Insurance 
in force.] 
 
[*the amount of Dependent [Optional] Life Insurance for your child under [15 days] is [none.] 
[*the amount of Dependent [Optional] Life Insurance for your child [age 15 days but] under [6 months] is 

[$1,000].] 
 
[**to age [23] if your child is an enrolled full-time student [and depends on you for [50%] or more of the 

child’s financial support].] 
 
[(The amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance cannot exceed [[50%] of] your [total] 
amount of [Basic and] [Optional] Life Insurance [combined])] 
 
[(Applicable to Employees hired on or after January 1, 2009 [and Employees in the Waiting Period on 
January 1, 2009]).] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amounts for Dependent spouse [Optional] Life Insurance are as follows: 
 
 [AGE GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT]  
 
  [Under age [60]]   [$10,000] 
  [Ages [60 to 69]]  [$5,000] 
  [Ages [70 to 79]]  [$2,500] 
  [Ages [80 and over]]  [$1,000]] 
  
[(Applicable to Employees insured for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance on [December 31, 
2008].] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance is the amount of 
Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance you had in force on [December 31, 2008] [or the 
Guaranteed Issue Amount shown above, whichever is greater].] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Employees insured for Dependent child [Optional] Life Insurance 
on [December 31, 2008] is the amount of Dependent child [Optional] Life Insurance you had in force on 
[December 31, 2008].] 
 
[The Guaranteed Issue Amount [for Employees hired on or after the [January 1, 2009] [and Employees 
in the Waiting Period on January 1, 2009] [for Dependent child [Optional] Life Insurance] is [$10,000].] 
 
[[Your amount of Dependent spouse [Optional] [Life] [and [Optional] Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment] Insurance reduces [to] [67%] when [you reach] [your Dependent spouse reaches] age 
[70], [to] [50%] when you Dependent spouse reaches age [75], and [to] [25%] when your Dependent 
spouse reaches age [80].] 
 
[Your amount of Dependent spouse [Optional] [Life] [and [Optional] Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment] Insurance cancels when [your Dependent spouse reaches [you reach] age [70].] 
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[Evidence of Insurability, satisfactory to Sun Life, will be required for your Dependent [spouse] if: 
 
[- you elect no coverage and later elect Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance and /or Dependent 

[spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance [in excess of one option]; or] 
[- you elect Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance only and later elect Dependent [spouse] 

[Optional] Life Insurance [in excess of [$10,000]]; or] 
[- you elect no Dependent Life coverage and subsequently elect Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life 

Insurance; or] 
[- you elect Employee [Basic] Life Insurance only and later elect Employee [Optional] Life Insurance 

and Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance; or] 
[- you elect to increase your amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance [in excess of 

[$5,000] [one level]; or] 
[- your amount of [Optional] Life Insurance for your Dependent [spouse] is in excess of the Guaranteed 

Issue Amount; or] 
[- any subsequent increase results in an amount which exceeds [the greater of] [$20,000] or [15%]] [of 

your Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance] if, after the increase, your amount of Dependent 
[spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance is in excess of the Guaranteed Issue Amount.]] 

[- you decline enrollment in your Employer’s medical plan for dependent coverage and later enroll in your 
Employer’s medical plan for dependent coverage.] 

 
[* However, Evidence of your Dependent’[spouse]’s Insurability will not be required if you elect [an 
increase in your amount of] Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance by [$10,000] only once during 
any [12 month] period, or you elect the increase within [31 days] following a Family Status Change.] 
 
[Family Status Change means: 

- your marriage; or 
- birth of your child; or 
- your adoption of a child.] 

 
[*However, you may elect to increase your amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance by 
[$10,000] without Evidence of your Dependent [spouse]’s Insurability only once during any [12 month] 
period.] 
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[SHORT TERM DISABILITY INCOME INSURANCE 
 
ELIGIBLE CLASSES 
 
[All active full-time [United States] Employees [working in the United States] who are regularly scheduled 
to work at least [30 hours] per week.] 
 
[CLASSIFICATION 
 
[Class A]   [All Salaried Employees] 
[Class B]   [All Hourly Employees] 
 
AMOUNT OF INSURANCE 
 
[A] 
[a. The Weekly Benefit is: [[66 2/3%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings,   
  not to exceed the Maximum Weekly Benefit, [less Other Income   
 Benefits].] 
 
b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is: [$1,000]. 
 
c. [The Guaranteed Issue Amount is: [$500].] 
 
[B] 
a. The Weekly Benefit is: 
 

 [i. [100%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings for the first [4 weeks] of 
 STD benefit payments [less Other Income Benefits].] 
[ii. [80%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings for the next [5 weeks] of 
 STD benefit payments [less Other Income Benefits].] 
[iii. [66 2/3%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings for the remaining STD 
 benefit payments [less Other Income Benefits].] 
 

[b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is:  
 
[i [$2,000] for the first [4 weeks] of STD benefit payments.]  
[ii [$1,000] for the next [5 weeks] of STD benefit payments.] 
[iii. [$500] for the remaining STD benefit payments.]] 
 

b. [The Maximum Weekly Benefit is:  [$1,000].] 
 
c. [The Guaranteed Issue Amount is:  [$500].] 
 
 [The Guaranteed Issue Amount [for Class A] [for Employees] insured on [December 31, 2008] is 
 the amount of Short Term Disability Income Insurance you had in force on [December 31, 2008] 
 [or the Guaranteed Issue Amount shown above, whichever is greater].] 
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[The Guaranteed Issue Amount for Short Term Disability Income Insurance is the amount of Short Term 
Disability Income Insurance you had in force on [December 31, 2008] [or the Guaranteed Issue Amount 
shown above, whichever is greater].] 
 
[Note: Your amount of insurance is also subject to reductions for your employment earnings.] 
 
[The Minimum Weekly Benefit is [$35] [or [10%] of your Gross Weekly Benefit, whichever is greater.]] 
 
[Your Evidence of Insurability, satisfactory to Sun Life, will be required for any amount of insurance in 
excess of your Guaranteed Issue Amount.] 
 
[STD Benefits payable for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-Existing Condition 
Limitation: 
 
The Weekly Benefit is: 
 

the lesser of [$50] or [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Weekly STD Benefit, [less Other Income 
Benefits]; 
 

The Maximum Benefit Period for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-existing 
Conditions Limitation is: 

 
 [5 weeks].] 

 
[STD Benefits payable for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-Existing Condition 
Limitation: 
  
The Weekly Benefit is: 
 

[i. [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings for the first [13 weeks] of STD 
 benefit payments, not to exceed the Maximum Weekly Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits]. 
ii. [60%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly Earnings for STD benefit payments after the 
the first [13 weeks] of benefit payments, not to exceed the Maximum Weekly Benefit, [less Other 
Income Benefits].] 
 

The Maximum Weekly Benefit for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-Existing 
Condition Limitation is: 
 
 i [$300] for the first [13 weeks] of STD benefit payments. 
 ii. [$500] for STD benefit payments, after the first [13 weeks] of benefit payments.] 
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[Core Plan 
 
[Class A All Employees] 
 
 a. The Benefit Percentage is [66 2/3%] of your Total Weekly Earnings.    
  
 b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is [$1,000].  
 
[Buy-Up Plan 
 
[Class A All Employees] 
 
 a. The Benefit Percentage is [70%] of your Total Weekly Earnings.    
  
 b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is [$2,000].  
 
You may enroll in either the Core Plan or the Buy-Up Plan. You may not enroll in both plans. [The Buy-Up 
Plan includes the Core Plan amount.] 
 
[You may elect one of the following options: 
 
Option I 
 
 a. The Weekly Benefit is:  [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly  
   Earnings [less Other Income Benefits].  
  

b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is:  [$1,000] [less Other Income Benefits]. 
 
 c. [The Guaranteed Issue Amount is: [$500]] 
 
Option II 
 
 a. The Weekly Benefit is:  [60%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly  
   Earnings [less Other Income Benefits]. 
  

b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is: [$2,000] [less Other Income Benefits]. 
 
 c. [The Guaranteed Issue Amount is: [$500]] 
 
Option III 
 
 a. The Weekly Benefit is:  [70%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Weekly  
    Earnings [less Other Income Benefits].   
  

b. The Maximum Weekly Benefit is:  [$5,000] [less Other Income Benefits].  
  
 c.  [The Guaranteed Issue Amount is:  [$500]]. 
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[Evidence of Insurability satisfactory to Sun Life will be required if: 
[- You elect an increase in your amount of Short Term Disability Insurance; or]  
[- Your amount of Short Term Disability Insurance is in excess of the Guaranteed Issue Amount; or]  
[- You elect no coverage and later elect Short Term Disability Insurance; or]  
[- You elect the Core Plan and later elect the Buy-up Plan.]]  
[- You elect an increase in your amount of Short Term Disability Insurance in excess of one option.]  

 
Elimination Period 
 
(The period of time you need to be continuously Totally [or Partially] Disabled before STD benefits are 
payable.) 
  

[For an Injury [, or if your Total [or Partial] Disability 
occurs within [72 hours] [30 days] after an accident.] 

[None] [, or to the end of your 
[salary continuation] period, 
whichever is longer.] 

 
[For Sickness [, or if your Total [or Partial] Disability 
begins later than [72 hours] [30 days] after an accident.] 

 
[7 days] [, or to the end of your 
[salary continuation] period, 
whichever is longer.] 

 
[For Hospital Confinement [, or for an Outpatient 
Surgical Procedure which necessitates a Total [or 
Partial] Disability period of at least [24 hours] following 
surgery.]  

 
[None] [, or to the end of your 
[salary continuation] period, 
whichever is longer.] 

 
Maximum Benefit Period 
 
(The longest period of time Sun Life will pay you a STD benefit while you are Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled.) 
 
 [26 Weeks] 
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 [LONG TERM DISABILITY INCOME INSURANCE 
 
ELIGIBLE CLASSES 
[All full-time active [United States] Salaried Employees [working in the United States] who are regularly 
scheduled to work at least [30 hours] per week.] 
 
[CLASSIFICATION 
[Class A All Eligible Employees] 
  
AMOUNT OF INSURANCE 
 
[The Monthly Benefit is:] 
 
[The lesser of:]  
 [60%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, not to exceed the Maximum Monthly 
 Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits [other than Family Social Security] [; or 

 [70%] ([Integrated] Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [not to exceed the Maximum 
Monthly Benefit,] less Other Income Benefits [including Family Social Security].] 
 

The Maximum Monthly Benefit is [$5,000].] 
 
[For the first [12 months] of LTD benefit payments the Monthly Benefit is: 
 
[Option I:] [[50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, not to exceed the Maximum 

Monthly Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits [other than Family Social Security].] 
[Option II:] [[60%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, not to exceed the Maximum 

Monthly Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits [other than Family Social Security].] 
 
After the first [12 months] of LTD benefit payments the Monthly Benefit is: 
 

 [[20%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, not to exceed the Maximum  
 Monthly Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits [other than Family Social Security].]  

 
[The lesser of:  
 
 [[20%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, not to exceed the Maximum Monthly 

 Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits [other than Family Social Security] [; or 
 [[50%] ([Integrated] Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [not to exceed the Maximum 

Monthly Benefit,] less Other Income Benefits [including Family Social Security]. ] 
  

- the Maximum Monthly Benefit is [$10,000]. 
 

[- the Guaranteed Issue Amount is [$2,000].] 
 

[The Guaranteed Issue Amount [for Class A] [for Employees] insured on [December 31, 2008] is the 
amount of Long Term Disability Income Insurance you had in force on [December 31, 2008] [or the 
Guaranteed Issue Amount shown above, whichever is greater].] 
[LTD Benefits payable for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-existing Condition 
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Limitation: 
[The greater of [$50] or [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Monthly LTD Benefit, [less Other 
Income Benefits]. 
 

The Maximum Benefit Period for Total or Partial Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-existing 
Conditions Limitation is: 

[12 months].] 
 
[LTD Benefits payable for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-existing Condition 
Limitation: 
 

[i. [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings for the first [12 months] of LTD   
  benefit payments, not to exceed the Maximum Monthly Benefit, [less Other Income Benefits].] 

[ii. [60%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings for LTD benefit payments after the first 
[12 months] of LTD benefit payments, not to exceed the Maximum Monthly Benefit, [less Other Income 
Benefits].] 

 
[The Maximum Monthly Benefit for Total [or Partial] Disabilities that are subject to the Pre-existing 
Condition Limitation is: 
 
 i. [$2,000] for the first [12 months] of LTD benefit payments. 
 ii. [$5,000] for LTD benefit payments after the first [12 months] of LTD benefit payments .] 
 
[Core Plan]  
 
[You may elect one of the following Options:] 
[Option I] 
 
a. [50%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [not to exceed the Maximum Monthly  
  Benefit,] [less Other Income Benefits] [other than Family Social Security].] 
 
b. the Maximum Monthly Benefit is [$5,000]. 

 
c. [the Guaranteed Issue Amount is [$2,000].] 
 
[Option II] 
 
a. [50%] (Integrated Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [not to exceed the Maximum  
 Monthly Benefit,] [less Other Income Benefits] [other than Family Social Security].] 
 
a. [60%] (Integrated Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [less Other Income Benefits] 

[including Family Social Security].] 
 
b. the Maximum Monthly Benefit is [$10,000]. 
 
[c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount is [$6,000].] 
[Buy-Up Plan 
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a. [[70%] (Benefit Percentage) of your Total Monthly Earnings, [not to exceed the  
 Maximum Monthly Benefit,] [less Other Income Benefits]. 
 
b. the Maximum Monthly Benefit is [$12,000.] 

 
[c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount is [$8,000].] 
 
You may enroll in either the Core Plan or the Buy-Up Plan. You may not enroll in both plans. [The Buy-Up 
Plan includes the Core Plan Amount.]] 
 
[Evidence of Insurability satisfactory to Sun Life will be required for any of the following reasons:  
[- You elect an increase in your amount of Long Term Disability Insurance; or] 
[- Your amount of Long Term Disability insurance is in excess of the Guaranteed Issue Amount; or] 
[- You elect no coverage and later elect Long Term Disability Insurance; or] 
[- You elect the Core Plan and later elect the Buy-up Plan; or] 
[- You elect an increase in your amount of Long Term Disability Insurance in excess of one option.]  
 
[Note: Your amount of insurance is also subject to reductions for your employment earnings.] 
 
The Minimum Monthly Benefit is [$50] [or [10%] of your Gross Monthly Benefit, whichever is greater].] 
 
Elimination Period 
(The period of time you need to be continuously Totally [or Partially] Disabled before LTD benefits are 
payable) 
 
 [[3 months] [or to the end of your [Short Term Disability] Maximum Benefit Period, whichever is 

later.] 
 
Maximum Benefit Period 
(The longest period of time Sun Life will pay you an LTD benefit while you are Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled) 
 
[Your Maximum Benefit Period is the lesser of [5 years] or the period shown below.] 
 
 [Age at Disability  Maximum Benefit Period 
 
 [Less than age 60 To age 65, but not less than 60 months 
  60   60 months 
  61   48 months 
  62   42 months 
  63   36 months 
  64   30 months 
  65   24 months 
  66   21 months 
  67   18 months 
  68   15 months 
  69 and over   12 months]] 
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[Age at Disability  Maximum Benefit Period 
 
[Less than age 60  To age 65, but not less than 5 years 
 
60-64    5 years, but not beyond the attainment of age 70 
 
65 or over   1 year or to age 70, whichever is later.]] 
 
 
[Your Maximum Benefit Period is the period shown below or your Normal Retirement Age under the 1983 
amendments to the Federal Social Security Act, whichever is longer.] 
 
 [Age at Disability Maximum Benefit Period 
 
 [Less than age 60 To age 65, but not less than 60 months 
  60  60 months 
  61  48 months 
  62  42 months 
  63  36 months 
  64  30 months 
  65  24 months 
  66  21 months 
  67  18 months 
  68  15 months 
  69] and over  12 months]] 
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 [Year of Birth  Normal Retirement Age 
 

Before 1938 Age 65 
  1938  Age 65 and 2 months 
  1939  Age 65 and 4 months 
  1940  Age 65 and 6 months 
  1941  Age 65 and 8 months 
  1942  Age 65 and 10 months 
 1943 through 1954  Age 66 
  1955  Age 66 and 2 months 
  1956  Age 66 and 4 months 
  1957  Age 66 and 6 months 
  1958  Age 66 and 8 months 
  1959  Age 66 and 10 months 
 After 1959  Age 67] 
 
 
 [Age at Disability Maximum Benefit Period 
 
 [Less than age 61  60 months 
  61  54 months 
  62  48 months 
  63  42 months 
  64  36 months 
  65  30 months 
  66  27 months 
  67  24 months 
  68  21 months 
  69] and over  18 months]] 
 
 
[Age at Disability  Maximum Benefit Period 
 
[Less than age 64 36 months 
 64  30 months 
 65  24 months 
 66  21 months 
 67  18 months 
 68  15 months 
 69 and over 12 months]] 
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 [Age at Disability  Maximum Benefit Period 
 
[Less than age 66 24 months 
 66  21 months 
 67  18 months 
 68  15 months 
 69 and over 12 months]] 
 
 
[Maximum Benefit Period 
 
[24 months] 
 
[Age at Disability  Maximum Benefit Period 
 
 [Less than age 60] [Lifetime]] 
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[WAITING PERIOD  
 
(The period of time you must be employed in an Eligible Class before you can apply for benefits) 
 
 [Salaried Employees – [1] month] 
 [Hourly Employees – [3] months]] 
 
[CONTRIBUTIONS 
 
[Salaried Employees] 
 
[The cost of your [[Basic] Life, [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment and Long Term Disability 
Insurance is paid for entirely by your Employer.] [This is your non-contributory insurance.] 
 
[However, you may elect to contribute to the cost of your Long Term Disability Insurance.] 
 
[The cost of your [Short Term Disability Insurance is shared by both you and your Employer.] [This is your 
contributory insurance.] 
 
[The cost of your [Dependent [Optional] Life Insurance is paid for entirely by you.] [This is [also] your 
contributory insurance.]] 
 
[Hourly Employees] 
 
[The cost of your [[Basic] Life, [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment is paid for entirely by your 
Employer.] [This is your non-contributory insurance.] 
 
[The cost of your [Short Term Disability Insurance and Long Term Disability Insurance is shared by both 
you and your Employer.] [This is your contributory insurance.] 
 
[The cost of your [Dependent [Optional] Life Insurance is paid for entirely by you.] [This is [also] your 
contributory insurance.]] 
 
The following Questions and Answers will help you to better understand your benefits. 
 
Please read them carefully and refer any questions to your Employer or call the [Sun Life Group Customer 
Service Center toll free at [1-800-247-6875] [or [Medical Group Insurance Services (MGIS)] toll-free at  
1-800- 969-6447].
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When am I eligible for insurance? 
 
If you are in an Eligible Class shown in the Benefit Highlights, you are eligible on the later[est] of: 
[- [January 1, 2009] [for Life Insurance]; or 
[- [June 1, 2009] [for Long Term Disability Insurance]; or 
[- your Employer’s Effective Date as specified in Attachment A for your Employer; or] 
[-  the first day of the month following your date of employment [for Class A]]. 
[- the date you enroll in your Employer’s [Medical Plan] [for Class A]]. 
[- the first day of the month coincident with or next following] the [date] [day after] you complete your 

Waiting Period.] 
 
[When must I apply for insurance? 
 
You must apply within [31 days] of the date you become eligible.] 
 
When does my insurance start? 
 
[[For non-contributory insurance,] your insurance starts on the date you are eligible, if you are [Actively at 
Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date.] 
 
[[For contributory insurance,] your insurance starts on the later of: 
- the date you apply; or 
- the date you are eligible [; 
if you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date].] 
 
[What happens if I do not apply within [31 days]? 
 
Your insurance will start on the date Sun Life approves your Evidence of Insurability, if you are [Actively at 
Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date.] 
 
[What if I am [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined]? 
 
If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date your insurance would normally start, your 
insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer Hospital Confined].] 
 
[What happens if I do not want my insurance? 
 
You need to sign a form refusing your insurance. This form is available from your Employer.] 
 
[If you decide later you want [Life] Insurance, Sun Life must first approve your Evidence of Insurability.]] 
 
[If you choose to limit all or a part of your [Basic] Life Insurance due to tax or other reasons, you must sign a 
form refusing that amount of insurance.  If you later decide to increase your [Optional] Life Insurance, Sun 
Life must first approve your Evidence of Insurability.] 
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[When do changes in my amount of insurance occur? 
 
If your amount of insurance increases due to a change in your [salary or class], your increase will take effect 
[immediately], as long as: 
- [you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date; and] 
- [Evidence of Insurability is not required for the increase in your amount of insurance.] 

 
[If your amount of insurance decreases due to a change in your [salary, class or age], the decrease will take 
effect [immediately].] 
 
[If Evidence of Insurability is required for any increase in your amount of insurance, the increase in your 
insurance will not start until Sun Life approves the increase, but you need to be [Actively at Work] [not 
Hospital Confined] on that date.] 
 
[If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date an increase in your insurance would 
normally start, the increase in your insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer 
Hospital Confined.]] 

[What happens if I am rehired by my Employer? 
 
[If you are rehired by your Employer within [6 months] of the date your employment terminates, [due to lay 
off], your coverage may be reinstated. If your coverage is reinstated, your reinstated coverage will: 
 

1. be the same amount for which you were insured prior to termination of employment; 
2. [be subject to Evidence of Insurability if you apply for an increase in your amount of insurance after 

your coverage is reinstated;]  
3. [be subject to a new Pre-existing Condition Exclusion if your Injury or Sickness began during the 

period of time between the date your employment terminated and the date you are rehired;] 
4. be subject to all the terms and provisions of the Group Policy. 

 
[You will [not] be subject to a new Pre-existing Condition [Exclusion] as of the date you are rehired.] [You 
will be given credit for the time you were insured prior to your termination of employment] 
 
[If you had partially satisfied your Waiting Period prior to your termination of employment, your previous 
time employed with your Employer will [not] count towards completion of your Waiting Period.]  [Your 
Eligibility Date will be the later of the date you are rehired or the day after you complete the Waiting 
Period.] 
 
If you are rehired by your Employer [6 months] or later after the date your employment terminates, your 
coverage will not be reinstated. You will be eligible for insurance on the day after you complete a new 
Waiting Period. 
 
[You must re-enroll for any amount of Contributory insurance within [31 days] of your rehire date.]] 
 
[Coverage will not be reinstated for any amount of insurance which you converted in accordance with the 
Conversion Privilege or continued under the [Portability Provision], unless you cancel such coverage.] 
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[What happens if I am rehired by my Employer? 
 
[If you are rehired by your Employer within [6 months] of the date your employment terminates, [due to lay 
off], your coverage may be reinstated. If your coverage is reinstated, your reinstated coverage will: 
 

1. be the same coverage amount in force on the date of your termination of employment; 
2. not be subject to any Evidence of Insurability, unless you elect to increase coverage; and 
3. be subject to all the terms and provisions of the Group Policy. 
 

Coverage will not be reinstated for any amount of insurance which you: 
1. converted in accordance with the Conversion Privilege; or 
2. continued under the Portability Provision; 

 unless you cancel such coverage.]  
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When am I eligible for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
If you are in an Eligible Class shown in the Benefit Highlights and you have a Dependent [spouse], you are 
eligible on the latest of: 
- [the date you are insured [for Employee [Basic ] Life Insurance] [for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life 

Insurance; or]  
- [the date you are insured [for Employee [Optional] Life Insurance] [for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] 

Life Insurance; or]  
- [January 1, 2009] [for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance]; or 
[- the date you enroll in your Employer’s Medical Plan for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] coverage [for 
 Class A]; or 
- the date you first acquire a Dependent [spouse] for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance].] 
 
[When must I apply for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance? 
 
You must apply for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance within [31 days] of the date you become 
eligible for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance.] 
 
When does the insurance for my Dependent [spouse] start? 
 
[[For non-contributory insurance.] If your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined, the insurance for 
your Dependent [spouse] starts on the date you are eligible for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance.] 
 
[[For contributory insurance.] Your Dependent [spouse] insurance starts on the later of: 
- [the date you are eligible for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance; or] 
- the date you apply for Dependent [Basic] [spouse] Life Insurance;  
as long as your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined on that date. 
 
[What happens if I do not apply within [31 days]? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will start on the date Sun Life approves your Dependent [spouse]’s 
Evidence of Insurability, if your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined on that date.] 
 
[Do I need to enroll each Dependent? 
 
[If you have already applied for Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance, each subsequent Dependent is 
automatically enrolled, as long as your Dependent is not Hospital Confined on the date your Dependent 
becomes a Dependent.] 
 
[(For Dependent Optional Life Insurance)] Yes, you do need to enroll each Dependent before that 
Dependent can become insured.] [However, if you have enrolled your Dependent child, all subsequent 
children will be automatically insured on the date you acquire the Dependent child as long as the Dependent 
child is not Hospital Confined on that date.] 
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What if my Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance would 
normally start, your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until your Dependent [spouse] is no longer 
Hospital Confined. [Hospital Confined does not apply to a newborn child.] 
 
[What happens if I do not want Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
You need to sign a form refusing your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance. This form is available from your 
Employer. 
 
If you decide later that you want Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance, Sun Life must first approve 
your Dependent [spouse]’s Evidence of Insurability before your Dependent [spouse] can become insured.] 
 
[When do changes in my Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance occur? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance increases, your Dependent [spouse]’s increase will take 
effect [immediately], as long as: 
- your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined[; and 
- Evidence of Insurability is not required for the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of 

insurance.] 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance decreases, the decrease will take effect [immediately].] 
 
[If Evidence of Insurability is required for any increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance, 
the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until Sun Life approves the increase, but 
your Dependent [spouse] cannot be Hospital Confined on that date.] 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date an increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s 
insurance would normally start, the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until your 
Dependent [spouse] is no longer Hospital Confined.]] 
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When am I eligible for insurance? 
 
If you are in an Eligible Class shown in the Benefit Highlights, you are eligible on the later[est] of: 
[- [January 1, 2009] [for Life Insurance]; or 
[- [June 1, 2009] [for Long Term Disability Insurance]; or 
[- your Employer’s Effective Date as specified in Attachment A for your Employer]; or 
[- the date you enroll in your Employer’s [Medical Plan] [for Class A]; or 
[- the first day of the month coincident with or next following] the [date] [day after] you complete your 

Waiting Period.] 
 
[When am I eligible for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance? 
 
[If you are in an Eligible Class shown in the Benefit Highlights and you have a Dependent [spouse], you are 
eligible on the latest of: 
- [the date you are insured [for Employee [Basic] Life Insurance] [for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life 

Insurance; or]  
- [the date you are insured [for Employee [Optional] Life Insurance] [for Dependent [spouse] 

[Optional] Life Insurance; or]  
- [January 1, 2009] [for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance]; or 
[- the date you enroll in your Employer’s Medical Plan for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] coverage [for 

Class A]; or 
- the date you first acquire a Dependent [spouse] for Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance]; or 
[- your Employer’s Effective Date as specified in Attachment A for your Employer].] 
 
When must I apply for insurance? 
 
You must apply for insurance during your Initial Enrollment Period. 
 
When is my Initial Enrollment Period? 
 
If you are eligible for insurance on [January 1, 2009] your Initial Enrollment Period is the period [from 
November 1, 2008 through November 30, 2008] as designated by your Employer. 
 
If you first become eligible for insurance after [January 1, 2009], your Initial Enrollment Period is the [31 
days] immediately [after] your Eligibility Date. 
 
When does my insurance start? 
 
Your insurance starts on the date you are eligible on or after the date you apply for your insurance, if: 
- you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date [; and   
- Evidence of Insurability is not required]. 

 
[If Evidence of Insurability is required for any amount of insurance, your insurance will not start until Sun 
Life approves your insurance, but you need to be [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date.] 
 
What if I am [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date my insurance starts? 
 
If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date your insurance would normally start, your 
insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer Hospital Confined]. 
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What happens if I do not apply during the Initial Enrollment Period? 
 
[If you do not apply for insurance during your Initial Enrollment Period, you will [be automatically enrolled 
in Basic Life Insurance.] [You will not be automatically enrolled for [Long Term Disability Insurance].] 
 
[If you do not apply for insurance during your Initial Enrollment Period, you will not be insured.] 
 
[When does my Dependent [spouse]’s insurance start? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse] [Optional] insurance starts on the later of: 
- [the date you are Eligible for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance; or] 
- the date you apply for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance [; or  
- the date Sun Life approves your Dependent [spouse]’s Evidence of Insurability (if required;] 
as long as your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined on that date.] 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance would 
normally start, your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until your Dependent [spouse] is no 
longer Hospital Confined.] [Hospital Confined does not apply to a newborn child.] 
 
[If you do not apply for Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance during your Initial Enrollment Period, 
your Dependent [spouse] will not be insured.] 
 
Can I make any changes in my Plan Options? 
 
No change can be made to your Plan Options until: 
- the Annual Enrollment Period[; or 
- you have a Family Status Change]. 
 
When is the Annual Enrollment Period? 
 
The Annual Enrollment Period is the period [from November 1st to November 15th] of each year as 
designated by your Employer. During this period of time you may make changes to your Plan Options. 
[However, you may only elect to increase your amount of [Optional] [Life] Insurance by [one level].] 
 
When do changes to my Plan Option start?  
 
If you have increased your amount of insurance, the increase starts on the later of: 
- the [January 1st ] following the change in your Plan Options; [or 
- the date Sun Life approves your Evidence of Insurability (if required);] 
as long as you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date. 
 
If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date your insurance would normally increase, 
the increase in your insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer Hospital Confined]. 
 
[If you have increased your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance, the increase starts on the later of: 
- the [January 1st ]following the change in your Plan Options; [or 
- the date Sun Life approves your Dependent [spouse]’s Evidence of Insurability (if required);]  
as long as your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined on that date.] 
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[If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date an increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s 
insurance would normally start, the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until your 
Dependent [spouse] is no longer Hospital Confined.] 
 
Decreases in any amount of insurance will start on the [January 1st] following the change in your Plan 
Options. 
 
What if I do not make any changes during the Annual Enrollment Period? 
 
If you do not make any changes during the Annual Enrollment Period you will continue to be insured for the 
same Plan Options previously selected. 
 
No change in your Plan Options can be made until the next Annual Enrollment Period, [unless you have a 
Family Status Change]. [However, you may elect to decrease your amount of insurance.  Any decrease will 
be effective [on the date you elect the decrease].] 
 
[Changes in your Plan Options due to a Family Status Change must be made within [31 days] of the change 
in your Family Status, and must be necessary or appropriate as a result of the Family Status Change.] 
 
[Evidence of Insurability will be required for any amounts of insurance in excess of the Guaranteed Issue 
Amount that you elect due to a Family Status Change.] 
 
[When does insurance due to Family Status Changes start? 
 
If you have increased your amount of insurance, the increase starts on the latest of: 
- the date you apply for a change in your Plan Options; or 
- the date your Family Status changes [; or 
- the date Sun Life approves your Evidence of Insurability, (if required);] 
as long as you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date . ]  
 
[If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date your insurance would normally increase, 
the increase in your insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer Hospital Confined.] 
 
[If you have increased your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance, the increase starts on the latest of: 
- the date you apply for a change in your Plan Options; or 
- the date your Family Status changes; [or; 
- the date Sun Life approves your Dependent [spouse]’s Evidence of Insurability (if required);] 
as long as your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined on that date.] 
 
If you Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date an increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s 
insurance would normally start, the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until your 
Dependent [spouse] is no longer Hospital Confined. 
 
If due to the Family Status Change you decrease any amount of insurance, the decrease will start on the date 
you apply for the change in your Plan Options.]] 
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[When do changes in my amount of insurance occur? 
 
If your amount of insurance increases due to a change in your [salary or class], your increase will take effect 
[immediately], as long as: 
- you are [Actively at Work] [not Hospital Confined] on that date; [and 
- Evidence of Insurability is not required for the increase in your amount of insurance.] 
 
[If your amount of insurance decreases due to a change in your [salary, class or age], the decrease will take 
effect [immediately].] 
 
[If Evidence of Insurability is required for any increase in your amount of insurance, the increase in your 
insurance will not start until Sun Life approves the increase, but you need to be [Actively at Work] [not 
Hospital Confined] on that date.] 
 
If you are [not Actively at Work] [Hospital Confined] on the date an increase in your insurance would 
normally start, the increase in your insurance will not start until you are [Actively at Work] [no longer 
Hospital Confined].]] 
 
[When do changes in my Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance occur? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance increases [due to a change in your [salary or class], your 
Dependent [spouse]’s increase will take effect [immediately], as long as: 
- your Dependent [spouse] is not Hospital Confined [; and 
- Evidence of Insurability is not required for the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of 

insurance.] 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance decreases, the decrease will take effect [immediately].] 
 
[If Evidence of Insurability is required for any increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of insurance, 
the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until Sun Life approves the increase, but 
your Dependent [spouse] cannot be Hospital Confined on that date.] 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on the date an increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s 
insurance would normally start, the increase in your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance will not start until the 
Dependent [spouse] is no longer Hospital Confined.]] 

[What happens if I am rehired by my Employer? 
 
[If you are rehired by your Employer within [6 months] of the date your employment terminates, [due to lay 
off], your coverage may be reinstated. If your coverage is reinstated, your reinstated coverage will: 
 

1. be the same amount for which you were insured prior to termination of employment; 
2. [be subject to Evidence of Insurability if you apply for an increase in your amount of insurance after 

your coverage is reinstated;]  
3. [be subject to a new Pre-existing Condition Exclusion if your Injury or Sickness began during the 

period of time between the date your employment terminated and the date you are rehired;] 
4. be subject to all the terms and provisions of the Group Policy. 
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[You will [not] be subject to a new Pre-existing Condition [Exclusion] as of the date you are rehired.] [You 
will be given credit for the time you were insured prior to your termination of employment] 
 
[If you had partially satisfied your Waiting Period prior to your termination of employment, your previous 
time employed with your Employer will [not] count towards completion of your Waiting Period.]  [Your 
Eligibility Date will be the later of the date you are rehired or the day after you complete the Waiting 
Period.] 
 
If you are rehired by your Employer [6 months] or later after the date your employment terminates, your 
coverage will not be reinstated. You will be eligible for insurance on the day after you complete a new 
Waiting Period. 
 
[You must re-enroll for any amount of Contributory insurance within [31 days] of your rehire date.]] 
 
[Coverage will not be reinstated for any amount of insurance which you converted in accordance with the 
Conversion Privilege or continued under the Portability Provision, unless you cancel such coverage.] 
 
[What happens if I am rehired by my Employer? 
 
[If you are rehired by your Employer within [6 months] of the date your employment terminates, [due to lay 
off], your coverage may be reinstated. If your coverage is reinstated, your reinstated coverage will: 
 
1. be the same coverage amount in force on the date of your termination of employment; 
2. not be subject to any Evidence of Insurability, unless you elect to increase coverage; and 
3. be subject to all the terms and provisions of  the Group Policy. 
 
Coverage will not be reinstated for any amount of insurance which you:  
1. converted in accordance with the Conversion Privilege; or 
2. continued under the Portability Provision; 
unless you cancel such coverage.]  



  TERMINATION OF EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 
 

  Termination of 
010C-LH-ETERM Page No. [34] Employee Insurance 
  [00/00/00] 

 
When does my insurance cease? 
 
Your insurance ceases on the earliest of: 
- [the date the Group Policy terminates]. 
- [the date your Employer’s participation in the Trust terminates.] 
- the date you are no longer in an Eligible Class. 
- the date your class is no longer included for insurance. 
- the last day for which any required premium has been paid for your insurance. 
- [the [last day of the month in which] [date] you retire;] [unless you are eligible for Retiree [Basic] Life 

Insurance.] 
- [the date you request in writing to terminate [or limit] your insurance.] 
- [the date you enter active duty in any armed service during a time of war (declared or undeclared).] 
- the [last day of the month in which] [date] your employment terminates. 
- [the [last day of the month in which] [date] you cease to be Actively at Work due to a labor dispute, 

including any strike, work slowdown, or lockout.] 
- the [last day of the month in which] [date] you cease to be Actively at Work. 
- [the date you cease to be a member [in good standing] of [ABC Union].] 
- [the date you cease to be a member of the [Board of Directors].] 
 
Are there any conditions under which my insurance can continue? 
 
Yes. 
 
[Your insurance will continue during [any Elimination Period or] any period the premium for your insurance 
is waived under the Group Policy.] 
 
[If you are on [temporary layoff, leave of absence or vacation], your Employer may continue your insurance 
by paying the required premium to Sun Life [for the length of time specified below]. [You should contact 
your Employer for more details.] 
 
 [Layoff – for up to [3 months].] 
 [Leave of Absence – for up to [6 months] [including Workers’ Compensation leave and Family and 

Medical Leave of Absence]] .] 
 [Sabbatical – for up to [3 months].] 
 [Vacation – for up to [3 months].] 
 [Military Leave of Absence – for up to [12 months].] 
 
[Any periods of continuation for [which you are eligible] will run concurrently.] 
 
[If your insurance is being continued, your insurance benefit will be based on your benefit in effect just prior 
to the date your leave begins.] 
 
[If you are absent from work due to an injury or sickness, your Employer may continue your [Life] 
Insurance, by paying the required premium, [for up to 12 months].] [However, if you are receiving LTD 
benefits from [a Sun Life group LTD policy], your Employer may continue your [Life] insurance, by paying 
the required premium, [for up to 24 months].] 
 
[If you are "Totally Disabled" you may be eligible for a longer continuation of [Optional] Life Insurance. 
Refer to "What is the Waiver of Premium Provision" in the [Basic] Life Benefit Section. Please note that you 
must apply for continued benefits under the Waiver of Premium Provision within [12 months] after you 
cease to be Actively at Work.] 
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[Your [Life] Insurance may be continued [for up to 6 months] pursuant to your severance agreement with 
your Employer] 
 
[Your [Life] Insurance may be continued [for up to 3 months] following the date of your reduction in hours 
[to part-time status.]] 
 
[If your coverage ceases because you terminate employment [for reasons other than your retirement], you 
may be able to continue your insurance by electing portable insurance coverage.  Refer to the [Portability 
Provision].] 
 
[If your coverage terminates and you are not eligible to continue your insurance under any of the previously 
described continuations, you may be eligible for the Conversion Privilege. Refer to the Conversion Privilege 
provision in the [Life or LTD] Benefit section. Please note that you need to apply for the conversion and pay 
the required premium within [31 days] following your termination of insurance.] 
 
[You may be eligible to continue your insurance pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, as 
amended [or continue coverage pursuant to a state required continuation period (if any)]. You should contact 
your Employer for more details.] 
 
[You may be eligible to continue your insurance coverage pursuant to the Uniformed Services Employment 
and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA). You should contact your Employer for more details.] 
 
 [If your [Basic] [Life] insurance would normally terminate because of a labor dispute, then your [Basic] 
[Life] insurance may be continued subject to the following conditions: 
- your Employer must have paid all or a part of the insurance premium under the Group Policy. 
- you must remit the premium to your Employer before each Premium Due Date.  Your Employer will 

submit the total premium to Sun Life on each Premium Due Date.  This premium is based on the current 
premium rate in force when the labor dispute commenced.  Sun Life has the right to change this 
premium. 

 
This continuation of insurance will terminate on the earliest of the following dates: 
- the date you fail to make any premium payment to your Employer to continue your insurance; 
- the date your Employer fails to make any premium payment to Sun Life; 
- the date you begin work for your Employer or any other employer; 
- the date the labor dispute ends; 
- the date [6 months] following commencement of the labor dispute; 
- the date your Employer does not furnish any data requested by Sun Life.] 
 
[If your [Basic] [Life] insurance would normally terminate because you are not Actively at Work due to an 
employment related Injury, your [Basic] [Life] insurance coverage may be continued if you are receiving or 
are eligible to receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits, or if you are receiving wages under a provision for 
sick leave payments for time lost due to an employment related injury.   
 
If you have [Accidental Death and Dismemberment and Dependent Life insurance coverage], coverage will 
continue for those benefits as well.   
 
Your insurance may be continued, subject to the following: 
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- the amount of insurance that will be continued will be limited to the amount of insurance you had in force 
prior to the date you became eligible to receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits;  

- you must remit the total premium to Sun Life on each premium due date.  The premium is based on the 
current premium rate in force at the time you became eligible to receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits. 
Sun Life has the right to change the premium.  

 
The continuation of insurance will terminate on the earliest of:  
- the date you are no longer receiving Workers’ Compensation Benefits or sick leave payments for time lost 

due to an employment related injury; or 
- the date you fail to make any premium payment to Sun Life; or  
- the date the Group Policy terminates.] 
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When does my Dependent [spouse]’s insurance cease? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse] ’s insurance ceases on the earliest of: 
[- the date the Group Policy terminates.] 
[- the date your Employer’s participation in the trust terminates] 
[- the date you cease to be insured.] 
- the [last day of the month in which] [date] you are no longer in an Eligible Class for Dependent [spouse] 

insurance. 
- the [last day of the month in which] [date] your Dependent [spouse]does not qualify as a Dependent. 
- the last day for which any required premium has been paid for your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance. 
- the date you request in writing to terminate your Dependent [spouse]’s insurance. 
[- the date your Dependent [spouse] enters active duty in any armed service during a time of war (declared 

or undeclared).] 
[- the [last day of the month in which] [date] [your Dependent spouse reaches] [you reach] age [70] [for 

Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance].] 
[- the [last day of the calendar year in which] [date] your Dependent child reaches age [19] [, or age [25] if 

your child is a full-time student].]   
[- the [last day of the month in which] [date] you retire [, unless you are eligible for Retiree Dependent 

[Basic] Life Insurance].]  
[- the date you die. [However, your Employer may continue your Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life [and 

AD&D] Insurance for up to [12 months] after your [accidental] death.]] 
 
Are there any conditions under which my Dependent [spouse]’s insurance can continue? 
 
Yes. 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s coverage terminates, your Dependent [spouse] may be eligible for the 
Conversion Privilege. Refer to the "Conversion Privilege" of the Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Benefit 
section. Please note that you or your Dependent [spouse] need to apply for the conversion and pay the 
required premium within [31 days] following termination of the Dependent’s insurance.] 
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What is the [Basic] Life Insurance Benefit?  
 
If you die while insured, your Beneficiary will receive the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance in force when Sun 
Life receives written Notice and Proof of Claim. 
 
What is the amount of my [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
[The amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance is as determined in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[The amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance is the lesser of: 
 
1. your [Basic] amount of insurance [you elected] as determined in the Benefit Highlights; [or 
2. the [Optional] Guaranteed Issue Amount shown in the Benefit Highlights, [reduced by your [Basic] Life 

Insurance amount,] plus any amount of insurance over your [Basic] Guaranteed Issue Amount for which Sun 
Life has approved your Evidence of Insurability.]] 

 
[Your [Basic] Life Insurance cannot exceed the [Basic] Maximum Benefit shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[[Your [Basic and Optional] Life Insurance combined cannot exceed the [Combined] Maximum Benefit shown in 
the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
Your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance is subject to [the Exclusions shown below and] any [Evidence of 
Insurability requirements,] [age reductions] [or terminations] shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[If you had converted your [Basic] [Optional] Life Insurance to an individual policy under the Conversion 
Privilege of this Policy, your amount of [Basic] [Optional] Life Insurance will be reduced by the amount of any 
insurance remaining in force under that individual policy.] 
 
[EXCLUSIONS 
 
What are the Exclusions? 
 
If your cause of death is suicide: 
- No [benefit] [amount of Optional Life Insurance] is payable if the suicide occurs within [24 months] after your 

[Optional] Life Insurance starts. [Any period of time you were insured for the same amount of  [Optional] Life 
Insurance under your Employer’s prior group life policy will count towards your completion of the [24 
months].] 

- [No increased or additional amount of your [Optional] Life Insurance is payable if the suicide occurs within [24 
months] after your increased or additional amount of [Optional] Life Insurance starts.] 

- [No amount of [Optional] Life Insurance is payable if the suicide occurs within [24 months] after your 
[Optional] Life Insurance starts.] [Any period of time you were insured for the same amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance under your Employer’s prior group life policy will count towards your completion of the [24 
months].] 

- [No amount of your [Optional] Life Insurance over your Guaranteed Issue Amount is payable if the suicide 
occurs within [24 months] after the amount over your Guaranteed Issue Amount starts.]] 
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[WAIVER OF PREMIUM PROVISION 
 

What is the Waiver of Premium Provision? 
 
If you become Totally Disabled while insured, the Waiver of Premium Provision may continue your [Basic] Life 
Insurance without any further payment of premiums by [you] [or your Employer].  
 
When am I eligible for the Waiver of Premium Provision? 
 

You are eligible if Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim that you became Totally Disabled: 
- while insured; and 
- [on or after] [before] your [60th] birthday; and] 
- [before your [70th] birthday; and] 
- [before you retire;] [and  
- your Total Disability has continued for at least [9 months] (the Elimination Period).] 
 
[Premium payment is required during the Elimination Period.] 

 
You must apply for Waiver of Premium no later than [12 months] after you become Totally Disabled. 

 
[What is the amount of [Basic] Life Insurance that is continued under the Waiver of Premium Provision? 
 
[For Total Disabilities that begin before age 60] Sun Life will continue the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance 
in force on the last day you were Actively at Work. [This amount is subject to the same [reductions or terminations] 
[at specified ages and/or at retirement] that would have been applicable had you not become Totally Disabled.  
 
[For Total Disabilities that begin on or after age [60] but before age ]70]]  Sun Life will continue the amount of 
your  [Basic] Life Insurance in force on the last day you were Actively at Work for a period up to [one year]. [This 
amount is subject to the same [reductions or terminations] [at specified ages and/or at retirement] that would have 
been applicable had you not become Totally Disabled.]  
 
[If you have [Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance or Accidental Death or Dismemberment Insurance], the premium 
will [not] [also] be waived for [those] [that] benefit[s].] 
 
If you have converted your [Basic] Life Insurance to an individual policy, the continued insurance will be reduced 
by that converted amount unless you exchange that individual policy for a full refund of premiums paid. 
 
[What if I die during the Elimination Period? 
 
If you die during the [9 month] Elimination Period, a death benefit will be paid to your Beneficiary if Sun Life 
receives Proof of Claim that you had been continuously Totally Disabled from the date you last worked until the 
date you died. 
 
The death benefit is the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance in force on the day before you became Totally 
Disabled.] 
 
[What happens if the Group Policy terminates during my Elimination Period? 
 



BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 

[EMPLOYEE [BASIC] LIFE INSURANCE 
 

010C-LH-LIFE Page No. [40] Employee [Basic] Life Insurance 
  [00/00/00] 

[You must convert your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance when the Group Policy terminates.] 
 
[You must continue to pay premium to Sun Life to continue your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance until your 
Waiver of Premium is approved.]  [If your Waiver of Premium is approved, a refund of premium will be given 
back to your first date of Total Disability.] 
 
[What happens if my Waiver of Premium is not approved? 
 
You will be given [31 days] to convert your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance.] 
 
When does my Waiver of Premium cease? 
 
Your Waiver of Premium ceases on the earliest of: 
- the date you are no longer Totally Disabled. 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be Totally Disabled. 
- the date you are no longer under the regular and continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate treatment 

by means of examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition. 
- the date you do not submit to an examination by a Physician of Sun Life’s choice. 
- [the date you reach age [70]] [if your Total Disability began before you reached age [60] [, unless you are 

eligible for Retiree Life Insurance].] 
- [the first anniversary after your Total Disability began] [for Total Disabilities that begin on or after you reach 

age [60]].] 
- [the date you reach age [65] [or for [12 months], whichever is later], if your Total Disability began before you 

reached age [65] [, unless you are eligible for Retiree [Basic] Life Insurance].] 
- [the date you reach your Social Security Normal Retirement Age.] 
 
[For the purposes of this Waiver of Premium Provision, you are considered retired when you receive any 
compensation from a Retirement Plan of your Employer, [or when you reach age [70], whichever is earlier.] 
[A plan of deferred compensation is not considered to be a Retirement Plan].] 
 
If your Waiver of Premium ceases and you do not return to work with your Employer, your [Basic] Life Insurance 
will terminate. You may be eligible to convert your [Basic] Life Insurance under the Conversion Privilege.] 
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[ACCELERATED BENEFIT 
 
What is the Accelerated Benefit? 
 
If Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that you are Terminally Ill, part of your [Basic] Life Insurance may be 
payable to you while you are still living. 
 
When am I eligible for an Accelerated Benefit? 
 
You are eligible if: 
- [you [were Actively at Work on the Effective Date of [the Group Policy] [your  Employer’s participation in the 

trust] and] have been insured for  [Basic] Life Insurance for at least [60 days]. This 60 day period is waived for 
qualifying events due to accidental injury. (This includes any period of time you were insured under the prior 
insurer’s group life policy)]; and] 

- you are certified as Terminally Ill with a life expectancy of [12] months or less; and 
- [you are insured for at least [$20,000] of  [Basic] Life Insurance].  
 
How do I receive an Accelerated Benefit? 
 
You need to submit a written request to Sun Life. 
 
If you have assigned your  [Basic] Life Insurance, named an irrevocable Beneficiary or have a former spouse 
named as Beneficiary as part of a divorce decree, you must have a signed agreement from those parties. 
 
What is the amount of the Accelerated Benefit? 
 
You may request up to [75%] of the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance currently in force. The maximum 
amount you may request is [$500,000]. [The minimum amount you may request is [$10,000.] 
 
[If you have received an Accelerated Benefit under the prior insurer’s group life policy, you may request up to 
[75%] of your  [Basic] Life Insurance currently in force, reduced by the amount of the Accelerated Benefit you 
have previously received.] 
 
How is the Accelerated Benefit paid? 
 
The Accelerated Benefit is paid in [a single lump sum amount.] 
 
Can I receive more than one Accelerated Benefit? 
 
You may request the Accelerated Benefit only once under Sun Life’s Group Policy. 
 
Are there any charges if an Accelerated Benefit is requested? 
 
No. 
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What happens to my [Basic] Life Insurance if I receive an Accelerated Benefit? 
 
If you have received an Accelerated Benefit [from Sun Life or the prior insurer’s group life policy,] your  [Basic] 
Life Insurance will be reduced by an amount equal to the Accelerated Benefit paid [by Sun Life], [and an amount 
equal to the Accelerated Benefit paid by the prior insurer’s group life policy.] 
 
[If you are insured for [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, that amount shall not be 
affected by the payment of any Accelerated Benefit.] 
 
Some Important Notes about your Accelerated Benefit 
 
Your Accelerated Benefit is not a long term care policy. The amount of the Accelerated Benefit Sun Life would 
pay may not be enough to cover nursing home expenses or other bills. The money received from the Accelerated 
Benefit may be used for any purpose. 
 
Receipt of your Accelerated Benefit may affect your Medicaid eligibility. 
 
No Accelerated Benefit payment will be processed if required to do so by a third party, including any creditor, 
governmental agency, trustee in bankruptcy or any other person, or as the result of a court order. 
 
Benefits payable under this provision MAY be taxable. You should consult your tax advisor. Sun Life does not 
give tax or legal advice.] 
 
[PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY INCOME BENEFIT 
 
What is the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit? 
 
If you become Permanently Totally Disabled, your [Basic] Life Insurance may be payable to you while you are still 
living. 
 
When am I eligible for the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit? 
 
You are eligible if Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim that you became Permanently Totally Disabled: 
- while insured; and  
- [before your [60th] birthday; and] 
- [before you retire;] [and 
- your Permanent Total Disability has continued for at least [12 consecutive months].] 
 
You must apply for the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit no later than [12 months] after you become 
Permanently Totally Disabled. 
 
What is the amount of the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit? 
 
Your Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit is based on your [Basic] Life Insurance in force on the day before 
you became Permanently Totally Disabled [, multiplied by [0.0167].] 
 
If you have converted your [Basic] Life Insurance to an individual policy, no Permanent Total Disability Income 
Benefit is payable unless you exchange that individual policy for a full refund of premiums paid. 
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How is the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit paid? 
  
Your Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit will be paid to you [in a fixed number of installments over a 
period of [5 years]]. [However, if your [Basic] Life Insurance amount in force is less than [$10,000], your 
Permanent Total Disability Benefit will be paid to you in a single lump sum amount.] 
 
What if I die before I receive all of my [installment] payments? 
 
If you die before all of your Permanent Total Disability Income [installments] are paid, a death benefit will be paid 
to your Beneficiary. The death benefit equals the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance in force on the day before 
you became Permanently Totally Disabled, reduced by the total amount you have received as Permanent Total 
Disability Income Benefits. 
 
What if I die before I receive any [installment] payments? 
 
If you die within [12 months] after you cease to be Actively at Work, a death benefit will be paid to your 
Beneficiary if Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim that you had been continuously Permanently Totally 
Disabled from the date you last worked until the date you died. 
 
The death benefit is the amount of your [Basic] Life Insurance in force on the day before you became Permanently 
Totally Disabled.] 
 
What if my Life Insurance ceases while I am Totally Disabled? 
 
You may continue your Life Insurance for up to 6 months. 
 
If you elect to continue your Life Insurance while you are Totally Disabled, you need to inform your Employer and 
pay any required premium payment to your Employer within 31 days after your Life Insurance ceases.  Your 
Employer will send your continuation premium to Sun Life. 
 
When does this continuation of my Life Insurance end? 
 
Your continuation of Life Insurance will end on the earliest of: 
 - the date you do not send the required premium payment to your Employer; 
 - the date your Employer does not send the required premium payment on your behalf to Sun Life; 
 - 6 months after your Life Insurance first ceased [; or 
- the date you are approved for continuation of you Life Insurance under the Waiver of Premium Provision.]] 
 
 
[LINE OF DUTY BENEFIT 
 
What is the Line of Duty Benefit? 
 
If a [Basic] Life Insurance benefit is payable and the loss of life is the result of a Line of Duty Accident, Sun 
Life will pay a Line of Duty Benefit if you meet all of the following requirements: 
 
You die while insured as a result of: 
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1. an Accidental Bodily Injury; or 
2. accidental exposure to the elements that results in death within [365] days of the Accidental Bodily Injury; 

and 
3. you are acting in your capacity as a Public Safety Officer. 
 
The Line of Duty Benefit is [the lesser of]:  
- [[100%] of the amount of [Basic] Life insurance Benefit payable, or] 
- [$50,000].   
 
Accidental Bodily Injury means bodily harm caused solely by external, violent and accidental means which is 
sustained directly and independently of all other causes.] 
 
[Public Safety Officer means an employee whose primary job duties include controlling or reducing crime or 
juvenile delinquency, criminal law enforcement, or fire suppression.  Public Safety Officer includes [police 
officers, firefighters, corrections officers, judicial officers and officially recognized or designated volunteer 
firefighters], if they otherwise meet the definition of Public Safety Officer.]  
 
[Line of Duty Death means an accidental death that occurs while you are taking any action which by rule, 
regulation, law, or condition of your employment you are obligated or authorized to perform as a Public Safety 
Officer, including accidental exposure to adverse weather conditions, in the course of controlling or reducing 
crime or criminal law enforcement, including such action taken in response to an emergency while on duty.]  
 
[If you are a Public Safety Officer whose primary job duties are, controlling or reducing crime, criminal law 
enforcement or fire suppression, Line of Duty Death includes death that occurs while you are on duty at a social, 
educational, ceremonial or athletic function to which you have been assigned, or for which you are paid as a 
Public Safety Officer.]] 
 
[FATAL HEART ATTACK OR STROKE BENEFIT 
 
What is the Fatal Heart Attack or Stroke Benefit? 
 
If  you are a Public Safety Officer and you die as a direct and proximate result of a heart attack or stroke, an 
additional Fatal Heart Attack or Stroke Benefit is payable, if a [Basic] Life Insurance benefit is payable, 
provided that you meet all of the following requirements: 
 
- While on duty as a Public Safety Officer, you engaged in line of duty activity that involves law 

enforcement, fire suppression, rescue activity, hazardous material response, emergency medical services, 
disaster relief activity, or other emergency response activity; or 
 

- You participated in a formal training exercise that involved non-routine stressful or strenuous physical 
activity; and 
 

- The heart attack or stroke occurred while you were engaging in this activity or training while on the same 
duty shift, or within [24 hours] after the conclusion of this activity or training. 

 
The Fatal Heart Attack or Stroke Benefit payable is [$50,000]. 
 
Non-routine stressful or strenuous physical activity is activity that: 



BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 

[EMPLOYEE [BASIC] LIFE INSURANCE 
 

010C-LH-LIFE Page No. [45] Employee [Basic] Life Insurance 
  [00/00/00] 

- is not performed as a matter of routine; 
- involves non-negligible physical exertion; 
- for line-of-duty activity, poses or appears to pose significant threats or hazards, or involves  reasonable 
foreseeable risks of such threats or hazards; 
- for training exercises, realistically simulates significant threats or hazards; and 
- provokes or causes an unusually high level of alarm, fear or anxiety. 
 
[Public Safety Officer means an employee whose primary job duties include controlling or reducing crime or 
juvenile delinquency, criminal law enforcement, or fire suppression.  Public Safety Officer includes [police 
officers, firefighters, corrections officers, judicial officers and officially recognized or designated volunteer 
firefighters], if they otherwise meet the definition of Public Safety Officer.]  
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[PORTABILITY PRIVILEGE 
 
What is the Portability Privilege? 

 
If [, prior to age [70],] your Employee [Optional] Life Insurance ceases because you terminate  employment, 
you may apply for coverage on your own life (the “Portable Coverage”) up to the amount of Employee 
[Optional] Life Insurance that ceased to a maximum of [$500,000].  Amounts in excess of the maximum 
may be converted to an individual life insurance policy under the Conversion Privilege. 
 
Are there reasons why I would not be eligible to apply for [Optional] Portable Life coverage? 
 
You are not eligible to apply for Portable Coverage if: 
- [you are age [70] or older; or] 
- [your employment or Employee [Optional] Life Insurance ceased because:  

 [(a) you retired; or] 
 [(b)  the hours you work for your Employer have been reduced; or] 
 [(c)  you remain employed with your Employer on a part-time basis; or] 
 [(d)  you are on military leave; or ]] 

- [prior to termination of employment, you suffer an injury or sickness that results in a life expectancy of 
less than [12] months; or] 

- [your insurance is being continued under the Waiver of Premium Provision; or] 
- you are not a United States citizen or legal resident; or] 
- you are residing outside the United States [or Canada] on the date your insurance terminated. 
 
What kinds of insurance are portable? 
 
If you are entitled to apply for Portable Coverage, you may also continue any [Employee [Optional] Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment Insurance, Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance, Dependent [spouse] 
[Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance] that ceased due to the termination of your 
employment [subject to the restrictions for Dependent Portable [spouse] Coverage below]. 
 
When does my portable coverage start? 
 
If your application is approved and the first premium is paid when due, your coverage will start on the day after 
the [31 day] conversion period.  If your application is declined, you will be given a [31 day] period to apply for 
an individual [permanent] life policy under the Conversion Privilege. 
 
[When can my Dependent [spouse] apply for portable coverage? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse] can apply for portable coverage and pay the first premium within [31 days] of the date 
your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance ceases due to: 
[- your death;] 
[- divorce; or]  
[- termination of your domestic partnership or civil union partnership; or] 
[-  your Dependent child reaching the maximum age.] 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s application is declined, your Dependent [spouse] will be given a [31 day] 
period to apply for an individual [permanent] life policy  
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Are there reasons I [or my Dependent spouse] would not be able to apply for Dependent [spouse] 
[Optional] Portable Life coverage? 

 
You are not eligible to apply for Portable Coverage on your Dependent [spouse] if: 
- [your Dependent spouse is age [70] or older; or] 
- [your Dependent [spouse] is on military leave; or] 
- [on or before the date of your termination of employment, your Dependent [spouse] suffers an injury or 

sickness that results in a life expectancy of less than [12] months; or] 
- your Dependent [spouse] is not a citizen or legal resident of the United States; or 
- your Dependent [spouse] is residing outside of the United States [or Canada] on the date your 
 employment terminated.] 
 
If you had previously exercised your rights under the Group Policy’s Conversion Privilege or Portability 
Privilege, the amount of any Employee [or Dependent] Insurance that you can apply for under the Portability 
Privilege will be reduced by the amount of any insurance remaining in force under any policy issued to you as a 
result of the exercise of those rights under the Group Policy. 
 
If you convert your coverage under the Conversion Privilege you will not be eligible to apply for Portable 
Coverage for that same coverage under the Group Policy.   
If you apply for Dependent [spouse] coverage under the Portability Privilege, your Dependent [spouse] may not 
also apply for Dependent [spouse] coverage.   
 
How do I [or my Dependent [spouse] apply for Portable Coverage? 
 
To apply for Portable Coverage, you [or your Dependent [spouse] must submit a written application to Sun Life 
within [31 days] from the date your Employee or Dependent [Optional] Life Insurance ceased.  
 
[Evidence of Insurability must be provided to Sun Life in order to qualify for Portable Coverage.] 

 
Portable Coverage will not take effect until Sun Life approves your [or your Dependent [spouse]’s 
application for Portable Coverage and receives the first premium payment.    

 
Portable Coverage will be provided under a group term life insurance policy that provides group term life 
[and accidental death and dismemberment] insurance only.  The Portable Coverage insurance policy does 
not provide any other benefit.  
 
The premium will be the current rate Sun Life charges for the standard class of risk and age to which you [or 
your Dependent [spouse] belong under the Portable Group Life Policy. 
 
If the application for Portable Coverage is declined by Sun Life, you [or your Dependent [spouse] will be 
given [31] days, commencing on the date the application is declined, to convert to an individual policy 
under the Conversion Privilege. 
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When does Portable Coverage cease? 
 
Portable Coverage will terminate on the occurrence of the earliest of the following: 
 
- the date for which the last premium has been paid by you; or 
[- the date you attain age [70]; or] 
[- the expiration of [10] years from the date your Portable Coverage begins; or] 
[- the date your Dependent spouse attains age [70] [for Dependent spouse Portability Coverage]; or] 
- the date the insurance policy that provides the Portable Coverage terminates. 
 
When Portable Coverage terminates, you will have the right to convert the amount of coverage to an individual 
policy. 
 
CONVERSION PRIVILEGE 
 
What is the Conversion Privilege? 
 
If your [Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces, you may be able to convert your [Basic] Life Insurance to an 
individual life insurance policy.  You need to apply for the individual policy within [31 days].  See question "How 
do I convert my [Basic] Life Insurance?" 
 
When can I convert my [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
1. You can convert if all or part of your [Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces due to: 
  - termination of your employment; 
  - termination of your membership in an Eligible Class; 
 [- your retirement;] 
 [- your reaching a certain age; or] 
  - your changing to a different Eligible Class; or 
 [- termination of your coverage under the Waiver of Premium Provision; or] 
  - your continuation period ending as specified in the Termination of Employee Insurance section. 
 
Notwithstanding any provision of subsection “1.” to the contrary, if all or part of your [Basic] Life Insurance ceases 
or reduces as a result of the termination of the Policy, you may exercise the Conversion Privilege only if you meet 
the requirements of subsection “2.” below. 
 
2. You can convert if [you have been continuously insured [for 5 or more years] under Sun Life’s Group Life 

Insurance Policy and] all or part of your [Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces due to: 
  - termination of the Employee [Basic] Life Insurance Benefit Provision; 
  - termination of the Group Policy; 
  - an amendment to the Group Policy to reduce the amount of Employee [Basic] Life Insurance in your 

Eligible Class; or 
  - an amendment to the Group Policy to terminate your Eligible Class. 
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What amount of [Basic] Life Insurance can I convert? 
 
The amount of Employee [Basic] Life Insurance you can convert depends on the reason your [Basic] Life Insurance 
ceased or reduced. 
 
If your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced for the reasons stated in #1 "When can I convert my 
[Basic] Life Insurance?" you can convert up to the amount of Employee [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or 
reduced.  [If your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or reduced is [$10,000] or more, the minimum 
amount of your individual life insurance policy must be [$10,000].] 
 
If your amount of [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced for the reasons stated in #2 "When can I convert my 
[Basic] Life Insurance?" you can convert up to the lesser of: 
 - [$10,000]; or 
- the amount of Employee [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or reduced minus any amount of life insurance you 

become eligible for under any group insurance policy within [31 days] after your [Basic] Life Insurance ceased 
or reduced. 

 
You will be issued an individual life insurance policy without Evidence of Insurability. 
 
How do I convert my [Basic] Life Insurance to an individual life insurance policy? 
 
You convert by making a written application to Sun Life for an individual life insurance policy along with sending 
payment of the first premium within [31 days] after any part of your [Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces.  This 
is your [31 Day] Conversion Period.  However, if you are not notified by your Employer of the Conversion 
Privilege within [15 days] from the date your Life Insurance ceased or reduced, but you are given notice prior to the 
[forty-sixth] day after your [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced, you will have an additional [15 days] from the 
date notice is given to exercise the Conversion Privilege.  In no event, whether you are given timely notice, late 
notice or no notice will you have the right to exercise the Conversion Privilege once [30 days] have elapsed 
following the end of your [31 Day] Conversion Period. 
 
What type of individual policy is available? 
 
You can convert to any plan of [permanent] life insurance made available by Sun Life for conversion under the 
Conversion Privilege.  The individual life insurance policy will be issued at your attained age for the amount you 
request, but will not include any additional benefits such as disability benefits or accidental death and 
dismemberment benefits. 
 
The premium charged for the individual life insurance policy will be the rate Sun Life charges for your standard 
class of risk and age as of the individual life insurance policy’s effective date. 
 
When does my individual policy start? 
 
If your application for the individual life insurance policy is received and the first premium is paid when due, your 
individual life insurance policy starts on the day after the [31 Day] Conversion Period. 
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What happens if I die during the [31 Day] Conversion Period? 
 
If you die within the [31 Day] Conversion Period and Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim, a Death Benefit 
is payable to your Beneficiary, whether or not you had applied for an individual life insurance policy or had paid 
the first premium. 
 
The death benefit is the amount of Employee [Basic] Life Insurance you would have been eligible to convert. 
 
If the period of time for you to exercise this Conversion Privilege is extended as stated in “How do I convert my 
[Basic] Life Insurance to an individual life insurance policy?” and you die during or after that extension period, no 
Death Benefit is payable unless you had submitted a written application for conversion to an individual life 
insurance policy and paid the first premium prior to your death. 
 
[CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE 
 
[What happens when my Employer transfers insurance coverage to Sun Life? 
 
In order to prevent losing your insurance, Sun Life will provide the following coverage. 
 
If you are not Actively at Work on [January 1, 2009 [or your Employer’s Effective Date as shown in Attachment 
A, if applicable,]] you will be insured if: 
 
1. you were insured under the prior insurer’s group Life policy at the time of transfer; and 
2. you are a member of an Eligible Class; and 
3. premiums for you are paid up to date; and 
4. you are not receiving or eligible to receive benefits under the prior insurer’s group Life policy. 
 
Any [Basic] Life benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
- the[Basic]Life benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
- the [Basic]Life benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group Life policy had it remained in force. 
 
All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.]] 
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What is my Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance Benefit? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse] dies while insured, you will receive the amount of your Dependent [spouse] 
[Basic] Life Insurance in force when Sun Life receives written Notice and Proof of Claim. 
 
What is the amount of my Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
[The amount of your Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance is the lesser of: 
 
1.  the amount of [Basic] Life Insurance [you elected] for your Dependent [spouse] as determined in the 

Benefit Highlights; [or 
2.  the [Basic] Guaranteed Issue Amount shown in the Benefit Highlights, [reduced by your Dependent 

[spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance amount,] plus any amount of insurance over your Dependent 
[spouse]’s [Basic] Guaranteed Issue Amount for which Sun Life has approved your Dependent 
[spouse]’s Evidence of Insurability.]] 

 
[Your Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance cannot exceed the [Basic] Maximum Benefit shown in 
the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Your Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic and Optional] Life Insurance combined cannot exceed the [Combined] 
Maximum Benefit shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[The amount of your Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance is subject to [the Exclusions shown below 
and] any [Evidence of Insurability requirements], [age reductions] [or terminations] shown in the Benefit 
Highlights.] 
 
EXCLUSIONS 
 
[What are the Exclusions? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s cause of death is suicide: 
 
- No [death benefit] [amount of Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance] is payable if your Dependent 

[spouse]’s suicide occurs within [24 months] after your Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance 
first starts. [Any period of time your Dependent [spouse] was insured for the same amount of [Basic] 
Life Insurance under your Employer’s prior group life policy will count towards your Dependent 
[spouse]’s completion of the [24 months];] 

- [No increased or additional amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance is payable if your 
Dependent [spouse]’s suicide occurs within [24 months] after your Dependent [spouse]’s increased or 
additional amount of [Optional] Life Insurance starts;] 

- [No amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance is payable if your Dependent [spouse]’s 
suicide occurs within [24 months] after your Dependent [spouse]’s [Optional] Life Insurance starts.] 
[Any period of time your Dependent [spouse] was insured for the same amount of [Optional] Life 
Insurance under your Employer’s prior group life policy will count towards your Dependent [spouse]’s 
completion of the [24 months];] 

- [No amount of Dependent [spouse] [Optional] Life Insurance over your Dependent’s Guaranteed Issue 
Amount is payable if your Dependent [spouse]’s suicide occurs within [24 months] after the amount 
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over your Dependent [spouse]’s Guaranteed Issue Amount starts.] 
 
CONVERSION PRIVILEGE 
 
What is the Conversion Privilege? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance ceases or reduces, you or your Dependent [spouse] may be able 
to convert your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance to an individual life insurance policy. You or your 
Dependent [spouse] need to apply for the Conversion Privilege within [31 days].  See question "How does 
my Dependent [spouse] convert his or her Life Insurance?" 
 
When can my Dependent [spouse] convert his or her Life Insurance? 
 
1. You or your Dependent [spouse] can convert if all or part of your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance 

ceases or reduces due to: 
 - termination of your employment; 
 - termination of your membership in an Eligible Class; 
 - termination of your Employer’s participation in the Trust; 
 [- your retirement;] 
 - your death;  
 [- your reaching a certain age;] 
 - your changing to a different Eligible Class; or 
 - your Dependent [spouse] no longer qualifying as a Dependent.   
 
Notwithstanding any provision of subsection “1.” to the contrary, if all or part of your Dependent [spouse]’s 
Life Insurance ceases or reduces as a result of the termination of the Group Policy, you or your Dependent 
[spouse] may exercise the Conversion Privilege only if your Dependent [spouse] meets the requirements of 
subsection “2.” below. 
 
2. You or your Dependent [spouse] can convert if your dependent [spouse] has been continuously insured 

[for 5 or more years] under Sun Life’s Group Life Insurance Policy and all or part of your Dependent’s 
[Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces due to: 

  - termination of the Employee Life Insurance Benefit Provision; 
  - termination of the Group Policy; 
  - an amendment to the Group Policy to reduce the amount of Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life 

Insurance in your Eligible Class; or 
  - an amendment to the Group Policy to terminate your Eligible Class. 
 
What amount of [Optional] Life Insurance can my Dependent [spouse] convert? 
 
The amount of Dependent Life Insurance you or your Dependent [spouse] may convert depends on the 
reason your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance ceased or reduced. 
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If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced for the reasons stated in #1 
"When can my  Dependent [spouse] convert?” you or your  Dependent [spouse] may convert up to the 
amount of Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or reduced.  If your Dependent [spouse]’s 
amount of [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or reduced is [$10,000] or more, the minimum amount of your 
Dependent [spouse]’s individual life insurance policy must be [$10,000].   
 
If you exercise the Conversion Privilege, your Dependent [spouse] may not also exercise it.  
 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced for the reasons stated in #2 
"When can my Dependent [spouse] convert”?, you or your Dependent [spouse] may convert up to the lesser 
of: 
 - [$10,000]; or 
 - the amount of Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance that ceased or reduced minus any amount of life 

insurance your Dependent [spouse] may become eligible for under any group insurance policy within 
[31 days] after your Dependent [spouse]’s Life Insurance ceased or reduced. 

 
How does my Dependent [spouse] convert his or her Life Insurance to an individual life insurance 
policy? 
 
You or your Dependent [spouse] can convert by making a written application to Sun Life for an individual 
life insurance policy along with sending payment of the first premium within [31 days] after any part of your 
Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance ceases or reduces.  This is your Dependent’s [31 Day] 
Conversion Period.  However, if you or your  Dependent [spouse] is not notified by your Employer of this 
Conversion Privilege within [15 days] from the date your Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance 
ceased or reduced, but your Dependent [spouse] is given notice prior to the [forty-sixth] day after your 
Dependent [spouse]’s [Basic] Life Insurance ceased or reduced, you or your Dependent [spouse] will have 
an additional [15 days] from the date notice is given to exercise this Conversion Privilege.  In no event, 
whether your Dependent [spouse] is given timely notice, late notice or no notice will you or your Dependent 
[spouse] have the right to exercise this Conversion Privilege once [30 days] has elapsed following the end of 
your Dependent [spouse]’s [31 Day] Conversion Period. 
 
What type of individual policy is available? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse] may convert to any plan of [permanent] life insurance made available by Sun Life 
for conversion under the Conversion Privilege.  The individual life insurance policy will be issued at your 
Dependent [spouse]’s attained age for the amount you or your Dependent [spouse] requests, but will not 
include any additional benefits such as disability benefits or accidental death and dismemberment benefits. 
 
The premium charged for the individual life insurance policy will be the rate Sun Life charges for your 
Dependent [spouse]’s standard class of risk and age as of the individual life insurance policy’s effective date. 
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The individual life insurance policy on the life of your Dependent [spouse] will be issued without Evidence 
of Insurability. 
 
When does my Dependent [spouse]’s individual policy start? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse]’s application for the individual life insurance policy is received and the first 
premium is paid when due, your Dependent [spouse]’s individual life insurance policy starts on the day after 
the [31 Day] Conversion Period. 
 
What happens if my Dependent [spouse] dies during the [31 Day] Conversion Period? 
 
If your Dependent [spouse] dies within the [31 Day] Conversion Period and Sun Life receives Notice and 
Proof of Claim, a Death Benefit is payable to you, whether or not you or your Dependent [spouse] had 
applied for an individual life insurance policy on the life of your Dependent [spouse] within the [31 day] 
Conversion Period, or had paid the first premium. 
 
The death benefit is the amount of [Basic] Life Insurance you or your Dependent [spouse] would have been 
eligible to convert on the life of your Dependent [spouse]. 
 
If the period of time for you or your Dependent [spouse] to exercise this Conversion Privilege is extended as 
stated in “How does my Dependent [spouse] convert his or her Life Insurance to an individual life insurance 
policy?” and your Dependent [spouse] dies during or after that extension period, no Death Benefit is payable 
unless you or your Dependent [spouse] had submitted a written application for conversion to an individual 
life insurance policy, and paid the first premium prior to your Dependent spouse’s death. 
 
[ACCELERATED BENEFIT 
 
What is the Dependent [spouse] Accelerated Benefit? 
 
If Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that your Dependent [spouse] is Terminally Ill, part of your 
Dependent [spouse]’s [Optional] Life Insurance may be payable to your Dependent [spouse] at your request.  
 
When is my Dependent [spouse] eligible for an Accelerated Benefit? 
 
Your Dependent [spouse] is eligible if: 
[- your Dependent [spouse] has been insured for [Optional] Life Insurance for at least [30 days]. (This 

includes any period of time your Dependent [spouse] was insured under the prior insurer’s group life 
policy); and] 

 
 - your Dependent [spouse] is certified as Terminally Ill with a life expectancy of [12 months] or less [; 

and 

- your Dependent [spouse] is insured for at least [$10,000] of [Optional] Life Insurance]. 
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How can my Dependent [spouse] receive an Accelerated Benefit? 
 
You need to submit a written request to Sun Life while your Dependent [spouse]’s [Optional] Life Insurance 
is in force. 
 
What is the amount of Accelerated Benefit that I can request? 
 
The amount of Accelerated Benefit that you can request is up to [75%] of the amount of your Dependent 
[spouse]’s [Optional] Life Insurance currently in force. The maximum amount that may be requested is 
[$100,000]. The minimum amount that may be requested is [$5,000]. 
 
How is the Accelerated Benefit paid? 
 
The Accelerated Benefit is paid [in a single lump sum amount]. 
 
Can more than one Accelerated Benefit be requested? 
 
The Accelerated Benefit can be requested for your Dependent [spouse] only [once] under Sun Life’s Group 
Policy. 
 
Are there any charges if an Accelerated Benefit is requested? 
 
No. 
 
What happens to my Dependent [spouse]’s amount of [Optional] Life Insurance if an Accelerated 
Benefit is requested? 
 
Once an Accelerated Benefit is paid, your Dependent [spouse]’s amount of [Optional] Life Insurance will be 
reduced by an amount equal to the Accelerated Benefit paid by Sun Life. 
 
[If your Dependent [spouse] is insured for [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, that 
amount shall not be affected by the payment of any Accelerated Benefit.] 
 
Some Important Notes about Accelerated Benefit 
 
The Accelerated Benefit is not a long term care policy. The amount of the Accelerated Benefit Sun Life 
would pay may not be enough to cover nursing home expenses or other bills. The money received from the 
Accelerated Benefit may be used for any purpose. 
 
Receipt of an Accelerated Benefit may affect eligibility for Medicaid. 
 
No Accelerated Benefit payment will be processed if required to do so by a third party, including any 
creditor, governmental agency, trustee in bankruptcy or any other person, or as the result of a court order. 
 
Benefits payable under this provision MAY be taxable. You should consult your tax advisor. Sun Life does 
not give tax or legal advice.] 
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[CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE 
 
 What happens when my Employer transfers insurance coverage to Sun Life? 
 
In order to prevent losing your insurance, Sun Life will provide the following coverage. 
 
If your Dependent [spouse] is Hospital Confined on [January 1, 2009 [or your Employer’s Effective Date as 
shown in Attachment A, if applicable,]] your Dependent [spouse] will be insured if: 
 
1. your Dependent [spouse] was insured under the prior insurer’s group Life policy at the time of transfer; 

and 
2. you are a member of an Eligible Class; and 
3. premiums for your Dependent [spouse] are paid up to date; and 
4. your Dependent [spouse] is not receiving or eligible to receive benefits under the prior insurer’s group 

Life policy. 
 
Any Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
- the Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
- the Dependent [spouse] [Basic] Life benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group Life policy had it 

remained in force. 
 
All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.]] 



BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 

[EMPLOYEE [AND DEPENDENT] [SPOUSE] [BASIC] 
 ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE (AD&D) 

 

010C-LH-AD&D Page No. [57] [Basic] Accidental Death 
  And Dismemberment Insurance 
 [00/00/00]
  

What is the [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit? 
 
If Sun Life receives written Notice and Proof of Claim that [you] [an Insured Person]: 
 - died from an accidental drowning while insured; or 
 - sustained an Accidental Bodily Injury while insured, which results in loss of life, sight or limb within [365 

days] of the date of that Accidental Bodily Injury; or 
 - sustained a loss of life, sight or limb within [365 days] due to an accidental exposure to the elements while 

insured; 
A [n][Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefit may be payable to you or to your Beneficiary. 
 
What is the amount of the [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit? 
 
The benefit is a percentage of the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance in force 
for your class shown in the Benefit Highlights on the date of the Accidental Bodily Injury.  The following is a 
list of percentages payable for the applicable loss. 
 
Life ............................................................................................................................................... [100%] 
 
Sight of one eye.............................................................................................................................. [50%] 
 
[One arm or leg ............................................................................................................................. [50%]] 
 
[One hand or foot .......................................................................................................................... [50%]] 
 
[More than one [of the above] 
loss[es] from any one accident.................................................................................................... [100%]] 
 
[Speech and hearing .................................................................................................................... [100%]] 
 
[Speech or hearing......................................................................................................................... [50%]] 
 
[Hearing in one ear......................................................................................................................... [25%] 
 
[Thumb [and index finger] 
of [the same] hand ......................................................................................................................... [25%]] 
 
[Four fingers of the same hand ..................................................................................................... [25%]] 
 
[Four toes of the same foot ........................................................................................................... [25%]] 
 
[Quadriplegia................................................................................................................................ [100%] 
 
Paraplegia ....................................................................................................................................... [75%] 
 
Hemiplegia .................................................................................................................................... [50%]] 
 
[[Monoplegia] [Uniplegia]............................................................................................................ [50%]] 
 
[Diplegia........................................................................................................................................ [50%]] 
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[Brain Damage .............................................................................................................................. [10%]] 
 
[The maximum amount of [Dependent] [spouse] [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit 
payable for losses resulting from any one accident is [100%].] 
 
[Loss of arm or leg means a total physical separation of the limb into two pieces, occurring at or above the 
elbow or knee joint and resulting in irreparable and total loss of function.] Loss of [hand or foot] means a total 
physical separation of the limb into two pieces, occurring at or above the wrist or ankle joint and resulting in 
irreparable and total loss of function. Loss of sight must be total and irrecoverable.  [Loss of speech means the 
total and irrecoverable loss of speech.]  [Loss of hearing means the total and irrecoverable loss of hearing.] 
[Loss of thumb and/or [index] finger means a total physical separation of the thumb or finger into two pieces, 
occurring  through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints and resulting in irreparable and total loss of 
function.] [Loss of toe means a total physical separation of the toe into two pieces, occurring through or above 
the metatarsophalangeal joint and resulting in irreparable and total loss of function.] 
[Quadriplegia means the total and permanent paralysis of both upper and lower limbs. Paraplegia means the 
total and permanent paralysis of both lower limbs. Hemiplegia means the total and permanent paralysis of the 
upper and lower limbs on one side of the body.] [[Monoplegia] [Uniplegia] means the total and permanent 
paralysis of one arm or one leg.] [Diplegia means the total and permanent paralysis of both arms.] 
 
[Brain Damage means the permanent and irreversible physical damage to the brain causing the inability to 
perform without assistance [2] or more of the Activities of Daily Living. Such damage must manifest itself 
within [30 days] of the Accidental Bodily Injury, require hospitalization of at least [5 days] and must persist 
for at least [12] consecutive months after the date of the Accidental Bodily Injury.] 
 
[COMMON CARRIER BENEFIT 
 
What is the Common Carrier Benefit? 
 
If [your] [an Insured Person’s] loss of life occurs while traveling as a fare-paying passenger on a public 
conveyance operated by a common carrier, an additional Common Carrier benefit will be payable.  The 
Common Carrier Benefit is [[100%] of] the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable.] 
 
[BUSINESS TRAVEL BENEFIT 
 
What is the Business Travel Benefit? 
 
If your loss of life occurs while traveling on business for your Employer an additional Business Travel Benefit 
will be payable. The Business Travel Benefit is the lesser of: 
 - [$25,000]; or 
 - [25% of] the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable [; reduced by any benefit payable under 
the Common Carrier Benefit]. 
 
Business Travel means traveling to another location to conduct your Employer’s business other than your 
normal workplace.  Business Travel starts from the time you leave your place of residence to commence your 
Employer’s business and continues until you return to your place of residence.  Business Travel does not 
include [salespeople who regularly travel to conduct the Employer’s business,] Personal Deviations, or your 
vacation. 
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Personal Deviation means an activity that is not reasonably related to your Employer’s business and not 
incidental to the business trip. 
 
[Your place of residence will change to the location of the Business Travel if your stay at that location exceeds 
[60 days].]] 
 
[SEAT BELT BENEFIT 
 
What is the Seat Belt Benefit? 
 
If [your] [an Insured Person’s] loss of life occurs as a result of an automobile accident and [you were] [the 
Insured Person was] wearing a seat belt at the time of the accident, an additional Seat Belt Benefit is payable.  
This Seat Belt Benefit is [the lesser of [100% of] the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable, or] 
[$50,000]. 
 
Sun Life must receive satisfactory written Proof that [your] [the Insured Person’s] death resulted from an 
automobile accident and that [you were] [the Insured Person was] wearing a seat belt at the time of the 
accident.  A copy of the police report is required. 
 
[AIR BAG BENEFIT 
 
What is the Air Bag Benefit? 
 
[If [your] [an Insured Person’s] loss of life occurs as a result of an Automobile accident, [you were] [the 
Insured Person was] wearing a Seat Belt and [you were] [the Insured Person was] positioned in a seat 
protected by a Supplemental Restraint System which inflated on impact, an additional Air Bag Benefit is 
payable.  The Air Bag Benefit is [the lesser of [25%] of the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit 
payable, or] [$5,000]. 
 
Sun Life must receive satisfactory written Proof that [your] [the Insured Person’s] death resulted from an 
automobile accident and that the Supplemental Restraint System properly inflated.  A copy of the police report 
is required.] 
 
[Seat Belt means a properly installed seat belt, lap and shoulder restraint, or other restraint approved by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.] 
 
[Supplemental Restraint System means a factory installed air bag which inflates for added protection to the 
head and chest areas.] 
 
[Automobile means a motor vehicle licensed for use on public highways.]] 
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[HELMET BENEFIT 
 
What is the Helmet Benefit? 
 
If [your] [an Insured Person’s] loss of life occurs as a result of a Motorcycle accident, [you were] [the Insured 
Person was] wearing a Helmet and the driver of the Motorcycle held a valid driver’s license with a Motorcycle 
endorsement, an additional Helmet Benefit is payable.   
 
The Helmet Benefit is [50% of] the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable, or [$25,000], 
whichever is less.] 
 
Sun Life must receive satisfactory written Proof that [your] [the Insured Person’s] death resulted from a 
Motorcycle accident and that [you were] [the Insured Person was] wearing a Helmet at the time of the 
accident.  A copy of the police report is required. 
 
Helmet means a protective head covering made of a hard material to resist impact and which is approved by 
the American National Safety Institute (ANSI) and/or Snell. 
 
Motorcycle means a motor vehicle licensed for use on public highways which requires a Motorcycle 
endorsement on a driver’s license to operate the vehicle.] 
 
[DISAPPEARANCE BENEFIT 
 
What happens if I [or my Dependent [spouse]] Disappears? 
 
Sun Life will presume, subject to no objective evidence to the contrary, that [you are] [the Insured Person is] 
dead and death is a result of an Accidental Bodily Injury if: 
- [you disappear] [the Insured Person disappears] as a result of an accidental wrecking, sinking or 

disappearance of a [public] conveyance in which [you were] [the Insured Person was] known to be a [fare-
paying] passenger; and 

- [your] [the Insured Person’s] body is not found within [365 days] after the date of the conveyance’s 
disappearance. 

 
[Sun Life will not presume death if [you were] [the Insured Person was] a pilot or a crew member of the 
[public] conveyance.]] 
 
[COMMON ACCIDENT BENEFIT 
 
What is the Common Accident Benefit? 
 
If you and your Dependent spouse both die as a result of a Common Accident within [365 days] of the date of 
that accident, a Common Accident Benefit is payable. 
 
The Common Accident Benefit will increase your Dependent spouse’s death benefit to equal your amount of 
[Optional] Accidental Death Benefit payable or [$100,000], whichever is less. 
 
Common Accident means the same accident or separate accidents occurring within a [24 hour] period. 
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If an [Optional] Accidental Death Benefit is not payable for both you and your Dependent spouse, no 
Common Accident Benefit is payable.  [If you do not have a Dependent child, no Common Accident Benefit 
is payable.] [If you do not have a Dependent child, [$1,000] will be payable to your estate.] 
 
[FELONIOUS ASSAULT BENEFIT 
 
What is the Felonious Assault Benefit? 
 
If you die or lose a limb as a result of a felonious assault while at your Employer’s place of business or while 
traveling on business for your Employer, an additional Felonious Assault Benefit is payable.   
 
The Felonious Assault Benefit is [25% of] the [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit payable 
or [$25,000], whichever is less. 
 
[The Felonious Assault cannot be inflicted by an Employee of the Employer [or a member of your family or 
household].] 
 
[Your family includes your spouse, child, parent, brother, sister, [your spouse’s child, parent, brother or sister] 
[or your current or previous spouse, girlfriend or boyfriend].] 
 
[Your household includes any person residing with you whether or not related to you by blood or marriage.] 
 
Felonious Assault means an action that would be characterized as a felony in the jurisdiction where the assault 
occurred.] 
 
[SURGICAL REATTACHMENT BENEFIT 
 
What is the Surgical Reattachment Benefit? 
 
If [you have] [an Insured Person has] a limb severed and an [Optional] Accidental Dismemberment Benefit 
would normally have been payable under the Group Policy, but [you have] [the Insured Person has] the limb 
surgically reattached, a Surgical Reattachment Benefit will be payable.   
 
The Surgical Reattachment Benefit is [25% of] the [Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit 
shown in the Benefit Highlights or [$5,000], whichever is less. 
 
What happens if the Surgical Reattachment fails? 
 
If the surgical reattachment fails, or [you have] [the Insured Person has] complete loss of use of the limb 
within [365 days] of the reattachment, [you] [the Insured Person] will receive the balance of any [Optional] 
Accidental Dismemberment Benefit payable for that limb if Proof of the reattachment failure or loss of use is 
received by Sun Life.] 



BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 

[EMPLOYEE [AND DEPENDENT] [SPOUSE] [BASIC] 
 ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE (AD&D) 

 

010C-LH-AD&D Page No. [62] [Basic] Accidental Death 
  And Dismemberment Insurance 
 [00/00/00]
  

[COMA BENEFIT 
 
What is the Coma Benefit?  
 
If, while insured, you [or your Dependent spouse] suffer[s] an Accidental Bodily Injury that results in your [or 
your Dependent spouse] being in a coma for at least [31 days], a Coma Benefit will be payable. 
 
The Coma Benefit is payable [for 100 months in equal monthly installments] based on your [or your 
Dependent spouse’s] amount of [Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment insurance shown in the 
Benefit Highlights at the time of the accident [reduced by any amount previously payable as a result of the 
same accident]. 
 
When does the Coma Benefit cease? 
 
The Coma Benefit will cease to be payable when: 
- you [or your Dependent spouse] regain consciousness; 
- you [or Dependent spouse] die; or 
- [100 monthly installments] have been paid. 
 
What happens if I [or my Dependent spouse] die while in a coma? 
 
If you [or Dependent spouse] die without regaining consciousness, your [or your Dependent spouse’s] 
remaining [Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit (if any) will be payable. 
 
Sun Life will require [monthly] Proof of the continuance of your [or Dependent spouse’s] coma, but after [one 
year] Sun Life will not ask for Proof more often than [twice a year].] 
 
[REPATRIATION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Repatriation Benefit? 
 
If [your] [an Insured Person’s] accidental death occurs at least [100 miles] from [your] [an Insured Person’s] 
permanent place of residence, a Repatriation Benefit will be payable if an [Optional] Accidental Death Benefit 
is payable.  The Repatriation Benefit will reimburse the Executor or Administrator of [your] [the Insured 
Person’s] estate for the reasonable and customary expenses incurred for the preparation of the body and its 
transportation to the place of burial or cremation up to a maximum benefit of [$2,000] [, or [$4,000] if [you 
are] [the Insured Person is] insured for Optional AD&D Insurance]. Written Proof of the expenses incurred 
must be submitted to Sun Life prior to payment.] 
 
[FAMILY TRAVEL BENEFIT 
 
What is the Family Travel Benefit? 
 
If [you receive] [an Insured Person receives] an Accidental Bodily Injury and as a result [you die or are] [the 
Insured Person dies or is] hospitalized [for 3 or more consecutive days], a Family Travel Benefit will be 
payable.  Death or hospitalization must occur at least [100 miles] from [your] [the Insured Person’s] place of 
residence. 
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The Family Travel Benefit will pay for [one] member of [your] [the Insured Person’s] family to travel to: 
- [your] [the Insured Person’s] bedside within [72 hours] of the date of the accident; or 
- make funeral arrangements. 
 
[Your] [The Insured Person’s] family member means a spouse, child, parent, brother or sister. 
 
[No Family Travel Benefit is payable if an [Optional] Accidental Death or Accidental Dismemberment 
Benefit is not payable.] 
 
What types of expenses are reimbursed under the Family Travel Benefit? 
 
The Family Travel Benefit reimburses the family member for the family member’s hotel expenses [meals] and 
method of transportation expenses. 
 
The Family Travel Benefit payable is the lesser of: 
- the usual and reasonable expenses for the hotel room, [meals] and method of transportation; or 
- the actual expenses for the [hotel room, [meals] and method of transportation]; or 
- [$1,000] [, or [$2,000] if the Insured Person is insured for [Optional] AD&D Insurance]. 
 
Method of transportation must be the most direct route to and from the hospital or where funeral arrangements 
need to be made.  If the family member travels by automobile, Sun Life will reimburse at [the current mileage 
reimbursement rate allowable by the IRS]. 
 
Sun Life must receive receipts for the family member’s expenses prior to payment of a Family Travel Benefit. 
 
Expenses for air transportation will be limited to the lesser of the normal coach fare or the medical emergency 
ticket fare.] 
 
[HOME ALTERATION OR VEHICLE MODIFICATION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit? 
 
If [you receive] [an Insured Person receives] an [Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit 
under the Group Policy for: 
- the loss of both feet or legs; or 
- the loss of both hands or arms; or 
[- the loss of sight; or] 
- Quadriplegia, Paraplegia or Hemiplegia; 
a Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit will be payable. 
 
What types of expenses are reimbursed under the Home Alteration and Vehicle Modification Benefit? 
 
The Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit is payable for the out-of-pocket reasonable and 
necessary expenses incurred within [3 years] of the date of [your] [the Insured Person’s] loss for: 
- the cost of alterations of [your] [the Insured Person’s] principal residence; or 
- the cost of modification to [one] motor vehicle utilized by [you] [the Insured Person] when such 
 modification is approved by licensing authorities where required. 
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The Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit is the lesser of: 
- [the actual expenses incurred for the modification or alteration reduced by any reimbursement [you 

receive] [the Insured Person receives] from other sources; or 
- the reasonable and necessary expenses for the modification or alteration reduced by any reimbursement 

[you receive] [the Insured Person receives] from other sources; or 
- [50% of the [Basic] Accidental Dismemberment Benefit payable [plus 50% of the [Optional] Accidental 

Dismemberment Benefit payable]; or 
- [$5,000] [, or [$10,000] if the Insured Person is insured for [Optional] AD&D Insurance]. 
 
Proof of the expenses incurred to modify [your] [the Insured Person’s] residence or vehicle must be submitted 
to Sun Life, prior to payment.  The Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit is payable once per 
person’s lifetime. 
 
[Reasonable and necessary expenses means the average cost of the alteration or modification charged by most 
contractors in the locality where [you reside] [the Insured Person resides].]] 
 
[BEREAVEMENT COUNSELING BENEFIT 
 
What is the Bereavement Counseling Benefit? 
 
A Bereavement Counseling Benefit is payable for up to [12 months] of an Immediate Family Member’s 
period of bereavement if [you die] [an Insured Person dies] and an [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit is payable 
under the Group Policy. 
 
Immediate Family Member means you, your spouse or your child under age [21] [or age [24] if a full-time 
student]. 
 
What expenses are reimbursed under the Bereavement Counseling Benefit? 
 
The Bereavement Counseling Benefit is the Immediate Family Member’s incurred expenses for counseling 
[reduced by any reimbursement the Immediate Family Member receives for counseling from other sources]. 
 
The Maximum Bereavement Counseling Benefit payable is [$250 per Immediate Family Member, to a 
maximum of [$1,000] [, or $2,000] per [insured’s] [Insured Person’s] death if the Employee is insured for 
[Optional] AD&D Insurance]. 
 
Written Proof of the actual out of pocket counseling expenses incurred must be submitted to Sun Life prior to 
payment.] 
 
[REHABILITATIVE TRAINING BENEFIT 
 
What is the Rehabilitative Training Benefit? 
 
If you receive a [n] [Basic] Accidental Dismemberment Benefit under the Group Policy, you are eligible to 
receive a Rehabilitative Training Benefit. 
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Rehabilitative Training means any occupational training which is required due to your Accidental Bodily 
Injury payable under the Group Policy. 
 
What is the amount payable for the Rehabilitative Training? 
 
The Rehabilitative Training Benefit is the lesser of: 
- [$5,000] [, $10,000] if [you are] [the Insured Person is] insured for Optional AD&D Insurance]; or 
- [50% of] the amount of [Basic] Accidental Dismemberment Benefit payable [plus [50% of] the amount of 

[Optional] Accidental Dismemberment Benefit payable]; or  
- your actual Expense Incurred for Rehabilitative Training [reduced by any amount you receive from other 

sources]. 
 
Expense Incurred means your actual out-of-pocket cost for: 
- the Rehabilitative Training; and 
- the materials necessary for the Rehabilitative Training. 
 
The Rehabilitative Training expenses must be incurred within [2 years] following the date of the accident that 
caused your Accidental Bodily Injury.  Sun Life must receive written Proof of Expenses Incurred prior to 
payment of the Rehabilitative Training Benefit.] 
 
[DEPENDENT [CHILD] EDUCATION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Dependent [Child] Education Benefit? 
 
If you die and a [n] [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit is payable under the Group Policy, your Dependent 
[child] may be eligible for a Dependent Education Benefit. 
 
[What is the Education Benefit for my Dependent child? 
 
A Dependent child is eligible for an Education Benefit if the Dependent child enrolls as a full-time student at a 
post-secondary school before reaching age [24] and within [one year] after your date of death. 
 
The annual Dependent Child Education Benefit is the lesser of: 
- Incurred Expenses; or 
- [$5,000] [, or $10,000] if [you are] [the Insured Person is] insured for [Optional] AD&D Insurance]; or. 
- [5%] of your amount of [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable [plus [5%] of your amount of 

[Optional] Accidental Death Benefit payable]. 
 
The Dependent Child Education Benefit is payable [at the end of each semester] per Dependent child, for a 
maximum of [four consecutive years] per child.  Proof of the child’s enrollment and Incurred Expenses are 
required each [semester] prior to payment of the benefit. 
 
Incurred Expenses include tuition, fees, cost of books, room and board, transportation and any other costs paid 
directly to the school.] 
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[What is the Education Benefit for my Dependent spouse? 
 
A Dependent spouse is eligible for an Education Benefit if the Dependent spouse enrolls in any school for the 
purpose of retraining or developing skills needed for employment within [1 year] after your date of death. 
 
The Dependent spouse’s Education Benefit is [equal to the expenses paid directly to such school or] [$3,000] 
[, or [$10,000] if [you are] insured for Optional AD&D Insurance, whichever is less].  Proof of enrollment and 
expenses are required prior to payment of the benefit.]] 
 
[CHILD CARE BENEFIT 
 
What is the Child Care Benefit? 
 
If you [die] [or your Dependent spouse dies] and a [n] [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit is payable under the 
Group Policy, a Child Care Benefit is payable if: 
- your Dependent child is enrolled in a legally licensed Child Care Center on the date of the accident; or 
- your Dependent child enrolls in a legally licensed Child Care Center within [365 days] after your [or your 

Dependent spouse’s] death; and 
- your Dependent child is under age [13]. 
 
What is the amount of the Child Care Benefit? 
 
The Child Care Benefit is [the lesser of: 
- the actual cost charged by the Child Care Center per year; or 
- [$3,000] [or $6,000] if the [Insured Person] is insured for [Optional] AD&D Insurance; or 
- [5%] of your [or your Dependent spouse’s] [Basic] Accidental Death Benefit payable, [plus [5%] of your 

[or your Dependent spouse’s [Optional] Accidental Death Benefit payable].]  
 
The Child Care Benefit is payable each year [for a maximum of [4 years] per Dependent child or until the 
child attains age [13], whichever is less]. The Child Care Benefit is payable upon receipt of satisfactory Proof 
of paid expenses and that your Dependent child is enrolled in a legally licensed Child Care Center. 
 
Child Care expenses do not include: 
- expenses incurred prior to your [or your Dependent spouse’s] death; or 
- charges for room and board; or 
- charges for ordinary living, traveling or clothing expenses. 
 
Child Care Center means a provider that is duly licensed, certified or accredited by the jurisdiction in which it 
is located, is run according to the laws and regulations applicable to child care facilities and which provides 
child care and supervision for children in a group setting on a regular basis.  Child Care Center does not 
include a Hospital, the child’s home or care provided during the child’s normal school hours.] 
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[PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY BENEFIT 
 
What is the Permanent Total Disability Benefit? 
 
If you become Permanently Totally Disabled, you may be eligible to receive part of your [Basic] Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment Insurance as a Permanent Total Disability Benefit if: 
- within [365 days of the accident] you have a Permanent Total Disability that is a result of an Accidental 

Bodily Injury payable under the Group Policy [; and 
- you have been continuously Permanently Totally Disabled for at least [12 consecutive months]]. 
 
You must apply for Permanent Total Disability Income Benefits no later than [12 months] after you cease to 
be Actively at Work.  Proof of Claim is required no later than [15 months] after you cease to be Actively at 
Work.  Sun Life has the right to designate a Physician to examine you prior to payment of the Permanent Total 
Disability Benefit. 
 
What is the amount of the Permanent Total Disability Benefit? 
 
The Permanent Total Disability Benefit is based on your amount of [Basic] Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance in force on the date prior to your Accidental Bodily Injury.  The [monthly] 
Permanent Total Disability Benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
- [1%] of the [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance in force on the date of your 

Accidental Bodily Injury; and 
- [$2,000]; 
reduced by any amount previously paid for your same Accidental Bodily Injury. 
 
[The Permanent Total Disability Benefit is payable [monthly for 60 months] [as a single lump sum payment.] 
 
When does my Permanent Total Disability Benefit cease? 
 
Your Permanent Total Disability Benefit ceases on the earliest of: 
- the date you cease to be Permanently Totally Disabled; 
- the date the amount of [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit has been exhausted; 
- the date all Permanent Total Disability Benefits have been paid; 
- the date you fail to furnish any required Proof that you continue to be Permanently Totally Disabled; 
- the date you fail to submit to any required Examinations; 
[- any period during which you are not under the regular and continuing care of a Physician providing 

appropriate treatment by means of examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition;] 
[- the date you retire;] 
[-  the date you attain age [70];] 
- the date you die. 
 
[You are deemed to be retired when you receive [any compensation from a Retirement Plan of your 
Employer.]] 
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[CRITICAL BURN BENEFIT 
 
What is the Critical Burn Benefit? 
 
Sun Life will pay a Critical Burn Benefit if you are Critically Burned due to an accident and require 
reconstructive surgery. 
 
The Critical Burn Benefit is the lesser of: 
1. the actual cost for the expense of the reconstructive surgery; or 
2. [5%] of your [Basic] AD&D [plus [5%] of your [Optional] AD&D Insurance; or  
3. [$5,000] [or [$10,000] if [you are] [the Insured person is] insured for [Optional] AD&D Insurance]. 
 
Benefits are payable when Sun Life receives Proof that you require reconstructive surgery due to being 
Critically Burned from an accident. 
 
[No benefit is payable for any loss from the same accident which has been paid to you under the Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment Benefit.] 
 
Critically Burned means that you have suffered burns which: 
1. are certified by a Physician as more severe than second degree burns; and 
2. result in scarring over at least [25%] of your body which will last indefinitely and can only be corrected 

through reconstructive surgery.] 
 
[LINE OF DUTY BENEFIT 
 
What is the Line of Duty Benefit? 
 
Sun Life will pay a Line of Duty Benefit if you meet all of the following requirements: 
 
1. You are a Public Safety Officer; and  
2. You suffer a loss for which an AD&D benefit is payable; and 
3. The loss is the result of a Line of Duty Accident. 
 
The Line of Duty Benefit is [the [lesser] of:] 
[- [100%] of the amount [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit payable] [; plus 
- [100% of the amount of [Optional] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit payable]; or 

[- [$50,000].] 
 
[Public Safety Officer means an employee whose primary job duties include controlling or reducing crime 
or juvenile delinquency, criminal law enforcement, or fire suppression.  Public Safety Officer includes 
[police officers, firefighters, corrections officers, judicial officers and officially recognized or designated 
volunteer firefighters], if they otherwise meet the definition of Public Safety Officer.]  
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[Line of Duty Accident means an accident, including accidental exposure to adverse weather conditions 
that occurs while you are taking any action which by rule, regulation, law, or condition of your 
employment you are obligated or authorized to perform as a Public Safety Officer. Line of Duty Accident 
includes an accident that occurs while you are on duty at a social, educational, ceremonial or athletic 
function to which you have been assigned, or for which you are paid as a Public Safety Officer.]  
 
[WAIVER OF PREMIUM PROVISION 
 
What is the Waiver of Premium Provision? 
 
If you become Totally Disabled while insured, the Waiver of Premium Provision may continue your [Basic] 
AD&D Insurance without any further payment of premiums by [you] [or your Employer].  
 
When am I eligible for the Waiver of Premium Provision? 
 

You are eligible if Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim that you became Totally Disabled: 
- while insured; and 
- [on or after] [before] your [60th] birthday; and] 
- [before your [70th] birthday; and] 
- [before you retire;] [and  
- your Total Disability has continued for at least [9 months] (the Elimination Period).] 
 
[Premium payment is required during your Elimination Period.] 

 
You must apply for Waiver of Premium no later than [12 months] after you become Totally Disabled. 

 
[What is the amount of [Basic] AD&D Insurance that is continued under the Waiver of Premium 
Provision? 
 
[For Total Disabilities that begin before age [60]] Sun Life will continue the amount of your [Basic] AD&D 
Insurance in force on the last day you were Actively at Work. [This amount is subject to the same [reductions 
or terminations] [at specified ages and/or at retirement] that would have been applicable had you not become 
Totally Disabled.  
 
[For Total Disabilities that begin on or after age [60] but before age ]70]]  Sun Life will continue the amount 
of your  [Basic] AD&D Insurance in force on the last day you were Actively at Work for a period up to [1 
year]. [This amount is subject to the same [reductions or terminations] [at specified ages and/or at retirement] 
that would have been applicable had you not become Totally Disabled.]  
 
[If you have Dependent [Basic] AD&D Insurance, the premium will [not] [also] be waived for that benefit.] 
 
[What if I die during the Elimination Period? 
 
If you die during the [9 month] Elimination Period, a death benefit will be paid to your Beneficiary if Sun Life 
receives Proof of Claim that you had been continuously Totally Disabled from the date you last worked until 
the date you died. 
 
The death benefit is the amount of your [Basic] AD&D Insurance in force on the day before you became 
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Totally Disabled.] 
 
[What happens if the Group Policy terminates during my Elimination Period? 
 
[You must continue to pay premium to Sun Life to continue your amount of [Basic] AD&D Insurance until 
your Waiver of Premium is approved.]  [If your Waiver of Premium is approved, a refund of premium will be 
given back to your first date of Total Disability.] 
 
When does my Waiver of Premium cease? 
 
Your Waiver of Premium ceases on the earliest of: 
- the date you are no longer Totally Disabled. 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be Totally Disabled. 
- the date your are no longer under the regular and continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate 

treatment by means of examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition. 
- the date you do not submit to an examination by a Physician of Sun Life’s choice. 
- [the date you reach age [70]] [if your Total Disability began before you reached age [60] [, unless you are 

eligible for Retiree AD&D Insurance].] 
- [the first anniversary after your Total Disability began] [for Total Disabilities that begin on or after you 

reach age [60]].] 
- [the date you retire] [, unless you are eligible for Retiree AD&D Insurance].] 
 
[For the purposes of this Waiver of Premium Provision, you are considered retired when you receive any 
compensation from a Retirement Plan of your Employer, [or when you reach age [70], whichever is earlier.] 
[A plan of deferred compensation is not considered to be a Retirement Plan].] 
 
If your Waiver of Premium ceases and you do not return to work with your Employer, your [Optional] AD&D 
Insurance will terminate. 
 
EXCLUSIONS 
 
What are the Exclusions? 
 
No [Basic] AD&D benefit will be payable for [your] [an Insured Person’s] loss that is due to or results from: 
 - suicide while sane or insane. 
 - intentionally self-inflicted injuries. 
 - bodily or mental infirmity or disease of any kind, or an infection unless due to an accidental cut or wound. 
[- [your] [an Insured Person] committing or attempting to commit a [n] [assault,] felony [or other criminal 

act].] 
[- [your] [an Insured Person’s] active participation in a war (declared or undeclared) or [your] [an Insured 

Person’s] active duty in any armed service during a time of war.] 
[- [your] [an Insured Person’s] active Participation in a Riot, Rebellion, or Insurrection.] 
[- injury for which [you are] [an Insured Person is] entitled to benefits under any Workers’ Compensation, 

Occupational Disease or similar law.] 
[- injury sustained while [you are] [an Insured Person is] doing any act or thing pertaining to any occupation 

or employment for wage or profit.] 
 [This exclusion will not apply if [you are] [the Insured Person is] a partner or a sole proprietor and cannot 

be covered by law under any Workers’ Compensation, Occupational Disease or any similar law.] 
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[- injury sustained from any aviation activities, other than [your] [an Insured Person] traveling on business 
for the Employer [in the Employer’s corporate aircraft as a passenger [or crew member,]] [or riding as a 
fare-paying passenger] [and other than riding in a life saving medevac or similar medical air transport 
service].] 

[- [your] [an Insured Person’s] voluntary use of any controlled substance as defined in Title II of the 
Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970, as now or hereafter amended, unless 
administered on the advice of a Physician and taken as prescribed.] 

[- your operation of any motorized vehicle while under the influence of any illegal substance or 
medication not prescribed by a physician, or while intoxicated. 

 
 Intoxicated means the minimum blood alcohol level required to be considered operating an  
 automobile under the influence of alcohol in the jurisdiction where the accident occurred. For the  
 purposes of this Exclusion, "Motorized Vehicle" includes, but is not  limited to, [automobiles, 

motorcycles, boats and snowmobiles].] 
 
 [CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE 
 
What happens when my Employer transfers insurance coverage to Sun Life? 
 
In order to prevent losing your insurance, Sun Life will provide the following coverage. 
 
If you are not Actively at Work on [January 1, 2009 [or your Employer’s Effective Date as shown in 
Attachment A, if applicable,]] you will be insured if: 
 
1. you were insured under the prior insurer’s group AD&D policy at the time of transfer; and 
2. you are a member of an Eligible Class; and 
3. premiums for you are paid up to date; and 
4. you are not receiving or eligible to receive benefits under the prior insurer’s group AD&D policy. 
 
Any [Basic] AD&D benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
 - the [Basic] AD&D benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
 - the [Basic] AD&D benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group AD&D policy had it remained in force. 
 
All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.]] 
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What is the Short Term Disability Benefit? 
 
Short Term Disability Benefits (STD) partially replace your income if you become Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled while insured. 
 
When do STD benefits become payable? 
 
Sun Life will pay a weekly STD benefit after the end of your Elimination Period, if Sun Life receives Proof 
that you are: 
- Totally Disabled due to an Injury or Sickness; or 
[- Partially Disabled due to [the same] [an] Injury or Sickness [that caused Total Disability], [within [14 

days] of the end of the period during which you receive Total Disability Benefits; and] 
- under the regular and continuing care of a Physician that provides appropriate treatment by means of 

examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition; and 
- not engaged in any occupation or employment for wage or profit [other than Partial Disability 

employment] [with your Employer]. 
 
What conditions must be met for STD benefits to continue? 
 
Sun Life will pay you an STD benefit, up to the Maximum Benefit Period, if you provide Proof that you 
continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled and you still require the regular and continuing care of a 
Physician.  You need to provide Proof when Sun Life asks for it, but the Proof is at your expense. 
 
How is the STD benefit calculated? 
 
If you are Totally Disabled, your weekly STD benefit will be calculated based on the Total Disability 
Benefit formula.  [If you are Partially Disabled, your weekly STD benefit will be calculated based on the 
Partial Disability Benefit formula.  You need to provide Sun Life with Proof of your weekly earnings on a 
monthly basis.] 
 
What is the Total Disability Benefit formula? 
 
To determine your Total Disability Benefit: 
 
[1.] Take [the lesser of:] 
 

[a. your Total Weekly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage [you elected] (shown in the 
Benefit Highlights); or 

 
b.] the Maximum Weekly Benefit [you elected] (shown in the Benefit Highlights); [then] 
 
[c.  the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over 

the Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved your Evidence of Insurability; then] 
 
[2. Subtract Other Income Benefits from the amount determined in Step 1.] 
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[What is the Partial Disability Benefit formula? 
 
[If you return to work in your Own [Occupation] [Job] [or another occupation] and you are earning more than 
[20%] of your Total Weekly Earnings, an STD benefit will be paid.] 
 
To determine your Partial Disability Benefit: 
 
[Take the lesser of: 
 
1.  [[50%] of your Total Disability Benefit; or] 
 
2.  your Total Weekly Earnings less [your Partial Disability employment earnings] [and Other Income 

Benefits].] 
 
[A Total Disability Benefit will be paid if you are earning [20%] or less of your Total Weekly Earnings.] 
 
[To determine your Partial Disability Benefit [for the first [13 weeks] of your Partial Disability]:] 
 
[1. calculate the STD benefit you would receive if you were Totally Disabled; then 
 
 add your [Disability Earnings] [earnings from employment] [plus your income received from Other 

Income Benefits] to your Total Disability Benefit. 
 
2. if this sum is more than [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings, subtract the amount in excess of [100%] 

 [of your Total Weekly Earnings] from your Total Disability Benefit.  This result is your Partial 
Disability Benefit; or 

 
 if the sum is less than [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings, your Total Disability Benefit is your 

Partial Disability Benefit.] 
 
[A Total Disability Benefit will be paid if you are earning [20%] or less of your Total Weekly Earnings.] 
 
[If you continue to be Partially Disabled after [13 weeks] of Partial Disability Benefits, your Partial Disability 
Benefit will be recalculated based on the following formula:] 
 
[If you return to work in your Own [Occupation] [Job] [or another occupation] and you are earning more than 
[20%] of your Total Weekly Earnings, an STD benefit will be paid.  The following proportionate loss formula 
will be used to determine your STD benefit:] 
 
 [(A divided by B) multiplied by C 
where: 
 
A  = your Total Weekly Earnings minus your weekly earnings received from your employment. 
 
B  = your Total Weekly Earnings. 
 
C  = your Total Disability Benefit. 
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[A Total Disability Benefit will be paid if you are earning [20%] or less of your Total Weekly Earnings.] 
 
[After [12 weeks] of Partial Disability Benefits have been paid, you will continue to receive a Partial 
Disability Benefit if you continue to be Partially Disabled and earn more than [20%] of your Total Weekly 
Earnings. The higher result of the following proportionate loss formula and [50%] benefit formula will be 
used to determine the Net Weekly Benefit: 
 
Proportionate Loss Formula 

 
(A divided by B) multiplied by C where: 
 
A = your Total Weekly Earnings minus your weekly Disability Earnings. 
B = your Total Weekly Earnings. 
C = your Total Disability Benefit. 
 
[50%] Benefit Formula 
 
The Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by [50%] of your weekly Disability Earnings. 

 
[If the sum of your Partial Disability Benefit, your weekly Disability Earnings and Other Income Benefits 
exceeds [100% of] your Total Weekly Earnings, your Partial Disability Benefit will be further reduced by 
the excess amount.]] 

 

[OTHER INCOME BENEFITS 

What are Other Income Benefits? 
 
Other Income Benefits are those benefits provided [or available] to you while your weekly STD benefit is 
payable.  These Other Income Benefits [, other than retirement benefits,] must be provided to you as a result of 
the same Total [or Partial] Disability payable under the Group Policy.  Other Income Benefits include: 
 
[1. The amount [you are eligible for] [paid to you] under: 
 [a. Workers’ Compensation Law; or] 
 [b. Occupational Disease Law; or] 
 [c. Unemployment Compensation Law; or] 
 [d. Compulsory Benefit Act or Law; or] 
 [e. an automobile insurance policy providing disability wage loss benefits; or]  
 [f. any other act or law of like intent.]] 
 
[2. The Railroad Retirement Act [(including any dependent benefits)].] 

 
[3. Any labor management trustee, union or employee benefit plans that are funded in whole or in part by 

your Employer.] 
 

[4. Any disability income benefits [you are eligible for] [paid to you] under: 
a. any other group plan of your Employer [, except for one or more individual disability insurance 

policies for which you are the policyholder, owner or beneficiary where premiums are wholly or 
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partially paid by your Employer]; 
 

[b. One or more individual disability insurance policy (ies) for which you are the policyholder, owner 
or beneficiary where premiums are wholly or partially paid by your Employer, except that for 
purposes of this subparagraph 4(b), Other Income Benefits includes only the amount of such 
benefits which, when combined with your Net Weekly Benefit, [and] Other Income Benefits [and 
your Disability Earnings], exceeds [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings.  The amount in excess 
of [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings will be used to reduce the Net Weekly Benefit.]; 

 
c. any governmental retirement system as a result of your job with your Employer.] 

 
[5. The benefits you receive under your Employer's Retirement Plan as follows: 
 a. any disability benefits; 
 b. the Employer-paid portion of any Retirement Benefits. 
  
 Disability benefits that reduce your accrued retirement benefit will be treated as a retirement benefit.  

Retirement benefits do not include any amount rolled over or transferred to any other retirement plan as 
defined in Section 402 of the Internal Revenue Code.] 

 
 [Retirement benefits do not include any amount you receive from any state or public retirement or 

disability plan including the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or the State Teachers’ 
Retirement System (STRS).] 

 
[6. The disability [or retirement benefits] under the United States Social Security Act, [the Canada Pension 

Plan, the Quebec Pension Plan,] or any similar plan or act, as follows:] 
 [a. Disability benefits you [are eligible to] receive;] 
 [b. [[50%] of any] Disability benefits your spouse, child or children [are eligible to] receive because of 

your Total [or Partial] Disability, unless the dependent benefits are paid directly to your divorced 
spouse or to your children in custody of your divorced spouse.] 

 [c. Retirement benefits received by you;] 
 [d. [[50%] of any] Retirement benefits your spouse, child or children [are eligible to] receive because of 

your receipt of retirement benefits, unless the dependent benefits are paid directly to your divorced 
spouse or to your children in custody of your divorced spouse.] 

 
 [If your Total [or Partial] Disability begins after your Social Security Normal Retirement Age, your 

Social Security Retirement Benefits will not apply if, prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability, you were 
already receiving Social Security Retirement Benefits.] 

 
[For the first [12 months] following the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, any 
disability benefits you or your dependent spouse, child or children receive from [Social Security] [or] 
[any Employer’s retirement plan including [the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS)] [or] 
[the State Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS)]] will not be considered Other Income.] 

 
[7. The amount you receive from any accumulated sick leave [, vacation pay or any other paid time off].] 
 
[8. Any [accumulated sick leave or] salary continuation paid to you by your Employer [which causes your 

Net Weekly Benefit, plus Other Income Benefits and any [accumulated sick leave and] salary 
continuation, to exceed [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings. The amount in excess of [100%] of 
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your Total weekly Earnings will be used to reduce your Net Weekly Benefit].] 
 
[9. Any amount due to income replacement or lost wages paid to you by compromise, settlement, or other 

method as a result of a claim for any Other Income Benefit. Such amount includes any amount received 
as a result of malpractice or similar litigation.] 

 
[10. Any amount you receive from a voluntary separation of employment agreement from your Employer, 

 including severance pay or other income in settlement of an employment contract.] 
 
[11. Any amount you receive under any individual disability income policy [which causes your Net 

 Weekly Benefit plus Other Income Benefits and the amount received under your individual  disability 
policy to exceed [100%] of your Total Weekly Earnings.  The amount in excess of [100%]  of your 
Total Weekly Earnings will be used to reduce your Net Weekly Benefit].] 

 
[12. Any [renewal] commissions you receive from your Employer.] 
 
[13. Any amount you receive from a partnership, proprietorship or similar draws.] 
 
[14. Any disability benefits you receive from the Veterans Administration for the same disability, if you begin 

to receive these benefits after you become disabled under this STD plan.] 
 
[15. Any amount you receive from any paid employment [other than Partial disability employment with 

 your Employer.] 
 
[16. Any amount you receive from any state or public retirement or disability plan, including the Public 

Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or the State Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS). 
  
[Other Income Benefits will include any amount described above which would have been available to you had 
you applied for that benefit.] 
 
[LUMP SUM PAYMENT 
 
What if I receive payment of Other Income Benefits in a lump sum? 
 
If you receive a lump sum payment for any Other Income Benefits, Sun Life will prorate the lump sum on a 
weekly basis over the time period specified for the lump sum payment.  If no time period is stated, the lump 
sum payment will be prorated on a weekly basis over your expected lifetime as determined by Sun Life.] 
 
[REQUIRED APPLICATION FOR OTHER INCOME BENEFITS 
 
Am I required to apply for Other Income Benefits? 
 
You must apply for any Other Income Benefits for which you may be eligible. If such benefits are denied, 
you must appeal the denial to all administrative levels that Sun Life deems necessary. Sun Life has the right 
to receive from you written documentation of your pursuit of Other Income Benefits.] 
 
[SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY INCOME ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
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What is the Social Security Disability Income Assistance Program? 
 
At your request, Sun Life will assist you (if appropriate) through the various levels of the Social Security 
claims process.  Sun Life will assist you with your application and also through the appeals process.] 
 
[ESTIMATED OTHER INCOME 
 
Are any of my Other Income Benefits estimated? 
 
Sun Life has the right to estimate the amount of any Other Income Benefits you are eligible to receive during 
your Total [or Partial] Disability, and to reduce the STD benefit payments by the estimated amount. Sun Life 
will estimate the amount if, at the time of calculating any STD benefit payments, the Other Income benefits 
you may be eligible to receive have not been awarded nor denied, or if the Other Income Benefits have been 
denied and are being appealed.  This estimate will be used to reduce the amount of your weekly STD benefit 
payments until the Other Income Benefits have been awarded or denied.  However, the estimate will not be 
used if you meet both of the following conditions: 
 
- you have applied for the Other Income Benefits; and 
- you agree to appeal any denials of Other Income Benefits to all administrative levels Sun Life deems 

necessary; and  
- you complete and sign the Sun Life  Reimbursement Agreement.] 
 
[ADJUSTMENT OF BENEFITS 
 
What happens when the Other Income Benefits have been awarded or have been denied? 
 
You must notify Sun Life of the amount of Other Income Benefit when it is approved or adjusted (other than 
cost of living increases) or if it has been denied on final appeal.  Sun Life will make an adjustment to the net 
weekly benefit when Sun Life receives written notice of the amount of the Other Income Benefit or when it 
has been denied.  Written Notice must be sent within [31 days] after receipt of the Other Income Benefit award 
or denial. 
 
If after Sun Life makes an adjustment your net weekly benefit has been underpaid, Sun Life will make a lump 
sum refund to you of the amount that has been underpaid. 
 
If after Sun Life makes an adjustment your net weekly benefit has been overpaid, you must reimburse Sun 
Life the amount of the overpayment within [31 days] of the award.  Sun Life has the option to reduce or 
eliminate future STD benefit payments instead of requiring reimbursement in a lump sum.  [During the 
overpayment reimbursement period the minimum weekly benefit will not apply.]] 
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[COST OF LIVING FREEZE 
 
What happens if I receive increases in my Other Income Benefits? 
 
After the first deduction for each of your Other Income Benefits, Sun Life will not reduce your weekly STD 
benefit payments due to cost of living increases.] [This does not apply to any increase in earnings you receive 
from employment.]] 
 
[WAIVER OF PREMIUM 
 
Am I required to pay premiums while I am Totally [or Partially] Disabled? 
 
Sun Life will waive your STD premium payments during any period STD benefits are payable under the 
Group Policy.  If the Group Policy is in force when your Total [or Partial] Disability ends, you will remain 
insured if you return to an Actively at Work status in an Eligible Class and your premium payments are 
resumed.] 
 
[SURVIVOR BENEFIT 
 
What happens to my STD benefit if I die? 
 
[A Survivor Benefit equal to [3 times] your last Gross Weekly Benefit is payable in a lump sum to your 
Eligible Survivor if Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that you died: 
 - after your Total [or Partial] Disability had continued for [[30] or more consecutive days]; and 
 - you were eligible to receive a weekly STD benefit. 
 
[A Survivor Benefit equal to [66 2/3%] of your last full weekly STD benefit is payable to your Eligible 
Survivor for [12 weeks] if Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that you died: 
- after your Total [or Partial] Disability had continued for [14 or more consecutive days]; and 
- you were eligible to receive a monthly STD benefit. 
 
[If you do not have an Eligible Survivor [at any time during the [12 weeks],] no Survivor Benefit is 
payable.]] 
 
[A Survivor Benefit is payable in a lump sum to your Eligible Survivor if Sun Life receives satisfactory proof 
that you died: 
  - after your Total [or Partial] Disability had continued for [14 or more consecutive days]; and 
  - you were eligible to receive a weekly STD benefit. 
 
The benefit will be [calculated as follows: 
[1. Take the number of weeks shown in the Benefit Highlights for your Eligible Class and subtract the 

number of weeks paid to you; then 
2. Multiply your last Gross Weekly Benefit by the result shown in Step 1. 
3. This result will be paid to your Eligible Survivor in a lump sum.] 
 
[Each day for which a benefit is payable will be equal to 1/7 of a week.] 
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[The benefit will be 3 times your last Gross Weekly Benefit.] 
 
[Who are my Eligible Survivors? 
 
[- Your spouse, if living [including your [domestic partner] [or civil union partner]]; 
[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is under age [18] [and depends on you for [50%] or 

more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation]];  

[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is under age [23] and is an enrolled full-time 
student, [and depends on you for [50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your 
federal income tax return or other appropriate documentation].] [A full-time student includes your child 
who is attending college outside the United States.]; 

[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is incapable of self-sustaining employment because 
of mental retardation, developmental disability or physical handicap, and depends on you for [50%] or 
more of the child’s support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation. 

 
[Child includes your unmarried step-child, [foster child] [, child under your legal guardianship] [, child of your 
domestic partner [or civil union partner,]] or adopted child, if the child [depends on you for [50%] or more of 
the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation] [, and is living with you in a regular parent-child relationship]. A child is considered adopted 
if the child is in your legal custody under an interim court order of adoption, whether or not a final adoption 
order is ever issued.]  
 
How will the Survivor Benefit be paid? 
 
The Survivor Benefit will be paid to your spouse [, domestic partner [or civil union partner], if living.  If 
you do not have a spouse [, domestic partner [or civil union partner]] on the date of your death, the 
Survivor Benefit will be paid to your eligible surviving children in equal shares.  
 
[If you do not have an Eligible Survivor, the Survivor Benefit will be payable to your estate.] [If an eligible 
survivor is a minor child, Sun Life may pay a benefit up to [$1,000] as indicated in the Claim Provisions 
section.  Such benefit may be payable to a custodian designated pursuant to the Uniform Transfers to 
Minors Act.]] 
 
[TERMINATION OF SHORT TERM DISABILITY BENEFITS 
 
When does my weekly STD benefit cease? 
 
Your weekly STD benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you are no longer Totally [or Partially] Disabled; 
- the date you die; 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled as requested;  
- [the date you refuse to complete a rehabilitative assessment, or the date you cease to participate in the 

Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program without Good Cause;] 
- [the date on which you are incarcerated;] 
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[- the date your [Partial Disability employment earnings] [Disability Earnings] are more than [80%] of your 
Total Weekly Earnings; or] 

[- the date Sun Life determines you are able to perform all of the material and substantial duties of your Own 
[Occupation] [Job] on a Full-time Basis, even if you choose not to work.] 

 
Full-time Basis means you are able or have the capacity to perform the Material and Substantial Duties of 
your Own [Occupation] [Job] for the number of hours you normally performed your Own [Occupation] 
[Job] prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability.]  
 
[However, if you normally performed your Own [Occupation] [Job]  on an average in excess of [40 hours] 
per week, Sun Life will consider you as being able to perform that requirement if you work or have the 
capacity to work [40 hours] per week.] 
 
SUCCESSIVE PERIODS OF DISABILITY 
 
What happens if I return to [full-time] work and become [Totally] Disabled again? 
 
Sun Life will treat this new [Total] Disability as part of your prior Total [or Partial] Disability if you returned 
to work and were Actively at Work for less than: 
- [two consecutive weeks], if due to the same or related causes; 
- [one day], if due to an entirely unrelated cause. 
You will not have to complete a new Elimination Period. 
 
Your weekly STD benefit will be subject to the same terms and conditions applicable to the original Total [or 
Partial] Disability. 
 
Your weekly STD benefit will not continue if: 
- you become eligible for benefits under any other group STD policy; or 
- the Group Policy terminates. 
 
If your new [Total] Disability begins later than the time periods specified, you will need to complete a new 
Elimination Period. 
 
[REHABILITATION SERVICES 
 
What are the Rehabilitation Services? 
 
If you become Totally [or Partially] Disabled, Sun Life may determine that you are a suitable candidate to 
receive vocational Rehabilitation Services. In order for you to be eligible for such services, you must have 
the functional capacity to successfully complete a Rehabilitation Program. These services include, but are 
not limited to: 
- job modification; 
- job placement; 
- retraining; 
- other activities reasonably necessary to help you return to work. 
 
[Sun Life may require you to participate in a rehabilitation assessment or Rehabilitation Program at Sun Life’s 
expense.]  Sun Life will work with you, your Employer, your Physician and others, as appropriate, to develop 
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a Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
[You decide, with your Physician’s approval, whether to participate in a Rehabilitation Program.  Participation 
in a rehabilitation assessment or a Rehabilitation Program is at Sun Life’s expense.  Sun Life will work with 
you, your Employer, your Physician and others, as appropriate, to develop a Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
Eligibility for vocational Rehabilitation Services is based on your education, training, experience and 
physical/mental capabilities. Sun Life determines whether you are eligible for vocational Rehabilitation 
Services. 
 
[The Rehabilitation Program may, at Sun Life’s sole discretion, allow for payment of your medical 
expense, education expense, moving expense, accommodation expense or family care expense while you 
are participating in the Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
Rehabilitation Program means a written agreement between you and Sun Life in which Sun Life agrees 
to provide, arrange or authorize vocational, physical or psychiatric rehabilitation services and you agree to 
participate in the Rehabilitation Program. 
 
[What happens if I participate in a Rehabilitation Program? 
 
If you participate in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program, you will receive the greater of: 
- your Benefit Percentage (as shown in the Benefit Highlights) multiplied by [1.05]; or 
- your current net weekly benefit multiplied by [1.05]. 
 
To calculate the increased benefit: 
1. Take your current Benefit Percentage and multiply that percentage by [1.05].  Then calculate your 

Total [or Partial] Disability Benefit including any deductions for Other Income Benefits. 
2. Take your current net weekly benefit payable and multiply that number by [1.05] 
 
The greater of 1 or 2 is the rehabilitation increased amount. 
 
This increased amount will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you complete the Rehabilitation Program; or 
- the date you cease to participate in the Rehabilitation Program [without Good Cause]; or 
- the date your STD benefits cease[; or 
- [9 weeks] after your Rehabilitation Program began].] 
 
[What happens if I refuse Rehabilitation Services? 
 
If you refuse to participate in your rehabilitation efforts or you refuse to participate or cease to participate 
in a Rehabilitation Program without Good Cause, your STD benefits will cease.] 
 
[Good Cause means documented physical or mental impairments which prevent you from participating in 
or completing the Rehabilitation Program. Good Cause may also mean a necessary medical program which 
prevents or interferes with your participation in or completion of the Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
LIMITATIONS 
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What are the Limitations? 
 
No STD benefit will be payable to you for any Total [or Partial] Disability during any of the following 
periods: 
 
[- any period you are no longer under the regular and continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate 

treatment by means of examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition.] 
 
[- any period you do not submit to any medical Examination [or clinical assessment] requested by Sun Life.] 
 
[ any period you engage in any occupation or employment for wage or profit] [other than Partial Disability 

employment [with the Employer.] 
 
[- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Mental Illness unless you are under the 

continuing care of a specialist in psychiatric care.] 
 
[ any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Drug and Alcohol Illness, unless you are 

actively supervised by a Physician or Rehabilitation Counselor and are receiving continuing treatment 
from a rehabilitation center or a designated institution approved by Sun Life.] 

 
[- any period during which you are incarcerated.] 
 
[- any period during which you are receiving vacation or holiday pay from your Employer. Any period of 

time for which you are receiving vacation or holiday pay during a period of Total [or Partial] Disability 
will not count towards the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 

 
[- any period during which you would not receive regular pay from your Employer if you were not Totally 

[or Partially] Disabled. Any period during which benefits are suspended will not count towards the 
Maximum Benefit Period.] 

 
[- any period during which you would not receive regular pay from your Employer [if you are a  [teacher] 
[contracted to work for a full school year].] (Any period during which benefits are  suspended will 
not count towards the Maximum Benefit Period). [Teacher includes  paraprofessionals, principals, 
vice-principals, custodians, social workers, school psychologists and  other employees who are 
similarly employed with the Employer.] 
 
[Pre-Existing Condition Limitation  
 
A limited STD benefit may be payable if your disability is caused by or results from a pre-existing 
condition. 
 
Pre-Existing Condition means during the [90 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance or the 
Effective Date of an increase in your amount of insurance, you: 
- received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 
 disabling condition; or 
- took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
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EXCLUSIONS 
 
What are the Exclusions? 
 
No STD benefit is payable for any Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to: 
[- intentionally self-inflicted injuries;] 
[- war, declared or undeclared, or any act of war;] 
[- your active Participation in a Riot, Rebellion or Insurrection;] 
[- your committing or attempting to commit an assault, felony or other criminal act;] 
[- Injury or Sickness for which you are entitled to benefits under any Workers' Compensation, Occupational 

Disease or similar law; or] 
[- Injury or Sickness sustained while you are doing any act or thing pertaining to any occupation for wage or 

profit.] 
 [This exclusion will not apply if you are a partner or a sole proprietor and cannot be covered by law 
 under any Workers’ Compensation, Occupational Disease or any similar law.] 
[-  your voluntary use of any controlled substance as defined in Title II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse 

Prevention and Control Act of 1970, as now or hereafter amended, unless administered on the advice of 
a Physician and taken as prescribed.] 

[- your operation of any motorized vehicle while under the influence of any illegal substance or   
 medication not prescribed by a physician, or while intoxicated. 
 
Intoxicated means the minimum blood alcohol level required to be considered operating an automobile 
under the influence of alcohol in the jurisdiction where the accident occurred. For the purposes of this 
Exclusion, "Motorized Vehicle" includes, but is not limited to, [automobiles, motorcycles, boats and 
snowmobiles].] 
 
[- a Pre-Existing Condition. [This exclusion applies only to the first [12 months] after your Effective 
 Date of Insurance [or the Effective Date of an increase in your amount of insurance].] 
   
[Pre-Existing Condition means during the [90 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance, you: 
- received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 
 disabling condition; or 
- took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
[Pre-Existing Condition for increases in amounts of insurance means during the [90 days] prior to  
your Effective Date of any increase in your amount of insurance, you: 
- received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 

disabling condition; or 
- took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider 
 for diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
[Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion Exception 
 
The Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion will not apply if your Total [or Partial] Disability begins later than 



 BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 
 [SHORT TERM DISABILITY INCOME INSURANCE (STD) 
 

010C-LH-STD Page No. [84] Short Term Disability  
  Income Insurance 
  [00/00/00] 
  

 [12 months] after your Effective Date of Insurance [or later than [12 months] after your Effective Date 
 of any increase in your amount of insurance]. 
 
[ The Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion also will not apply to [the initial amount of insurance or for any 
subsequent increases] if you have been insured under the Group Policy for the immediately preceding [3 
consecutive months] prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability and during that period you have not: 
- received any medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 

disabling condition; or 
- taken prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
[- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is caused by, contributed to by, or resulting from a 
Pre-Existing Condition until you have performed the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own 
[Occupation] [Job] on a full-time basis for at least [5 consecutive days] after your initial Effective Date of 
Insurance [or for any subsequent increases in your amount of increase]. 
 
Pre-Existing Condition means any Injury or Sickness for which you have received medical treatment,  
consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures, or took prescribed drugs or medicines for 
the disabling condition within [30 days] prior to your initial Effective Date of Insurance [or for any 
subsequent increases in your amount of insurance].] 
 
[However, the Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion for increases does not apply to cost of living, contract or 
periodic salary review increases.] 
 
[To determine satisfaction of the above Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion, you will be given credit for  
the time you were insured under a previous group, blanket or employer STD plan, if your previous  
coverage was continuous to a date not more than [60 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance  
under the Group Policy. The credit shall apply to the extent that the previous coverage or level of  
benefits was substantially similar to the new coverage or level of benefits under the Group Policy. 
 
Total or Partial Disability Benefits that would have otherwise been payable during a benefit period subject 
to a Pre-Existing Condition restriction will not be paid.  Any remaining Total [or Partial] Disability 
Benefits will commence when the Pre-Existing Condition period ends.] 
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[CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE 
 
[What happens when my Employer transfers insurance coverage to Sun Life? 
 
In order to prevent losing your insurance, Sun Life will provide the following coverage. 
 
If you are not Actively at Work on [January 1, 2009] [or the Employer Effective Date as shown in 
Attachment A, if applicable], you will be insured if: 
- you were insured under the prior insurer’s group STD policy at the time of the transfer; and 
- you are a member of an Eligible Class; and 
- premiums for you are paid up to date; and 
- you are not receiving or eligible to receive benefits under the prior insurer’s group STD policy.] 
 
If you continue to be not Actively at Work and subsequently become Totally [or Partially] Disabled on or 
after [January 1, 2009], any STD benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
- the STD benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
- the STD benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group STD policy, had it remained in force.  
 
All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.] 
 
[TOTAL OR PARTIAL DISABILITIES DUE TO A PRE-EXISTING CONDITION 
 
Are Disabilities due to a Pre-existing Condition covered? 
 
STD benefits may be payable if you become Totally [or Partially] Disabled on or after [January 1, 2009] 
due to a Pre-Existing Condition provided you were: 
- insured under the [prior insurers group STD policy] at the time of transfer; and 
- Actively at Work and insured under the Group Policy on [January 1, 2009]. 
 
Any benefit payable will be determined as follows: 
 
1. if you have satisfied the Pre-Existing Condition Exception under the Group Policy, the STD benefit 

will be based on the Group Policy’s benefit provision. 
2. if you cannot satisfy the Pre-Existing Condition Exception under the Group Policy, the prior 

Employer’s plan’s pre-existing condition provision will be applied. 
 a. if you would have satisfied the prior insurer’s pre-existing condition provision, considering time 

insured under both group policies, any benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
   i. the STD benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
  ii. the STD benefit payable under the [prior insurer’s group STD policy] had it remained in force. 
 b. if you cannot satisfy the Pre-Existing Condition Exception of the Group Policy or if the pre-

existing condition provision [under the [prior insurer’s group STD policy]] would apply, no STD 
benefit will be paid.] 

 
[All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply] 
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RECURRENT OR CONCURRENT CONDITION 
 
Are Total [or Partial] Disabilities due to a Recurrent or Concurrent Condition Covered? 
 
If you received a weekly Total [or Partial] Disability benefit under your Employer’s prior STD plan and:  
- you returned to work for the Employer as an active [Full-time] Employee prior to the [January 1, 

2009]; and 
- within [6 months] of your return to active [Full-time] employment, you become Totally [or Partially] 

Disabled due to a Recurrent Condition for which STD benefits were payable under your Employer’s 
prior STD plan; or 

- within [6 months] of your return to active [Full-time] employment you become Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled due to a Concurrent Condition for which STD benefits were payable under your Employer’s 
prior STD plan; and  

- you do not qualify for Total [or Partial] Disability  benefits for your Recurrent or Concurrent Condition 
under your Employer’s prior STD plan; 

then you will not be required to satisfy a new Elimination Period under the Group Policy if Total [or 
Partial] Disability benefits would have been payable for your Recurrent or Concurrent Condition under 
your Employer’s prior STD Plan, without having to satisfy any further Elimination Period if your 
Employer’s prior STD plan had remained in force. 

Any STD benefit payable will be the lesser of: 

1. the STD benefit payable under the Group Policy, reduced by any STD benefit payable under your 
Employer’s prior STD plan; or 

2. the STD benefit that would have been payable under your Employer’s prior STD plan had it remained 
in force, less any benefit payable under your Employer’s prior STD plan. 
 

Recurrent Condition means your Total [or Partial] Disability that is caused by a worsening in your 
condition and is due to the same cause as your prior Total [or Partial] Disability for which an STD benefit 
has been paid under your Employer’s prior STD plan. 

Concurrent Condition means your Total [or Partial] Disability is due to an Injury or Sickness unrelated to 
your prior Total [or Partial] Disability for which an STD benefit has been paid under your Employer’s prior 
STD plan.  

[All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.] 
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What is the Long Term Disability Benefit? 
 
Long Term Disability Benefits (LTD) partially replace your income if you become Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled while insured. 
 
When do LTD benefits become payable? 
 
Sun Life will pay a monthly LTD benefit after the end of your Elimination Period, if Sun Life receives Proof 
that you are: 
- Totally [or Partially] Disabled due to an Injury or Sickness; [or 
- Partially Disabled due to the same Injury or Sickness that caused Total Disability, [within [31 days] after 

Total Disability Benefits cease;]] and 
- under the regular and continuing care of a Physician that provides appropriate treatment and regular 

examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition. 
 
What conditions must be met for LTD benefits to continue? 
 
Sun Life will pay you an LTD benefit, up to the Maximum Benefit Period, if you provide Proof that you 
continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled, and you require the regular and continuing care of a Physician. 
You need to provide Proof when Sun Life asks for it, but the Proof is at your expense. You need to provide Sun 
Life with Proof of your monthly earnings on a [monthly] basis. 
 
What is the Total Disability Benefit? 
 
If you are Totally Disabled, your net monthly benefit will be calculated based on the Total Disability Benefit 
formula. You will qualify for this benefit if: 
- you are not working or you are working but your Disability Earnings are less than [20%] of your [Indexed] 

Total Monthly Earnings; and 
- [during your Elimination Period and the next [24 months],] you, because of your Injury or Sickness, [are 

unable to perform [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own Occupation.] 
 
[After Total [or Partial] Disability LTD benefits [combined] have been paid to you for [24 months], you will 
continue to qualify for this benefit if you are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful 
Occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.] 
 
[After Total [or Partial] Disability LTD benefits [combined] have been paid to you for [24 months], you will 
continue to qualify for this benefit if you: 
- are unable to safely and completely perform [2] or more Activities of Daily Living without another person’s 

assistance or verbal cueing; or 
- are Cognitively Impaired; and  
- are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful Occupation for which you are or become 

reasonable qualified by education, training or experience.] 
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How is the Total Disability Benefit calculated? 
 
To determine your Total Disability Benefit [for the first [12 months] of LTD benefit payments]:]  
 
[1. Take the lesser of: 

a. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage [you elected] (shown in the Benefit 
Highlights); or 

 
b. your Maximum Monthly Benefit [you elected] (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; or 
 
c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over your 

Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved]; then 
 
2. Subtract Other Income Benefits from the amount determined in Step 1.] 
 
[To determine your Total Disability Benefit for the remaining LTD benefit payments:] 
 
[Take the lesser of:  
 
1. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage (shown in the Benefit Highlights): or 
 
2. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Integrated Benefit Percentage (shown in the Benefit 

Highlights) and subtract Other Income Benefits; or 
 
3. your Maximum Monthly Benefit (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; or 
 
4. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over your 

Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved].] 
 
[To determine your Total Disability Benefit for the remaining LTD benefit payments:] 
 
[Take the lesser of:  
 
1. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage (shown in the Benefit Highlights) and 

subtract Other Income Benefits other than Family Social Security; or 
 
2. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Integrated Benefit Percentage (shown in the Benefit 

Highlights) and subtract Other Income Benefits including Family Social Security[; or 
 
3. your Maximum Monthly Benefit (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; or 
 
4. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over your 

Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved].] 
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[To determine your Total Disability Benefit [for the first [30 months] of LTD benefit payments]:]  
 

[1. Take the lesser of: 
a. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage [you elected] for the first [30 

months] of benefit payments] (shown in the Benefit Highlights)[ and subtract Other Income 
Benefits]; or 

 
b. the Maximum Monthly Benefit [elected by the Employee] (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; 

or 
 
c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance 

over your Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved]; then 
 

[2. [Subtract Other Income Benefits from the amount determined in Step 1].] 
 
[To determine your Total Disability Benefit [for LTD benefit payments after the first [30 months] of LTD 
benefit payments,  if you are receiving benefits under Social Security Disability or Social Security Retirement 
plans or any other similar federal, state or municipal plan]:] 
 
[1. Take the lesser of: 

a. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage [you elected for the first [30 months] 
of benefit payments (shown in the Benefit Highlights); or 

 
b. your Maximum Monthly Benefit [you elected] (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; or 
 
c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over your 

Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved]; then 
 
2. Subtract Other Income Benefits from the amount determined in Step 1.] 
 
[To determine your Total Disability Benefit [for LTD benefit payments after the first [30 months] of LTD 
payments,  if you are not receiving benefits under Social Security Disability or Social Security Retirement plans 
or any other similar federal, state or municipal plan]:] 
 
 [1. Take the lesser of: 

a. your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage for the remaining benefit payments  
(shown in the Benefit Highlights); or 

 
b. your Maximum Monthly Benefit [you elected] (shown in the Benefit Highlights) [; or 
 
c. the Guaranteed Issue Amount (shown in the Benefit Highlights) plus any amount of insurance over your 

Guaranteed Issue Amount that Sun Life has approved]; then 
 
2. Subtract Other Income Benefits from the amount determined in Step 1.] 
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[What happens if I am not receiving Social Security benefits after the first [30 months] of LTD benefit 
payments? 
 
If you are unable to perform the Material and Substantial duties of any occupation after the first [30 months] of 
LTD benefit payments, but your claim for Social Security benefits or an alternative plan for federal, state or 
municipal employees has been denied because you have not worked long enough under these systems, your 
monthly benefit will be calculated based on the benefit percentage you elected for the first [30 months] of LTD 
disability payments.  
 
If you are unable to perform the Material and Substantial duties of any occupation after the first [30 months] of 
LTD benefit payments, but your claim for Social Security benefits or an alternative plan for federal, state or 
municipal employees is still pending, you may receive monthly benefit payments based on the benefit 
percentage you elected for the first [30 months] of disability payments, until the earlier of the following: 
 

a. [12 months] following the initial [30 months] of LTD benefit payments; or 
b. the date on which the final decision on your claim for Social Security benefits or an alternative plan for 

federal, state or municipal employees has been made.] 
 
[What is the Partial Disability Benefit? 
 
If you are Partially Disabled, your net monthly benefit will be calculated based on the Partial Disability Benefit 
formula. You will qualify for this benefit if: 
- you are working and have Disability Earnings of more than [20%] but less than [80%] of your [Indexed] 

Total Monthly Earnings; and 
- [during your Elimination Period and the next [24 months],] [after at least one Total Disability Benefit has 

been paid and during the first [24 months] of Total or Partial Disability combined,] you, because of your 
Injury or Sickness, are unable to perform [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own 
Occupation.] 

 
[[After Total or Partial Disability LTD benefits combined have been paid to you for [24 months], you will 
continue to qualify for this benefit if you] are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful 
Occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience and you have 
Disability Earnings of less than [60%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.] 
 
What if there is a fluctuation in Disability Earnings? 
 
If your Disability Earnings fluctuate, we may average your Disability Earnings over the most recent [three 
months] to determine if your claim should continue subject to all other terms and conditions under the Group 
Policy 
 
How is the Partial Disability Benefit calculated? 
 
[To determine your Partial Disability Benefit [for the first [12 months] of benefit payments]:  
 
1. add your Disability Earnings and income received from Other Income Benefits to the Total Disability 

Benefit. 
 

2. if this sum is more than [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, subtract the amount in excess of 
[100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings from your Total Disability Benefit. This result is your 
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Partial Disability Benefit; or 
 
3. if the sum is less than [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, your Partial Disability Benefit is 

your Total Disability Benefit.] 
 
[If you continue to be Partially Disabled [after [12 months] of Partial Disability benefit payments], your Partial 
Disability Benefit will be recalculated based on the following formula:] 
 
 (A divided by B) multiplied by C 
 
where: 
 
A = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings minus your monthly Disability Earnings.  
 
B = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings. 
C = your Total Disability Benefit. 

 
[After [24 months] of Partial Disability Benefits have been paid, you will continue to receive a Partial Disability 
Benefit if you continue to be Partially Disabled and earn more than [20%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly 
Earnings. The higher result of the following proportionate loss formula and [50%] benefit formula will be used 
to determine the net monthly benefit: 
  
Proportionate Loss Formula 

 
(A divided by B) multiplied by C where: 
 
A = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings minus your monthly Disability Earnings 
B = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings 
C = the Total Disability Benefit 
 
[50%] Benefit Formula 
 
The Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by [50%] of your monthly Disability Earnings. 

[Take the lesser of: 
 

1. [50%] of you Total Disability Benefit; or 
2. your Total Monthly Earnings less Disability Earnings [and Other Income Benefits].] 

 
[If the sum of your Partial Disability Benefit, your monthly Disability Earnings and Other Income Benefits 
exceeds [80% of] your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, your Partial Disability Benefit will be further reduced 
by the excess amount.]] 
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[OTHER INCOME BENEFITS 
 
What are Other Income Benefits? 
 
Other Income Benefits are those benefits provided or available to you while your monthly LTD benefit is 
payable. These Other Income Benefits, [other than retirement benefits,] must be provided to you as a result of 
the same Total [or Partial] Disability payable under the Group Policy. Other Income Benefits include: 
 
[1. The amount [you are eligible for] [paid to you] under:  
 [a. Workers’ Compensation Law; or] 
 [b. Occupational Disease Law; or] 
 [c. Unemployment Compensation Law; or] 
 [d. Compulsory Benefit Act or Law; or] 
 [e. an automobile insurance policy providing disability wage loss benefits; or] 
 [f. any other act or law of like intent.]] 
 
[2. The Railroad Retirement Act [(including any dependent benefits)].] 
 
[3. Any labor management trustee, union or employee benefit plans that are funded in whole or in part  
 by your Employer.] 
 
[4. Any disability income benefits [you are eligible for] [paid to you] under: 
 

a. any other group plan of your Employer [, except for one or more individual disability insurance policies 
for which you are the policyholder, owner or beneficiary where premiums are wholly or partially paid 
by your Employer]; 

 
[b. One or more individual disability insurance policies for which you are the policyholder, owner or 

beneficiary where premiums are wholly or partially paid by your Employer, except that for purposes of 
this subparagraph 4(b), Other Income Benefits includes only the amount of such benefits which, when 
combined with your net monthly benefit, Other Income Benefits [and your Disability Earnings], exceeds 
[100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.  The amount in excess of [100%] of your [Indexed] 
Total Monthly Earnings will be used to reduce the net monthly benefit.]; 

 
c. any governmental retirement system as a result of your job with your Employer.] 

 
[5. The benefits you receive under your Employer’s Retirement Plan as follows: 
 a. any disability benefits; 
 b. the Employer-paid portion of any Retirement Benefits.] 
 
 [Disability benefits that reduce your accrued Retirement Benefit will be treated as a retirement benefit. 

Retirement benefits do not include any amount rolled over or transferred to any other retirement plan as 
defined in Section 402 of the Internal Revenue Code.] 

 
 [Retirement benefits do not include any amount you receive from any state or public retirement or disability 

plan including Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or State Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS).] 
 
[6. The disability [or retirement benefits] under the United States Social Security Act, [the Canada Pension 

Plan, the Quebec Pension Plan,] or any similar plan or act, as follows:] 
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 a. Disability benefits you [are eligible to] receive; 
 [b. [[50%] of any] Disability benefits your spouse, child or children [are eligible to] receive because of your 

Total [or Partial] Disability, unless the dependent benefits are paid directly to your divorced spouse or to 
your children in custody of your divorced spouse;] 

 c. Retirement benefits received by you; 
 [d. [[50%] of any] Retirement benefits your spouse, child or children [are eligible to] receive because of 

your receipt of retirement benefits, unless the dependent benefits are paid directly to your divorced 
spouse or to your children in custody of your divorced spouse.] 

 
[If your Total [or Partial] Disability begins after your Social Security Normal Retirement Age, your Social 
Security Retirement Benefits will not be offset if, prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability, you were 
already receiving Social Security Retirement Benefits.] 

 
[For the first [12 months] following the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, any disability 
benefits you or your dependent spouse, child or children receive from [Social Security] [or] [any 
Employer’s retirement plan including [the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS)] [or] [the State 
Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS)]] will not be considered Other Income.] 

 
[7. The amount you receive from any accumulated sick leave [, vacation pay or any other paid time off].] 
 
[8. Any [accumulated sick leave or] salary continuation paid to you by your Employer [which causes your net 

monthly benefit, plus Other Income Benefits and any [accumulated sick leave or] salary continuation, to 
exceed [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings. The amount in excess of [100%] of your 
[Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings will be used to reduce your net monthly benefit].] 

 
[9. Any amount you receive due to income replacement or lost wages paid to you by compromise, settlement or 

other method as a result of a claim for any Other Income Benefit. Such amount includes any amount 
received as a result of malpractice or similar litigation.] 

 
[10. Any amount you receive from a voluntary separation of employment agreement from your Employer 

including severance pay or any other income settlement of an employment contract.] 
 
[11. Any amount you receive under any individual disability income policy [which causes your net monthly 

benefit plus Other Income Benefits and the amount received under your individual disability policy to 
exceed [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings. The amount in excess of [100%] of your 
[Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings will be used to reduce your net monthly benefit].] 

 
[12. Any [renewal] commissions you receive from your Employer.] 
 
[13. Any amount you receive from a partnership, proprietorship or similar draws.] 
 
[14. Any disability benefits you receive from the Veterans Administration for the same disability, if you begin to 

receive these benefits after you become disabled under this LTD plan.] 
 
[15. Any amount you receive from any paid employment [other than Partial disability employment with your 

Employer.] 
 
[16. Any amount you receive from any state or public retirement or disability plan including the Public 

Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or the State Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS).] 
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[Other Income Benefits will include any amount described above which would have been available to you had 
you applied for that benefit.] 
 
[LUMP SUM PAYMENT 
 
What if I receive payment of Other Income Benefits in a lump sum? 
 
If you receive a lump sum payment for any Other Income Benefits, Sun Life will prorate the lump sum on a 
monthly basis over the time period specified for the lump sum payment. If no time period is stated, the lump 
sum payment will be prorated on a monthly basis over a reasonable period of time as determined by Sun Life.] 
 
[REQUIRED APPLICATION FOR OTHER INCOME BENEFITS 
 
Am I required to apply for Other Income Benefits? 
 
You must apply for any Other Income Benefits for which you may be eligible. If such benefits are denied, you 
must appeal the denial to all administrative levels that Sun Life deems necessary. Sun Life has the right to 
receive from you written documentation of your pursuit of Other Income Benefits.] 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY INCOME ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 
What is the Social Security Disability Income Assistance Program? 
 
At your request, Sun Life will assist you (if appropriate) through the various levels of the Social Security claims 
process. Sun Life will assist you with your application and also through the appeals process.  
 
[ESTIMATED OTHER INCOME 
 
Are any of my Other Income Benefits estimated? 
 
Sun Life has the right to estimate the amount of any Other Income Benefits you are eligible to receive during 
your Total [or Partial] Disability, and to reduce the LTD benefit payments by the estimated amount. Sun Life 
will estimate the amount if, at the time of calculating any LTD benefit payments, the Other Income Benefit you 
may be eligible to receive has not been awarded nor denied, or if the Other Income Benefit has been denied and 
is being appealed. This estimate will be used to reduce the amount of your monthly LTD benefit payments until 
the Other Income Benefit has been awarded or denied. However, the estimate will not be used if you meet the 
following conditions: 
 
- you have applied for the Other Income Benefits; and 
- you agree to appeal any denials of Other Income Benefits to all administrative levels Sun Life deems 

necessary; and 
- you complete and sign the Sun Life Reimbursement Agreement.] 
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[ADJUSTMENT OF BENEFITS 
 
What happens when the Other Income Benefits have been awarded or have been denied? 
 
You must notify Sun Life in writing, within [31 days] of receipt of notice, of the amount of Other Income 
Benefits when it is approved or if the amount is adjusted (other than for cost of living increases). Sun Life will 
make an adjustment to the net monthly benefit when Sun Life receives written notice of the amount of the Other 
Income Benefit. 
 
If after Sun Life makes an adjustment to your net monthly benefit you have been underpaid, Sun Life will 
immediately make a lump sum refund to you of the amount that has been underpaid. 
 
If after Sun Life makes an adjustment to your net monthly benefit you have been overpaid, you must reimburse 
Sun Life the amount of the overpayment within [31 days] of the award. Sun Life has the right to reduce or 
eliminate your future LTD benefit payments until the amount of the overpayment has been repaid. [During the 
overpayment reimbursement period, the Minimum Monthly Benefit will not apply.] 
 
[COST OF LIVING FREEZE 
 
What happens if I receive increases in my Other Income Benefits? 
 
After the first deduction for each of your Other Income Benefits, Sun Life will not reduce your monthly LTD 
benefit payments due to cost of living increases you receive from any sources described as Other Income 
Benefits. [This does not apply to any increase in earnings you receive from employment.] 
 
[WAIVER OF PREMIUM  
 
Am I required to pay premiums while I am Totally [or Partially] Disabled? 
 
Sun Life will waive your LTD premium payments during any period LTD benefits are payable under the Group 
Policy.  If the Group Policy is in force when your Total [or Partial] Disability ends, you will remain insured if 
you return to an Actively at Work status in an Eligible Class and your premium payments are resumed.] 
 
TERMINATION OF LONG TERM DISABILITY BENEFITS 
 
When does my monthly LTD benefit cease? 
 
Your monthly LTD benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
 
- the date you are no longer Totally [or Partially] Disabled; 
 
- the date you die; 
 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; 
 
- the date you do not provide [adequate employment earnings information or] Proof that you continue to be 

Totally [or Partially] Disabled as requested; or 
 
- [the date you refuse to complete a rehabilitative assessment, or the date you cease to participate in the Sun 
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Life approved Rehabilitation Program without Good Cause;] 
 
- [the date on which you are incarcerated;]  
 
- [during the first [24 months] of Partial Disability,] the date your Disability Earnings are more than [80%] of 

your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings;] 
 
- [after [24 months] of Partial Disability,] the date your Disability Earnings are more than [60%] of your 

[Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings;] 
 
- [for the first [24 months] of Total [or Partial] Disability,] the date Sun Life determines you are able to 

perform on a full-time basis, the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own Occupation, even if you 
choose not to work;] 

 
- [after the first [24 months] of Total [or Partial] Disability,] the date Sun Life determines that you are able to 

perform on a full-time basis any Gainful Occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by 
education, training or experience, even if you choose not to work.] 

 
[Full-time basis means [for the first [24 months] of Total [or Partial] Disability,] [you are able or have the 
capacity to perform the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own Occupation for the number of hours you 
normally performed your Own Occupation prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability.] [After [24 months] of 
Total [or Partial] Disability,] [you are able or have the capacity to perform any Gainful Occupation for the 
number of hours that you normally performed your Own Occupation prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
[However, if you normally performed your Own Occupation on an average in excess of [40 hours] per week, 
Sun Life will consider you as being able to perform that requirement if you work or have the capacity to work 
[40 hours] per week.] 
 
SUCCESSIVE PERIODS OF DISABILITY 
 
What happens if I return to [full-time] work and become disabled again? 
 
Sun Life will treat this new Total [or Partial] Disability as part of your prior Total [or Partial] Disability if you 
returned to work and were Actively at Work for less than: 
- [six months], if due to the same or related causes; 
[- [one day], if due to an entirely unrelated cause.] 
 
You will not have to complete a new Elimination Period. 
 
Your monthly LTD benefit will be subject to the same terms and conditions as were applicable to the original 
Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
Your monthly LTD benefit will not continue if: 
- you become eligible for coverage under any other group LTD policy; or 
- the Group Policy terminates; or 
- your coverage under the Group Policy terminates [; or 
 
- you refuse to complete a rehabilitative assessment or you cease to participate in the Sun Life approved 

Rehabilitation Program without Good Cause]. 
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[If your new disability begins later than the time periods specified, you will need to complete a new Elimination 
Period.] 
 
[REHABILITATION SERVICES 
 
What are the Rehabilitation Services? 
 
If you become Totally [or Partially] Disabled, Sun Life may determine that you are a suitable candidate to 
receive vocational Rehabilitation Services. In order for you to be eligible for such services, you must have the 
functional capacity to successfully complete a Rehabilitation Program. These services include, but are not 
limited to: 
- job modification; 
- job placement; 
- retraining; 
- other activities reasonably necessary to help you return to work. 
 
[Sun Life may require you to participate in a rehabilitation assessment or a Rehabilitation Program at Sun Life’s 
expense.] Sun Life will work with you, your Employer, your Physician and others, as appropriate, to develop a 
Rehabilitation Program. 
 
[You decide, with your Physician’s approval, whether to participate in a Rehabilitation Program.  Participation in a 
rehabilitation assessment or a Rehabilitation Program is at Sun Life’s expense.] 
 
Eligibility for vocational Rehabilitation Services is based on your education, training, experience and 
physical/mental capabilities. Sun Life determines whether you are eligible for vocational Rehabilitation 
Services. 
 
[The Rehabilitation Program may, at Sun Life’s sole discretion, allow for payment of your medical expense, 
education expense, moving expense, accommodation expense or family care expense while you are participating 
in the Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
Rehabilitation Program means a written agreement between you and Sun Life in which Sun Life agrees to 
provide, arrange or authorize vocational, physical or psychiatric rehabilitation services and you agree to 
participate in the Rehabilitation Program.]] 
 
[What happens if I participate in a Rehabilitation Program? 
 
If you participate in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program, you will receive the greater of: 
- your Benefit Percentage (as shown in the Benefit Highlights) multiplied by [1.10]; or 
- your current net monthly benefit multiplied by [1.10]. 
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To calculate the increased benefit: 
1. Take your current Benefit Percentage and multiply that percentage by [1.10].  Then calculate your Total  
 [or Partial] Disability Benefit including any deductions for Disability Earnings or Other Income Benefits. 
2. Take your current net monthly benefit payable and multiply that number by [1.10]. 
 
The greater of 1 or 2 is the rehabilitation increased amount. 
 
This increased amount will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you complete the Rehabilitation Program; or 
- the date you cease to participate in the Rehabilitation Program [without Good Cause]; or 
- the date your LTD benefits cease[; or 
- [12 months] after your Rehabilitation Program began].] 
 
[What happens if I refuse Rehabilitation Services? 
 
If you refuse to participate in your rehabilitation efforts or you refuse to participate or cease to participate in a 
Rehabilitation Program without Good Cause, your LTD benefits will cease.] 
 
[Good Cause means documented physical or mental impairments which prevent you from participating in or 
completing the Rehabilitation Program. Good Cause may also mean a necessary medical program which 
prevents or interferes with your participation in or completion of the Rehabilitation Program.] 
 
[SURVIVOR BENEFIT 
 
What happens to my LTD benefit if I die? 
 
[A Survivor Benefit equal to [3 times] your last Gross Monthly Benefit is payable in a lump sum to your 
Eligible Survivor if Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that you died: 
- after your Total [or Partial] Disability had continued for [180 or more consecutive days]; and 
- you were eligible to receive a monthly LTD benefit.] 
 
[A Survivor Benefit equal to [66 2/3%] of your last full monthly LTD benefit is payable to your Eligible 
Survivor for [12 months] if Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof that you died: 
- after your Total [or Partial] Disability had continued for [180 or more consecutive days]; and 
- you were eligible to receive a monthly LTD benefit.] 
 
[If you do not have an Eligible Survivor at any time during the [12 months], no Survivor Benefit is payable.]] 
 
[Who are my Eligible Survivors? 
 
[- Your spouse, if living [including your [domestic partner] [or civil union partner]]; 
[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is under age [18] [and depends on you for [50%] or more 

of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation]];  

[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is under age [23] and is an enrolled full-time student, 
[and depends on you for [50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income 
tax return or other appropriate documentation].] [A full-time student includes your child who is attending 
college outside the United States.]; 

[- Your unmarried child who, on the date of your death, is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of 
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mental retardation, developmental disability or physical handicap, and depends on you for [50%] or more of 
the child’s support as evidenced by you federal income tax return or other appropriate documentation. 

 
[Child includes your unmarried step-child, [foster child] [, child under your legal guardianship] [, child of your 
domestic partner or civil union partner,] or adopted child, if the child [depends on you for [50%] or more of the 
child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate documentation] [, and 
is living with you in a regular parent-child relationship]. A child is considered adopted if the child is in your legal 
custody under an interim court order of adoption, whether or not a final adoption order is ever issued.]  
 
How will the Survivor Benefit be paid? 
 
The Survivor Benefit will be paid to your spouse [, domestic partner [or civil union partner], if living.  If you do 
not have a spouse [, domestic partner [or civil union partner] on the date of your death, the Survivor Benefit will 
be paid to your eligible surviving children in equal shares.  
 
[If you do not have an Eligible Survivor, the Survivor Benefit will be payable to your estate. If an eligible 
survivor is a minor child, Sun Life may pay a benefit up to [$1,000] as indicated in the Claim Provisions section. 
 Such benefit may be payable to a custodian designated pursuant to the Uniform Transfers to Minors Act.] 
 
[COST OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT BENEFIT 

 
What is the Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit? 
 
Sun Life will pay an additional benefit to you to help against increases in costs due to inflation. 
 
When am I eligible for a Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit? 
 
You are eligible for a Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit on the first anniversary of your Total [or Partial] 
Disability Benefit payments and each following anniversary thereafter [, [up to [5] Cost of Living 
Adjustments],] [as long as you are receiving a Total [or Partial] Disability Benefit.] 
 
How is my Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit calculated? 
 
To determine your Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit multiply your Total [or Partial] Disability monthly LTD 
benefit by [3%]. 
 
Your monthly LTD benefit adjusted by the Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit is not subject to the Maximum 
Monthly Benefit. 
 
[Your monthly LTD benefit will include any prior years Cost of Living Adjustments.] 
 
When does my Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit terminate? 
 
Your Cost of Living Adjustment Benefit will terminate on the earliest of: 
- the date you are no longer eligible to receive Total [or Partial] Disability Benefits; or 
- the date you die; or 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; or 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled as requested.[; or  
- the date you have received [5] Cost of Living Adjustment Benefits].] 
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[RETRO DISABILITY BENEFIT 
 
What is a Retro Disability Benefit? 
 
If you are receiving a Total Disability Benefit, an additional Retro Disability Benefit may be payable if Sun Life 
receives Proof that you had a Retro Disability that was due to the same Injury or Sickness that caused your Total 
Disability. 
 
What is the amount of the Retro Disability Benefit? 
 
The Retro Disability Benefit is your Gross Monthly Benefit multiplied by the number of months (each 30 days) 
in your Elimination Period.  This amount is not subject to reduction due to Other Income.  
 
[If a Total Disability Benefit is payable and your disability is due to a Felonious Assault, the Retro Disability 
Benefit, as described above, will be increased by an additional [10%]. 
 
To calculate the increased benefit, take your Gross Monthly Benefit and multiply that number by the number of 
months (each 30 days) in your Elimination Period, then multiply that number by [1.10]. 
 
Felonious Assault means an action that would be characterized as a felony in the jurisdiction where the assault 
occurred.]] 
 
When is the Retro Disability Benefit Paid? 
 
If Sun Life receives Proof within [90 days] following completion of your Elimination Period of your Retro 
Disability, the Retro Disability Benefit will be paid immediately to you in a single lump sum amount. 

 
Any Long Term Disability Benefits payable after completion of your Elimination Period will be subject to the 
terms of the Group Policy, including reductions by any Other Income. 
 
Definitions 
 
Retro Disability means an Injury or Sickness that results in: 
1. Hospital Confinement that begins on the date you become Totally Disabled or within [48 hours] of the date 

your Total Disability begins; and 
2. such Hospital Confinement continues for at least [14 consecutive days]; and 
3. your Total Disability remains continuous throughout your Elimination Period.  
 
Hospital Confinement means admission to a Hospital as a registered inpatient due to an Injury or Sickness.  
The confinement must be on the advice of a Physician and medically necessary according to generally accepted 
medical standards.  Confinement to an emergency room, outpatient treatment room, or observation unit is not 
considered a Hospital Confinement. 
 
Hospital means a facility licensed in the applicable jurisdiction that provides medical care and treatment to sick 
and injured persons on an inpatient basis with 24 hour nursing service by or under the supervision of a 
Physician.  Hospital does not include a rest home, a place of convalescence, rehabilitative care, custodial care or 
a place primarily for the treatment of drug addiction or alcoholism.  
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[REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Reasonable Accommodation Benefit? 
 
If you would be able to return to part-time or full-time work with your Employer with a modification to your 
Employer’s workplace, Sun Life may reimburse your Employer (if appropriate) for the reasonable expenses to 
modify your Employer’s workplace up to a maximum of [$2,000] unless Sun Life otherwise approves in 
writing. 
 
Reasonable Accommodation means expenses your Employer incurs to accommodate your Total [or Partial] 
Disability.  This includes expenses for tools, equipment, furniture, or any other changes to your work 
environment that Sun Life agrees will allow you to return to work. 
  
Sun Life may pay (if appropriate) a Reasonable Accommodation Benefit if: 
1. Sun Life approves, in writing, the workplace modification; and 
2. your Employer incurs expenses to make the modification to your Employer’s workplace; and 
3. you return to work for your Employer on a part-time or full-time basis; and 
4. you were insured under the Group Policy on the date your Total [or Partial] Disability began. 
 
 
[LTD CONVERSION PRIVILEGE 
 
What is the LTD Conversion Privilege? 
 
If your LTD insurance ceases due to termination of your employment, you may be eligible to participate in a 
group LTD conversion policy. 
 
How am I eligible for the LTD Conversion Privilege? 
 
You are eligible if: 
- your LTD insurance ceases because of termination of your employment [; and 
- you have been insured for at least [12 consecutive months] immediately before your LTD insurance under 

the Group Policy terminated]. 
 
How do I apply for the LTD Conversion Privilege? 
 
You apply by making a written application to Sun Life to participate in the group LTD conversion policy along 
with payment of the first premium, within [31 days] after the date your employment terminates. 
 
When is the Conversion Privilege not available? 
 
The Conversion Privilege is not available to you if: 
- the LTD insurance under the Group Policy has terminated; or 
- you have retired; or 
- you have reached age [70]; or 
- you are not in an Eligible Class under the Group Policy; or 
- the Group Policy has been amended to exclude your Eligible Class; or 
- you have failed to make any required premium contributions; or 
- you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled under the terms of the LTD Benefit Provision; or 
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- you become insured for LTD insurance under another employer’s LTD plan within [31 days] after your 
insurance terminates under the Group Policy.] 

 
[ASSISTED LIVING BENEFIT 
 
What is the Assisted Living Benefit? 
 
An Assisted Living Benefit may be payable if you are receiving a Total Disability Benefit and you are also 
Cognitively Impaired or you are unable to safely and completely perform [2] or more of the Activities of Daily 
Living without another person’s assistance or verbal cueing. Your Cognitive Impairment, or your inability to 
perform [2] or more of the Activities of Daily Living must begin on or after your date of Total Disability and be 
expected to continue for [90] or more days. 
 
How is the Assisted Living Benefit Calculated? 
 
The monthly Assisted Living Benefit is the lesser of:  
[- [20%] of your Total Monthly Earnings; or] 
[- the Maximum Monthly Benefit as shown in the Benefit Highlights; or] 
[- [$5,000.]] 
The Assisted Living Benefit is payable in addition to the Total Disability Benefit and is not reduced by Other 
Income Benefits. 
 
When does the Assisted Living Benefit cease? 
 
The Assisted Living Benefit ceases on the earliest of: 
 - the date you are no longer eligible to receive Total Disability Benefits; or 
 - the date you are no longer Cognitively Impaired or you are able to perform all of the Activities of Daily 

Living without another person’s assistance or verbal cueing; or 
 - the date you die. 
 
Sun Life may require periodic Proof of the continuance of your Cognitive Impairment or your inability to 
perform [2] or more of the Activities of Daily Living. 
 
Activities of Daily Living means: 
- Bathing - the ability to wash, either in the tub or shower or by sponge bath, with or without equipment or 

adaptive devices. 
- Dressing - the ability to put on and take off all garments and medically necessary braces or artificial limbs 

usually worn. 
- Toileting - the ability to get to and from and on and off the toilet, to maintain a reasonable level of personal 

hygiene, and to care for clothing. 
- Transferring - the ability to move in and out of a chair or bed with or without equipment such as canes, quad 

canes, walkers, crutches or grab bars or other support devices including mechanical or motorized devices. 
- Continence - the ability to either: 

- voluntarily control bowel and bladder function; or 
- if incontinent, be able to maintain a reasonable level of personal hygiene. 

- Eating - the ability to get nourishment into the body. 
 
Cognitively Impaired means an individual has a deterioration or loss in intellectual capacity resulting from 
injury, sickness, advanced age or Alzheimer’s disease and similar forms of irreversible dementia and the  
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individual needs another person’s assistance or verbal cueing for the individual’s protection or for the protection 
of others. 
 
The extent of Cognitive Impairment is determined by clinical evidence and standardized tests which reliably 
measure the deterioration or loss in the following areas: 
- short or long term memory; 
- orientation as to person, place or time; and 
- deductive or abstract reasoning.] 
 
[CHILD CARE BENEFIT 
 
What is the Child Care Benefit? 
 
If you participate in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program, a Child Care Benefit is payable if: 
- you are receiving a monthly LTD benefit; and 
- [you have completed at least [3 months] of Rehabilitative Employment; and] 
- your Dependent child is enrolled in a legally licensed Child Care Center; and 
- your Dependent child is under age [13]. 
 
Dependent child means your natural, adopted or step child who is under age [13], [dependent upon you for [50% or 
more of] the child’s financial support [and living with you in a parent-child relationship.] 
 
What is the amount of the Child Care Benefit? 
 
The monthly Child Care Benefit is the lesser of: 
1. [50%] of the actual charges by the Child Care Center incurred by you for your Child Care expenses; or 
2. [$750].  
 
The Child Care Benefit is payable upon receipt of satisfactory Proof of paid expenses and that you have a 
Dependent child enrolled in a legally licensed Child Care Center. 
 
Child Care expenses do not include: 
- charges for room and board; or 
- charges for ordinary living, traveling or clothing expenses. 
 
Child Care Center means a provider that is duly licensed, certified or accredited by the jurisdiction in which it is 
located, is run according to the laws and regulations applicable to child care facilities and which provides child care 
and supervision for children in a group setting on a regular basis. Child Care Center does not include a Hospital, the 
child’s home or care provided during the child’s normal school hours. 
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When does my Child Care Benefit cease? 
 
The Child Care Benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you cease to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled; 
- the date you cease to participate in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program; 
- the date you have received [24] monthly Child Care Benefit payments; 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; 
- the date you become eligible for any Group Long Term Disability coverage with another Employer; 
- the date you die;  
- the date you do not provide Proof to Sun Life that you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled;  
- the date you no longer have a Dependent child under age [13]; or 
- the date you fail to provide Proof to Sun Life that you have an eligible Dependent child enrolled in a Child 

Care Center. 
 
What happens when my Child Care Benefits cease? 
 
If you cease to be eligible for a Child Care Benefit, any amounts due to you or to Sun Life will be calculated based 
on 1/30th of the monthly benefit for each period of Total [or Partial] Disability which is less than a full month.] 

 
[[COBRA] CONTINUANCE PREMIUM BENEFIT 

 
What is the [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit? 
 
Sun Life will pay you a [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit if you are receiving Total [or Partial] 
Disability benefits and you elect to continue your Medical and /or Dental insurance [as permitted under the 
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended, including changes made by the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA)].   
 
When am I eligible for the [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit? 
 
You are eligible to receive the [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit if you satisfy all of the following 
conditions: 
1. you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled and are receiving a monthly LTD Benefit; and  
2. you have elected the [COBRA] Continuance under the Medical and/or Dental insurance plan sponsored by 

your Employer; and 
3. you provide Sun Life with satisfactory Proof on a quarterly basis that you are making premium payments to 

your Employer for the [COBRA] Continuance of Medical and /or Dental insurance. 
 
What is the amount of the [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit? 
 
The [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit is the lesser of: 
1. [$400] per month; or 
2. The actual amount you pay to your Employer to continue your Medical and/or Dental insurance [pursuant to 

COBRA]. 
 
Payment of the [COBRA] Continuance Premium Benefit will not result in a reduction of your Monthly LTD 
Benefit. 
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When does my [COBRA] Continuance Benefit cease? 
 
The [COBRA] Continuance Benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
1. the date you are no longer Totally [or Partially] Disabled; or 
2. the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; or 
3. the date your [COBRA] Continuance under your Employer sponsored Medical and/or Dental plan ends; or 
4. the date you fail to give Sun Life the required Proof that you are making premium payments to your 

Employer for the [COBRA] Continuance of your Medical and/or Dental insurance; or 
5. [the date [18] [COBRA] Continuance Benefit payments have been made.] 
 
What happens when my [COBRA] Continuance Benefit ceases? 
 
If you discontinue making premium payments to your Employer to continue your Medical and/or Dental 
insurance [pursuant to COBRA], any amounts due to you or refundable to Sun Life will be calculated based on 
1/30th of the monthly benefit for each day of a period of Total [or Partial] Disability that is less than a full 
month.] 
 
[DEPENDENT CHILD CONTINUING EDUCATION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit? 
 
If you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled [or participating in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program], you may 
be eligible for a Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit. 
 
When am I eligible for a Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit? 
 
You are eligible for a Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit if: 
- you have been Totally [or Partially] Disabled for at least [6 months]; or 
- [you have been a participant in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program for at least [6 months]; and] 
- you have a Dependent Child who is enrolled as a full-time student at a post-secondary school. 
 

Dependent Child means your natural, adopted or step child who is under age [25], [dependent upon you for 
[50% or more of] the child’s financial support [and living with you in a parent-child relationship.] 

 
What is the Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit? 
 
Your monthly Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit is the lesser of: 
a) [$250] for each full-time student; or 
b) [$500] if you have [3] or more full-time students. 
 
After the first monthly Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit, you may elect in writing an alternative 
payment method.  The alternative payment method will pay the Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit 
twice a year.  The payments will be paid at the start of the semester and represent [3 months] in arrears and [3 
months] in advance from the start of the semester.  A semester starts on [February 1st] and [August 1st]. 
 
Sun Life will require Proof each semester that you have an eligible Dependent Child prior to payment of the 
benefit. 
 
When does my Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit cease? 
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The Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you cease to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled; or 
- [the date you cease to participate in a Sun Life approved Rehabilitation Program; or] 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period; or 
- the date you become eligible for Group Long Term Disability coverage with another Employer; or 
- the date you die; or 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled; or 
- the date you do not have a child who is a full-time student attending a post-secondary school; or 
- the date you no longer have a Dependent Child; or 
- the date [48] Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit payments have been paid. 
 

What happens when my Dependent Child Education Benefit ceases? 
 
If you cease to be eligible for a Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit, any amounts due to you or to Sun 
Life will be calculated based on 1/30th of the monthly benefit for each period of Total [or Partial] Disability that is 
less than a full month.] 
 

 
[EXTENDED EARNINGS PROTECTION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Extended Earnings Protection Benefit? 
 
The Extended Earnings Protection Benefit protects your earnings level after you have returned to work 
following a period of Total [or Partial] Disability. 
 
If you return to full-time work following a period of Total [or Partial Disability] and continue to have an 
earnings loss, an Extended Earnings Protection Benefit may be payable. 
 
To qualify for the Extended Earnings Protection Benefit, you must: 
- have been Totally [or Partially] Disabled under the Group Policy and received at least one net monthly 

benefit from Sun Life; and 
- have returned to full-time work [for your Employer]; and 
- be performing all of the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own Occupation; and 
- be currently earning less than [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings. 
 
How is the Extended Earnings Protection Benefit calculated? 
 
[To determine the Extended Earnings Benefit for the first [12 months] of your return to full-time work: 

 1. add your current monthly earnings from employment to the Total Disability Benefit that would be payable if 
you were Totally Disabled. 

 
2. if this sum is in excess of [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, subtract the amount in excess 

of [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings from the Total Disability Benefit that would be 
payable if you were Totally Disabled.  This result is the Extended Earnings Benefit; or 

 
 if the sum is less than [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, the Extended Earnings Benefit is 

the Total Disability Benefit that would be payable if you were Totally Disabled.] 
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[After the Extended Earnings Benefit has been paid for [12 months] and you continue to earn less than [100%] 
of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings, the following proportionate loss formula will be used to determine 
the Extended Earnings Benefit:] 
 
[The Extended Earnings Benefit will be calculated as follows:] 
 

[(A divided by B) x C, where: 
 
A = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings minus your current monthly earnings from employment 
B = your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings 
C = the Total Disability Benefit that would be payable if you were Totally Disabled] 
 
[The Extended Earnings Benefit is not subject to the Minimum Monthly Benefit.] 
 
How long will the Extended Earnings Benefit be payable? 
 
The Extended Earnings Benefit will cease on the earliest of: 
- the date you receive [12] Extended Earnings Benefits; or 
- the date you [earn] [are capable of earning] at least [100%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings; or 
- the date you fail to provide adequate monthly employment earnings information as requested by Sun Life; 

or 
- the date you are eligible for Total [or Partial] Disability benefits under the Group Policy; or 
- [the date the Group Policy terminates; or] 
- [[12 months] following the date you initially returned to work on a full-time basis; or] 
- [the date you cease to be an Employee of the Employer].] 

 
[PENSION CONTRIBUTION BENEFIT 
 
What is the Pension Contribution Benefit? 
 
Sun Life will pay an additional benefit to the Plan Administrator for deposit into your Employer Sponsored 
[401(k)] or other approved qualified deferred compensation plan.  Sun Life will make payments in accordance 
with the rules and regulations of the Internal Revenue Service and the provisions of your Pension Plan.  Any 
payment that cannot be made to the trustee or Plan Administrator of your Pension Plan will be made to a 
qualified deferred annuity account that you designate. 
 
When am I eligible for a Pension Contribution Benefit? 
 
You are eligible if: 
- you are receiving Total [or Partial] Disability Benefit Payments; and 
- you are a participant in your Employer Sponsored Plan; and 
- [you have been a participant in you Employer Sponsored Plan for at least [12 months] before your Total [or 

Partial] Disability began.] 
 
How much is my Pension Contribution Benefit? 
 
Your Pension Contribution Benefit is [the lesser of]: 
- [[6%] of your Total Monthly Earnings; or] 
- [The actual contribution percentage that [you] [your Employer] [you and your Employer] deposited monthly 
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in your Employer Sponsored Plan; or]  
- [$2,500]. 
 
When does my Pension Contribution Benefit terminate? 
 
Your Pension Contribution Benefit will terminate on the earliest of: 
- the date you are no longer eligible to receive Total [or Partial] Disability Benefits; 
- [the date you are no longer an eligible participant in your Employer Sponsored Plan;] 
- [the date your Employer Sponsored Plan is frozen or terminated;] 
- the end of your Maximum Benefit Period;  
- the date you die; or 
- the date you do not provide Proof that you continue to be  Totally [or Partially] Disabled as requested. 
 
Pension Plan for the purpose of this Pension Contribution Benefit means a qualified defined contribution 
Pension Plan, profit sharing plan or other qualified plan approved by Sun Life, in which you are participating as 
a result of your employment with your Employer.] 
 
[[RELOCATION EXPENSE BENEFIT 
 
What is the Relocation Expense Benefit? 
 
If you are able to return to active full-time employment, but not with your Employer, a Relocation Expense 
benefit may be payable. 
 
When am I eligible for a Relocation Expense Benefit? 
 
You are eligible for a Relocation Expense Benefit if: 
1. you are receiving a Total [or Partial] Disability Benefit; and 
2. you are unable to return to work for your Employer, work for another employer, or work on a self-

employment basis within a [50 mile] radius of your residence; and 
3. you have the opportunity to return to active full-time employment at another job or on a self-employment 

basis more than [50 miles] from your residence; and 
4. Sun Life approves in writing the Relocation Expense, prior to the date it is incurred. 

 
Sun Life reserves the right to determine whether relocation will enable you to return to active full-time 
employment or become self-employed for the purposes of this Benefit. 
 
What is the amount of my Relocation Expense Benefit? 
 
The Relocation Expense Benefit is the lesser of: 
1. [$5,000]; or  
2. [3] times your Gross Monthly Benefit. 
 
If Relocation Expenses are approved by Sun Life in writing and paid by an employer on your behalf, Sun Life 
will pay the Relocation Expense Benefit to that employer.   
 
Payment of a Relocation Expense Benefit will not reduce the net monthly benefit amount for which you are 
eligible. 
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Relocation Expense means an expense you incur in the process of relocating your primary residence due to a 
change in your employment. Relocation Expenses are limited to the following expenses: 
1. Temporary living, house hunting, and relocation travel. 
2. Closing costs for home purchase and sale, including real estate agent commissions, attorneys fees, 

documentation of real estate tax and property title, lender mortgage fees, tax on property transfer levied by the 
state or local tax authority, and lender-imposed penalty for mortgage prepayment.    

3. Shipment and storage of household goods. 
4. Release from a lease payment on your current residence, if required.] 
 
 
[LTD PORTABILITY PRIVILEGE 
 
What is the LTD Portability Privilege? 
 
If your [Voluntary] LTD Insurance ceases because you terminate employment, you may apply for coverage on 
your own life (the “Portable Coverage”) up to the amount of [Voluntary] LTD Insurance that ceased. 
 
Are there reasons why I would not be eligible to apply for Portable LTD Coverage? 
 

You are not eligible to apply for Portable Coverage if: 
 
- you have not been continuously insured under your Employer’s Sun Life Group [Voluntary] Long Term 

Disability Income Insurance Policy for at least [12] consecutive months or; 
- your LTD Insurance ceases because you voluntarily terminate employment due to retirement, Injury or 

Sickness; or  
- your Employer’s Group [Voluntary] LTD Insurance Policy has terminated; or 
[- you are age [65] or older; or] 
- you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled on the date your employment ceases; or 
[- you are on military leave; or] 
[- the hours you work for your Employer have been reduced; or] 
[- you remain employed with your Employer on a part-time basis; or] 
[- you secure new employment on a full-time basis with a subsequent employer within [60] days after your 

insurance ceases; or] 
[- you are not a United States citizen or legal resident; or] 
[- you are residing outside the United States [or Canada] on the date your [Voluntary] LTD Insurance ceased; 

or] 
[- you have not converted your [Voluntary] LTD Insurance under the LTD Conversion privilege of the Group 

Policy; or] 
[- you are insured under any other [employer-paid] [individual,] group or employer-sponsored LTD plan.] 
 
How do I apply for Portable LTD Coverage? 
 
1. To apply for Portable LTD Coverage, you must submit a written application to Sun Life within [31] 

days from the date your [Voluntary] LTD Insurance ceased.  The application is available from your 
Employer. 

 
2. Portable LTD Coverage will not take effect until Sun Life approves your application for Portable LTD 

Coverage and receives your first premium payment.    
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3. Portable LTD Coverage will be provided under a group term insurance policy that provides group term 

LTD insurance only.  The Portable LTD Coverage insurance policy does not provide any other benefit.  
 
4. The premium will be the current rate Sun Life charges for the standard class of risk and age to which 

you belong under the Portable Group LTD Policy and will be billed directly to you. 
 
What is the amount of my Portable LTD Coverage? 
 
You may apply for portable LTD Coverage up to the amount of [Voluntary] LTD Insurance you had in force on the 
date your coverage ceases. Your Elimination Period, Monthly Benefit Percentage and the Maximum Monthly 
Benefit will remain the same as you had under your Employer’s Group Policy. [However, you may elect a lower 
Maximum Monthly Benefit.] [However, the Maximum Monthly Benefit will not be more than $10,000.] The 
Maximum Benefit Period under the Portable LTD Policy is [12] months. 
 
Your Total Monthly Earnings will be the amount in force on the day prior to the date your [Voluntary] LTD 
Coverage ceases [but will not exceed [$4,167] per month]. 

 
Your LTD Coverage under the insurance policy providing Portable LTD Coverage is subject to the same 
Limitations and Exclusions as specified under your Employer’s Group LTD Policy. 

 
When does my Portable LTD Coverage start? 
 
Your Portable LTD Coverage starts on the day after your LTD insurance under your Sun Life Group 
[Voluntary] LTD Policy ceases, if Sun Life approves your application and payment of the first premium is 
made.  
 
When does my Portable LTD Coverage Terminate? 
 
Your Portable LTD Coverage will terminate on the earliest of: 
 
- the date for which the last premium has been paid by you;  
[- the date you reach age [65];] 
- the date the insurance policy that provides the Portable LTD Coverage terminates; 
[-  [12] months from the date your Portable LTD Coverage starts;] 
[- the date you return to work as an active full-time Employee for the Employer under the Group Policy; or 
[- the end of [60] days from the effective date of the Portable LTD Coverage if you are an Active Full-time 

Employee with another employer at the end of the [60] day period]. 
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[ACCIDENTAL DISMEMBERMENT AND LOSS OF SIGHT BENEFIT  
 
What is the Accidental Dismemberment and Loss of Sight Benefit? 
 
If Sun Life receives Notice and Proof of Claim that while insured you: 
- sustain an Accidental Bodily Injury; and 
- incur one of the following losses within [365 days] of the date of the Accidental Bodily Injury; 
Sun Life will pay a Monthly Benefit to you for the number of months specified for that loss. 
 
          Number of Monthly 
 Type of Loss Benefit Payments 
  
 Loss of both hands ............................................................................................ [48 months] 
 Loss of both feet ................................................................................................ [48 months] 
 Loss of the entire sight of both eyes ................................................................. [48 months] 
 Loss of one hand and the entire sight of one eye ............................................. [48 months] 
 Loss of one foot and the entire sight of one eye............................................... [48 months] 
 Loss of one hand and one foot.......................................................................... [24 months] 
 Loss of the entire sight of one eye .................................................................... [12 months] 
 Loss of one hand or one foot ............................................................................ [12 months] 
 
[Loss of hand or foot means severance at or above the wrist or ankle joint.  Loss of sight must be total and 
irrecoverable. Loss of thumb and index finger means severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal 
joints.] 
 
[Loss of hand or foot means a total and permanent physical separation of the limb from the body, occurring at or 
above the wrist or ankle. Loss of sight means a total (i.e., 100%) and irrecoverable loss of sight.  Loss of thumb 
and index finger means a total and permanent physical separation of the thumb and finger from the hand, 
occurring through or above the metacarpophalangeal joint.] [Regardless of a finger, hand or foot’s, residual 
function level (i.e., 0%-100%), if a limb is surgically reattached, no benefit is payable.]] 
 
Accidental Bodily Injury means bodily harm caused solely by external, violent and accidental means which is 
sustained directly and independently of all other causes. 
 
If you incur more than one of the above losses from any one accident, only the loss with the greatest amount of 
months will be payable. 
 
How is the Monthly Benefit calculated? 
 
To determine your Monthly Benefit for the specific loss, take the lesser of: 
- your Total Monthly Earnings multiplied by the Benefit Percentage (shown in the Benefit Highlights); or 
- the Maximum Monthly Benefit (shown in the Benefit Highlights). 
[This amount is not subject to reductions from sources referred to as Other Income.] 
 
[If the specific loss is caused by an On the Job Assault, then the number of monthly benefits for that specific 
loss will be increased by an additional [6] months.  All other Policy provisions will apply. 
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On the Job Assault means an assault that results in a dismemberment or loss of sight while working at your 
Employer’s normal place of business or while traveling for your Employer, and would be considered a felony in 
the jurisdiction where the assault occurred.] 
 
No LTD benefit is payable for Total [or Partial] Disability during any period Sun Life is paying a Monthly 
Benefit for the specific loss.  If you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled after the expiration of the Monthly 
Benefit for the specific loss, an LTD benefit may be payable according to the terms of the Group Policy.  Any 
period you have received a Monthly Benefit for the specific loss will count towards satisfaction of the 
Maximum Benefit Period and Total [or Partial] Disability benefit period. 
 
What happens if I die before receiving all of the monthly benefit payments? 
 
If you die while receiving a Monthly Benefit for the specific loss, the remaining amount of monthly payments, if 
any, will be payable in a lump sum to your estate.  No Monthly Benefit for a specific loss is payable beyond the 
number of months specified above.] 
 
LIMITATIONS 
 
What are the Limitations? 
 
No benefit will be payable to you under this Benefit Provision  during any of the following periods: 
 
 - any period you are no longer under the regular and continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate 

treatment and regular examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition, unless you 
have reached your maximum point of recovery and are still Totally [or Partially] Disabled. 

 
 - any period you do not submit to any medical examination or clinical assessment requested by Sun Life. 
 
 [- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Mental Illness, unless you are under the 

continuing care of a specialist in psychiatric care.] 
 
  [After you complete your Elimination Period, LTD benefits are payable for [24 months].] 
 
  [Benefits after the first [24 months] are payable only if you are confined in a Hospital or Institution 

licensed to provide psychiatric treatment.] 
 
  [If you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled when discharged from a Hospital or Institution 

licensed to provide psychiatric treatment, Sun Life will continue your LTD Benefit payment for up to [90 
days]. If you become reconfined in a Hospital or Institution during the [90 day] period and remain 
confined for at least [14 consecutive days], Sun Life will continue your LTD benefit payments during 
your reconfinement. Upon discharge, you will be eligible for up to an additional [90 days] of LTD benefit 
payments if you continue to be Totally [or Partially] Disabled.] 

 
 [- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Drug and Alcohol Illness, unless you are 

actively supervised by a Physician or rehabilitation counselor and are receiving continuing treatment 
from a rehabilitation center or a designated institution approved by Sun Life] 

 
 [After you complete your Elimination Period, LTD benefits are payable for [24 months] if, during the 

Elimination Period you: 
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  - become confined in a Hospital or Institution licensed to provide Drug or Alcohol treatment; or 
  - begin participation in a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program acceptable to Sun Life.] 
 

 [Benefits after the first [24 months] are payable only if you are confined in a Hospital or Institution licensed 
to provide Drug or Alcohol treatment.] 

 
 [- any period during which you are incarcerated.] 
 
 [ -  any period during which you are receiving vacation or holiday pay from your Employer. Any period of time 

for which you are receiving vacation or holiday pay during a period of Total [or Partial] Disability will not 
count towards the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 

 
 [ - any period during which you would not receive regular pay from your Employer if you were not Totally [or 

Partially] Disabled. Any period during which benefits are suspended will not count towards the Maximum 
Benefit Period.] 

 
 [- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Chemical and Environmental Illness, unless 

you are under the continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate treatment and regular examination 
and testing in accordance with your disabling condition.] 

 
 [After you complete your Elimination Period, LTD benefits are payable for [12 months].] 

 
 [Benefits after the first [12 months] are payable only if you are confined in a Hospital or Institution.] 
 
 [- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Chronic Fatigue Illness unless you are under 

the continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate treatment and regular examination and testing in 
accordance with your disabling condition.] 

 
 [After you complete your Elimination Period, LTD benefits are payable for [12 months].] 

 
 [Benefits after the first [12 months] are payable only if you are confined in a Hospital or Institution.] 
  
 [- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is due to Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue 

Illness unless you are under the continuing care of a Physician providing appropriate treatment and 
regular examination and testing in accordance with your disabling condition.] 

 
 [After you complete your Elimination Period, LTD benefits are payable for [12 months].] 

 
 [Benefits after the first [12 months] are payable only if you are confined in a Hospital or Institution.] 
 

 [The Maximum Benefit Period for all successive or aggregated periods of Total [or Partial] Disability due to 
Chemical and Environmental Illness, Chronic Fatigue Illness or Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue 
Illness combined shall be [12 months].] 
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 [- any period during which you would not receive regular pay from your Employer [if you are a [teacher] 
 [contracted to work for a full school year].] (Any period during which benefits are suspended will not count 

towards the Maximum Benefit Period). [Teacher includes paraprofessionals, principals, vice-principals, 
custodians, social workers, school psychologists and other employees who are similarly employed with the 
Employer.] 

  
 [- any period after the first [12 months] of Total [or Partial] Disability during which you are residing outside 

of the United States [or Canada]. You will be considered to be residing outside the United States [or 
Canada] if you have been outside of these countries for a total period of [6 months] or more during any [12 
consecutive months] of benefit payments. 

  
 Benefits after the first [12 months] are payable only if you return to the United States [or Canada] and are  
 still Totally [or Partially] Disabled.] 
  
 [This Limitation does not apply if your Total [or Partial] Disability begins while you are Actively at Work or 

on vacation outside of the United States [or Canada] and you return as soon as you are physically able to do 
so.]  

 
[Pre-Existing Condition Limitation  
 
A limited LTD benefit may be payable if your disability is caused by or results from a pre-existing condition. 
 
Pre-Existing Condition means during the [90 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance or the Effective 
Date of an increase in your amount of insurance, you: 
- received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 
 disabling condition; or 
- took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
EXCLUSIONS 
 
What are the Exclusions? 
 
No benefit is payable to you under this Benefit Provision for any Total [or Partial] Disability or benefit claim 
that is due to or results from: 
 [- intentionally self-inflicted injuries.] 
 [- war, declared or undeclared, or any act of war.] 
 [- your active Participation in a Riot, Rebellion or Insurrection.] 
 [- your committing or attempting to commit a [n] [assault,] felony [or other criminal act].] 
 [- injury or Sickness for which you are entitled to benefits under any Workers’ Compensation, Occupational 

Disease or similar law.] 
 [ This exclusion will not apply if you are a partner or a sole proprietor and cannot be covered by law under 

any Workers’ Compensation, Occupational Disease or any similar law.] 
 [- injury sustained while you are doing any act or thing pertaining to any occupation or employment for 

wage or profit.]  
 [- your voluntary use of any controlled substance as defined in Title II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse 

Prevention and Control Act of 1970, as now or hereafter amended, unless administered on the advice of a 
Physician and taken as prescribed.] 



 BENEFIT PROVISIONS 
 
 [LONG TERM DISABILITY INCOME INSURANCE (LTD) 
 

 Long Term Disability 
010C-LH-LTD Page No. [115] Income Insurance 
  [00/00/00] 

 [- your operation of any motorized vehicle while under the influence of any illegal substance or medication 
not prescribed by a physician, or while Intoxicated. 

 
  Intoxicated means the minimum blood alcohol level required to be considered operating an automobile 

under the influence of alcohol in the jurisdiction where the accident occurred. For the purposes of this 
Exclusion, "Motorized Vehicle" includes, but is not limited to, [automobiles, motorcycles, boats and 
snowmobiles].] 

 
 [- a Pre-Existing Condition. [This exclusion applies only to the first [12 months] after your Effective Date 

of Insurance [or the Effective Date of an increase in your amount of insurance].] 
   
  [Pre-Existing Condition means during the [90 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance, you: 
  - received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 

disabling condition; or 
  - took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
  - had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
  [Pre-Existing Condition for increases in amounts of insurance means during the [90 days] prior to 

your Effective Date of any increase in your amount of insurance, you: 
  - received medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 

disabling condition; or 
  - took prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
  - had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 

diagnosis, care or treatment].] 
 
  [Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion Exception 
 
  The Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion will not apply if your Total [or Partial] Disability begins later than 

[12 months] after your Effective Date of Insurance [or later than [12 months] after your Effective Date of 
any increase in your amount of insurance]. 

 
[The Pre-Existing condition Exclusion also will not apply to [the initial amount of insurance or for any 
subsequent increases] if you have been insured under the Group Policy for the immediately preceding [3 
consecutive months] prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability and during that period you have not: 
- received any medical treatment, consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the 
 disabling condition; or 
- taken prescribed drugs or medicines for the disabling condition [; or 
- had symptoms for which an ordinarily prudent person would have consulted a health care provider for 
 diagnosis, care or treatment].] 

 
[- any period of your Total [or Partial] Disability that is caused by, contributed to by, or resulting from a Pre-
 Existing Condition until you have performed the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own Occupation 
 on a full-time basis for at least [5 consecutive days] after your initial Effective Date of Insurance [or for any 
 subsequent increases in your amount of increase]. 
 
 Pre-Existing Condition means any Injury or Sickness for which you have received medical treatment, 

consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures, or took prescribed drugs or medicines for the 
disabling condition within [30 days] prior to your initial Effective Date of Insurance [or for any subsequent 
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increases in your amount of insurance].] 
 
[However, the Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion for increases does not apply to cost of living, contract or 
periodic salary review increases.] 
 
[To determine satisfaction of the above Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion, you will be given credit for the time 
you were insured under a previous group, blanket or employer LTD plan, if your previous coverage was 
continuous to a date not more than [60 days] prior to your Effective Date of Insurance under the Group Policy. 
The credit shall apply to the extent that the previous coverage or level of benefits was substantially similar to the 
new coverage or level of benefits under the Group Policy. 
 
Total or Partial Disability Benefits that would have otherwise been payable during a benefit period subject to a 
Pre-Existing Condition restriction will not be paid.  Any remaining Total [or Partial] Disability Benefits will 
commence when the Pre-Existing Condition period ends.] 
 
[CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE 
 
What happens when my Employer transfers insurance coverage to Sun Life? 
 
In order to prevent losing your insurance, Sun Life will provide the following coverage. 
 
If you are not Actively at Work on [January 1, 2009] [or your Employer’s Effective Date as shown in 
Attachment A, if applicable], you will be insured if: 
- you were insured under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy at the time of the transfer; and 
- you are a member of an Eligible Class; and 
- premiums for you are paid up to date; and 
- you are not receiving or eligible to receive benefits under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy.] 
 
If you continue to be not Actively at Work and subsequently become Totally [or Partially] Disabled on or after 
[January 1, 2009] [or your Employer’s Effective Date as shown in Attachment A, if applicable], any LTD 
benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
- the LTD monthly benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
- the LTD monthly benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy, had it remained in force.  
 
All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.] 
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[TOTAL [OR PARTIAL] DISABILITIES DUE TO A PRE-EXISTING CONDITION 
 
Are Disabilities due to a Pre-existing Condition covered? 
 
LTD benefits may be payable if you become Totally [or Partially] Disabled on or after [January 1, 2009] due to 
a Pre-Existing Condition provided you were: 
- insured under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy at the time of transfer; and 
- Actively at Work and insured under the Group Policy on [January 1, 2009]. 
 
Any benefit payable will be determined as follows: 
 
1. if you have satisfied the Pre-Existing Condition Exception under the Group Policy, the LTD benefit will be 

based on the Group Policy’s benefit provision. 
2. if you cannot satisfy the Pre-Existing Condition Exception under the Group Policy, the prior Employer’s 

plan’s pre-existing condition provision will be applied. 
 a. if you would have satisfied the prior insurer’s pre-existing condition provision, considering time insured 

under both group policies, any benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
   i. the LTD benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 
  ii. the LTD benefit payable under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy had it remained in force. 
 b. if you cannot satisfy the Pre-Existing Condition Exception of the Group Policy or if the pre-existing 

condition provision [under the prior insurer’s group LTD policy] would apply, no LTD benefit will be 
paid.] 

[If you were insured under a prior Sun Life group LTD policy, an LTD benefit would be payable if you had 
satisfied the pre-existing condition provision under the prior Sun Life group LTD policy or would satisfy the 
pre-existing condition provision under the current Sun Life group LTD policy, giving consideration for 
continuous time insured under both policies. 
 

You will be given credit for the time you were insured under the prior Sun Life group LTD policy, if the prior 
coverage was continuous to a date not more than [30 days] prior to your [Effective Date of Insurance under the 
Group Policy] [first date of employment]. All other terms and conditions of the Policy apply, including Delayed 
Effective Date. 
 

Any LTD benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
a.  The LTD benefit payable under the Group Policy; or 

 b. The LTD benefit payable under the prior Sun Life group LTD policy had you remained insured under that  
  policy.] 

[All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.] 
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 RECURRENT OR CONCURRENT CONDITION 
 
Are Total [or Partial] Disabilities due to a Recurrent or Concurrent Condition Covered? 
 
If you received a monthly Total [or Partial] Disability benefit under your Employer’s prior LTD plan and:  
- you returned to work for the Employer as an active [Full-time] Employee prior to [January 1, 2009]; and 
- within [6 months] of your return to active [Full-time] employment, you become Totally [or Partially] 

Disabled due to a Recurrent Condition for which LTD benefits were payable under your Employer’s prior 
LTD plan; or 

- within [6 months] of your return to active [Full-time] employment you become Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled due to a Concurrent Condition for which LTD benefits were payable under your Employer’s prior 
LTD plan; and  

- you do not qualify for Total [or Partial] Disability  benefits for your Recurrent or Concurrent Condition 
under your Employer’s prior LTD plan; 

then you will not be required to satisfy a new Elimination Period under the Group Policy if Total [or Partial] 
Disability benefits would have been payable for your Recurrent or Concurrent Condition under your Employer’s 
prior LTD Plan without having to satisfy any further Elimination Period if your Employer’s prior LTD plan had 
remained in force. 

Any LTD benefit payable will be the lesser of: 
1. the LTD benefit payable under the Group Policy, reduced by any LTD benefit payable under your 

Employer’s prior LTD plan; or 
2. the LTD benefit that would have been payable under your Employer’s prior LTD plan had it remained 

in force, less any benefit payable under your Employer’s prior LTD plan. 
 
Recurrent Condition means your Total [or Partial] Disability that is caused by a worsening in your condition 
and is due to the same cause as your prior Total [or Partial] Disability for which an LTD benefit has been paid 
under your Employer’s prior LTD plan. 

Concurrent Condition means your Total [or Partial] Disability is due to an Injury or Sickness unrelated to your 
prior Total [or Partial] Disability for which an LTD benefit has been paid under your Employer’s prior LTD 
plan.  

[All other provisions of Sun Life’s Group Policy will apply.] 
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How is a claim submitted? 
 
To submit a claim, you, [your insured Dependent] or someone on your behalf must send Sun Life written 
Notice and Proof of claim within the time limits specified. Your Employer has the Sun Life Notice and Proof 
of claim forms. 
 
NOTICE OF CLAIM 
 
When does written Notice of Claim have to be submitted? 
 
[For a Death Claim (accidental or otherwise) - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later 
than [30 days] after date of death.] 
 
[For Life Waiver of Premium - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [12 months] 
after you cease to be Actively at Work.] 
 
[For Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no 
later than [12 months] after you cease to be Actively at Work.] 
 
[For Accidental Dismemberment - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [12 
months] after the date of [your][the Insured Person’s] loss.] 
 
[For Short Term Disability - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [30 days] after 
you cease to be Actively at Work.] 
 
[For Long Term Disability - written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [30 days] 
before the end of your Elimination Period or, within [30 days] after  the termination of the Group Policy, if 
earlier.] 
 
[For all other claims – written notice of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [12 months] after the 
date of loss or within [12 months] after the date the expense is incurred.] 
 
If notice cannot be given within the applicable time period, Sun Life must be notified as soon as it is 
reasonably possible.  
 
When Sun Life has received written notice of claim, Sun Life will send the forms for Proof of claim.  If the 
forms are not received within [15 days] after written notice of claim is sent, Proof of claim may be sent to 
Sun Life without waiting to receive the Proof of claim forms. 
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PROOF OF CLAIM 
 
When does written Proof of claim have to be submitted? 
 
[For a Death Claim (accidental or otherwise) - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life [prior to payment 
of a death claim] [no later than [90 days] after date of death.] 
 
[For Life Waiver of Premium - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [15 months] after 
you cease to be Actively at Work.] 
 
[For Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than 
[15 months] after you cease to be Actively at Work.] 
 
[For Accidental Dismemberment - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [12 months] after 
the date of [your][the Insured Person’s] loss.] 
 
[For Short Term Disability - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [90 days] after the end 
of your Elimination Period.] 
 
[For Long Term Disability - Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [90 days] after the end 
of your Elimination Period.] 
 
[For all other claims – Proof of claim must be given to Sun Life no later than [15 months] after the date of 
loss or within [15 months] after the date the expense was incurred.] 
 
If Proof cannot be given within these time limits, Proof must be given as soon as reasonably possible. Proof 
of claim may not be given later than one year after the time Proof is otherwise required unless the individual 
is legally incompetent. 
 
What is considered Proof of claim? 
 
Proof of claim must consist of at least the following information: 
 - a description of  the loss [or disability]; 
 - the date the loss [or disability] [or expense] occurred; and 
 - the cause of the loss [or disability] [or expense]; 
[- copies of your prior year(s) federal and state income tax returns including all schedules]. 
 
[(For example: a death claim would include at least the Death Certificate for Proof of claim)] 
 
[Proof of claim may include, but is not limited to, police accident reports, autopsy reports, laboratory results, 
toxicology results, hospital records, x-rays, narrative reports, or other diagnostic testing materials as 
required.] 
 
[Proof of claim for disability must include evidence demonstrating the disability and should include, but is 
not limited to, Hospital records, Physician records, psychiatric records, x-rays, narrative reports, or other 
diagnostic testing materials as appropriate for the disabling condition.] 
 
Sun Life may require as part of the Proof, authorizations to obtain medical and non-medical information. 
 
[Proof of your continued disability and regular and continuous care by a Physician must be given to Sun Life 
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within [30 days] of the request for Proof.] 
 
Proof must be satisfactory to Sun Life. 
 
[Your right to any disability benefits are determined on the date your disability begins.  The right is 
subject to the terms of the Group Policy in effect on the date your disability begins and will not be 
affected by subsequent amendment or termination of the Group Policy] 
 
PAYMENT OF BENEFITS 
 
When are benefits payable? 
 
Benefits are payable when Sun Life receives satisfactory Proof of claim. 
 
When will a decision on my claim be made? 
 
Sun Life will send you a written notice of decision on your claim within a reasonable time after Sun Life 
receives the claim but not later than [45 days] after receipt of the claim.  If Sun Life cannot make a decision 
within [45 days] after receiving your claim, Sun Life will request a [30 day] extension as permitted by U.S. 
Department of Labor regulations.  If Sun Life cannot render a decision within the extension period, Sun Life 
will request an additional [30 day] extension.  Any request for extension will specifically explain: 
1. the standards on which entitlement to benefits is based; 
2. the unresolved issues that prevent a decision on the claim; and 
3. the additional information needed to resolve those issues. 
 
If a period of time is extended because you failed to provide necessary information, the period for making 
the benefit determination is tolled from the date Sun Life sends notice of the extension to you until the date 
on which you respond to the request for additional information.  You will have [45 days] to provide the 
specified information. 

 
What if my claim is denied? 
 
If Sun Life denies all or any part of your claim, you will receive a written notice of denial setting forth: 
1. the specific reason(s) for the denial; 
2. the specific Group Policy provision(s) on which the denial is based; 
3. your right to receive, upon request and free of charge, copies of all documents, records, and other 

information relevant to your claim for benefits; 
4. a description of any additional material or information needed to prove entitlement to benefits and an 

explanation of why such material or information is necessary;  
5. a description of the appeal procedures and time limits;  
6. [your right to bring a civil action under ERISA, §502(a) following an adverse determination on review;] 
7. the identity of an internal rule, guideline, protocol or other similar criterion, if any, that was relied upon 

to deny the claim and a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol or criterion or a statement that a copy is 
available free of charge upon request; and 

8. the identity of any medical or vocational experts whose advice was obtained in connection with the 
claim, regardless of whether the advice was relied upon to deny the claim. 
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Can I request a review of a claim denial? 
 
If all or part of your claim is denied, you may request in writing a review of the denial within [180 days] after 
receiving notice of denial. 
 
You may submit written comments, documents, records or other information relating to your claim for 
benefits, and may request free of charge copies of all documents, records, and other information relevant to 
your claim for benefits. 
 
Sun Life will review the claim on receipt of the written request for review, and will notify you of Sun Life’s 
decision within a reasonable time but not later than [45 days] after the request has been received.  If an 
extension of time is required to process the claim, Sun Life will notify you in writing of the special 
circumstances requiring the extension and the date by which Sun Life expects to make a determination on 
review.  The extension cannot exceed a period of [45 days] from the end of the initial period. 
 
If a period of time is extended because you failed to provide information necessary to decide your claim, the 
period for making the decision on review is tolled from the date Sun Life sends notice of the extension to you 
until the date on which you respond to the request for additional information.  You will have at least [45 days] 
to provide the specified information. 
 
What if my claim is denied on review? 
 
If Sun Life denies all or any part of your claim on review, you will receive a written notice of denial setting 
forth: 
1. the specific reasons for the denial; 
2. the specific Group Policy provisions on which the denial is based; 
3. your right to receive, upon request and free of charge, copies of all documents, records, and other 

information relevant to your claim for benefits;  
4. [your right to bring a civil action under ERISA, §502(a);] 
5. the identity of an internal rule, guideline, protocol or other similar criterion, if any, that was relied upon 

to deny the claim and a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol or criterion or a statement that a copy is 
available free of charge upon request; 

6. the following statement:  “You and your plan may have other voluntary alternative dispute resolution 
options, such as mediation.  One way to find out what may be available is to contact your local U.S. 
Department of Labor Office and your State Insurance regulatory agency.”; and 

7. the identity of any medical or vocational experts whose advice was obtained in connection with the 
appeal, regardless of whether the advice was relied upon to deny the appeal. 
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To whom are benefits payable? 
 
[Benefits, [other than Survivor Benefits,] payable upon your death are payable to your Beneficiary living at 
the time. You must name your Beneficiary on a form acceptable to Sun Life. Unless you otherwise specify, 
if more than one Beneficiary survives you, all surviving Beneficiaries will share equally. [If no Beneficiary 
is alive on the date of your death, payment will be made to your estate.]] 
 
[If no Beneficiary is alive on the date of your death or you do not elect a Beneficiary, Sun Life, at its option, 
may make payments as follows: 
- to your spouse, if living; or 
- if there is no surviving spouse, to your surviving children in equal shares; or 
- if there is no surviving spouse or children, to your surviving parents in equal shares; or 
[- if there is no surviving spouse, children or parents, to your surviving brothers and sisters in equal shares; 

or] 
[- if there is no surviving spouse, children, parents, brothers or sisters, to your surviving grandparents in 

equal shares; or] 
- if none of the above, to your estate.] 
 
[If you named Beneficiaries under your Employer’s Plan prior to the Effective Date of [the Group Policy] 
[your Employer’s participation in the trust], that beneficiary designation will remain in effect unless you 
elect to change Beneficiaries.] 
 
[Survivor Benefits are payable to your Eligible Survivor as defined in the Long Term Disability Income 
Benefit Provision.] 
 
[Survivor Benefits are payable to your Eligible Survivor as defined in the Short Term Disability Income 
Benefit Provision.] 
 
[All other] benefits payable during your lifetime are payable to you.] 
 
[Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefits are payable as shown above unless otherwise specified in 
the Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit section.] 
 
[If a benefit is payable to your estate, your Beneficiary who is a minor, or your Beneficiary who is not 
competent, Sun Life may, at its option, pay up to [$5,000] of the death benefit to any individual or entity Sun 
Life determines has incurred or paid expenses as a result of funeral services provided to or on your behalf.  If 
Sun Life pays such a benefit, it will not have to pay that benefit amount again and the total death benefit 
shall be reduced by the amount paid under this provision.] 
 
[If a benefit is payable to you and you are a minor or you are not competent, Sun Life may, at its option, pay 
up to [$5,000] to any of your relatives whom Sun Life considers entitled. If Sun Life pays such a benefit, it 
will not have to pay that benefit amount again and the total death benefit shall be reduced by the amount paid 
under this provision.] 
 
[If your Beneficiary is a minor or is not competent, and no legal guardian has been appointed for your 
Beneficiary, Sun Life may, at its option, pay up to [$2,000] to the person or institution responsible for your 
Beneficiary’s custody and support.  If Sun Life pays such a benefit, it will not have to pay that benefit 
amount again and the total death benefit shall be reduced by the amount paid under this provision.] 
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CHANGE OF BENEFICIARY 
 
[Can I change my Beneficiary? 
 
You may change your Beneficiary at any time, unless you have stated your choice of Beneficiary is 
irrevocable [or you have assigned your interest in your [Optional] Life Insurance to another person]. Any 
request for a change of Beneficiary must be either in written form on a form signed by you acceptable to Sun 
Life, or you may change the Beneficiary via an electronic or telephonic designation system approved by 
your Employer.  Sun Life may require verification from your employer or someone acting on your 
Employer’s behalf of the electronic or telephonic designation made by you.  If Sun Life has taken any action 
or made payment before receiving notice of that change, your change of Beneficiary will not affect any 
action or payment made by Sun Life. [The consent of your Beneficiary is not required to change any 
Beneficiary unless the Beneficiary designation was irrevocable].] 
 
ASSIGNMENT 
 
[Can I assign my [Basic] Life Insurance? 
 
You may transfer ownership of your [Basic] Life Insurance under the Group Policy by means of an absolute 
assignment. [You cannot make an absolute assignment to your Employer]. All your rights and duties as 
owner are transferred to the new owner. The new owner can make any change the Group Policy allows, such 
as a change of Beneficiary. 
 
If you made an assignment under your Employer’s plan prior to the effective date of [the Group Policy] 
[your Employer’s participation in the Trust], that assignment remains in force with respect to the Group 
Policy.] 
 
[A collateral assignment is not allowed.] 
 
Any assignment must be in a written form and will take effect on the date you sign and file the assignment 
with your Employer. If Sun Life has taken any action or made payment before receiving notice of that 
change, the assignment will not affect any action or payment made by Sun Life. Sun Life will not be 
responsible for the legal, tax or other effects of any assignment.] 
 
INSURER’S AUTHORITY 
 
[Who determines the terms and conditions of the Policy?  
 
The Plan Administrator has delegated to Sun Life its entire discretionary authority to make all final 
determinations regarding claims for benefits under the benefit plan insured by the Group Policy.  This 
discretionary authority includes, but is not limited to, the determination of eligibility for benefits, based 
upon enrollment information provided by your Employer, and the amount of any benefits due, and to 
construe the terms of the Group Policy. 
 
Any decision made by Sun Life in the exercise of this authority, including review of denials of benefit, is 
conclusive and binding on all parties. Any court reviewing Sun Life’s determinations shall uphold such 
determination unless the claimant proves that Sun Life’s determinations are arbitrary and capricious.] 
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INCONTESTABILITY 
  
What is the Incontestability Provision? 
 
All statements made in any application are considered representations and not warranties. No representation 
by you in applying for insurance under the Group Policy will be used to reduce or deny a claim unless a 
copy of your written application for insurance is or has been given to you or to your Beneficiary, if any. 
 
No statement made by you [or any of your Dependents,] relating to Evidence of Insurability for an initial, 
increased or additional amount of insurance, will be used in contesting the validity of that insurance, after 
such initial, increased or additional amount of insurance has been in force for a period of two years during 
that individual’s lifetime. This statement must be contained in a form signed by that individual. 
 
MISSTATEMENT OF FACTS 
 
What happens if facts are misstated? 
 
If relevant facts about you [or any one of your Dependents] are not accurate: 
- an equitable adjustment of premium will be made; and 
- the true facts will be used to determine if and in what amount insurance is valid under the Group Policy. 
 
If the amount of benefit depends on your age, the benefit will be the amount you would have been entitled to 
if your correct age were known. 
 
[[EXAMINATION] [AND AUTOPSY]] 
 
What are Sun Life’s [examination and] [autopsy] rights? 
 
[Sun Life, at its own expense, has the right to have any person, whose Injury or Sickness is the basis of a 
claim: 
- examined by a Physician, other health professional or vocational expert of its choice; and/or 
- interviewed by an authorized Sun Life representative. 
 
This right may be used as often as reasonably required.] 
 
[Sun Life has the right, in the case of death, to request an autopsy.] 
 
LEGAL PROCEEDINGS 
 
What are the time limits for legal proceedings? 
 
No legal action may start: 
- until [60 days] after Proof of Claim has been given; nor 
- more than [3 years] after the time Proof of Claim is required. 
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WORKERS COMPENSATION 
 
Do these group benefits affect Workers’ Compensation? 
 
The Group Policy is not in lieu of, and does not affect, any requirement for coverage by Workers’ 
Compensation Insurance. 
 
AGENCY 
 
Can the Policyholder act as a Sun Life agent? 
 
For all purposes of the Group Policy, the Policyholder [or third party administrator] acts on its own behalf or 
as your agent. Under no circumstances will the Policyholder [or third party administrator] be deemed a Sun 
Life agent. 
 
TIME PERIODS 
 
When do time periods begin and end in the Policy? 
 
For the purpose of effective dates and termination dates under the Group Policy, all days begin at 12:00 
midnight and end at 11:59:59 p.m. 
 
[VALUE ADDED SERVICES 
 
What value added services and benefits are available? 

 
We may arrange with third party service providers a set or discounted rate to provide goods or services to 
persons insured under our group policies.  We will make benefits available, if in our determination, the 
service provider may allow you or your plan to reduce its costs or expenses or enhance health or well 
being. These goods or services may include, but are not limited to: travel assistance; identity theft 
protection; employee assistance program and beneficiary assistance. The third party service provider is 
solely responsible for providing and administering the goods or services.]   
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These are some of the general terms you need to know. 
 
[Actively at Work means that you perform all the regular duties of your job for a full work day at your 
Employer’s normal place of business or a site where your Employer’s business requires you to travel.] 
 
 [Actively at Work means that you are a Member in good standing of [Local ABC of] [XYZ Union.] 
 
[Actively at Work for a Director means being an active board member and attending required board 
meetings.] 
 
[You are considered Actively at Work on any day that is not your regular work day (e.g. [vacation or 
holiday]) as long as you were Actively at Work on your immediately preceding work day, and you: 
- are not Hospital Confined; or 
- are not disabled due to an injury or sickness.] 
 
[You are considered Actively at Work if you [usually perform] [are performing] the regular duties of your 
job at your home as long as you can perform all the regular duties of your job for a full work day and could 
do so at your Employer’s normal place of business, if required, and you: 
- are not Hospital Confined; or 
- are not disabled due to an injury or sickness.] 
 
[You are considered Actively at Work on any day that you are able to perform the regular duties of your job 
regardless of whether you are actually working that day.]  
 
[Contributory Insurance means insurance for which you are required to pay [all or part] of the 
premium.] 
 
Eligibility Date means the date or dates on which you become eligible for insurance under the Group 
Policy. Classes eligible for insurance are shown in the Benefit Highlights 
 
Employee (You) means a person who is employed by the Employer [within the United States [or 
Canada,]] scheduled to work at least the number of hours shown in the Benefit Highlights, and paid 
regular earnings [, who has provided the Employer with sufficient and authentic documentation 
establishing eligibility for employment in the United States as required under the Immigration Reform 
and Control Act, 8 U.S.C. 1324a(b)(1), who is not an "unauthorized alien" as defined by 8 U.S.C. 
1324a(h)(3)].   

 
[If you are an Employee, who is a citizen of [the United States [or Canada],] and you are working on 
temporary assignment outside of the United States [or Canada] for [12 months] or less, you will be 
deemed to be working within [the United States [or Canada]]. [If you are an Employee who is a citizen of 
[the United States [or Canada]], and you are working on a temporary assignment outside of the United 
States [or Canada] for more than [12 months], you will not be considered an Employee under the Policy 
unless Sun Life approves your eligibility under the Policy [in writing].] [If you are an Employee who is 
not a citizen of [the United States [or Canada]] and you are working on temporary assignment outside of 
the United States [or Canada], you will not be considered an Employee while working on the temporary 
assignment].] 
 
[For the purposes of the Group Policy, Employee also means a person who receives an IRS 1099, as well 
as any [physician] [proprietor] [and] [partner], if applicable, to the extent the individual is [scheduled to 
work] [actually working] for the Employer at least the number of hours shown in the Benefit Highlights, 
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and is paid regular earnings from the Employer.]]   
 
Employer means [ABC Employer] [and includes any Subsidiary or Affiliated company named in the 
Application]. 
 
[Evidence of Insurability means a statement or records of your [or your Dependent’s] medical history upon 
which acceptance for insurance will be determined by Sun Life.  In some cases, Sun Life may require that 
you [or your Dependent] submit to a paramedical examination, at Sun Life’s expense, as part of the 
Evidence of Insurability.] 
 
[Family Status Change means one of the following events: 
 
- your marriage or divorce; 
- the birth of your child; 
- the adoption of a child by you; 
- the death of your spouse or child; 
[- the commencement or termination of employment of your spouse;] 
[- the change from part-time to full-time employment by [you or] your spouse;] 
[- the change from full-time to part-time employment by [you or] your spouse;] 
[- the taking of an unpaid leave of absence by [you or] your spouse;] 
[- a significant change in your health coverage or your spouse’s health coverage as a result of your 

spouse’s employment.]] 
 
[Guaranteed Issue Amount means the maximum amount of insurance available to you [or your Dependent] 
without Evidence of Insurability.] 
 
[Hospital or Institution means a facility licensed to provide full-time medical care and treatment under 
the direction of a full-time staff of licensed physicians.] 
 
[Injury means bodily impairment resulting directly from an accident and independently of all other causes. 
Any Injury must occur and Disability must begin while you are insured under the Group Policy.] 
 
[Non-Contributory Insurance means insurance for which the premium is paid entirely by your 
Employer.] 
 
[Participation in a Riot, Rebellion or Insurrection means encouraging, promoting, or taking part in a riot, 
rebellion or revolt whether by signs, gestures, words or by distinctive devices which identify the person with 
the riot, rebellion or revolt.] 
 
 [Physician means an individual who is operating within the scope of his license and is either: 
- licensed to practice medicine and prescribe and administer drugs or to perform surgery; or 
- legally qualified as a medical practitioner and required to be recognized, under the Group Policy for 

insurance purposes, according to the insurance regulations of the governing jurisdiction.] 
 
[The Physician cannot be you, your spouse or the parents, brothers, sisters or children of you or your 
spouse.] 
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[Pregnancy means childbirth, miscarriage, [abortion] or any disease resulting from or aggravated by the 
pregnancy.] 
 
Proof means any information this is required under the terms of the Policy and is satisfactory to Sun Life. 
 
[Retirement Plan means a program which provides retirement benefits to you and is not funded entirely by 
your contributions. The term does not include a [401(k)] plan, a profit sharing plan, a thrift plan, an 
individual retirement account (IRA), a tax sheltered annuity (TSA), a stock ownership plan, or a 
nonqualified plan of deferred compensation. 
 
Your Employer’s Retirement Plan includes any Retirement Plan which: 
- is part of any federal, state, county, municipal or association retirement system; and 
- for which you are eligible as a result of your employment with your Employer.] 
 
[Sickness means illness, disease or pregnancy. A Disability, because of Sickness, must begin while you are 
insured under the Group Policy.] 
 
[Waiting Period means the length of time immediately before your Eligibility Date during which you must 
be employed in an Eligible Class before you can apply for benefits.] [Any period of time [before the [Group 
Policy] [Employer] Effective Date that you were Actively at Work for your Employer [as a [full-time] 
Employee] will [not] count towards completion of your Waiting Period.] [The Waiting Period is shown in 
the Benefit Highlights.] 
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[These are [Basic] Life Insurance terms you need to know. 
 
[Basic Annual Earnings means: 
 
[Your [current] salary or wage from your Employer [for the previous calendar year]. Basic Annual Earnings 
includes [commissions and deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation 
plan, Section 125 plan, or flexible spending account], but does not include income received due to 
[commissions, bonuses, overtime pay or any other extra compensation].]  
 
[Your earnings from the W-2 form (the box that reflects wages, tips and other compensation) received from 
your Employer for the prior calendar year, or the average monthly earnings for your period of employment 
annualized, if employed for less than a full calendar year.] 
 
[The amount you reported as net earnings from self-employment on IRS [Form 1065, Schedule K-1] [Line 
17], and will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your employment, or averaged from your date 
of employment, whichever is less. [Basic Annual Earnings includes profit sharing bonuses.] 
 
[Your Net Income amount reported on IRS [Form 1040, Schedule C,] but does not include [any other extra 
compensation]. Basic Annual Earnings will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your 
employment or averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[Your amount reported as non-employee compensation on your individual 1099-MISC tax form from the 
Employer for the previous calendar year, or the annualized amount that will be reported on your 1099-MISC 
form from the Employer if you have not worked a full calendar year for the Employer.] 
 
[If your current salary includes commissions or bonuses, your Basic Annual Earnings will be averaged over 
the prior [24 months] period of employment or averaged from the date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[Basic Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Basic Life Insurance available to you. The Basic 
Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
Beneficiary means the person who is entitled to receive death benefit proceeds as they become due under 
the Group Policy. A Beneficiary must be named by you in written form, including a form signed by you 
acceptable to Sun Life or an electronic or telephonic designation made by you as approved by Sun Life. 
 
[Combined Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of insurance available to you under the Group 
Policy.  The Combined Maximum Benefits is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of insurance available to you under the Group Policy. The 
Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Optional Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Optional Life insurance available to you. The 
Optional Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Permanent Total Disability or Permanently Totally Disabled, for purposes of determining eligibility 
under the Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit, means: 
- because of your Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform, and presumably will continue to be 

unable to perform for the duration of your life, the material and substantial duties of any occupation for 
which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience [; or  

- you have suffered the entire and irrecoverable loss of your sight of both eyes; or] 
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- [- you have suffered the irrecoverable use of both hands or both feet or of one hand and one foot].] 
 
[Retired Employee means you are a former Employee of your Employer [, you have retired on or after 
[January 1, 2009], and prior to your retirement you were insured as an active Employee or eligible to receive 
a pension from your Employer].] 
 
[To be considered a retired employee, you must be receiving a pension from your Employer or receiving a 
pension as a result of your employment with your Employer.] 
 
[Retirement for the purposes of your being considered retired means the first of the following dates to 
occur: 
 
1. the effective date of your retirement benefits under: 
 a. any plan of a federal, state, county, municipal or an association retirement system for which you are 

eligible as a result of your employment with your Employer; 
 b. any Retirement Plan your Employer sponsors; or 
 c. any Retirement Plan to which your Employer makes or has made contributions. 
 
2. the effective date of your retirement benefits under the Social Security Act or any similar plan or act. 

However, if you meet the definition of an Employee Actively at Work and you are receiving retirement 
benefits under the Social Security Act or similar plan or act, you will not be considered retired.] 

 
[Terminally Ill or Terminal Illness means your Sickness or physical condition that is certified by a 
Physician to reasonably be expected to result in death within [12 months] or less.]  
 
[Total Disability or Totally Disabled, for purposes of determining eligibility for waiver of premium, 
means, because of your Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform the material and substantial duties of 
any occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.] 
 
[Total Disability or Totally Disabled, for purposes of determining eligibility for waiver of premium, 
means, because of your Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform the material and substantial duties of 
your own occupation.  [After [24 months], you will continue to be Totally Disabled if you are unable to 
perform all of the material and substantial duties of any occupation for which you are or become reasonably 
qualified by education, training or experience.]] 
 
[After [24 months], you will continue to be Totally Disabled if you: 
- are unable to safely and completely perform [2] or more Activities of Daily Living without another 

person’s assistance or verbal cueing; or 
- are Cognitively Impaired; and  
are unable to perform all of the material and substantial duties of any occupation for which you are or 
become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.] 
 
[Total Disability or Totally Disabled, for purposes of determining eligibility for waiver of premium, 
means, because of your Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform the material and substantial duties of 
your own occupation.] 
 
 
 
[However, if you are receiving Long Term Disability Income Benefits under a Sun Life Group LTD 
Policy, you will be considered Totally Disabled under the Sun Life Group Life Policy for as long as you 
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continue to receive Long Term Disability Income Benefits under a Sun Life Group LTD Policy.]] 
 
[In addition, you will be considered Totally Disabled if you are diagnosed with a life expectancy of [12 
months] or less.] 
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[These are Dependent [Basic] Life Insurance terms you need to know. 
 
Dependent means your: 
[- spouse.] [;] 
[- unmarried child from [live birth] to under age [19] [;] 
[- unmarried child under age [23] who is an enrolled full-time student [and depends on you for [50%] or 

more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation].] [A full-time student includes your child who is attending college outside the United 
States.] 

 
[Your dependent must be a citizen or legal resident of the United States.] 
 
[The term “spouse” includes [a domestic partner] [or] [civil union partner] wherever it appears in the 
Certificate.] 
 
[Domestic Partner is as defined in your Employer’s plan document.] 
 
[Your unmarried step-child, [foster child] [, child under your legal guardianship] [, child of your domestic 
partner or civil union partner,] or adopted child is included as a Dependent if the child [depends on you for 
[50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other 
appropriate documentation] [and is living with you in a regular parent-child relationship]. A child is 
considered adopted if the child is in your legal custody under an interim court order of adoption, whether or 
not a final adoption order is ever issued.] [Your unmarried [grandchild] is included as a Dependent if the 
child is considered your dependent for federal income tax purposes.] 
 
[Dependent does not include: 
[- any person who is insured as an Employee; or] 
- any person residing outside [the United States, Canada [or Mexico], [or Puerto Rico] [or the Virgin 

Islands].] [This exclusion does not apply to a Dependent who resides with an Employee who is on 
temporary work assignment outside the United States.] 

 
[No person may be considered to be a Dependent of more than one Employee.] 
 
[If an unmarried child is: 
- incapable of self-sustaining employment because of mental retardation, developmental disability or 

physical handicap; and 
[- depends on you for [50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income 

tax return or other appropriate documentation;] 
that child will continue to be a Dependent for as long as these two conditions exist.]] 
 
[Basic Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Dependent [spouse] Basic Life Insurance available to 
you. The Basic Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Dependent [spouse] Life Insurance available to you. The 
Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Optional Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Dependent [spouse] Optional Life Insurance 
available to you. The Optional Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.]
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[These are] [Basic] Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance term [s] you need to know. 
 
Accidental Bodily Injury means bodily harm caused solely by external, violent and accidental means which 
is sustained directly and independently of all other causes. 
 
[Basic Annual Earnings means: 
 
[Your [current] salary or wage from your Employer [for the previous calendar year]. Basic Annual Earnings 
includes [commissions and deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation 
plan, Section 125 plan, or flexible spending account], but does not include income received due to 
[commissions, bonuses, overtime pay or any other extra compensation].]  
 
[Your earnings from the W-2 form (the box that reflects wages, tips and other compensation) received from 
your Employer for the prior calendar year, or the average monthly earnings for your period of employment 
annualized, if employed for less than a full calendar year.] 
 
[The amount you reported as net earnings from self-employment on IRS [Form 1065, Schedule K-1] [Line 
17], and will be averaged over the previous [24 month] period of your employment, or averaged from your 
date of employment, whichever is less. [Basic Annual Earnings includes profit sharing bonuses.] 
 
[Your Net Income amount reported on IRS [Form 1040, Schedule C,] but does not include [any other extra 
compensation]. Basic Annual Earnings will be averaged over the previous [24 month] period of your 
employment or averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[Your amount reported as non-employee compensation on your individual 1099-MISC tax form from the 
Employer for the previous calendar year, or the annualized amount that will be reported on your 1099-MISC 
form from the Employer if you have not worked a full calendar year for the Employer.] 
 
[If your current salary includes commissions or bonuses, your Basic Annual Earnings will be averaged over 
the previous [24 months] period of employment or averaged from the date of employment, whichever is 
less.] 
 
[Basic Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance available to you. The Basic Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Dependent means your: 
[- spouse.][;] 
[- unmarried child from [live birth] to under age [19];] 
[- unmarried child under age [23] who is an enrolled full-time student [and depends on you for [50%] or 

more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other appropriate 
documentation].] [A full-time student includes your child who is attending college outside the United 
States] 

 
[Your dependent must be a citizen or legal resident of the United States.] 
 
[The term “spouse” includes a [domestic partner] [or] [civil union partner] wherever it appears in the 
certificate.]  
 
[Domestic Partner is as defined in your Employer’s plan document.] 
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[Your unmarried step-child, [foster child] [, child under your legal guardianship] [, child of your domestic 
partner or civil union partner,] or adopted child is included as a Dependent if the child [depends on you for 
[50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income tax return or other 
appropriate documentation] [and is living with you in a regular parent-child relationship]. A child is 
considered adopted if the child is in your legal custody under an interim court order of adoption, whether or 
not a final adoption order is ever issued.] [Your unmarried [grandchild] is included as a Dependent if the 
child is considered your dependent for federal income tax purposes.]  
 
[Dependent does not include: 
[- any person who is insured as an Employee; or] 
-  any person residing outside [the United States, Canada or Mexico, [or Puerto Rico] [or the Virgin 

Islands].] [This exclusion does not apply to a Dependent who resides with an Employee who is on 
temporary work assignment outside the United States.] 

 
[No person may be considered to be a Dependent of more than one Employee.] 
 
[If an unmarried child is: 
 
- incapable of self-sustaining employment because of mental retardation, developmental disability or 

physical handicap; and 
[- depends on you for [50%] or more of the child’s financial support as evidenced by your federal income 

tax return or other appropriate documentation;] 
 that child will continue to be a Dependent for as long as these two conditions exist.]] 
 
Insured Person means you [or your insured Dependent spouse] [, your insured Dependent spouse or any of 
your insured Dependent children]. 
 
[Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of insurance available to you under the Group Policy. The 
Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Optional Maximum Benefit means the largest amount of Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
insurance available to you. The Optional Maximum Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.] 
 
[Permanent Total Disability or Permanently Totally Disabled, for purposes of determining eligibility for 
the AD&D  Permanent Total Disability Income Benefit, means because of your Accidental Bodily Injury: 
- you are unable to perform, and presumably will continue to be unable to perform for the duration of 

your life, the material and substantial duties of any occupation for which you are or become reasonably 
qualified for by education, training or experience [; or  

- you have suffered the entire and irrecoverable loss of your sight of both eyes; or] 
[- you have suffered the irrecoverable use of both hands or both feet or of one hand and one foot].] 
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[These are Short Term Disability Insurance terms you need to know. 
 
[Disability Earnings means the employment income you receive while Partially Disabled [or income you 
receive while participating in an approved Rehabilitation program].]  Disability Earnings does not include 
income you receive from work performed prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability, nor income that is not 
derived from work performed.] 
 
[Drug and Alcohol Illness  means an illness which results from the abuse of alcohol, drugs or derivatives.] 
 
Elimination Period means a period of continuous days of your Total [or Partial] Disability when no STD 
Benefit is payable.  Your Elimination Period is shown in the Benefit Highlights and begins on your first day 
of Total [or Partial] Disability. [If you return to work for an aggregate of [5 working days] or less during 
your Elimination Period, and cannot continue working, your Elimination Period will be treated as 
continuous, but only those days you are unable to work will be counted.] 
 
[Gross Weekly Benefit means your weekly STD benefit before any reduction of Other Income Benefits.] 
 
[Hospital Confinement means you are confined in a Hospital as a resident bed patient for a minimum of [24 
hours].  The confinement must be recommended by a Physician.] 
  
Material and Substantial Duties means, but is not limited to, the essential tasks, functions, skills or 
responsibilities required by employers for the performance of your Own [Occupation] [Job]. Material and 
Substantial Duties does not include any tasks, functions, skills or responsibilities that could be reasonably 
modified or omitted from your Own [Occupation] [Job]. 
 
[Material and Substantial Duties for a [Physician] [Dentist] means the actual procedures you are 
regularly and continuously performing during the [12 consecutive months] immediately prior to the first 
date of Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
Maximum Weekly Benefit means the largest amount payable weekly to you.  The Maximum Weekly 
Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights.  [If Evidence of Insurability has not been approved for amounts 
over your Guaranteed Issue Amount, you Maximum Weekly Benefit is the maximum amount of insurance 
approved in writing by Sun Life or the Guaranteed Issue Amount shown in the Benefit Highlights, 
whichever is greater.] 
 
Mental Illness means mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, psychological personality, cognitive, mood or 
stress-related abnormality, disorder, dysfunction or syndrome regardless of cause, including any biological 
or biochemical disorder or imbalance of the brain. Mental Illness includes, but is not limited to, bipolar 
affective disorder, schizophrenia, psychotic illness, manic depressive illness, depression and depressive 
disorders, anxiety and anxiety disorders, and any other mental and nervous condition classified in the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) of the American Psychiatric Association in effect on the date of 
Total [or Partial] Disability, or a comparable manual if the American Psychiatric Association stops 
publishing the (DSM).] 
 
[Outpatient Surgical Procedure means a medically necessary surgical procedure performed by a Physician 
in a Hospital or Institution, which requires entry into the body by means of a surgical incision or insertion of 
an instrument for repair or correction of a medical condition.] 
[Own Job means the specific job or position you performed for your Employer.] 
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[Own Occupation means the usual and customary employment, business trade, profession or vocation that 
you performed as it is generally recognized in the national economy immediately prior to the first date your 
Total [or Partial] Disability began. Own Occupation is not limited to the job or position you performed for 
your Employer or performed at any specific location.] 
 
[Own Occupation, if you are a Physician, means the general or sub-specialty in which you are practicing 
for which there is a specialty or sub-specialty recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties.  
If the sub-specialty in which you are practicing is not recognized by the American Board of Medical 
Specialties, you will be considered practicing in the general specialty category.] 
 
[Own Occupation, if you are an attorney, means the specialty in the practice of law which you are 
routinely performing.] 

 
[Own Occupation, if you are a dentist, means the general or sub-specialty in which you are practicing for 
which there is a specialty or sub-specialty recognized by the American Dental Association. If the sub-
specialty in which you are practicing is not recognized by the American Dental Association, you will be 
considered practicing in the general specialty category.] 
 
[Partial Disability or Partially Disabled means, because of your Injury or Sickness [, you are] [which 
caused your Total Disability, you continue to be] unable to perform all of the material and substantial duties 
of your Own [Occupation] [Job] on a full-time basis, but you are: 
- performing at least one [but not all] of the material and substantial duties of your Own [Occupation] 

[Job] [or another occupation] on a part-time [or full time] basis; and 
- earning less than [80%] of your Total Weekly Earnings due to your same Injury or Sickness that caused 

your Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
[Partial Disability must begin within [14 days] after your Total Disability benefits cease [and you must have 
received at least one Total Disability Benefit].]  [Partial Disability employment must be for your Employer 
as defined under the Group Policy.]  [Partial Disability employment cannot be for any other employer or 
self-employment.] 
 
[Partial Disability or Partially Disabled means, because of your Injury or Sickness [, you are] [which 
caused your Total Disability, you: 
 
- are unable to perform [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own [Occupation] 

[Job] or any occupation on a full-time or part-time basis; or 
 
- you have Disability Earnings of at least [20%] but less than [80%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly 

Earnings.] 
 
 [After Total or Partial Disability benefits combined have been paid to you for [24 months], you will 
continue to be Partially Disabled if you] are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful 
Occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience, and you 
have Disability Earnings of less than [60%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.]] 
 
[The loss of your professional [, Pilot’s] or occupational license, or your inability to obtain or qualify for a 
license for any reason does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability.] 
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[Failure to pass an employment related exam does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability.] 
 
[To qualify for benefits, you must satisfy your Elimination Period with the required number of days of Total 
Disability, [Partial Disability or a combination of days of Total and Partial Disability.] [Your Elimination 
Period cannot be satisfied with days of Partial Disability.] 
 
[Social Security means the Federal Social Security Act which provides social insurance on a national scale.] 
 
STD means Short Term Disability. 
 
[Total Disability or Totally Disabled means, because of your Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform 
all of the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own [Occupation] [Job] and you are not engaged in any 
occupation for wage or profit.] 
 
The loss of your professional [, Pilot’s] or occupational license, or your inability to obtain or qualify for a 
license for any reason does not, in itself, constitute Total Disability. 
 
[Failure to pass an employment related exam does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability.] 
To qualify for benefits, you must satisfy your Elimination Period with the required number of days of Total 
Disability, [Partial Disability or a combination of days of Total and Partial Disability.] 
 
Total Weekly Earnings means: 
 
[Your basic weekly earnings as reported by your Employer immediately before the first date your Total [or 
Partial] Disability begins. [Total Weekly Earnings includes [commissions and] deductions made for pre-tax 
contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, Section 125 plan, or flexible spending account, 
but does not include income received due to [bonuses, overtime pay or any other extra compensation.]] 
 
[Your average weekly earnings as reported by your Employer [for the prior calendar year] immediately 
before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins. [Total Weekly Earnings includes [commissions 
and] deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, Section 125 
plan, or flexible spending account, but does not include income received due to [bonuses, overtime pay or 
any other extra compensation.]] 
 
[If your [current] weekly earnings include [commissions] [or] [bonuses], your Total Weekly Earnings will be 
averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] 
Disability begins, or will be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[If your [current] weekly earnings include [commissions], your [commissions] will be averaged over the 
prior [24 month] period of your employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or 
will be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
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[Your average weekly earnings from the W-2 form (the box which reflects wages, tips and other 
compensation) received from your Employer for the prior calendar year immediately before the first date 
your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or your average weekly earnings for your period of employment if 
employed for less than a full calendar year.] 
 
[1/52 of the amount you reported as net earnings from self-employment on IRS [Form 1065, Schedule K-1] 
[Line 17] and will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your employment before the first date 
your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or will be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is 
less.  [Total Weekly Earnings includes profit sharing bonuses.]] 
 
[1/52 of the net income amount reported on IRS [Form 1040, Schedule C] but does not include [any other 
extra compensation].  Total Weekly Earnings will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your 
employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or will be averaged from your date 
of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[1/52 of the net income amount reported as non-employee compensation on your 1099-MISC tax form from 
the Employer for the prior calendar year immediately before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability 
begins, or the average weekly compensation from your date of employment, if employed for less than a full 
calendar year, that will be reported on your 1099-MISC tax form from the Employer.]   
 
[If you are paid on an hourly basis, Total Weekly Earnings will be based on your hourly rate of pay, but will 
not exceed [40] hours per week.]]
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[These are Long Term Disability Insurance terms you need to know. 
 
[Activities of Daily Living means: 
- Bathing - the ability to wash, either in the tub or shower or by sponge bath, with or without 

equipment or adaptive devices. 
- Dressing - the ability to put on and take off all garments and medically necessary braces or artificial 

limbs usually worn. 
- Toileting - the ability to get to and from and on and off the toilet, to maintain a reasonable level of 

personal hygiene, and to care for clothing. 
- Transferring - the ability to move in and out of a chair or bed with or without equipment such as 

canes, quad canes, walkers, crutches or grab bars or other support devices including mechanical or 
motorized devices. 

- Continence - the ability to either: 
- voluntarily control bowel and bladder function; or 
- if incontinent, be able to maintain a reasonable level of personal hygiene. 

Eating - the ability to get nourishment into the body.] 
 
[Chemical and Environmental Illness means an allergy or sensitivity to chemicals or the environment 
including but not limited to: 
1. Environmental allergies 
2. Sick Building Syndrome 
3. Multiple Chemical Sensitivity Syndrome 
4. Chronic Toxic Encephalopathy. 
Chemical and Environmental Illness does not include Asthma or Allergy-induced reactive lung disease.] 
 
[Chronic Fatigue Illness means an Illness that is characterized by a debilitating fatigue in the absence of 
known medical or psychological conditions, which includes but is not limited to: 
1. Chronic Fatigue Syndrome as supported by Center for Disease Control Guidelines 
2. Chronic Fatigue Immunodeficiency Syndrome as supported by Center for Disease Control Guidelines 
3. Post Viral Syndrome 
4. Limbic Encephalopathy 
5. Epstein-Barr virus infection 
6. Herpes virus type 6 infection 
7. Myalgic Encephalomyelitis 
 
Chronic Fatigue Illness does not include a disorder identified as a(n): 
1. Neoplastic disorder 
2. Neurologic disorder 
3. Endocrine disorder 
4. Hematologic disorder 
5. Rheumatologic disorder 
6. Depression] 
 
Cognitively Impaired means an individual has a deterioration or loss in intellectual capacity resulting 
from injury, sickness, advanced age or Alzheimer’s disease and similar forms of irreversible dementia and 
the individual needs another person’s assistance or verbal cueing for the individual’s protection or for the 
protection of others. 
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The extent of Cognitive Impairment is determined by clinical evidence and standardized tests which 
reliably measure the deterioration or loss in the following areas: 
- short or long term memory 
- orientation as to: 

- person 
- place 
- time; and 

- deductive or abstract reasoning] 
 
[Disability Earnings means the employment income you receive while Partially Disabled [or income you 
receive while participating in an approved Rehabilitation program].] Disability Earnings does not include 
income you receive from work performed prior to your Total [or Partial] Disability, nor income that is not 
derived from work performed.] 
 
[Drug and Alcohol Illness means an illness which results from the abuse of alcohol, drugs or derivatives.] 
 
Elimination Period means a period of continuous days of your Total [or Partial] Disability before an LTD 
benefit is payable. Your Elimination Period is shown in the Benefit Highlights and begins on your first day 
of Total [or Partial] Disability.  [If you return to work for [15 working days] or less during your Elimination 
Period and cannot continue working, your Total [or Partial] Disability will be treated as continuous.  
However, only those days that you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled will count towards satisfying your 
Elimination Period.] 
 
[If you return to work during your Elimination Period for an aggregate period of time less than or equal to 
your Elimination Period and cannot continue working, all days that you are Totally [or Partially] Disabled 
will count toward satisfying your Elimination Period.] 
 
[If you return to work for a period of up to one-half of your applicable Elimination Period and cannot 
continue working, your Total [or Partial] Disability will be treated as continuous [, provided that you satisfy 
the Elimination Period within [12 months]]. However, only those days that you are Totally [or Partially] 
Disabled will count toward satisfying your Elimination Period.] 
 
[For the purpose of satisfying the Elimination Period, you will be deemed to be Partially Disabled if, due to 
Injury or Sickness, you are unable to perform [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties of your 
Own Occupation and you have Disability Earnings of less than or equal to [100%] of your Total Monthly 
Earnings.]   
 
[Family Social Security means benefits that are paid under the Federal Social Security Act to your eligible 
spouse and/or children as a result of your Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
[Gainful Occupation means employment that is or can be expected to provide you with an income of at 
least [60%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings [or the Maximum Monthly Benefit, whichever is 
less.].] 
 
Gross Monthly Benefit means your monthly LTD benefit before any reduction of Other Income Benefits 
[and before any reduction of Disability Earnings]. 
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[Indexed Total Monthly Earnings means your Total Monthly Earnings prior to the date your Total or 
Partial Disability began adjusted on the first of the month following [24 calendar months] of Partial 
Disability Benefit payments and each [annual anniversary thereafter]. Each adjustment to the Indexed Total 
Monthly Earnings is [the lesser of [10%] or the current annual percentage increase in the Consumer Price 
Index for Wage Earners and Clerical Workers as published monthly by the U.S. Department of Labor. Sun 
Life reserves the right to use some other similar measurement if the Department of Labor changes or stops 
publishing the Consumer Price Index] [5%].] 
 
LTD means Long Term Disability. 
 
Material and Substantial Duties means, but is not limited to, the essential tasks, functions, skills or 
responsibilities required by employers for the performance of your Own [Occupation] [Job]. Material and 
Substantial Duties does not include any tasks, functions, skills or responsibilities that could be reasonably 
modified or omitted from your Own [Occupation] [Job]. 
 
[Material and Substantial Duties” for a [Physician] [Dentist] means the actual procedures you are 
regularly and continuously performing during the [12] consecutive months immediately prior to the first 
date of Total [or Partial] Disability.] 
 
Maximum Monthly Benefit means the largest amount payable monthly to you. The Maximum Monthly 
Benefit is shown in the Benefit Highlights. [If Evidence of Insurability has not been approved for amounts 
over your Guaranteed Issue Amount, your Maximum Monthly Benefit is the maximum amount of insurance 
approved in writing by Sun Life or the Guaranteed Issue Amount shown in the Benefit Highlights, 
whichever is greater.] 
 
Mental Illness means mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, psychological personality, cognitive, mood or 
stress-related abnormality, disorder, dysfunction or syndrome regardless of cause, including any biological 
or biochemical disorder or imbalance of the brain. Mental Illness includes, but is not limited to, bipolar 
affective disorder, schizophrenia, psychotic illness, manic depressive illness, depression and depressive 
disorders, anxiety and anxiety disorders, and any other mental and nervous condition classified in the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) of the American Psychiatric Association in effect on the date of 
Total [or Partial] Disability, or a comparable manual if the American Psychiatric Association stops 
publishing the (DSM).] 
 
[Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Illness means a disease or disorder of the neck and back and 
sprains and strains of joints and adjacent tissues, including but not limited to: 
1. Cervical, thoracic and lumbosacral back and its surrounding soft tissue 
2. Carpal Tunnel or repetitive motion syndrome 
3. Fibromyalgia 
4. Temporomandibular joint or craniomandibular joint disorder 
5. Myofascial pain 
6. Scoliosis that does not require surgery 
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Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Illness does not include: 
1. Herniated, ruptured or bulging discs with neurological abnormalities that are documented by 

electromyogram, and computerized tomography or magnetic resonance imaging 
2. Scoliosis that requires surgery 
3. Tumors, malignancies, or vascular malformation 
4. Radiculopathies that are documented by electromyogram 
5. Spondylolisthesis, grade II or higher 
6. Myelopathies and myelitis 
7. Demyelinating diseases 
8. Traumatic spinal cord necrosis 
9. Osteopathies 
10. Rheumatoid or psoriatic arthritis 
11. Lupus] 
 
[Own Job means the specific job or position you performed for your Employer.] 
 
[Own Occupation means the usual and customary employment, business trade, profession or vocation that 
you performed as it is generally recognized in the national economy immediately prior to the first date your 
Total [or Partial] Disability began. Own Occupation is not limited to the job or position you performed for 
your Employer or performed at any specific location.] 
 
[Own Occupation, if you are a Physician, means the general or sub-specialty in which you are practicing 
for which there is a specialty or sub-specialty recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties.  
If the sub-specialty in which you are practicing is not recognized by the American Board of Medical 
Specialties, you will be considered practicing in the general specialty category.] 
 
[Own Occupation, if you are an attorney, means the specialty in the practice of law which you are 
routinely performing.] 

 
[Own Occupation, if you are a dentist, means the general or sub-specialty in which you are practicing for 
which there is a specialty or sub-specialty recognized by the American Dental Association. If the sub-
specialty in which you are practicing is not recognized by the American Dental Association, you will be 
considered practicing in the general specialty category.] 
 
 [Partial Disability or Partially Disabled means [during your Elimination Period and the next [24 months]] 
[after at least one Total Disability Benefit has been paid, and during the first [24 months] of Total or Partial 
Disability combined], you, because of your Injury or Sickness, [are unable to perform [one or more of ] the 
Material and Substantial Duties of your Own [Occupation] [Job] and you have Disability Earnings of less 
than [80%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.] [After Total or Partial Disability benefits combined 
have been paid to you for [24 months], you will continue to be Partially Disabled if you] are unable to 
perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful Occupation for which you are or become reasonably 
qualified by education, training or experience, and you have Disability Earnings of less than [60%] of your 
[Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.] 
 
[Partial Disability or Partially Disabled means [during your Elimination Period and the next [24 months]] 
[after at least one Total Disability Benefit has been paid, and during the first [24 months] of Total or Partial 
Disability combined], you, because of your Injury or Sickness; 
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- are unable to perform [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties of your Own [Occupation] 
[Job] or any occupation on a full-time or part-time basis; or 

 
- you have Disability Earnings of at least [20%] but less than [80%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly 

Earnings.] 
 
 [After Total or Partial Disability benefits combined have been paid to you for [24 months], you will 
continue to be Partially Disabled if you] are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful 
Occupation for which you are or become reasonably qualified by education, training or experience, and you 
have Disability Earnings of less than [60%] of your [Indexed] Total Monthly Earnings.]] 
 
The loss of your professional [or] occupational [or Pilot’s] license or your inability to obtain or qualify for a 
license for any reason does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability. 
 
[Failure to pass an employment related exam does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability.] 
 
To qualify for benefits, you must satisfy your Elimination Period with the required number of days of Total 
Disability, [Partial Disability or a combination of days of Total and Partial Disability] [and have received at 
least one Total Disability Benefit payment].] [Your Elimination Period cannot be satisfied with days of 
Partial Disability.]  [At the end of the Elimination Period, if you continue to be prevented, due to Injury or 
Sickness, from performing] [one or more of] the Material and Substantial Duties] of your Own 
[Occupation] [Job], but your Disability Earnings exceed [80%] of your Total Monthly Earnings, your 
Elimination Period will be extended for a total period of [12 months] or until such time as your Disability 
Earnings are less than [80%] of your Total Monthly Earnings, whichever comes first]. 
 
[Primary Social Security means benefits paid to you under the Federal Social Security Act if you 
become Totally or Partially Disabled.] 
 
[Social Security means the Federal Social Security Act which provides social insurance on a national scale.] 
 
[Total Disability or Totally Disabled means [during your Elimination Period and the next [24 months],] 
you, because of your Injury or Sickness, [are unable to perform [one or more of] [all] the Material and 
Substantial Duties of your Own [Occupation] [Job].] [After Total [or Partial] Disability benefits [combined] 
have been paid to you for [24 months], you will continue to be considered Totally Disabled if you] are 
unable to perform with reasonable continuity, any Gainful Occupation for which you are or become 
reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.] 
 
[After Total [or Partial] Disability LTD benefits [combined] have been paid to you for [24 months], you 
will continue to be considered Totally Disabled if you: 
- are unable to safely and completely perform [2] or more Activities of Daily Living without another 

person’s assistance or verbal cueing; or 
- are Cognitively Impaired; and  
are unable to perform with reasonable continuity any Gainful Occupation for which you are or become 
reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.] 
 
[The loss of your professional [,] [or] occupational [or Pilot’s] license or your inability to obtain or qualify 
for a license for any reason does not, in itself, constitute Total Disability. 
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[Failure to pass an employment related exam does not, in itself, constitute Partial Disability.] 
To qualify for benefits, you must satisfy your Elimination Period with the required number of days of Total 
Disability, [Partial Disability or a combination of days of Total and Partial Disability.]  
 
Total Monthly Earnings means: 
 
[Your basic monthly earnings as reported by your Employer [for the prior calendar year] immediately before 
the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins. Total Monthly Earnings  includes [commissions and] 
deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, Section 125 plan or 
flexible spending account, but does not include income received due to [bonuses,] [overtime pay ]or any 
other extra compensation.] 
 
[Your average monthly earnings as reported by your Employer [for the prior calendar year] immediately 
before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins. [Total Monthly Earnings includes 
[commissions, and] deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, 
Section 125 plan or flexible spending account, but does not include income received due to [bonuses, 
overtime pay or any other extra compensation.]] 
 
[If your current monthly earnings include [commissions] [or] [bonuses], your Total Monthly Earnings will 
be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] 
Disability begins, or will be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[If your current monthly earnings include [commissions], your [commissions] will be averaged over the prior 
[24 month] period of your employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or will 
be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[Your average monthly earnings from the W-2 form (the box which reflects wages, tips and other 
compensation) received from your Employer for the prior calendar year immediately before the first date 
your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or your average monthly earnings for your period of employment if 
employed for less than a full calendar year.] 
 
[1/12 of the amount you reported as net earnings from self-employment on IRS [Form 1065, Schedule K-1] 
[Line 17] and will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your employment before the first date 
your Total [or Partial] Disability begins or will be averaged from your date of employment, whichever is 
less.  [Total Monthly Earnings includes profit sharing bonuses.]] 
 
[1/12 of the net income amount reported on IRS [Form 1040, Schedule C] but does not include [any other 
extra compensation]. Total Monthly Earnings will be averaged over the prior [24 month] period of your 
employment before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability begins, or will be averaged from your date 
of employment, whichever is less.] 
 
[1/12 of the net income amount reported as non-employee compensation on your 1099-MISC tax form from 
the Employer for the prior calendar year immediately before the first date your Total [or Partial] Disability 
begins, or the average monthly compensation from your date of employment, if employed for less than a full 
calendar year, that will be reported on your 1099-MISC tax form from the Employer.]   
 
[If you are paid on an hourly basis, Total Monthly Earnings will be based on your hourly rate of pay, but 
will not exceed [40] hours per week.] 
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SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

CERTIFICATE AMENDMENT 
 

Effective [January 1, 2009], Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada certifies that it has issued and delivered a 
Certificate Amendment to [the policyholder named on the face page of the Group Certificate(s) for Employees of 
[ABC Company]. 
 
Amending Group Policy No. [12345 that is applicable to term Life Insurance, Dependent Life Insurance, Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment Insurance, Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, Short Term 
Disability Income Insurance, Long Term Disability Income Insurance.] 
 
The Certificate is changed as follows: 
  

[The name of the Policyholder as set forth on the Policy face page is changed to read: 
Policyholder:   <New Name> 
Notice is hereby acknowledged by Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada that all right, title and interest of <old 
name> in and to the group policy has been assigned to <new name>. 
It is hereby agreed that said <new name> will assume the rights and obligations of said <old name> under the 
policy and that the policy will continue in force and effect.] 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This Certificate Amendment forms part of your Group Certificate to which it is attached. 
 

Nothing contained in this Certificate Amendment will be held to affect any of the terms of the Group Certificate other 
than as stated herein.   
 
 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

  [ ] 
 [Donald A. Stewart, Chief Executive Officer] 
 

 

010C-LH-CA 



SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

Transition Survivor Income Benefit Insurance Rider 
 

Effective [January 1, 2009], the following provision is added to Group Policy No. [12345]. 
 
What is the Survivor Income Benefit? 
 
If you die while insured and you are survived by an Eligible Survivor, Sun Life will pay a Transition 
Survivor Income Benefit to an Eligible Survivor.  If applicable, a Bridge Survivor Income Benefit may also 
be payable. 
 
Who is an Eligible Survivor? 
 
An Eligible Survivor is your surviving dependent, as defined in the following classes: 
 
Class A - Your surviving spouse if you were legally married for at least [one year] prior to your death.     
 
Class B - Your unmarried child who was, on the date of your death: 
 a. less than [21] years old; or 
 b. between age [21] and [25], legally residing with and dependent upon you; or 
 c. age [21] or older and is totally and permanently disabled, legally residing with and dependent 

upon you. 
 
Class C - Your parent for whom you provided at least [50%] of that parent’s support during the calendar year 
immediately prior to your date of death. 
 
What is the amount of the Transition Survivor Income Benefit? 
 
Subject to the Limitations, the Transition Survivor Income Benefit payable is [$600] per month.  This Benefit 
is payable monthly, commencing on the first day of the calendar month following your date of death as 
specified in “How are the Transition Survivor Income Benefits payable?”. 
 
What are the Limitations? 
 
In the case of an Eligible Survivor who is eligible for an unreduced old age, survivor’s or disability benefit 
under the Federal Social Security Act, the amount of the Transition Survivor Income Benefit shall be reduced 
to [$175] per month. 
 
The applicable Transition Survivor Income monthly benefit payable to a Class A Survivor is reduced by any 
monthly pension benefit payable under any pension or retirement program in effect to which your Employer 
had contributed. 
 
For months in which two or more Eligible Survivors share a benefit, each Eligible Survivor’s pro rata share 
will be reduced by any Social Security or pension benefit received. 
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SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

Transition Survivor Income Benefit Insurance Rider 
 

How are the Transition Survivor Income Benefits payable? 
 
The Transition Survivor Income monthly benefits are payable in the following order: 
a.  Class A Survivor: 
 If the Class A Survivor dies prior to receiving [24] monthly payments, the remaining benefits are 

payable to any surviving Class B Survivors in equal shares.  If there are no Class B Survivors, the 
remaining benefits are payable in equal shares to any Class C Survivors. 

b.  Class B Survivor(s): 
 If the Class B Survivor ceases to be eligible prior to receiving [24] monthly payments, the remaining 

monthly payments are payable to the remaining eligible Class B Survivors in equal shares.  If there are 
no Class B Survivors, the remaining benefits are payable in equal shares to any Class C Survivors. 

c.  Class C Survivor(s): 
 Benefits are payable to Class C Survivors in equal shares. 
d.  If there are no Eligible Survivors, no benefit is payable. 
 
When do Transition Survivor Income Benefits cease? 
 
The [$600] Transition Survivor Income monthly benefits will cease on the earliest of the following: 
a. the date there are no remaining Eligible Survivors; or 
b. the date [24] Transition Survivor Income monthly benefits have been paid. 
 
What is the Bridge Survivor Income Benefit? 
 
After [24] monthly Transition Survivor Income Benefits are payable to a Class A Survivor, a Bridge Survivor 
Income Benefit of [$600] per month is payable if, on the date of your death, there is a Class A Survivor who 
is either: 
 a. at least age [45]; or 
 b. whose age, combined with your years of credited service or Seniority, whichever is greater, totals [55] 

or more. 
 
The Bridge Survivor Income Benefit is payable, subject to the Exclusions, on the first day of the month 
following the completion of [24] months of Transition Survivor Income Benefits. 
  
What are the Exclusions? 
 
No Bridge Survivor Income Benefit is payable to a Class A Survivor: 
a. for any month in which the Class A Survivor is eligible to receive Mother’s or Father’s insurance 

benefits under the Federal Social Security Act; 
b. on or after the date the Class A Survivor dies or remarries; or 
c. on or after the date the Class A Survivor reaches age [62] and one month, or such lower age at which 

full widow’s or widowers’ insurance benefits or Old Age Insurance Benefits become payable under 
the Federal Social Security Act.  
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SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

Transition Survivor Income Benefit Insurance Rider 
 

Can my Class A Survivor Waive the receipt of Transition Survivor Income Benefits? 
 
Yes, a Class A Eligible Survivor may waive any right to receive Transition Survivor Income Benefits.  The 
Class A Survivor must complete a waiver form furnished by your Employer. 
 
No Transition Survivor Income Benefit will be payable for any period on or after receipt by your Employer 
of the waiver form.  However, any period a benefit is not paid because of such waiver will count towards a 
month as if the Class A Survivor had received the Transition Survivor Income Benefit. 
 
A Class A Survivor may revoke the waiver at any time by completing and submitting the form to your 
Employer.  The remaining Transition Survivor Income Benefits, if any, will commence on the first day of the 
month following receipt of the waiver revocation by your Employer.  
 
 
 
 
 

SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

[ ] 
     [Donald A. Stewart, Chief Executive Officer] 
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SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT FOR ACCELERATED BENEFITS 
 

Receipt of accelerated benefits may be taxable.  Assistance should be sought from a personal tax advisor. 
 
A. ACCELERATED BENEFIT COVERAGE: Accelerated Benefits are designed to provide to you 

partial payment of your Amount of Insurance if you have a life expectancy of [12 months] or less.  
Benefits as specified in the policy and your certificate will be reduced upon receipt of an Accelerated 
Benefit payment. 

 
B. ELIGIBILITY 
 

You must have been covered under the Group Life Insurance Benefit Provision for at least [60 days] 
prior to application for an Accelerated Benefit. This [60] day period is waived for qualifying events 
due to accidental injury. 
 
You must be insured for at least [$20,000] in order to be eligible for an Accelerated Benefit. 
 
The minimum Accelerated Benefit that can be requested is [$10,000]. 
 
The maximum Accelerated Benefit that can be requested is [$500,000]. 
 

C. ACCELERATING CONDITION: Terminal Illness that is certified by a Physician to reasonably be 
expected to result in death in [12 months] or less. 
 

D. ACCELERATING OPTION: Acceleration of up to [75%] of the total Life Insurance in force, 
payable as a lump sum. 

 
E. PREMIUM FOR ACCELERATED BENEFIT: There is no additional premium charge for this 

benefit. 
 
F. IMPACT ON LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT:  If you receive an Accelerated Benefit: 
 

1. your Amount of Insurance then in effect will be reduced by the amount of the Accelerated 
Benefit paid. 

2. the remaining Amount of Insurance is subject to any subsequent reductions or termination based 
upon your age or retirement. 

 
G. IMPACT ON ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFITS: If you are insured for Accidental Death and 

Dismemberment Insurance, such Amount of Insurance shall not be affected by the payment of any 
Accelerated Benefit. 

 
Any amount of Group Life Insurance remaining in force at your death will be paid as a Death Benefit to 
the beneficiary(ies) of record. 
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THIS BENEFIT IS NOT A LONG TERM CARE OR NURSING HOME INSURANCE POLICY.  
THE AMOUNT THIS BENEFIT PAYS YOU MAY NOT BE ENOUGH TO COVER YOUR 
MEDICAL, NURSING HOME EXPENSES OR OTHER BILLS.  YOU MAY USE THE MONEY 
RECEIVED FORM THIS BENEFIT FOR ANY PURPOSE.  RECEIPT OF THIS BENEFIT MAY 
AFFECT YOUR MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY. 
 
BENEFITS UNDER THIS PROVISION MAY BE TAXABLE.  YOU SHOULD CONSULT YOUR 
TAX ADVISOR FOR SPECIFIC ADVICE.  NEITHER SUN LIFE NOR ANY OF ITS AGENTS 
OR REPRESENTATIVES CAN PROVIDE TAX OR LEGAL ADVICE. 
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SUN LIFE ASSURANCE COMPANY OF CANADA 
 

GROUP LIFE INSURANCE ACCELERATED BENEFITS  
ILLUSTRATION AND AUTHORIZATION 

 
We received a written request for acceleration of benefits on [January 15, 2009]. 
 
This illustration has been prepared for you so you may be aware of the effects that exercising the 
Accelerated Benefits provision will have on your Group Life Insurance benefits with Sun Life. 
 
The figures in this illustration are as of the date we received the written request for acceleration of 
benefits. 
 
In some cases, we require the authorization of another party such as an absolute assignee, irrevocable 
beneficiary, or spouse (in community property states only) before we can make payment of Accelerated 
Benefits. 

ILLUSTRATION 
 
1. The dollar amount of your Life Insurance under Group Policy [65000], prior to the payment of the 

Accelerated Benefit, is [100,000]. 
 
2. The dollar amount of the Accelerated Benefit requested is [$50,000]. 
 
3. Your reduced Amount of Life Insurance is [$48,500]. 
 
The undersigned hereby authorize(s) Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada to make payment of 
Accelerated Benefits.  I/we realize that by authorizing the payment of Accelerated Benefits, the remaining 
Amount of Life Insurance, and the remaining Death Benefit, to which I/we may become entitled, are 
reduced. 
 
[John Doe, Signature]_    [January 15, 2009] 
Signature of Employee    Date Application Signed 
 
__________________    ____________________ 
Signature of Absolute    Signature of Irrevocable 
Assignee (If applicable)    Beneficiary (If Applicable) 
 
__________________ 
Signature of Spouse 
(community property states only) 
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READABILITY CERTIFICATION 
 
 
 
We have analyzed the text of the enclosed forms and found them to be “readable”.  The 
Policy and its related forms are scored for the Flesch reading ease test as one unit. 
Based on the Flesch Scale Readability Analysis, I hereby certify that the forms achieved 
the minimum Flesch reading ease test score requirement of 50. 
 
 
Form Number    Description 
 
010P-LH, et al   Group Term Policy of Incorporation 
010C-LH, et al   Group Term Certificate  
010C-LH-SIB   Group Certificate Rider 
    
 

 

   
By:  
 Signature 
 
Title: Associate Director 
 
Date: September 25, 2009 



STATE OF ARKANSAS 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

 
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH RULE AND REGULATION 19 

 
 
 
RE: Forms:  010P-LH et al. 
 
We hereby certify that the guidelines established in Arkansas Rule and 
Regulation 19 have been reviewed and the policy form designated above 
complies with these guidelines. 
 
 
 
 
Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada 
 

 
 
Linda Murphy 
Associate Director 
 
 
September 30, 2009  
Date 
 

AR 



Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada 
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Forms 010P-LH et al  
 
 
Variables in the forms are identified by brackets ([]). 
 

Form Number Policy Section Explanation of Variable 
  Face Page 
2010P-LH Company Logo Company logo is bracketed to accommodate future changes. 
2010P-LH Policyholder Policyholder varies by policyholder name. 
2010P-LH Policy Number Policy Number varies by the specific policy number assigned to each policy.  
2010P-LH Policy Effective 

Date 
Policy Effective Date varies based on each policyholder’s effective date. 

2010P-LH Policy Anniversary 
Date 

Policy Anniversary Date varies based on each policyholder’s anniversary date. 

2010P-LH Policy Amendment 
Effective Date 

Policy Amendment Effective Date is included if the Policy is amended.  The actual date varies based on 
the effective date of the amendment. 

2010P-LH State  State name varies by the name of the state where the policy is issued. 
2010P-LH List of Insurance 

Benefits 
The list of insurance benefits included in the policy will vary to reflect the benefits purchased by the 
policyholder. 

2010P-LH Officer’s name Officer’s name may change to accommodate future changes in company personnel. 
  Table of Contents 
2010P-LH-TAB  Table of contents page numbers will vary according to the policyholder’s plan.  

2010P-LH-DEF  Definitions 
2010P-LH-DEF Eligible Employer Eligible Employer is included if the policyholder is a trust. 
2010P-LH-DEF Definition of 

Employee 
Definition of Employee varies to accommodate each employer’s plan design. The term “Employee” may be 
replaced with “Member” or another term to accommodate the employer’s plan.  The standard language for the 
definition of Employee may exclude any person residing outside of the U.S., Canada or Mexico.  Puerto Rico or 
the Virgin Islands would be included if the policy covers employees in those territories.  Another country could 
be included if applicable.  The period of time during which the employee may work outside of the United States 
varies from 0 - 24 months. 

2010P-LH-ELIG  Eligibility 
2010P-LH-ELIG Employer’s 

Effective Date   
Employer’s Effective Date is included if the policyholder is a trust. 

2010P-LH-ELIG Grace Period Grace Period varies from 31-90 days. 
2010P-LH-INC    Incorporation Provision 
  The types of coverage will be included or excluded, depending on the coverages purchased by the policyholder. 
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Forms 010P-LH et al  
 
 

2010P-LH-TERM  Termination Termination 
2010P-LH-TERM Termination of 

Policy 
Termination of Policy is included if the policy is issued to the employer. 

2010P-LH-TERM Notice of 
Termination 

Notice of Termination varies from 60-180 days. Termination may occur on a policy anniversary date or a 
premium due date.  The Minimum number of eligible employees varies from 2-50. 

2010P-LH-TERM Participation 
requirements 

Percent participation for non-contributory insurance varies from 75-100%.  Percent participation for 
contributory insurance varies from 40-75%. 
 

2010P-LH-TERM Termination of the 
Employer’s 
Participation in the 
Trust 

Termination of the Employer’s Participation in the Trust is included if the policy is issued to a trust.  
Notice of Termination may vary from 60-180 days. Termination may occur on a policy anniversary date or 
a premium due date.  Minimum number of eligible employees varies from 2-50.  The minimum 
participation percentage for non-contributory insurance varies from 75-100%.   The minimum participation 
percentage for contributory insurance varies from 40-75%. 

2010P-LH-TERM Termination of 
Benefit Provision 

The time period for Notice of Termination varies from 60-180 days. The minimum number of employees 
for termination varies from 2 – 50.  The minimum participation percentage for non-contributory insurance 
varies from 75-100%.  The minimum participation percentage for contributory insurance varies from 40-75%. 

2010P-LH-GENP  General Provisions 
2010P-LH-GENP Misstatement of 

Facts 
Premium refund time limit varies from 6-24 months. 

2010P-LH-GENP Legal Actions Legal Actions time limit varies from 60-90 days and from to 3-6 years. 
2010P-LH-PREM  Premiums 
2010P-LH-PREM Mode of Payment Mode of Payment may be “quarterly”, “semi-annually” or “annually”. 
2010P-LH-PREM Rate Guarantee 

Period 
Rate Guarantee Period varies from 12-60 months. 

2010P-LH-PREM Policyholder The term “Policyholder” may be changed to “Employer” or “Eligible Employer”. 
2010P-LH-PREM Change in number 

of insured 
employees 

Change in number of insured employees needed to trigger rate recalculation varies from 15-25%. 

2010P-LH-PREM Notice of premium 
rate increase 

The time period for Notice of premium rate increase varies from 31-90 days. 

2010P-LH-PREM Grace Period Grace Period varies from 31-90 days. 
2010P-LH-PREM Experience rating 

refund 
Experience rating refund is included if the policy is experience rated.  

010P-LH-PA Policy Amendment  
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010P-LH-PA 
 

Effective Date Varies by the effective date of the Amendment. 

010P-LH-PA 
 

Policy Number Varies by policyholder. 

010P-LH-PA 
 

Company Name Varies by policyholder. 

 Variable  paragraph When variable language is to be amended, the paragraph will contain a description stating clearly what part 
of the Policy is to be changed and will wither reflect the change that has to be made in the variable wording, 
or will identify the pages that are being substituted or added.  For example, an Employer may have a name 
change or a waiting period change. 
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 1

Variables in the forms are identified by brackets ([ ]).   
 
General Variables: 

1. Bracketed text may be included as shown, omitted entirely, or may be replaced with alternate language to accommodate each employer’s plan. 
2. Bracketed items such as Policyholder, Employer, Policy Number, Policy Effective Date, Policy Anniversary Date and State of Issue may vary according 

to the specifics of each Policyholder/Employer. 
3. Class descriptions may vary to accommodate each Employer’s plan. 
4. The term “Employee” may be replaced with “Member” or another term to reflect the specifics of the Employer’s plan. 
5. The term “Policy” may be replaced with “Plan”.  

 
 

Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

010C-LH  Face Page 
010C-LH Policyholder’s name Policyholder’s name will reflect the name of the specific policyholder. 
010C-LH Policy number Policy number will reflect the specific policy number assigned to each policy. 
010C-LH Employer Employer is included if the policyholder is the Trust. 
010C-LH Classes of employees Classes of employees covered under the plan may vary, based on the employer’s plan design. 
010C-LH Employer’s Effective Date Employer’s Effective Date is included if the Trust is the policyholder. Effective Date will reflect the 

Employer’s effective date. 

010C-LH Certificate Effective Date Certificate Effective Date is included if the Policy is issued to a Trust. 
010C-LH State of Issue Language regarding the state of issue is included if the Policy is issued to a Trust. 
010C-LH List of Benefits The type of benefits listed will vary according to the benefits chosen by the employer. 

010C-LH Logo The Logo will reflect the current Sun Life logo. 

010C-LH Customer Service Center phone 
numbers 

Customer Service Center phone numbers may change to reflect the current phone numbers. 

010C-LH-TAB   Table of Contents 
 

010C-LH  Table of Contents entries and page numbers may vary according to the benefits included in the certificate. The 
benefits included will vary according to the employer’s selection. 
The page numbers will vary according to the benefits and options selected by the employer. 
 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

 Benefit Highlights 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Employee Basic Life and 
Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance 

Basic life and AD&D insurance is included if selected by the employer.  The employer may choose life insurance 
only or AD&D only. 
The term “Life” is included if the plan includes Life Insurance coverage.  
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Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

Benefit Highlights The term “AD&D” is included if the plan includes Accidental Death and Dismemberment coverage.  
The term “Basic” is included if the policy includes basic benefits. 
The term “Optional” is included if the policy includes Optional benefits. “Optional” may be replaced with 
Voluntary, Supplemental, or Additional. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Eligible Classes The Eligible Classes description varies according to the employer’s plan.  The reference to “United States” or 
“working in the United States” may be included or excluded at the option of employer.  The scheduled 
number of hours per week varies from 10 - 50 hours. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Basic Life Insurance Basic Life Insurance is included according to employer’s plan design.  Employee class descriptions are 
determined by the employer.  Amounts of employee Life insurance vary according to the employer’s plan 
design. Amounts may vary from $500 - $10,000,000. Amounts may be flat dollar amounts, dollar increments 
or multiples of .25 - 15 times the employee’s earnings. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Optional Life Insurance Optional Life Insurance is included according to employer’s plan design.  Employee Optional Life class 
descriptions are determined by the employer.  Amounts of employee Optional Life insurance vary according to 
the employer’s plan design. Amounts may vary from $500 - $10,000,000. Amounts may be flat dollar 
amounts, dollar increments or multiples of .25 - 15 times the employee’s earnings.  

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Maximum Benefit Maximum Benefit is included if the Basic or Optional Life insurance includes a Maximum Benefit.  The 
amount varies from $500 to $10,000,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Combined Maximum The Combined Maximum Benefit for Basic and Optional is included if the plan includes both basic and 
optional insurance and the Maximum Benefit is combined.  The Combined Maximum varies from .25 -15 
times the employee’s basic annual earnings, or $1,000 - $10,000,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Guaranteed Issue Amount The Guaranteed Issue Amount is included if the employer’s plan design includes a guaranteed issue limit.  
The amount varies from .25 -15 times the employee’s basic annual earnings, or $0 - $10,000,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Age Reductions Age reduction schedule varies according to the employer’s plan design. The age at which benefits will be 
reduced varies from 60 – 100.  The benefit percentage varies from 10 to 90%. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Evidence of Insurability The Evidence of Insurability requirements vary according to the employer’s design.  Evidence of Insurability 
may be required for amounts in excess of $5,000 - $10,000,000, or 1 – 100% of the employee’s amount of 
life insurance.   Evidence of Insurability may be waived if the employee elects an increase due to certain 
family statues changes. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Retired Employees Benefit 
Highlights 

Retired Employees schedule may be included if retirees are covered.  Retiree coverage may be for basic life 
only or basic and optional life, based on the employer’s plan design.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Classification Classes eligible for Retiree coverage vary according to the employer’s plan.  The age requirement varies 
from 35-100 and the service requirement varies from 1 - 40 years. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Amounts of Retiree Insurance The retiree coverage amounts vary from 1 to 100% of the amount of insurance in force on the day before 
retirement, or may be a flat dollar amount from $500 - $10,000. 
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Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Age Reductions Age reduction schedule varies according to the employer’s plan design. The age at which benefits will be 
reduced varies from 35 – 100.  The benefit percentage varies from 1 to 90%. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Dependent Basic Life and 
Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Benefit 
Highlights 

Dependent coverage is included according to the employer’s plan design.  Dependents may be covered for 
Basic and/or Optional life and AD&D.  Coverage may apply to both spouse and child or may apply to spouse 
only or child only.  The classes eligible for dependent coverage vary according to the employer’s plan.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Dependent Maximum Benefit 
Amount 

The amount of dependent insurance varies from 1 – 100% of the employee’s amount.  The dependent spouse 
Maximum Benefit varies from $500 - $10,000,000.   The dependent child maximum varies from $500 – 
$10,000,000.  An employee may elect dependent insurance amounts in increments of $1,000 - $100,000.     

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Dependent Child Age Child age varies from birth to age 17 - 30.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Guaranteed Issue The Guaranteed Issue for Dependent Life is included if the plan includes a guaranteed issue amount for 
basic and/or optional life and/or AD&D insurance. Guaranteed issue amounts for a spouse may vary by age.  
The age varies from 35 –90 and the amounts vary from $0- $10,000,000.  The Guaranteed Issue amount for a 
child varies from $500 - $10,000,000.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Dependent Age reduction 
schedule 

Age reduction schedule may vary, based on the employer’s choice. The age varies from 35 – 100.  The 
percentage varies from 1 – 90%.  Termination age for dependent spouse coverage may vary based on the 
employee’s age or the dependent’s age. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Dependent Evidence of 
Insurability 

The Evidence of Insurability requirements vary according to the employer’s design.  Evidence of 
Insurability may be required for amounts in excess of $5,000 - $10,000,000, or 1 – 99% of the employee’s 
amount of life insurance.   Evidence of Insurability may be waived if the employee elects an increase due to 
certain family statues changes. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Short Term Disability  Benefit 
Highlights 

Short Disability Income is included if selected by the employer. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Eligible Classes The Eligible Classes description varies according to the employer’s plan.  The reference to “United States” or 
“working in the United States” may be included or excluded at the option of employer.  The scheduled 
number of hours per week varies from 10 - 50 hours. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Benefit Percentage STD Benefit Percentage varies from 20% - 100%. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Maximum Weekly 
Benefit 

Maximum Weekly Benefit varies from $100 - $20,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Weekly Benefit  The weekly benefit may be reduced by Other Income Benefits according to the employer’s plan design.   
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Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Guaranteed Issue Amount Guaranteed Issue Amount is included if the plan design includes a Guaranteed Issue amount. Amounts may 
vary from $100 - $20,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Tiered Benefit Design The weekly benefit may be based on a “Tiered” benefit design at the option of the employer.  The benefit 
percentage for the first tier varies from 20 – 100%, and the number of weeks varies from 1 – 260 weeks.  The 
benefit percentage for the second tier varies from 20 -100% and the number of weeks varies from 1 - 260 
weeks.  The benefit percentage for the third tier varies from 20 – 100%.  

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Minimum Weekly Benefit The Minimum Weekly Benefit varies from $10 - $500, or 5 -20% of the gross weekly benefit. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Evidence of Insurability 
provision 

Evidence of Insurability provision is included if the plan includes an evidence of insurability requirement. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Core/buy-up Option Core/buy-up Option is included if selected by the employer.  The Benefit Percentage varies from  
10% - 100%.   The Maximum Weekly Benefit varies from $100 - $20,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Benefits Payable due to a 
Pre-existing Condition 

STD benefits may be payable due to a Pre-existing Condition according to the employer’s plan design.  The 
benefit percentage varies from 10% - 100% for the first 3 - 26 weeks, and from 10% - 100% for the 
remaining benefit payments.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Elimination period Elimination period varies from none to 180 days or more, depending on the employer’s choice. Elimination 
period may be different for accident and sickness. The Plan may or may not include coverage for first day 
hospital confinement. The Plan may or may not include first day coverage for outpatient surgery. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

STD Maximum Benefit Period STD Maximum Benefit Period varies from 13 - 260 weeks. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Long Term Disability Income 
Benefit Highlights 

The LTD Schedule is included if the employer selects long term disability income insurance. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Eligible Classes The Eligible Classes description varies according to the employer’s plan. The reference to “United States” or 
“working in the United States” may be included or excluded at the option of employer.  The scheduled 
number of hours per week varies from 10 - 50 hours. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Tiered Benefit Option The monthly benefit may be based on a “Tiered” benefit design at the option of the employer. The benefit 
percentage for the first 6 - 60 months varies from 20 – 100%.  The benefit percentage for the remaining 
benefit payments varies from 20 -100%.   

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Benefit Percentage LTD Benefit Percentage varies from 20% - 100%. The Benefit Percentage may or may not be reduced by 
Other Income Benefits depending on the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Maximum Monthly 
Benefit 

LTD Maximum Monthly Benefit varies from $100 - $35,000.  
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Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Guaranteed Issue amount Guaranteed Issue amount is included according to the employer’s plan design.  Amounts vary from $100 - 
$30,000. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Benefits Payable due to a 
Pre-existing Condition 

LTD Benefits Payable due to a Pre-existing Condition is included according to the employer’s plan 
design. The benefit percentage varies from 20% - 60% for the first 6 - 60 months, and from 20% - 60% for 
the remaining benefit period. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Evidence of insurability Evidence of insurability is included if the plan includes an evidence of insurability requirement. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Core/buy-up option Core/buy-up option is included if selected by the employer. The Benefit Percentage varies from 1% - 
100%.  

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Elimination period The Elimination Period varies from 1 - 60 months.  

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Minimum Monthly 
Benefit 

LTD Minimum Monthly Benefit varies from $10 - $1,000, or from 5 - 20% of the gross monthly benefit. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Age at Disability The Age at Disability varies from 35 – 100. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

LTD Maximum Benefit Period LTD Maximum Benefit Period varies from 6 – 120 months. 

   
010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Waiting Period The Waiting Period varies according to the employer’s plan design and may vary by class or benefit.  The 
number of months varies from 0 - 60 months. 

010C-LH-SCHED  
 

Contributions Whether benefits are contributory or non-contributory may vary by coverage or class, according to the 
employer’s plan design. 

 
010C-LH-EELIG 
 

 
 

 
Eligibility and Effective Dates of Employee Insurance 

010C-LH-EELIG 
 

Employee Eligibility Eligibility date may vary by the employer’s effective date, the employee’s effective date, the benefit effective 
date, or by class.  

010C-LH-EELIG Application for Insurance The application period varies from 15 – 180 days. 
010C-LH-EELIG 
 

Insurance Starts When insurance starts varies depending on whether benefits are contributory or non-contributory, and 
whether the employee is actively at work or hospital confined. 

010C-LH-EELIG Refusal of coverage Refusal of employee insurance is standard language but may be excluded at the option of the employer. 
010C-LH-EELIG 
 

Changes in Insurance When changes in insurance become effective may vary depending on the triggering event and may become 
effective on a date agreed upon by the employer and the insurer. 
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Form Number Certificate Section Explanation of Variable 

010C-LH-EELIG 
 

Rehire Provision The rehire provision may be included at the option of the employer.  The number of months varies 6 – 24.  A 
former employee may or may not be allowed back into the plan without completing a new waiting period 
depending on the employer’s plan design.  Evidence of Insurability may be required depending on the plan 
design.  

010C-LH-DELIG   
Eligibility and Effective Dates of Dependent Insurance 

010C-LH-DELIG Dependent Eligibility Dependent Eligibility is included if the plan includes coverage for dependents.   
010C-LH-DELIG Eligibility date Eligibility date  for Dependent coverage may vary by the employer’s effective date, the employee’s  

eligibility date, the benefit effective date, or by employee class. 
010C-LH-DELIG Spouse  The term “Spouse” is included if dependent coverage applies to the employee’s spouse only. 
010C-LH-DELIG Child  The term “Child” is included if dependent coverage applies to the employee’s child only. 
010C-LH-DELIG Refusal of coverage Refusal of dependent insurance is standard language but may be excluded at the option of the employer. 
010C-LH-ENROLL  Eligibility and Effective Dates of Insurance 

(Open Enrollment Eligibility) 
010C-LH-ENROLL Employee Eligibility Eligibility date may vary by the employer’s effective date, the employee’s effective date, the benefit effective 

date, or by class.  
010C-LH-ENROLL Dependent Eligibility  Eligibility date  for dependent insurance may vary by the employer’s effective date, the employee’s  

eligibility date, the benefit effective date, or by employee class. 
010C-LH-ENROLL Initial Enrollment Period The Initial Enrollment Period varies depending on the employer's plan design. An employee may be 

automatically enrolled for minimum benefits or not enrolled. Dependent language would be included only if 
dependents are covered. 

010C-LH-ENROLL Family Status Change Change in plan options due to a Family Status Change is included at the option of the employer.  
010C-LH-ENROLL Eligibility for Dependent 

Insurance 
Dependent eligibility is included only if dependents are covered.   The newborn child language is included if 
dependents are covered from birth.  The number of days varies from 15 to 365. 

010C-LH-ENROLL Annual enrollment period Annual enrollment period varies to accommodate the employer’s open enrollment period. 
010C-LH-ENROLL Changes in Insurance When changes in insurance become effective may vary depending on the triggering event and may become 

effective on a date agreed upon by the employer and the insurer. 
010C-LH-ENROLL Rehire Provision May be included at the option of the employer.  The number of months varies 6 – 60.  A former employee 

may or may not be allowed back into the plan without completing a new waiting period depending on the 
employer’s plan design.  Evidence of Insurability may be required depending on the plan design.  

010C-LH-ENROLL Actively at Work “Actively at Work” is included if the plan covers employees who are non-union and are regularly scheduled 
to work a specified number of hours per week. 
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010C-LH-ENROLL Hospital Confined “Hospital Confined” is included if the plan covers union members who are not required to work a specified 
number of hours per week to be eligible for coverage. 

010C-LH-ETERM 
 

 Termination of Employee Insurance 

010C-LH-ETERM Insurance Ceases Any bracketed item on the list may be deleted or revised according to the employer’s plan design.  

010C-LH-ETERM 
 

Continuation Continuation provisions may be deleted or revised based on the employer’s plan design. The types of leaves 
allowed vary according to the employer’s plan.  The time periods for layoff, leave of absence, vacation and 
military leaves vary from 1 – 60 months. 

010C-LH-DTERM  Termination of Dependent Insurance 
010C-LH-DTERM Insurance Ceases Any bracketed item on the list may be deleted or revised according to the employer’s plan design. 

Termination age for dependent spouse coverage varies from 35-90.   
010C-LH-LIFE  Employee Life Insurance Benefit Provisions 
010C-LH-LIFE  The term “Basic” is included if the plan includes both basic and optional insurance.  The term “Optional” 

is included if the plan includes optional insurance, and may be replaced with “Voluntary,”  “Additional” or 
“Supplemental." 

010C-LH-LIFE Exclusions  Suicide exclusion is included according to the employer’s plan design.  The bracketed items may be included or 
excluded depending on the plan design.  The number of months varies from 12 - 24. 

010C-LH-LIFE Waiver of Premium Provision The Waiver of Premium Provision is included at the option of the employer. The maximum age for eligibility 
for waiver of premium varies from 35 - 99.  The waiting period varies from 0 - 60 consecutive months.   The 
period of time during which the employee must apply for the Waiver of Premium benefit after active work ceases 
varies from 6 – 60 months.  The maximum age for receipt of waiver of premium benefits varies from 35 - 99. The 
elimination period varies from 0 – 60 months. Waiver of Premium may apply to AD&D and Dependent Life 
insurance at the option of the employer.   

010C-LH-LIFE Accelerated benefit The Accelerated benefit is included at the option of the employer.  A waiting period may be included at the 
option of the employer.  The waiting period varies from 0 - 60 days. The life expectancy varies from 12 - 24 
months.  The standard is 12 months. The minimum amount of life insurance for which the employee must be 
insured varies from $1,000 - $20,000. The maximum percentage amount of the accelerated benefit varies from 
25% to 100% of the life insurance amount. The maximum dollar amount of the accelerated benefit varies from 
$20,000 to $10,000,000. The minimum amount of the accelerated benefit varies from $10,000 - $50,000. 
 

010C-LH-LIFE Permanent Total Disability 
Benefit 

The Permanent Total Disability Benefit is included if chosen by the employer. The application period varies 
from 12 - 60 months. The length of time an insured must be permanently totally disabled varies from 0 - 60 
consecutive months. The standard is 12 consecutive months. The mode of payment may be monthly, quarterly 
or annually. The maximum age for eligibility varies from 35 - 99. The benefit may be paid in fixed installments 
over a period of 2 – 7 years. The period of time for providing proof of claim varies from 12 - 24 months.  The 
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multiplier for calculating the benefit varies from 0.010 – 0.025. 
010C-LH-LIFE Line of Duty Benefit The Line of Duty Benefit is included if chosen by the employer.    The number of days during which death must 

occur due to an accidental exposure varies from 90 – 730 days.  The “lesser of” may be replaced with “greater 
of”.  The benefit percentage varies from 1% - 200%.  The dollar amount varies from $1,000 - $500,000.  The 
definition of Public Safety Officer, the specific job titles and the definition of Line of Duty Death may vary to 
accommodate each employer’s plan.  

010C-LH-LIFE Fatal Heart Attack and Stroke 
Benefit 

The Fatal Heart Attack and Stroke Benefit is included if chosen by the employer.  The time period during 
which the heart attack or stroke must occur varies from 12 – 48 hours.  The benefit amount varies from $1,000 - 
$500,000.  The definition of Public Safety Officer and the specific job titles may vary to accommodate each 
employer’s plan. 

010C-LH-LIFE Portability Privilege  The Portability Privilege is included if chosen by the employer.  The age varies from 60 – 99.  The maximum 
amount varies from $100,000 - $2,000,000. The number of days to apply for the portability coverage varies 
from 31 - 120 days. The life expectancy varies from 12 - 24 months. The duration of the portability coverage 
varies from 2 – 25 years. Dependent Portability language is included if the plan offers portability for spouse 
and/or child coverage.   
  

010C-LH-LIFE Conversion Privilege The minimum amount for Conversion due to termination of employment or eligibility, retirement, age or 
termination of Waiver of Premium coverage varies from $1,000 - $25,000, or the amount that ceased. The 
maximum for conversion due to termination of the policy or benefit provision varies from $1,000 - $10,000 
or more, if required by state law, or the amount that ceased. The time period to apply for conversion varies 
from 31-180 days. 

010C-LH-LIFE Continuity of Coverage  Continuity of Coverage is included if the life insurance coverage is transferred from another carrier. 

010C-LH-DLIFE  Dependent Life Provisions 
 

010C-LH-DLIFE Dependent Life Insurance Dependent Life is included if chosen by the employer. The amount of dependent life insurance depends on 
the employer’s plan design as shown on the Benefit Highlights. Maximum Benefit is included if the 
schedule is based on a multiple of earnings.  Guaranteed Issue is included if the plan design includes a 
guaranteed issue amount. Optional Insurance is included if the plan design includes optional life insurance. 
Evidence of Insurability is included if it is required according to the employer’s plan design. The age 
reductions may be included at the employer’s option.  

010C-LH-DLIFE Suicide exclusion Suicide exclusion is included at the option of the employer.  The number of months for the suicide exclusion 
varies from 12 to 24. 

010C-LH-DLIFE Dependent Conversion 
Privilege 

The minimum amount for Conversion due to termination of employment, eligible class, etc. varies from 
$1,000 to $25,000, or the amount that ceased. The maximum for conversion due to termination of the policy 
or benefit provision, etc. varies from $1,000 - $10,000 or the amount that ceased. The period of time during 
which the employee must apply and pay the first premium varies from 31-120 days.  
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010C-LH-DLIFE Dependent Accelerated Benefit Dependent Accelerated Benefit is included at the option of the employer. The waiting period varies from 0 – 60 
days. The life expectancy varies from 12 - 24 months. The minimum amount of life insurance for which the 
dependent must be insured varies from $1,000 - $50,000. The maximum percentage amount of the accelerated 
benefit varies from 25% - 100% of the life insurance amount.  The maximum dollar amount of the accelerated 
benefit varies from $50,000 - $1,000,000. The minimum amount of the accelerated benefit varies from $10,000 - 
$50,000. 

010C-LH-DLIFE Continuity of Coverage Continuity of Coverage is included if the dependent life insurance coverage is transferred from another carrier. 
010C-LH-AD&D 
 

 Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefits 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Employee and Dependent 
Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance 

AD&D is included if chosen by the employer. The number of days varies from 90 - 730.  Coverage for loss of 
speech, hearing, thumb & index finger, monoplegia, diplegia, quadriplegia, paraplegia, hemiplegia or loss of an 
arm and/or a leg is included if chosen by the employer.  The percentage for each loss varies from 10% - 200%. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

The Common Carrier Benefit The Common Carrier Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit varies 
from 1% - 300% of the AD&D benefit.  

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Business Travel Benefit The Business Travel Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit varies 
from 1% - 300% of the AD&D benefit, and from $500 - $5,000,000. The amount of the benefit may or may 
not be reduced by the amount of the Common Carrier Benefit amount.  Sales persons may be excluded. 
Change of residence may or may not apply depending on the employer’s plan design.  The period of time the 
employee must stay in the new location can vary from 30 - 365 days. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Seat Belt Benefit The Seat Belt Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit varies from 1% - 
300% of the AD&D benefit, and from $500 - $10,000,000.  

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Air Bag Benefit The Air Bag Benefit is included if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit varies from 1% - 300% of 
the AD&D benefit, and from $500 - $10,000,000.  

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Helmet Benefit The Helmet Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit varies from 1% - 
300% of the AD&D benefit, and from $500 - $10,000,000.  

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Disappearance Benefit The Disappearance Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The period of disappearance for the 
presumption of death varies from 180 to 730 days. The benefit may or may not be limited to insureds who are 
“fare-paying” passengers only.  The benefit may be limited to disappearance of a “public” conveyance at the 
option of the employer.  

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Common Accident Benefit The Common Accident Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The period of time during 
which both the employee and spouse must die as the result of a common accident varies from 180 - 365 days.  
The amount of the benefit may be the lesser of the AD&D benefit payable or $5,000 - $10,000,000. The 
period during which the accident must occur varies from 6 - 24 hours. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Felonious Assault Benefit The Felonious Assault Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit may 
be the lesser of 1% - 300% of the AD&D benefit payable or $2,000 - $10,000,000. Assault by fellow 
employees or family members may or may not be excluded at the option of the employer.  The definition of 
family member is included if assault by family members is excluded.  The specific family members vary 
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depending on the employer’s choice.   
010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Surgical Reattachment Benefit The Surgical Reattachment Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The amount of the benefit may 
be the lesser of 1% - 300% of the AD&D benefit payable, or $2,000 - $500,000. The period of time during which 
the insured must suffer complete loss of use if the reattachment fails varies from 180 - 730 days.   

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Coma Benefit The Coma Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The period of time during which an insured 
must be in a coma varies from 14 - 180 days. The benefit may be paid in monthly, quarterly, or annual 
installments. The benefit may or may not be reduced by any amount previously payable as the result of the same 
accident.  Proof that the insured continues to be in a coma may be required monthly or semi-monthly, but after a 
period of 1-  2 years proof may be required no more that twice or 4 times a year. The benefit may be payable over 
12 - 100 months. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Repatriation Benefit The Repatriation Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The number of miles from the insured’s 
place of residence varies from 50 - 200 miles.  The benefit amount varies from $1,000 - $100,000.  An additional 
benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 
 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Family Travel Benefit The Family Travel Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The period of time an insured is 
required to be hospitalized varies from 2 - 15 days.   The distance from the insured’s place of residence varies 
from 50 - 200 miles. The number of family members for which expenses may be reimbursed varies from 1 - 
2.  The period of time within which the family must be at the insured’s bedside varies from 48 - 96 hours. 
The types of expenses eligible for reimbursement varies according to the employer’s plan design. The 
maximum benefit varies from $ 500 - $100,000. Reimbursement for travel by automobile may be based on 
the IRS allowable rate, or may be a specified rate, depending on the employer’s choice. An additional benefit 
is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Home Alteration or Vehicle 
Modification Benefit 

The Home Alteration or Vehicle Modification Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. Loss of 
sight may or may not be included, depending on the employer’s plan design.  The number of years varies 
from 2 - 4 years. The number of vehicles modified varies from 1 - 2.  The amount of the benefit may be the 
lesser of the actual expenses incurred for the modification, 1% - 300% of the AD&D benefit payable or 
$1,000 - $500,000.  An additional benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional 
AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Bereavement Counseling 
Benefit 

The Bereavement Counseling Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The period of time for which 
benefits may be paid for bereavement counseling varies from 6 - 24 months. The benefit equals the family 
member’s incurred expenses, reduced by any reimbursement from other sources, or the benefit equals the family 
member’s incurred expenses, not reduced by other reimbursements. The maximum benefit per family member 
varies from $100 - $5,000.  The maximum benefit per insured’s death varies from $500 - $2,000.  Child age 
varies from under age 19 – 26.  An additional benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic 
and optional AD&D. 
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010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Rehabilitative Training 
Benefit 

The Rehabilitative Training Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The dollar amount varies 
from $1,000 - $50,000. The percentage amount varies from 1% - 300%. The period of time during which 
expenses must be incurred varies from 1 - 4 years.  An additional benefit is payable if the insured person is 
insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Dependent Education Benefit The Dependent Education Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The benefit may provide 
coverage for spouse only, child only, or both spouse and child. The child age varies from 18 - 29 years. The 
period of time during which the child or spouse must enroll after the Employee’s death varies from 1 - 3 
years. Proof of the child’s enrollment and incurred expenses may be required each semester or each year. The 
dollar amount varies from $1,000 - $100,000. The percentage amount of the benefit varies from 2% - 30%. 
The benefit may be paid at the end of each semester or annually. The benefit period varies from 1 - 5 years 
per child. The dollar amount for the spouse benefit varies from $1,000 - $100,000.  An additional benefit is 
payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Child Care Benefit The Child Care Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The length of time during which the child 
must be enrolled in a child care center varies from 90 - 365 days. The child maximum age varies from 10 - 18 
years.  The dollar amount varies from $1,000 - $500,000. The percentage amount of the benefit varies from 1% - 
25%. The benefit period varies from 1 - 6 years or until the child attains age 10 - 18, whichever is less.  An 
additional benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Permanent Total Disability 
Benefit 

The Permanent Total Disability Benefit is included only if chosen by the employer. The length of time for 
receipt of notice and proof of claim varies from 365 - 730 days.  The length of time an insured must be 
permanently totally disabled varies from 0 - 60 consecutive months.  The benefit may be paid in a lump sum, or 
may be paid monthly, quarterly or annually. The percentage amount varies from 1% - 5 %. The dollar amount 
varies from $100 to the amount of AD&D insurance in force. The period of time for providing notice of claim 
varies from 12 - 60 months.  The period of time for providing proof of claim varies from 12 - 60 months.  The 
benefit may terminate at age 35 - 99 or retirement. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Critical Burn Benefit The Critical Burn Benefit is included if chosen by the employer.  The benefit percentage varies from 1- 100%.  
The dollar amount varies from $1,000 - $500,000.  The percentage of scarring varies from 10 – 75%.  An 
additional benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Line of Duty Benefit The Line of Duty Benefit is included if chosen by the employer.  The “lesser of” may be replace with the 
“greater of.”  The benefit percentage varies from 1% - 200%.  The dollar amount varies from $1,000 - $500,000.  
The definition of Public Safety Officer, the specific job titles and the definition of Line of Duty Accident may 
vary to accommodate each employer’s plan.  An additional benefit is payable if the insured person is insured for 
both basic and optional AD&D. 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Waiver of Premium Provision The Waiver of Premium Provision is included at the option of the employer.  The maximum age for eligibility 
for waiver of premium varies from 35 - 99.  The waiting period varies from 0 - 60 consecutive months.    
The period of time during which the employee must apply for the Waiver of Premium benefit after active work 
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ceases varies from 6 – 24 months.  The maximum age for receipt of waiver of premium benefits varies from 35 - 
99. The elimination period varies from 6 – 24 months.  
 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Exclusions The bracketed Exclusions may be included or excluded at the option of the employer.  Exclusions for workers 
compensation and any work for wage or profit apply only if coverage is non-occupational. Exclusion for 
voluntary use of a controlled substance applies only if requested by the employer. 
 

010C-LH-AD&D 
 

Continuity of Coverage Continuity of Coverage is included if coverage is transferred from another carrier.  The date varies by the 
effective date of the transferred coverage.   
 

010C-LH-STD  Short Term Disability Income Insurance 
 

010C-LH-STD Short Term Disability Income Short Term Disability Income insurance is included if chosen by the employer. The terms “Partial” and 
“Partially” would be included only if the employer purchases the partial disability benefit. 

010C-LH-STD Total Disability Benefit 
Formula 

The calculation of the Total Disability Benefit varies based on the employer’s plan design. The benefit may 
be calculated based on the employee’s benefit percentage of pre-disability earnings elected, the maximum 
weekly benefit amount and the guaranteed issue amount, if applicable.  The benefit amount may be reduced 
by other income benefits, according to the plan design.   

010C-LH-STD Partial Disability Benefit 
Formula 

The calculation of the Partial Disability benefit may be based on the 50% benefit formula, the proportionate 
loss benefit formula or a blend of the 50% and proportionate loss formula. The earnings test may vary from 
1% -99%. The amount of the total disability benefit used to determine the partial disability benefit varies 
from 20% - 80%.  The amount of the earnings loss varies from 1% - 99%. The return to work benefit applies if 
chosen by the employer.  The number of weeks varies from 13 – 260. The percentage of earnings varies from 
80% -110%.  “Own Occupation” may be replaced with “Own Job” according to the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-STD Other Income Benefits Other income benefits are included if the benefit is offset by other income amounts.  The list of other income 
sources varies according to the employer’s plan design.    

010C-LH-STD Lump Sum Payment Lump Sum Payment is included if the plan offsets other income benefits.  
010C-LH-STD Required Application for 

Other Income 
Required Application for Other Income is included if the plan requires the insured to apply for other 
income benefits.  

010C-LH-STD Social Security Disability 
Income Assistance Program 

Social Security Disability Income Assistance Program is included at the option of the employer. 

010C-LH-STD Estimated Other Income Estimated Other Income is included if benefits are reduced by other income benefits and the amounts are 
estimated.  

010C-LH-STD Adjustment of Benefit  Adjustment of Benefit is included if benefits are reduced by other income benefits.  The reimbursement 
period varies from 0 - 121 days.  

010C-LH-STD Cost of Living Freeze Cost of Living Freeze is included at the option of the employer. 
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010C-LH-STD Waiver of Premium Waiver of Premium is included at the option of the employer. 
010C-LH-STD Survivor Benefit Survivor Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The benefit varies from 3 – 24 times the gross 

weekly benefit, or from 50% - 100% of the last full weekly STD benefit.   The definition of Eligible Survivor 
varies according to the employer’s plan.  Child age varies from 17 – 30.  
 

010C-LH-STD Termination of Short Term 
Disability Benefits 

Termination for failure to complete a rehabilitation program is included if the plan includes a rehabilitation 
benefit.  Termination of benefits when the employee is able to work is included if the plan includes a partial 
disability benefit. 

010C-LH-STD Full-time basis The definition of Full-time basis varies depending on the total and partial disability plan chosen by the employer.  
The number of hours varies from 20 – 50 hours.   

010C-LH-STD Successive Periods of Disability Number of weeks varies from 1 week to 180.  Number of days varies from 1 – 180 days. 
010C-LH-STD Rehabilitation Services Rehabilitation Services provision is included at the option of the employer.  Participation in a rehabilitation 

program may be voluntary or mandatory depending on the employer’s plan design.  The multiplier for 
determining the rehabilitation benefit varies from 1.05 - 1.15.  The number of weeks varies from 1 – 52 weeks. 

010C-LH-STD Limitations The bracketed Limitations may be included or excluded depending on the employer’s plan design. 
010C-LH-STD Exclusions The bracketed Exclusions may or may not be included depending on the employer’s choice. 

Exclusions for workers compensation and any work for wage or profit are included only if coverage is 
non-occupational. Exclusion for voluntary use of a controlled substance is included at the option of the employer.  
Pre-existing conditions exclusion is included according to the employer’s plan design and may apply only to the 
first 1 – 36 months after the effective date of coverage. 

010C-LH-STD Continuity of coverage Continuity of coverage may apply if the STD coverage is transferred. The date varies by the effective date of the 
transferred coverage.   If a pre-existing condition applies, any period insured under the prior contract may apply 
to the new policy.  

010C-LH-STD Total or Partial Disabilities due 
to a  Pre-existing Condition 

Disabilities due to a pre-existing condition may be covered if coverage is transferred from a prior carrier, 
depending on the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-STD Recurrent or Concurrent 
Condition 

The period during which the employee must become totally disabled after returning to work varies from 1 – 24 
months. 

010C-LH-LTD  Long Term Disability Income insurance (LTD) 

010C-LH-LTD Long Term Disability Benefit The Long Term Disability Benefit is included if chosen by the employer. The terms “Partial” or “Partially” 
would appear only if Partial Disability is chosen. 

010C-LH-LTD Total Disability Benefit:   Total Disability Benefit:  The percentage of disability earnings varies from 1 – 99%.  The number of months 
varies from 6 -120 months during the “own occupation” period.  

010C-LH-LTD Partial Disability Partial Disability is included according to the employer’s plan design. The earnings varies from 1% - 99%.  
Indexed total monthly earnings may be included depending on the employer’s plan design.  The number of 
months varies from 6 -120.   
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010C-LH-LTD 50% benefit formula The 50% benefit formula is included at the option of the employer. 
010C-LH-LTD Other Income Benefits Other income benefits are included if the benefit is offset by other income amounts.  The list of other income 

sources varies according to the employer’s plan design.    
010C-LH-LTD Lump Sum Payment Lump Sum Payment is included if the plan offsets other income benefits. 
010C-LH-LTD Required Application for 

Other Income Benefits 
Required Application for Other Income Benefits is included at the option of the employer. 

010C-LH-LTD Estimated Other Income Estimated Other Income is included if the plan offsets other income benefits. 
010C-LH-LTD Adjustment of Benefit Adjustment of Benefit is included if the plan offsets other income benefits. The reimbursement period varies 

from 31 to 180 days.  
010C-LH-LTD Cost of Living Freeze Cost of Living Freeze is included if other income benefits are applicable, and only if chosen by the employer. 
010C-LH-LTD Termination Termination of disability benefits for lack of earnings information, and the earnings test termination provisions 

would be included if the plan includes the partial disability benefit.  The ability to perform the duties of one’s 
occupation would always be included unless an “any occupation” only plan was chosen by the employer.  
Gainful Occupation would always be included unless an “extended own occupation” only plan is chosen by the 
employer. Rehabilitation provision would be included if the plan includes the Rehabilitation Services benefit. 

010C-LH-LTD Full-time basis The Definition of Full-time basis may vary to accommodate the total and partial disability plan chosen by the 
employer.  The number of hours per week varies from 20 – 50. 

010C-LH-LTD Successive Periods Successive Periods –The number of months varies from 3 to 24 months and the number of days varies from 0 to 
31 days.  

010C-LH-LTD Rehabilitation Services Rehabilitation Services provision is included at the option of the employer.  Participation in a rehabilitation 
program may be voluntary or mandatory depending on the employer’s plan design.  The multiplier varies from 
1.05 - 1.15.  The number of months varies from 2 - 24 months.  

010C-LH-LTD Good Cause Good Cause is included if the employer selects the mandatory rehabilitation benefit. 

010C-LH-LTD Survivor Income Benefit Survivor Income Benefit is included if chosen by the employer.  The period of disability varies from 30- 365 
consecutive days . The benefit varies from 3 - 24 times the employee’s last gross monthly benefit.  The employer 
may choose one or two year survivor benefit options.  The benefit varies from 40% - 100% of the employee’s 
monthly earnings.  The benefit may apply only to Total Disability depending on the employer’s choice. The 
installment option varies from 12 – 60 months. The definition of Survivor varies according to the employer’s plan 
design and may include spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner or dependent child. Child age varies from 
18 - 30. Student age varies from 18 – 30. 

010C-LH-LTD Cost of living Adjustment Cost of living Adjustment benefit is included at the option of the employer. The number of adjustments varies 
from 2 – 18. The benefit may be limited for a certain number of years or may be applicable for the duration of the 
benefit period.  The benefit percentage varies from 1% - 10 %. 

010C-LH-LTD Retro Disability Benefit Retro Disability Benefit is included at the option of the employer. The additional benefit for felonious 
assault is included at the option of the employer.  The percent increase varies from 10 -100%. The multiplier 
to calculate the additional benefit varies from 1.00 – 2.00.  Proof is required within 30 – 365 days.  The 
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period for hospital confinement varies from 2 – 60 consecutive days.  

010C-LH-LTD Reasonable Accommodation 
Benefit 

Reasonable Accommodation Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The benefit varies from 
$1,000 - $50,000. 

010C-LH-LTD LTD Conversion Privilege LTD Conversion Option is included at the option of the employer.   The eligibility requirement varies from 
3 – 24 months.  The maximum age varies from 65 – 75 years.  The application period varies from 31 – 180 
days.  The number of days varies from 1 – 90. 

010C-LH-LTD Assisted Living Benefit Assisted Living Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The number of Activities of Daily Living 
varies from 2 – 5. The number of days varies from 30 – 365.  The benefit percentage varies from 5 – 50%. 
The dollar amount of the benefit varies from $1,000 - $25,000. 

010C-LH-LTD Child Care Benefit Child Care Benefit is included at the option of the employer. The number of months of rehabilitative 
employment varies from 1- 6. Child age varies from 13 - 18.  Benefit percentage varies from 1 - 100%.  The 
dollar amount varies from $100 - $10,000.  The maximum benefit period varies from 6 – 60 months. 

010C-LH-LTD Cobra Continuance Premium 
Benefit 

Cobra Continuance Premium Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The term “COBRA” may 
be replaced with “Group Health Coverage” or another name when the plan covers public sector employees 
that are not subject to COBRA. The Benefit varies from $100 - $2,000.  The benefit is payable for 12 - 60 
months. 

010C-LH-LTD Dependent Child Continuing 
Education Benefit 

Dependent Child Continuing Education Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The number of 
months during which the employee must be Totally or Partially disabled varies from 1 - 24.  The number of 
months during which the employee must be in an approved rehabilitation program varies from 1 – 24.  The 
maximum child age varies from 18 - 29.  The monthly benefit for each student varies from $100 - $5,000.  
The monthly benefit for more than one student varies from $200 - $10,000.  The number of students varies 
from 2 - 5. The number of benefit payments varies from 12 - 60. 

010C-LH-LTD Extended Earnings Protection 
Benefit 

Extended Earnings Protection Benefit is included at the option of the employer. The percentage of 
earnings varies from 50 - 100%.  The number of months varies from 6 - 60.  The number of benefit payments 
vary from 12 - 60. 

010C-LH-LTD Pension Contribution Benefit Pension Contribution Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The number of months varies from 
1 - 24. The percentage varies from 1 - 25%.  The dollar amount varies from $100 - $10,000.   

010C-LH-LTD Relocation Expense Benefit Relocation Expense Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The number of miles varies from 10 - 
200. The benefit amount varies from $1,000 - $50,000 or from 1 - 12 times the Gross Monthly Benefit. 

010C-LH-LTD LTD Portability Option LTD Portability Option is included at the option of the Employer.  The maximum age for eligibility varies from 
35 – 99.  The application period varies from 31 – 180 days. The maximum monthly benefit varies from $1,000 – 
$50,000.  The termination age varies from age 65 – 99.  The number of days varies from 30 – 180. 

010C-LH-LTD Accidental Dismemberment 
and Loss of Sight Benefit 

Accidental Dismemberment and Loss of Sight Benefit is included at the option of the employer.  The time 
period during which the loss must be incurred varies from 90 – 730 days.  The number of monthly benefit 
payments vary from 12 – 120.  The “On the Job Assault” benefit is included at the option of the employer. The 
increased number of monthly benefit payments due to an on the job assault varies from 1 – 60 months.   
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010C-LH-LTD Limitations The bracketed Limitations may be included or excluded at the option of the employer.  
Mental Illness benefit period varies from 1 - 60 months. The benefit period after hospital confinement varies 
from 30 - 180 days.  The period for hospital re-confinement varies from 7 - 28 consecutive days.  
Drug or Alcohol benefit period varies 1 - 60 months.   
Chemical and Environmental Illness benefit period varies from 12 - 60 months for hospital confinement.   
Chronic Fatigue Illness benefit period varies from 12 - 60 months.   
Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Illness benefit period varies from 12 - 60 months.   
The Pre-existing Conditions Limitation is included at the option of the employer. The dollar amount of the 
benefit varies from $50 - $100.  The benefit percentage varies from 25 – 60%.  The benefit period varies 
from 6 – 24 months. 

010C-LH-LTD Exclusions  The bracketed Exclusions may be included or excluded at the option of the employer.  
Workers Compensation exclusion may be included only if coverage is non-occupational.  
Exclusion for work related injuries may be included only if coverage is non-occupational. 
Exclusions for drugs and alcohol may be excluded at the option of the employer.  
Pre-existing Conditions exclusion may be excluded at the option of the employer.  The treatment free period 
varies from 5 – 730 days.   The exclusion period varies from 1 – 36 months.  

010C-LH-LTD Continuity of coverage Continuity of coverage may be included if the LTD coverage is transferred. The date varies by the effective date 
of the transferred coverage.   If a pre-existing condition applies, any period insured under the prior plan may 
apply to the new policy. 

010C-LH-LTD Total or Partial Disabilities due 
to a  Pre-existing Condition 

Disabilities due to a pre-existing condition may be covered if coverage is transferred from a prior carrier, 
depending on the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-LTD Recurrent or Concurrent 
Condition 

The period during which the employee must become totally disabled after returning to work varies from 1 – 24 
months. 

010C-LH-CLAIM  Claim Provisions 

010C-LH-CLAIM Notice and proof of Claim The Notice and proof of Claim paragraphs would vary depending on the benefits included in the policy. 
Time periods for notice and proof of claim vary from 30 days to 24 months.  Requirements for proof of claim 
may vary, based on type of coverage. The requirement for proof of continued disability is included only if 
STD, LTD or life with disability benefits are chosen. 

010C-LH-CLAIM Decision on Claim Written notice of decision on claim time period varies from 31 – 45 days.  The period of extension varies 
from 30 days -15 months. 

010C-LH-CLAIM Review of Claim Denial  The time period for requesting a review of a claim denial varies from 180 - 365 days.  The time period for 
notification of a decision varies from 31 - 45 days.  The time period to provide additional information varies 
from 31 - 45 days. 

010C-LH-CLAIM Payment of Benefits “Other than Survivor Benefits” is included if the policy includes STD or STD with survivor benefits option.   

010C-LH-CLAIM Facility of Payment The amount of payment made to the insured’s estate, on behalf of a minor beneficiary or an incompetent 
beneficiary, or for funeral services varies from $1,000 to $10,000.  The amount of payment made to the 
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custodian of a minor beneficiary varies from $1,000 to $10,000.   

010C-LH-CLAIM Change of Beneficiary Change of Beneficiary paragraph is included if the plan include life insurance. 

010C-LH-CLAIM Assignments Assignment paragraph is included if the plan includes life insurance and assignments are allowed.  

010C-LH-CLAIM Insurer’s Authority Insurer’s authority is included unless otherwise prohibited by state law. 

010C-LH-GENP  General Provisions 

010C-LH-GENP Examination and Autopsy Examination and autopsy language is included based on the type of coverage provided. 

010C-LH-GENP Legal Proceedings Time limit for legal actions varies from 60 – 90 days. Number of years varies from 2 -6 years. 

010C-LH-GENP Value Added Services Value Added Services paragraph is included at the option of the employer.  The kinds of services vary 
according to the employer’s plan. 

010C-LH-DEF  Definitions 

010C-LH-DEF General Definitions  

010C-LH-DEF Actively at Work The definition of Actively at Work varies to accommodate the employer’s plan and may include union 
members, directors or any other employees the employer wishes to cover. 

010C-LH-DEF Contributory Insurance Contributory Insurance is included only if there are benefits for which the employee is required to pay all 
or part of the premium. 

010C-LH-DEF Employee Definition of Employee varies to accommodate each employer’s plan design. The term “Employee” may be 
replaced with “Member” or another term to accommodate the employer’s plan.  The standard language for the 
definition of Employee may exclude any person residing outside of the U.S., Canada or Mexico.  Puerto Rico or 
the Virgin Islands would be included if the policy covers employees in those territories.  Another country could 
be included if applicable.  The period of time during which the employee may work outside of the United States 
varies from 0 - 24 months. 

010C-LH-DEF Employer The Definition of Employer varies to accommodate the employer’s name. 

010C-LH-DEF Evidence of Insurability Evidence of Insurability is included only if evidence of insurability is required for any benefit, and may be 
required for either the employee or dependent, or both.  A paramedical examination may or may not be required.  

010C-LH-DEF Family Status Changes Family Status Changes are included according to the employer’s plan design. When annual changes are allowed 
depends on the employer’s plan.  The list of family status changes varies according to the employer’s plan.  
Evidence of insurability may be required for increases in insurance due to a family status change, depending on 
the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-DEF Guaranteed Issue Amount Guaranteed Issue Amount is included if any benefit has a specified guaranteed issue limit. The guaranteed issue 
amount may apply to the employee’s or the dependent’s amounts of insurance. 

010C-LH-DEF Non-Contributory Insurance Non-Contributory Insurance is included only if there are benefits for which the employee is not paying any 
of the premium. 
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010C-LH-DEF Participation in a Riot, 
Rebellion or Insurrection 

Participation in a Riot, Rebellion or Insurrection is included if the employer selects this exclusion.  

010C-LH-DEF Physician The Definition of Physician would always be included unless the policy includes life insurance only with no 
disability benefits. 

010C-LH-DEF Pregnancy Definition of Pregnancy may be included if coverage is provided for disability income. 

010C-LH-DEF Retirement Plan Retirement Plan is included if retirees are covered for life insurance, or if disability benefits cancel at 
retirement. 

010C-LH-DEF Sickness Sickness would be included unless the plan includes life insurance only with no disability benefits. 

010C-LH-DEF Waiting Period Waiting Period is included if the employer’s plan design requires a waiting period. 

010C-LH-DEF Life Insurance Definitions The Life Insurance Definitions would be included only if the employer purchases Life insurance.  The 
terms “Basic” and “Optional” are included depending on whether or not the employer purchases Optional 
Life in addition to the Basic Life insurance. 

010C-LH-DEF Basic Annual Earnings Basic Annual Earnings is included if the amounts of insurance are based on the employee’s earnings. The 
definition is variable to accommodate the appropriate earnings definition for each employer. 

010C-LH-DEF Basic Maximum Benefit Basic Maximum Benefit is included if the life insurance amount is based on a multiple of earnings schedule. 

010C-LH-DEF Combined Maximum Benefit  Combined Maximum Benefit is included if the policy includes both basic and optional life insurance, and 
the employee has the option to choose both. 

010C-LH-DEF Maximum Benefit Maximum Benefit is included if the life insurance amount is based on a multiple of the earnings schedule, 
and only if basic, combined or optional maximum benefit is not included. 

010C-LH-DEF Optional Maximum Benefit Optional Maximum Benefit is included if Optional Life is chosen and the amount is based on the 
employee’s earnings. 

010C-LH-DEF Permanent Total Disability Permanent Total Disability is included only if the permanent total disability benefit is chosen by the 
employer.  Disability based on the loss of sight or limbs may be included at the option of the employer.  

010C-LH-DEF Retired Employee Retired Employee definition is included if retirees are covered for life insurance.  The date varies by the 
employer’s effective date.  The requirement that the employee must be receiving a pension may be included 
depending on the employer’s plan design. 

010C-LH-DEF Retirement Retirement is included if retirees are covered for life insurance, or if disability benefits cancel at retirement. 

010C-LH-DEF Terminally Ill Terminally Ill is included if the policy includes accelerated death benefits.  The number of months within which 
death is expected to occur varies from 6 to 24 months or greater.  The standard is 12 months. 

010C-LH-DEF Total Disability or Totally 
Disabled 

Total Disability or Totally Disabled is included only if waiver of premium is chosen.  The own occupation 
period varies from 0 to 60 months. 

010C-LH-DEF Dependent Life Definitions Dependent Life Definitions are included if dependents are covered for life insurance. 

 Dependent The Definition of Dependent is included if the plan includes dependent life insurance coverage. Coverage 
may be for spouse only, child only or both spouse and child.  A domestic partner or civil union partner is 
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included as a dependent at the option of the employer.  The definition of child varies according to the 
employer’s plan design.   Child age varies from birth to under age 17 - 30.  Student age varies from 21 – 30.  
The 50% child support requirement varies from 50 – 100%.  

010C-LH-DEF Basic Maximum Benefit Basic Maximum Benefit is included if the dependent life insurance amount is based on a percentage of the 
employee’s earnings.  

010C-LH-DEF Maximum Benefit Maximum Benefit is included if the dependent life insurance amount is based on a percentage of the 
employee’s earnings and only if basic, combined or optional maximum benefit is not included. 

010C-LH-DEF Optional Maximum Benefit Optional Maximum Benefit is included if dependent optional life is included and the amount of coverage is 
a percentage of the employee’s earnings. 

010C-LH-DEF Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Definitions 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment definitions are included if the plan includes coverage for accidental 
death and dismemberment.  

010C-LH-DEF Basic Annual Earnings Basic Annual Earnings is included if the amounts of insurance are based on the employee’s earnings. The 
definition is variable to accommodate the appropriate earnings definition for each employer. 

010C-LH-DEF Basic Maximum Benefit Basic Maximum Benefit is included if the AD&D insurance amount is based on a percentage of the 
employee’s earnings. 

010C-LH-DEF Dependent  The Definition of Dependent is included if the plan includes dependent AD&D insurance coverage. 
Coverage may be for spouse only, child only or both spouse and child.  A domestic partner or civil union 
partner is included as a dependent at the option of the employer.  The definition of child varies according to 
the employer’s plan design.   Child age varies from birth to under age 17 - 30.  Student age varies from 21 – 
30.  The 50% child support requirement varies from 50 – 100%. 

010C-LH-DEF Insured Person Insured Person is included if the AD&D coverage applies to employees and dependents. Otherwise, the 
term “employee” is used.   

010C-LH-DEF Maximum Benefit Maximum Benefit is included if the AD&D insurance amount is based on a percentage of the employee’s 
earnings, and only if basic, combined or optional maximum benefit is not included. 

010C-LH-DEF Optional Maximum Optional Maximum Benefit is included if Optional AD&D is chosen and the insurance amount is based on 
a percentage of the employee’s earnings. 

010C-LH-DEF Permanent Total Disability or 
Permanently Totally Disabled 

The definition of Permanent Total Disability or Permanently Totally Disabled is included if the 
Permanent Total Disability benefit is included for AD&D. Disability based on the loss of sight or limbs may 
be included at the option of the employer. 

010C-LH-DEF Short Term Disability Income 
Definitions 

Short Term Disability Income definitions are included if the plan includes coverage for Short Term 
Disability Income.  

010C-LH-DEF Disability Earnings Disability Earnings is included only if the plan includes a Partial Disability and/or rehabilitation program 
benefit. 

010C-LH-DEF Drug and alcohol Illness Drug and alcohol Illness is included if the policy contains a limitation for drug and alcohol illnesses. 

010C-LH-DEF Elimination Period The return to work period varies from 1 - 30 working days.  
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010C-LH-DEF Gross Weekly Benefit Gross Weekly Benefit is included if the STD benefit is subject to reductions for other income benefits. 

010C-LH-DEF Hospital Confinement Hospital Confinement is included if the employer purchases first day hospital coverage. The number of hours 
varies from 1 - 36.   

010C-LH-DEF Material and Substantial Duties Material and Substantial Duties for a Physician or Dentist is included if the plan covers physicians or 
dentists.  Physicians or dentist may be replaced with another occupation to accommodate the employer’s plan.   
The number of months varies from 12 – 60. 

010C-LH-DEF Outpatient Surgical Procedure Outpatient Surgical Procedure is included at the option of the employer if STD benefits are payable for 
outpatient surgeries. 

010C-LH-DEF Own Job Own Job is included if the definition of disability is based on the inability to perform the employee’s “own job”. 

010C-LH-DEF Own Occupation Own Occupation is included if the policy includes an “Own occupation/Any Occupation” or “Extended Own 
Occupation” definition of disability. 

010C-LH-DEF Partial Disability or Partially 
Disabled 

Partial Disability or Partially Disabled is included if the partial disability benefit is chosen.  The percentage of 
earnings loss varies from 50 – 80%.  The number of days varies from 7 – 60. 

010C-LH-DEF Social Security Social Security is included only if social security benefits are offset. 

010C-LH-DEF Total Weekly Earnings 
definition 

STD Total Weekly Earnings definition is included if the amounts of insurance are based on a percentage of 
the employee’s earnings. The definition is variable to accommodate the appropriate earnings definition for 
each employer. 

010C-LH-DEF Long Term Disability Income 
Definitions 

Long Term Disability Income definitions are included if the plan includes coverage for Long Term 
Disability Income. 

010C-LH-DEF Activities of Daily Living Activities of Daily Living definition is included if disability is based on the inability to perform a certain number 
of Activities of Daily Living.  

010C-LH-DEF Chemical & Environmental 
Illness 

Chemical & Environmental Illness is included if the employer’s plan design includes a limited benefit for 
Chemical and Environmental illnesses.  

010C-LH-DEF Chronic Fatigue Illness Chronic Fatigue Illness is included if the employer’s plan design includes a limited benefit for Chronic Fatigue 
illnesses. 

010C-LH-DEF Cognitively Impaired Cognitively Impaired definition is included if disability is based on the insured being cognitively impaired. 

010C-LH-DEF Disability Earnings Disability Earnings is included if Partial Disability and/or rehabilitation program is chosen. 

010C-LH-DEF Drug and alcohol Illness Drug and alcohol Illness is included if the policy contains a limitation for drug and alcohol illnesses. 

010C-LH-DEF Elimination Period The return to work period varies from 1 – 180 days.   

010C-LH-DEF Family Social Security Family Social Security is included if family social security benefits are included as an offset. 

010C-LH-DEF Gainful Occupation Gainful Occupation is included if the policy includes an “any occupation” definition of disability. The standard 
percentage is 60% but may vary from 10% - 100%.  The Maximum Benefit limitation is included at the option of 
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the employer. 

010C-LH-DEF Gross Monthly Benefit Gross Monthly Benefit is included if the monthly benefit is reduced by other income benefits. 

010C-LH-DEF Indexed Total Monthly 
Earnings 

Indexed Total Monthly Earnings is included at the option of the employer.  The adjustment period varies from 
12 - 24 months.  The percentage varies from 3 - 10%.   

010C-LH-DEF Material and Substantial Duties Material and Substantial Duties for a Physician or Dentist is included if the plan covers physicians or 
dentists.  Physicians or dentist may be replaced with another occupation to accommodate the employer’s plan.   
The number of months varies from 12 – 60. 

010C-LH-DEF Musculoskeletal and 
Connective Tissue Illness 

Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Illness is included if the employer’s plan design includes a limited 
benefit for Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue illnesses.    

010C-LH-DEF Own Job Own Job is included if the definition of disability is based on the inability to perform the employee’s “own job”. 

010C-LH-DEF Own Occupation Own Occupation is included if the policy includes an “Own occupation/Any Occupation” or “Extended Own 
Occupation” definition of disability.  

010C-LH-DEF Partial Disability Partial Disability is included at the option of the employer.  The own occupation period varies from 12 – 60 
months. Indexed earnings may or may not be included.  The earnings loss percentage varies from 1% - 99%.   

010C-LH-DEF Primary Social Security Primary Social Security is included if only primary social security benefits are offset. 
010C-LH-DEF Social Security Social Security is included if social security benefits are offset. 

010C-LH-DEF Total Disability Total Disability or Totally Disabled definition is included if the plan includes an own occupation period of 
disability.  

010C-LH-DEF Total Monthly Earnings LTD Total Monthly Earnings is variable to accommodate the appropriate earnings definition for each 
employer. The requirement that earnings be based on a 40 hour week varies from 20 - 80 hours. 

010C-LH-SIB Transition Survivor Income 
Benefit Insurance Rider 

 

 

010C-LH-SIB Effective Date  Varies by the effective date of the rider. 
010C-LH-SIB Group Policy Number Varies by the policy number of the policy to which the rider is attached. 
010C-LH-SIB Child Age Varies from age 18 – 30.  
010C-LH-SIB Parent support Percentage varies from 25% - 100%. 
010C-LH-SIB Amount of the Transition 

Survivor Income Benefit 
Varies from $100 - $1,000. 

010C-LH-SIB Amount the reduced benefit  Varies from $10 - $500. 
010C-LH-SIB Number of Monthly 

payments  
Varies from 12 – 60. 
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010C-LH-SIB Bridge Survivor Benefit 
amount 

Varies from $100 - $1,000. 

010C-LH-SIB Minimum age for Bridge 
Survivor Benefit 

Varies from age 25 – 65. 

010C-LH-SIB Combined age and years of 
service  

Varies from age 45 – 85. 

010C-LH-SIB Termination age  Varies from age 50 – SSNRA. 

010C-LH-CA Certificate Amendment  
010C-LH-CA 
 

Effective Date Varies by the effective date of the Amendment. 

 Company Name Varies by policyholder. 

 Policy Number Varies by policyholder. 

 Types of Coverage Varies by the coverages to which the amendment applies. 

 Variable  paragraph When variable language is to be amended, the paragraph will contain a description stating clearly what part 
of the certificate is to be changed and will wither reflect the change that has to be made in the variable 
wording, or will identify the pages that are being substituted or added.  For example, an Employer may have 
a name change, a waiting period change, a schedule change, or may add an additional provision. 
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