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Filing at a Glance

Company: Humana Insurance Company

Product Name: Individual Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

SERFF Tr Num: ICCI-127017751 State: Arkansas

TOI: H03I Individual Health - Accidental Death

& Dismemberment

SERFF Status: Closed-Approved-

Closed

State Tr Num: 47917

Sub-TOI: H03I.000 Health - Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

Co Tr Num: HIC-ACC-POL 2/11 State Status: Approved-Closed

Filing Type: Form/Rate Reviewer(s): Rosalind Minor

Author: Brenda Dawson Disposition Date: 02/23/2011

Date Submitted: 02/07/2011 Disposition Status: Approved-

Closed

Implementation Date Requested: On Approval Implementation Date: 

State Filing Description:

General Information

Project Name: HIC-ACC-POL 2/11 Status of Filing in Domicile: 

Project Number: HIC-ACC-POL 2/11 Date Approved in Domicile: 

Requested Filing Mode: Domicile Status Comments: 

Explanation for Combination/Other: Market Type: Individual

Submission Type: New Submission Individual Market Type: 

Overall Rate Impact: Filing Status Changed: 02/23/2011

State Status Changed: 02/23/2011

Deemer Date: Created By: Brenda Dawson

Submitted By: Brenda Dawson Corresponding Filing Tracking Number: 

Filing Description:

Enclosed for review and approval for use in your state are the above referenced forms. These forms are new and are

not intended to replace any forms previously filed in your state.

 

Insurance Compliance Consultants, Inc., is making this filing on behalf of Humana Insurance Company, a Wisconsin

domiciled company. A filing authorization letter is attached. All correspondence should be addressed to Insurance

Compliance Consultants, Inc.

Individual Accidental Death and Dismemberment Policy form HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 provides for Accidental Death and
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Dismemberment.  Application form HIC-ACC-APP-AR 2/11 will be used to apply for the policy.

 

Total Disability Rider HIC-ACC-TDR-AR 2/11, Wellness Rider HIC-ACC-WBR-AR 2/11 and Additional Benefit Rider

HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11 are available for an additional premium. 

 

Outline of Coverage HIC-ACC-OOC-AR 2/11 for the referenced policy is also enclosed. 

 

We certify that to the best of our knowledge and belief, these forms do not violate any laws or regulations of your state

and do not contain any previously disapproved provisions. These forms were prepared on a personal computer and will

ultimately be printed from another data processing system that may cause some print style and/or page spacing

changes. However, there will not be any changes to the actual text of the contract or to the general print size.

 

 

Company and Contact

Filing Contact Information

Brenda Dawson, Authorized Representative Brendadawson@inscompliance.com

3925 East State Street, Suite 200 815-316-6714 [Phone] 

Rockford, IL 61108 815-986-2355 [FAX]

Filing Company Information

(This filing was made by a third party - insurancecomplianceconsultantsinc)

Humana Insurance Company CoCode: 73288 State of Domicile: Wisconsin

P.O Box 740036 Group Code: 119 Company Type: L&H

500 West Main Street Group Name: Humana Insurance

Company

State ID Number: 

Louisville, KY  40201-7436 FEIN Number: 39-1263473

(502) 580-2712 ext. [Phone]

---------

Filing Fees

Fee Required? Yes

Fee Amount: $300.00

Retaliatory? No

Fee Explanation: $50 per form
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Policy
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Policy
Approved-Closed Yes
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Objection Letter

Objection Letter Status Pending Industry Response

Objection Letter Date 02/21/2011

Submitted Date 02/21/2011

Respond By Date

Dear Brenda Dawson,

This will acknowledge receipt of the captioned filing.  
 

Objection 1

- Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment: There needs to be a provision for the refund of unearned premium in the event of death of the insured.  Refer

to ACA 23-85-134.
 

Please feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Sincerely, 

Rosalind Minor
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Response Letter

Response Letter Status Submitted to State

Response Letter Date 02/22/2011

Submitted Date 02/22/2011
 

Dear Rosalind Minor,
 

Comments: 

thank you for your letter. 
 

Response 1
Comments: Page 4 of the policy was revised to include the refund of unearned premium provision. 

Related Objection 1

Applies To: 

Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment: 

There needs to be a provision for the refund of unearned premium in the event of death of the insured.  Refer to

ACA 23-85-134.
 

 

Changed Items: 
 

No Supporting Documents changed.
 

 

No Form Schedule items changed.
 

 

No Rate/Rule Schedule items changed.
 

Thank you
 

Sincerely, 

Brenda Dawson
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Dear Brenda Dawson,

This will acknowledge receipt of the captioned filing.  
 

Objection 1

- Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment:

Under ‘Change in Premiums’, it is stated that….”We have the right, after the first Premium Due Date, to change the rate

at which further premiums will be calculated….”.  Under ‘Premium due Date’, it is stated that the policy premium is

payable on the policy effective date and the first day of each month thereafter….”.

 

It has been our Department’s policy for years that no insured will receive a rate increase prior to the annual anniversary

date of the policy.  After the first annual anniversary date of the policy, increase will not be given more frequently than

once in a twelve (12) month period.

 

Please provide written certification that you would comply with our Department's policy.  
 

Objection 2

- Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment:

 

With respect to handicapped dependents, there can be no time limit set for furnishing proof of incapacity.  Refer to ACA

23-85-131(b) and Bulletin 14-81.
 

Objection 3

- Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

- Outline of Coverage, HIC-ACC-OOC-AE 2/11 (Form)

Comment: Hernia cannot be excluded nor can it have a waiting or probationary period.  Refer to Rule and Regulation

18, Section 6A and Section 6F.
 

Please feel free to contact me if you have questions.
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Dear Rosalind Minor,
 

Comments: 

Thank you for your letter. 
 

Response 1
Comments: The incapacitated dependent provision was revised to remove the time limit. 

Related Objection 1

Applies To: 

Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment: 

 

 

With respect to handicapped dependents, there can be no time limit set for furnishing proof of incapacity.  Refer to

ACA 23-85-131(b) and Bulletin 14-81.
 

 

Changed Items: 
 

No Supporting Documents changed.
 

 

Form Schedule Item Changes

Form Name Form

Number

Edition

Date

Form Type Action Action

Specific

Data

Readability

Score

Attach

Document

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Policy

HIC-ACC-

POL-AR

2/11

Policy/Contract/Fraternal

Certificate

Initial HIC ACC

POL AR

2-11.pdf

Previous Version

Accidental Death & HIC-ACC- Policy/Contract/Fraternal Initial HIC ACC
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No Rate/Rule Schedule items changed.
 

 

Response 2
Comments: The exclusion for hernia was removed. 

Related Objection 1

Applies To: 

Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Outline of Coverage, HIC-ACC-OOC-AE 2/11 (Form)

Comment: 

Hernia cannot be excluded nor can it have a waiting or probationary period.  Refer to Rule and Regulation 18,

Section 6A and Section 6F.
 

 

Changed Items: 
 

No Supporting Documents changed.
 

 

Form Schedule Item Changes

Form Name Form

Number

Edition

Date

Form Type Action Action

Specific

Data

Readability

Score

Attach

Document

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Policy

HIC-ACC-

POL-AR

2/11

Policy/Contract/Fraternal

Certificate

Initial HIC ACC

POL AR

2-11.pdf

Previous Version

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Policy

HIC-ACC-

POL-AR

2/11

Policy/Contract/Fraternal

Certificate

Initial HIC ACC

POL AR

2-11.pdf

Outline of Coverage HIC-ACC-

OOC-AE

2/11

Outline of Coverage Initial HIC-ACC-

OOC-AR

2-11.pdf

Previous Version



-

PDF Pipeline for SERFF Tracking Number ICCI-127017751 Generated 02/23/2011 01:50 PM

SERFF Tracking Number: ICCI-127017751 State: Arkansas

Filing Company: Humana Insurance Company State Tracking Number: 47917

Company Tracking Number: HIC-ACC-POL 2/11

TOI: H03I Individual Health - Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

Sub-TOI: H03I.000 Health - Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

Product Name: Individual Accidental Death & Dismemberment

Project Name/Number: HIC-ACC-POL 2/11/HIC-ACC-POL 2/11

Outline of Coverage HIC-ACC-

OOC-AE

2/11

Outline of Coverage Initial HIC-ACC-

OOC-AR

2-11.pdf
 

No Rate/Rule Schedule items changed.
 

 

Response 3
Comments: Page 4 of the policy was revised to include language that the premium will not change under the policy until

the policy anniversary and not more frequently than annually thereafter. 

Related Objection 1

Applies To: 

Accidental Death & Dismemberment Policy, HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 (Form)

Comment: 

 

Under ‘Change in Premiums’, it is stated that….”We have the right, after the first Premium Due Date, to change

the rate at which further premiums will be calculated….”.  Under ‘Premium due Date’, it is stated that the policy

premium is payable on the policy effective date and the first day of each month thereafter….”.

 

It has been our Department’s policy for years that no insured will receive a rate increase prior to the annual

anniversary date of the policy.  After the first annual anniversary date of the policy, increase will not be given more

frequently than once in a twelve (12) month period.

 

Please provide written certification that you would comply with our Department's policy.  
 

 

Changed Items: 
 

No Supporting Documents changed.
 

 

Form Schedule Item Changes

Form Name Form

Number

Edition

Date

Form Type Action Action

Specific

Data

Readability

Score

Attach

Document

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Policy

HIC-ACC-

POL-AR

2/11

Policy/Contract/Fraternal

Certificate

Initial HIC ACC

POL AR

2-11.pdf
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Certificate

Initial HIC ACC
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2-11.pdf
 

No Rate/Rule Schedule items changed.
 

All appropriate revisions were made to the outlne of coverage. Your continued review for approval is greatly

appreciated. Thank you. 
 

Sincerely, 

Brenda Dawson
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Form
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Form Type Form Name Action Action Specific
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Readability Attachment

Approved-

Closed

02/23/2011

HIC-ACC-

POL-AR

2/11

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

Policy

Initial HIC ACC

POL AR 2-

11.pdf

Approved-

Closed

02/23/2011

HIC-ACC-

TDR-AR

2/11

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate:

Amendmen

t,  Insert

Page,

Endorseme

nt or Rider

Total Disability Rider Initial HIC ACC

TDR AR 2-

11.pdf

Approved-

Closed

02/23/2011

HIC-ACC-

ABR-AR

2/11

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate:

Amendmen

t,  Insert

Page,

Endorseme

nt or Rider

Additional Benefits

Rider

Initial HIC-ACC-

ABR-AR 2-11

.pdf

Approved-

Closed

02/23/2011

HIC-ACC-

AMENDME

NT

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate:

Amendmen

t,  Insert

Page,

Endorseme

Accidental Death &

Dismemberment

Policy Amendment

Initial HIC-ACC-

AMENDMEN

T.pdf
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

 Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
 NAMED INSURED:  [ADAM SMITH]                            TYPE OF COVERAGE: [INDIVIDUAL] 
 
 POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE:  [JULY 1, 2009] PREMIUM:  [$00.00] 
 
 POLICY NUMBER:  [00000001]                     RENEWAL PREMIUM PERIOD: [MONTHLY] 
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY 
 

PREMIUMS SUBJECT TO CHANGE ON RENEWAL 
 
IMPORTANT -- PLEASE READ 
Your application is attached to and forms a part of the Policy.  PLEASE READ the copy of Your application.  If 
anything in it is not correct, You must tell Us immediately.  Your Policy was issued on the basis that all information in 
the application is correct and complete.  If not, Your Policy may not be valid. 
 
30-DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE POLICY 
WE URGE YOU TO EXAMINE THIS POLICY CLOSELY.  If you are not satisfied, You may return it to us or to the 
agent from whom it was purchased within 30 days after that event; we will consider it void from the Policy Date and 
any premium paid will be returned. 
 
GUARANTEED RENEWABLE 
Your Policy is Guaranteed Renewable until age 70, by payment of premiums as they become due.  This Policy will 
terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force during a Grace Period. 
 
PREMIUM CHANGE 
We have the right to change the table of premium rates for this Policy.  The change in premium will apply to all 
policies of this form number issued to insureds in Your state of residence.  Premiums will be charged in accordance 
with the table of premium rates using the original classification.   
 
THIS IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICY.  
 If You are eligible for Medicare, review the Medicare Supplement Buyers' Guide available from the Company. 
 
THIS IS AN ACCIDENT ONLY POLICY WHICH DOES NOT PAY BENEFITS FOR A LOSS FROM SICKNESS. 
 

 
This is a Non-Participating Policy. 

 
Pre-Existing Conditions Not Paid - Subject to the Time Limit on Certain Defenses 

 
THIS IS A LIMITED POLICY.  PLEASE READ IT CAREFULLY. 

 
Signed for Humana Insurance Company at its Home Office on the Policy Effective Date. 

 
 
 

 
Gerald L. Ganoni 

Vice President  
 



HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 2

 
TABLE OF CONTENTS 

 
 
 
FACE OF POLICY           1 
 RELIANCE ON APPLICATION 1 
 NOTICE OF 30-DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE POLICY 1 
 RENEWABILITY 1 
 PREMIUM CHANGE 1 
 
TABLE OF CONTENTS 2 
 
POLICY SPECIFICATIONS 3 
 
CONTRACT PROVISIONS 4 
 
DEFINITIONS 4-5 
 
PERIOD OF COVERAGE 6 
 
EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 6 
 
PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 6 
 
BENEFITS 
 ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT 7 
 DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT  8 
 ACCIDENT HOSPITAL INDEMNITY BENEFIT 8 
 AMBULANCE SERVICE BENEFIT 9 
 ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE BENEFIT 9 
 
CLAIMS 10-11 



HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 3

POLICY SPECIFICATIONS 
 
    INSURED     [ADAM SMITH] 
  
    POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE  [July 1, 2009] 
 
    POLICY NUMBER   [0000000001] 
 
    ISSUE AGE    [35]  
 
    INITIAL PREMIUM   [$00.00] 
     
    TOTAL MONTHLY PREMIUM  [$00.00] 
 
    TERMINATION DATE    
 
 
POLICY AGE LIMIT:  Insured Person - 70; Spouse  - 70 
 
           MONTHLY 
 DESCRIPTION   NUMBER OF    PREMIUM 
 OF BENEFITS   UNITS ELECTED   AMOUNT 
 ACCIDENT PLAN [1-3] [$00.00] 
 
 [ INDIVIDUAL COVERAGE] 
 

 INSURED SPOUSE CHILD 
1. ACCIDENTAL DEATH OR DISMEMBERMENT: 
 WITH COMMON CARRIER BENEFIT 
 
 PRINCIPAL SUM [20,000] [10,000] [5,000] 
 
2. DISLOCATION OR FRACTURE: 
 PRINCIPAL SUM [2,000] [1,000] [500] 
 
3. HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT: 
 DAILY BENEFIT [100] [100] [100] 
 
4. AMBULANCE BENEFIT: REGULAR 

  AIR 
     [100] 

[200] 
[100] 
[200] 

[100] 
[200] 

 
5. EXPENSES - MAXIMUM BENEFIT [250] [250] [250] 

 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFIT (AS PROVIDED BY RIDER) 
       
HIC-ACC-TDR  TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER               [$0  Per Month]   [$00.00] 
 
HIC-ACC-ABR  ADDITIONAL BENEFIT RIDER                        [1 Unit]                              [$00.00] 
 
HIC-ACC-WBR  WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER                        [1 Unit]                               [$00.00 
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CONTRACT PROVISIONS 
 

Entire Contract:  The entire contract between You and Us consists of Your application, this Policy, and any 
riders or endorsements, copies of which are attached at issue. 

Policy Premiums:  The initial premium for this Policy is shown on page 3 under Policy Specifications. 

Change in Premiums: We have the right, after the first Premium Due Date, to change the rate at which further 
premiums will be calculated for all insureds of Your rate class and same State of issue. No Insured Person will 
receive a rate increase prior to the annual anniversary date of the Policy. After the first annual anniversary date of 
the Policy, a premium increase will not be given more frequently than once in a 12 month period. We will give you 
notice of any change at least 60 days before the Premium Due Date on which it is to become effective. 

Premium Due Dates:  The Policy Premium is payable on the Policy Effective Date and the first day of each 
month thereafter.  Each Policy Premium is due in advance of the date it becomes payable.  This Policy will 
terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force during a grace period. 

Misstatement of Age: If You have misstated your age, the premium amount due will be the amount necessary to 
purchase coverage for Your correct age.  

Changes:  No agent has authority to change or waive any part of this Policy.  To be valid, any change or waiver 
must be in writing, approved by one of Our executive officers and attached to this Policy. 

Time Limit on Certain Defenses:  No misstatement in your application can be used to deny a claim or void this 
Policy unless: 

a)  the misstatement was fraudulent; or 
b)  your loss began within 2 years after You became an Insured Person. 

We cannot deny or reduce a claim for Your loss commencing after 2 years from the date You became an Insured 
Person on the basis that a disease or physical condition existed before that date unless it is excluded by name or 
specific condition. 

Conformity with State Statutes.   On the Policy Effective Date, any part of this Policy in conflict with the statutes 
of the state in which it is delivered or issued for delivery is amended to agree with the statute’s minimum 
requirements. 

Time Periods.   All periods begin and end at 12:01 A.M., Standard Time, at Your residence. 

Grace Period.   A grace period of 31 days is allowed after the due date for payment of each premium after the 
first premium payment.  This Policy will continue in force during the grace period.  If the premium is not paid 
during the grace period, this Policy will terminate at the end of the grace period.   

Reinstatement.   This Policy may be reinstated if it has terminated because the premium due was not paid 
before the end of the grace period.  Reinstatement will only be allowed if: 

a)  all past due premium is paid; and 
b)  the reinstatement request is received together with one (1) month’s premium within sixty (60) days of the 

end of the grace period. 

The reinstated policy will cover only Injury occurring after the date of reinstatement.   

If the period before reinstatement is more than 60 days after the end of the grace period, We will require the 
completion of a new application in addition to the required premium payment. 

Unpaid Premium.   Upon the payment of a claim under this Policy, any unpaid premium will be deducted. 

Refund of Unearned Premium.  If a Covered Person dies, any premium paid to Us on behalf of the deceased for a 
period after the date of such death will be refunded for any period beyond the end of the policy month in which the 
death occurred.  Such refund will be made to the Covered Person’s estate in a lump sum no later than thirty (30) 
days after proof of the insured Person’s death has been furnished to Us.  Notice of death should be sent to us within 
12 months, or as soon as reasonably possible, after a Covered Person has died. 
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DEFINITIONS 

 
The terms, when used in this Policy, will have the following meanings: 

Actual Charges- means charges for which a Covered Person is held liable.  This includes charges that are solely 
Your responsibility, or charges that are a combination of insurance reimbursement and Your responsibility such as 
deductibles or co-payment.  The fee negotiated between a managed care organization and medical providers would 
be considered the actual charge. 

Airworthiness Certificate means the "Standard" Airworthiness Certificate issued by the United States Federal 
Aviation Agency; or a foreign equivalent issued by the governmental authority with jurisdiction over civil aviation in 
the country of its registry. 

Civil or Public Aircraft means an aircraft which has a current and valid Airworthiness Certificate, is piloted by a 
person who has a valid and current certificate of competency of a rating which authorizes him or her to pilot the 
aircraft, and is not operated by the militia or armed forces of any state, national government or international 
authority. 

Class means any group of persons insured individually under this policy who have a common bond, such as age, 
sex, occupation, or geographic area. 

Common Carrier means only regularly scheduled commercial airlines, passenger trains and intercity buses 
operating between definitely established terminals. 

Covered Person means:  a) you; and b) each person named as your Dependent in the Application. 

Dependent means: 
a)  your spouse, unless divorced or legally separated from you;  
b)  your unmarried child(ren) who are less that age 21 and primarily dependent on you for support and 

maintenance; and 
c)  your unmarried child(ren) who are at least age 21 but less than age 25 who: 

  1)  regularly attend an institution of learning; and 
  2)  are primarily dependent on You for support and maintenance.  
 
A Child includes a stepchild residing with You, a child placed with you for adoption, a legally adopted child and a 
foster child.  Child will also include a grandchild, if, at the time of his or her birth, one parent is Your dependent. 
If you give Us a Written Request, You may add Dependents to the Policy while it is in force. 

Incapacitated Children:  Coverage of a child who is: a) mentally or physically incapable of earning his or her 
own living; and b) over the age limit to qualify as a Dependent; and c) unmarried and primarily dependent on you 
for support and maintenance will not terminate solely due to age.  But, you must give us notice of the incapacity.  
Coverage will continue as long as the incapacity continues and the required premium is paid.  We may, from time 
to time, require proof of continued incapacity and dependency.  After the first two years, we cannot require proof 
more than once each year. 

Injury means bodily injury resulting directly from an accident which occurs while the person is insured under this 
Policy and independently of all other causes.  

Loss resulting from: 
a)  sickness or disease, except a pus-forming infection which occurs through an accidental wound; or  
b)  medical or surgical treatment of a sickness or disease; 

is not considered as resulting from Injury. 

Military Transport Aircraft means a transport aircraft operated by: a) the United States Air Mobility Command 
(AMC); or b) a national military air transport service of any country. 

Newborn Child Coverage:  If a child is born to the Named Insured or his or her Spouse while this Policy is in 
force as Family Coverage, the child will become covered by the Policy from the moment of birth.  

On, when used with reference to any conveyance (land, water or air), means in or on, boarding or alighting from 
the conveyance. 

Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective date of coverage; or 
[b] for which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 years prior 
to the effective date of coverage. 
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Total Disability or Totally Disabled means, when the Insured Person is employed, the complete and continuous 
inability to perform the essential duties of his or her regular occupation.  When the Insured Person is unemployed, 
his or her inability to engage in the normal and customary activities of a person of like age and in good health. 

We, Us or Our means the insurance company named on the face page. 

Written Request means any form provided by us for the particular coverage. 

You and Your means the Insured Person named on the face page. 
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PERIOD OF COVERAGE 

Effective Date of Covered Persons:  Your coverage becomes effective when:  
a)  your application has been approved by Us;   
b)  the required premium has been paid; and   
c)  this Policy has been issued. 

Termination of Covered Persons:  Your coverage terminates on the earliest of:  
a) the date the Policy is terminated;  
b) the date of Your death;  
c) Your attainment of the Policy Age Limit, shown on page 3; or  
d) Your failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period.  

Your spouse, if covered under the policy, becomes the new insured upon Your death or the date Your coverage 
terminates because You reached the Policy Age Limit.  

Coverage for Your spouse will terminate on the first to occur of:   
a) the termination of this Policy:  
b) the date following your divorce, legal separation or annulment of marriage;  
c) your spouse’s attainment of the Policy Age Limit, shown on page 3;  
d) the date of your spouse's death; or  
e) failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period. 

Coverage for your dependent child(ren) will terminate on the first  to occur of:   
a) the termination of this Policy;  
b) the policy anniversary date after he or she ceases to be a Dependent; or  
c) failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period. 

Termination will be without prejudice to a claim that begins before termination. 

 
EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 

This Policy does not cover any loss resulting from: 
a) intentionally self-inflicted Injury; 
b) suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane; 
c) injury incurred prior to the effective date of coverage;   
d) war or act of war, whether declared or undeclared; 
e) injury sustained while in the armed forces of any country or international authority; 
f) injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except a Civil or Public Aircraft, or Military Transport Aircraft; 
g) injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except as a fare paying passenger in an aircraft provided by a 

licensed Common Carrier; 
h) injury sustained while voluntarily taking drugs which federal law prohibits dispensing without a 

prescription, including sedatives, narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, or hallucinogens, unless the 
drug is taken as prescribed or administered by a licensed physician; 

i) injury sustained while committing or attempting to commit a felony; 
j) injury sustained while the Covered Person is operating any motor vehicle while legally intoxicated from 

the use of alcohol; 
k) injury sustained by a dependent child while practicing for or participating in organized competitive football 

games; 
l) driving in any organized or scheduled race or speed test or while testing an automobile or any vehicle on 

any racetrack or speedway; 
m) voluntarily taking poison; 
n) asphyxiation from voluntary inhaling gas or fumes. 

 
PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 

 
If a Covered Person has a pre-existing condition, We will not pay benefits for such condition during the 2-year 
period beginning on the policy date, if the condition: 

a)   was disclosed without material misrepresentation in answer to questions in the application for this  
 Policy; and 
b)   is not excluded by name or specific description.  
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BENEFITS 
 

AMOUNT(S) PAYABLE PER UNIT (1 UNIT)  
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT 
 
If a Covered Person's Injury results in any of the following losses within 180 days after the date of accident, we 
will pay the sum shown opposite the loss. 
 
We will not pay more than the Principal Sum for all losses due to the same accident.    
 
The amount of the Principal Sum is shown on page 3. 
 
For Loss of:      Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
    Life       $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Both Hands or Both Feet or Sight of Both Eyes $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Both Arms or Both Legs    $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    One Hand or Arm and One Foot or Leg  $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Sight of One Eye     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Hand or One Arm    $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Foot or One Leg     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One or More Entire Toes    $  1,000  $     500 $   250 
    One or More Entire Fingers    $     800  $     400 $   200 
 
Loss means with regard to: 

a) hands and feet, actual severance through or above wrist or ankle joints; 
b) sight, entire and irrecoverable loss thereof; 
c) toes and fingers, actual severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints; 
 

If loss is sustained by a Covered Person while riding as a fare-paying passenger on scheduled Common Carrier, 
the amount of Principal Sum payable under the Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit will be tripled.   
 
 

DISAPPEARANCE 
 

A Covered Person will be presumed to have suffered loss of life if: 
a) his or her body has not been found within one year after the disappearance of a covered conveyance in 

which he or she was an occupant at the time of its disappearance; 
b)  the disappearance of the conveyance was due to its accidental forced landing, stranding, sinking or 

wrecking; and 
c)  this Policy would have covered Injury resulting from the accident. 
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DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT 

 
If a Covered Person's Injury results in any of the following losses within 90 days after the date of accident, we will 
pay the sum shown opposite the loss.   We will not pay more than the Principal Sum for all losses due to the 
same accident. 
 
The amount of the Principal Sum for Dislocation and Fracture Benefit is shown on page 3. 
 
For Complete Dislocation of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
 Hip Joint      $ 2,000   $1,000  $ 500 
 Knee Joint (Except Patella)    $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Bone or Bones of the Foot, Other than Toes  $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Ankle Joint      $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Wrist Joint      $    700   $   350  $ 175 
 Elbow Joint      $    600   $   300  $ 150 
 Shoulder Joint     $    400   $   200  $ 100 
 Bone or Bones of the Hand, Other Than Fingers $    300   $   150  $   75 
 Collar Bone      $    300   $   150  $   75 
 Two or More Fingers    $    140   $     70  $   35 
 Two or More Toes     $    140   $     70  $   35 
 One Finger or One Toe    $      60   $     30  $   15 
  
For Fracture of Bone or Bones of: 
 Skull (except Bones of Face or Nose)  $1,900   $   950  $  475 
 Hip, Thigh (Femur)     $2,000   $1,000  $  500 
 Pelvis (Except Coccyx)    $2,000   $1,000  $  500 
 Arm, Between Shoulder and Elbow (Shaft)  $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Shoulder Blade (Scapula)    $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Leg (Tibia or Fibula)     $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Ankle      $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Knee Cap (Patella)     $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Collar Bone Clavicle    $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Forearm (Radius or Ulna)    $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Foot (Except Toes)     $   700   $   350  $  175 
 Hand or Wrist (Except Fingers)   $   700    $   350  $  175 
 Lower Jaw (Except Alveolar Process)  $   400   $   200  $  100 
 Ribs, Fingers or Toes    $   300   $   150  $    75 
 Bones of Face or Nose    $   300   $   150  $    75 
 One Rib, Finger or Toe    $   140   $     70  $    35 
 Coccyx      $   140   $     70  $    35 

 
 

ACCIDENT HOSPITAL INDEMNITY BENEFIT 
 
We will pay the Daily Benefit for each day a Covered Person is Confined during one or more periods of hospital 
Confinement if: 
    a) the Confinement is due to Injury; and 
    b) the first day of Confinement occurs within 90 days after the accident. 
The Daily Benefit is shown on page 3. 

Confined and Confinement means: 
    a) being admitted to a Hospital for receiving inpatient hospital services; and 
    b)  the patient is charged for at least one day's room and board by the hospital each  
   time he or she is admitted. 
A period of Confinement consists of consecutive days of Confinement following the date he or she is admitted as 
an inpatient.  The last calendar day of a period of Confinement is not counted as a day of Confinement unless a 
Hospital room and board charge is made for the last day.  We will pay the daily amount shown on page 3 for 
Hospital Confinement up to a maximum of 90 days per accident. 
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AMBULANCE SERVICE BENEFIT 
 
If, as a result of Injury, a Covered Person requires ambulance service for transfer: 

a) to a Hospital; or 
b) from a Hospital; 

we will pay the amount shown on page 3 for Ambulance Services.  The amount payable for ambulance service 
will be doubled if the transfer is by air ambulance.      
 
For purposes of the Accident Hospital Indemnity Benefit and the Ambulance Service Benefit, the following 
definition applies: 
 
Hospital means an institution which: 

a) operates pursuant to law; 
b) primarily and continuously provides medical care and treatment of sick and injured persons on an 

inpatient basis; 
c) operates facilities for medical and surgical diagnosis and treatment by or under the supervision of a staff 

of legally qualified physicians; and 
d) provides 24 hour a day nursing service by or under the supervision of registered graduate nurses (R.N.). 

 
Hospital does not mean: 

a) any institution or part thereof which is used primarily as: 
1)   a nursing home, convalescent home, or skilled nursing facility; 
2)   a place for drug addicts or alcoholics; or 

 3)   a place for rest, custodial care, or for the aged; and 
b)) any institution located outside the United States or its territories. 

 
The Limitation regarding institutions located outside the United States or its territories does not apply if 
Confinement is due to an emergency. 

 
 

ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE BENEFIT 
 
 
If, as a result of Injury, a Covered Person requires medical or surgical treatment, we will pay the Actual Charges 
incurred for such treatment up to the maximum benefit amount per Injury shown on page 3.  
 
The expense: 

a) must be incurred within 90 days from the date of Injury; and 
b) incurred for physician fees, X-rays or emergency room treatment.  

 
Repair to a sound natural tooth is also included, if diagnosed by a dentist to have been the result of an accidental 
injury. 
  
Medical or surgical treatment must be: 

a) prescribed by a legally qualified physician; and 
b) for the sole purpose of treating the Injury. 
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CLAIMS 
 
Notice of Claim:  The person who has the right to claim benefits (the claimant or beneficiary) must give us 
written notice of a claim within 60 days after a covered loss begins.  If notice cannot be given within that time, it 
must be given as soon as reasonably possible, but in no event more than one (1) year after the date of the 
accident. 
 
The notice should include Your name and the policy number.  Send it to Our office, or give it to Our agent. 
 
Claim Forms:  When We receive the notice of claim, We will send forms to the claimant for giving Us proof of 
loss.  The forms will be sent within 15 days after We receive the notice of claim.  If the forms are not received, the 
claimant will satisfy the proof of loss requirement if a written notice of the occurrence, character and nature of the 
loss is sent to Us. 
 
Proof of Loss:  Proof of loss must be sent to Us in writing within 90 days after: 

a) the end of a period of Our liability for periodic payment claims; or 
b)  the date of the loss for all other claims. 

 
If the claimant is not able to send it within that time, it may be sent as soon as reasonably possible without 
affecting the claim.  The additional time allowed cannot exceed one year unless the claimant is legally 
incapacitated. 
 
Time of Claim Payment:  We will pay any daily, weekly or monthly benefit due:     

a) on a monthly basis, after We receive the proof of loss, while the loss and Our liability continue; or  
b) immediately after We receive the proof of loss following the end of Our liability. 

 
We will pay any other benefit due immediately after We receive the proof of loss. 
 
Payment of Claims:  We will pay any benefit due for loss of Your life: 
 a) according to the beneficiary designation in effect at the time of Your death;   
 b) otherwise to Your estate. 
All other benefits due and not assigned will be paid to You, if living; otherwise, to Your estate. 
 
If a benefit due is payable to: 
 a) Your estate; or 
 b) any person who is either a minor or not competent to give a valid release for the payment,  
  we may pay up to $1,000 of the amount to some other person.   The other person will be someone 

related to the minor or incompetent person by blood or marriage who we believe is entitled to the 
payment.   We will be relieved of further responsibility to the extent of any payment made in good faith. 

 
Physical Examinations and Autopsy:  While a claim is pending we have the right at our expense: 
 a) to have the person who has a loss examined by a physician when and as often as we feel is necessary;  
  and 
 b) to have an autopsy performed in case of death where it is not forbidden by law. 
 
Legal Actions:  You cannot take legal action against us: 
 a) before 60 days following the date proof of loss is sent to us; 
 b) after 3 years following the date proof of loss is due. 
 
Naming a Beneficiary:  You may name a beneficiary or change a revocable named beneficiary by giving your 
written request to Us.  Your request takes effect on the date you execute it, regardless of whether you are living 
when We receive it.  We will be relieved of further responsibility to the extent of any payment we made in good 
faith before We receive Your request. 
 
Assignment:  We will recognize an assignment You make under this Policy, provided: 
 a) it is duly executed; and 
 b) a copy is on file with us. 
 
We assume no responsibility for the validity or effect of an assignment. 
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER - INJURY/SICKNESS  
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(APPLICABLE TO INSURED PERSON ONLY - NOT AVAILABLE TO DEPENDENTS) 
 
In consideration of an additional premium, which is added to the premium for the Policy to which this rider is 
attached, We will pay the benefits listed on the schedule page of the policy. 
 

Definitions 
 
Elimination Period means a period of consecutive days and Insured must be Totally Disabled in order to qualify 
for any disability benefit payments.  The Elimination Period is shown in the Schedule and begins on the first day 
of Total Disability.  Disability Income Benefits are not payable during the Elimination Period. 
 
Injury means bodily injury resulting directly from an accident which occurs while the person is insured under this 
Policy and independently of all other causes. 
  
Loss resulting from: 
 a) sickness or disease, except a pus-forming infection which occurs through an accidental wound; or  
 b) medical or surgical treatment of a sickness or disease; 
is not considered as resulting from Injury. 
 
Sickness means illness or disease, totally unrelated to an accidental Injury,  which: 
 a) began after the Policy Effective Date; and 
 b) has been medically diagnosed by a licensed physician. 
 
Total Disability means, for purposes of this rider: 
 a) when the Insured Person is employed, complete and continuous inability of the Insured Person to perform 
the essential duties of his or her regular occupation; and 
 b) when the Insured Person is not employed, he  or she must: 
  1) be receiving regular and personal care from a licensed physician; and 
  2) either be unable to perform two or more Activities of Daily Living without Stand-by Assistance or be 

Cognitively Impaired. 
 
Activities of Daily Living are:  
 a) Bathing - the ability to wash oneself, either in a tub or shower or by sponge bath, with or without 

equipment or adaptive devices.  
 b) Continence - the ability to voluntarily control bowel and bladder function, or, in the event of incontinence, 

the ability to maintain a reasonable level of personal hygiene. 
 c) Dressing - the ability to put on and take off all garments and medically necessary braces or artificial limbs 

usually worn, and to fasten or unfasten them. 
 d) Eating - the ability to get nourishment into the body by any means once it has been prepared and made 

available to you. 
 e) Toileting - the ability to get to and from and on and off the toilet, to maintain a reasonable level of 

personal hygiene and to care for clothing. 
 f) Transferring - the ability to move in and out of a chair or bed with or without equipment such as canes, 

quad canes, walkers, crutches or grab bars or other support devices including mechanical or motorized 
devices. 

 
Cognitive Impairment and Cognitively Impaired mean that the Insured Person has suffered a deterioration or 
loss in his or her intellectual capacity which requires another person’s assistance or verbal cueing to protect the 
Insured Person or others as measured by clinical evidence and standardized tests which reliably measure his or 
her impairment.  Such loss in intellectual capacity can result from Sickness, Alzheimer’s Disease or similar forms 
of senility or irreversible dementia. 
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Stand-By Assistance means the Insured Person requires the presence of another human being to ensure that 
all or part of an Activity of Daily Living can be completed or to ensure his or her safety. 
 
Rider Date is the effective date of coverage under this rider.  The Rider D ate is the policy date, unless this rider 
is applied for at a later date.  If applied for at a later date, the Rider Date is the effective date assigned by our 
Home Office in accordance with our policy dating rules in effect at the time this rider is issued 
 
If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount shown on page 3.   
 
The  Accident Total Disability must: 
 a) result from Injury; 
 b) begin within 90 days of the accident; 
 c) continue for three (3) full consecutive days; and 
 d) require the regular care of a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured 

Person’s physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition. 
 
After the third day of disability, benefits are payable for the first three days and every additional day for up to 6 
months.  
 
We will not pay for more than one accident during any period of accident total disability.  
 
The Sickness Total Disability must: 
 a) result from a sickness; 
 b) continue for past the elimination period selected; and 
 c) require the regular care of  a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured 

Person's physician states that further treatment will not  improve the Insured Person's condition. 
 
For Total Disability of less than one full month, one-thirtieth of the Monthly Benefit amount will be payable for each 
day of Total Disability. 
 
Successive Periods of Disability 
 
Periods of disability: 
 a) due to the same or related medical causes; and  
 b) separated by less than 90 days;  
will be considered one period of disability while covered under the Policy.   
 
Periods of disability separated by at least 90 days will be considered separate periods of disability. 
 
If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled due to Sickness, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount shown 
in the Schedule.    
 
The Total Disability must: 
 a) require the care of a legally qualified physician, other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured 

Person's  physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition; and 
 b) last at least the number of days indicated above as the Elimination Period. 
 
We will not pay for more than one benefit during any one period of Total Disability, regardless of how many 
injuries or sicknesses occur.  
 
We will not pay more for the Sickness Total Disability Benefit than the Maximum Benefit Amount shown on the 
schedule page. 
 
For any period of disability less than a full month, 1/30th of the monthly amount will be paid for each day of Total 
Disability. 
 
This benefit is subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation and the Successive Periods of Disability Limitation.  
All other general provisions of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
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RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 

 
This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 
 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 
 a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
 b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
 c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 
 

PREMIUMS 
 
While this rider is in effect, premiums are due according to the terms of the Policy to which this rider is attached.  
If insufficient premiums are paid, premiums received will be applied first to the policy to which this rider is 
attached, and then to this rider 
 
We reserve the right to change the premiums for this rider.  If We decide to change the premiums, We will do so 
only: 
 a) if We change the premiums for all riders of this same form in the Insured Person’s State of residence; 
 b) if such change is in accordance with the laws and regulations of the Insured Person’s State of residence; 

and 
 c) if We gave the Insured Person at least 60 days notice before such change becomes effective. 
 
This rider does not vary, waive, alter or extend any of the terms, conditions, or provisions of the Policy, except as 
stated herein. 
  
Signed for Humana Insurance company  

 

 
 
 

 
Gerald L. Ganoni 

Vice President  
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
ADDITIONAL BENEFITS RIDER 
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In consideration of an additional premium, which is added to the premium for the Policy to which this rider is 
attached, We will pay the benefits listed below. 

Definitions 
Coma - means a continuous state of profound unconsciousness which lasts 5 or more consecutive days as a 
result of a covered accident.  A coma is characterized by an absence of spontaneous eye movement, response to 
painful stimuli and vocalization.  This condition requires intubation for respirator assistance.  Medically induced 
comas are excluded. 

Continuous Hospital Intensive Care Confinement means one continuous confinement or two or more hospital 
intensive care unit confinements not separated by more than 30 days.  If there are more than 30 days separation 
between confinements, they are considered separate confinements. 

Day means a continuous 24-hour period. 

Hospital Confined or Confinement means confinement as an inpatient in a hospital for which a full day's room 
and board charge is made by the hospital.  It does not include confinement in an observation room or a fractional 
part of a day. 

Hospital Intensive Care Unit (ICU) means a specifically designated portion of a Hospital that provides the highest 
level of medical care and is restricted to patients whose condition requires such level of care.  The facilities must be 
apart from the surgical recovery room and from private or semi-private rooms.  The ICU must be permanently 
equipped with special life-saving equipment for the care of the critically ill or injured.  The patients must be under 
constant and continuous care of Nurses assigned just to the ICU.  These units must be listed as Intensive Care 
Units in the current edition of the American Hospital Association Guide or be eligible to be listed therein.  This guide 
lists three types of facilities that meet this definition: 

a) Intensive Care Unit; 
b) Cardiac Intensive Care Unit; and 
c) Infant (neonatal) Intensive Care Unit. 
 

These do not include surgical recovery rooms, progressive care, intermediate care, private monitored rooms, 
observation units, telemetry units, or other facilities which do not meet the standards for a Intensive Care Unit as 
defined. 

Injury means bodily injury resulting directly from an accident which occurs while the person is insured under this 
Rider and independently of all other causes.  

Loss resulting from: 
 a) sickness or disease, except a pus-forming infection which occurs through an accidental wound; or  
 b) medical or surgical treatment of a sickness or disease; 
is not considered as resulting from Injury. 

Inpatient means a covered person who is a resident patient using the room and board facilities of a hospital. 

Physical Therapist means a licensed specialist in physical therapy.  Physical Therapist does not include any 
covered person or any spouse, parent, brother, sister or child of a covered person. 

Rider Date means the effective date of coverage under this rider.  The Rider Date is the policy date, unless this 
rider is applied for at a later date.  If applied for at a later date the Rider Date is the effective date assigned by Our 
Home Office in accordance with Our policy dating rules in effect at the time this rider is issued. 
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Benefit Schedule 

1 Unit 
 
Abdominal or Thoracic Surgery Benefit - We will pay $1,000 if a covered person undergoes abdominal or 
thoracic surgery to repair internal injuries as a result of a covered injury.  The surgery must be performed within 3 
days of the covered accident.  For exploratory surgery done with no surgical repair we will pay $100. 
 
Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit - We will pay $50 per day a covered person receives a follow-up 
treatment provided that a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  This benefit is 
limited to  2 treatments per covered accident per covered person.  Treatments must be administered by a 
physician in the physician's office or a hospital on an outpatient basis.  Follow-up treatments must begin within 90 
days of the covered accident and not take place longer than 6 months after the covered accident.  This Benefit is 
not payable at the same time a benefit is payable under the Physical Therapy Benefit. 
 
Appliance Benefit - We will pay $125 for prescribed medical appliances that aid in personal mobility including 
wheelchair, crutches or walker.  Use of these devices must begin within 90 days after a covered accident and the 
Benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Blood and Plasma Benefit - We will pay $300 for blood or plasma for a  transfusion required for a covered 
accident.  The transfusion must be within 3 days of the covered accident and is payable only once per covered 
person per accident. 
 
Brain Injury Diagnosis Benefit - We will pay $150 for the first diagnosis of the following traumatic brain injuries:  
cerebral contusion; cerebal laceration; concussion; or intercranial hemorrage.  The covered person must be 
treated within 3 days of a covered accident; and diagnosis made by computed tomography (CT) scan, 
electroencephalogram (EEG), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET) scan or 
X-ray must occur within 30 days of the accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Burn Benefit - We will pay $100 if burns cover less than 15% of the body surface and $500 if burns cover more 
than 15% of the body surface for one or more second or third degree burns other than sun burn.  Treatment must 
be within 3 days of the covered accident and the benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered 
accident. 
 
Coma Benefit - We will pay $15,000 if a covered person is in a coma as defined in this rider which lasts 5 or 
more consecutive days as a result of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Eye Injury Benefit - We will pay $100 for surgery or the removal of a foreign object from the eye.  Treatment 
must be performed by a physician and occur within 90 days of the accident.  An examination without anesthesia is 
not considered a surgery.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Family Member Lodging Benefit -  We will pay $100 per day for lodging of one adult member of a covered 
person's family when a covered person is confined in a non-local hospital or speciality free standing treatment 
center undergoing treatment for a covered accident.  This benefit is payable for 30 days for each covered 
accident.  This benefit is payable  only if the Non-local Transportation Benefit is payable under the covered 
accident.  This benefit will not be paid if the family member lives within 60 miles of the treatment facility. 
 
Hospital Intensive Care Confinement Benefit -  We will pay $400 per day that a covered person is confined to 
a hospital Intensive Care Unit.  Confinement must begin within 3 days after a covered accident and is payable for 
up to 60 days of continuous confinement in the Intensive Care Unit.  For a partial day confinement, the daily 
benefit will be pro-rated based on the number of hours confined divided by 24 hours. 
 
Immediate Hospitalization Benefit - We will pay $1,000 upon the first confinement to a hospital during a 
calendar year for a covered accident providing that a benefit is payable under the Hospital Confinement Benefit of 
the policy.  The covered person must be confined to the hospital within 3 days of a covered accident and is 
payable only once per covered person per hospital confinement and only once per calendar year. 
 
Laceration Benefit - We will pay $50 for lacerations or cuts treated by a physician within 3 days of a covered 
accident.  This benefit is only payable once per covered person per calendar year. 
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Non Local Transportation Benefit - We will pay $300 per trip for non local treatment at a hospital or speciality 
free standing treatment center nearest the covered person's home.  Treatment must be prescribed by a physician 
and the same treatment or care cannot be obtained locally.  Non-local is treatment that is 60 miles or more one 
way from the covered person's home.  We do not pay for visits to a physician's office or clinic or for services other 
than actual treatment.  This benefit is payable 3 times per covered accident.  This benefit does not cover ground 
or air ambulance. 
 
Paralysis Benefit - We will pay $10,000 for paraplegia and $20,000 for quadriplegia if a covered person receives 
a spinal cord injury resulting in complete and permanent loss of use of two or more limbs.  An attending physician 
must confirm the paralysis within 3 days of a covered accident and the paralysis must last for at least 90 
consecutive days.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Physical Therapy Benefit - We will pay $30 per day a covered person receives physical therapy treatment.  This 
benefit is only payable if a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  We will pay for 
a maximum of one treatment per day with a maximum of 6 treatments per covered accident per covered person.  
This benefit is only payable for injuries resulting from a covered accident where benefits begin within 90 days of 
the covered accident.  Treatments after 6 months after a covered accident are not covered.  This benefit is not 
payable for a same visit for which a benefit is payable under the Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit. 
 
Prosthesis Benefit - We will pay $500 for one device and $1,000 for 2 or more devices for a prosthetic hand, 
foot, or eye that is prescribed by a physician.  This benefit is payable if a benefit is paid for the loss of hand, foot, 
or eye under the Accidental Dismemberment benefit of the policy.  The device or devices must be received within 
180 days of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Ruptured Disc Benefit - We will pay $500 for a ruptured disc of the spine.  The ruptured disc must be diagnosed 
as a result of a covered accident and surgically repaired by a physician within 180 days  of the date of the 
covered accident. 
 
Skin Graft Benefit - We will pay 50% of the Burn Benefit under this rider if a covered person receives a skin graft 
for a burn for which a benefit is paid under the Burn Benefit.  The skin graft must be performed by a physician to 
treat a covered burn within 90 days of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person 
per covered accident. 
 
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff or Knee Cartilage Benefit - We will pay $500 per injury for an injured tendon, 
ligament, rotator cuff or knee cartliage.  The injury site must be torn, ruptured, or severed and surgically repaired 
by a physician within 180 days of a covered accident.  If exploratory surgery using arthroscopy is done and no 
surgical repair is done, we will pay $150 for the exploratory surgery.  This benefit is not paid if a benefit is paid 
under the Ruputured Disc Benefit of the rider for the same covered accident. 
 
The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general 
provisions of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 



HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11 

 
RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 

 
This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 
 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 

a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 
 

PREMIUMS 
 
While this rider is in effect, premiums are due according to the terms of the Policy to which this rider is attached.  
If insufficient premiums are paid, premiums received will be applied first to the policy to which this rider is 
attached, and then to this rider. 
 
We reserve the right to change the premiums for this rider.  If We decide to change the premiums, We will do so 
only: 

 a) if We change the premiums for all riders of this same form in the Insured Person’s state of residence; 
 b) if such change is in accordance with the laws and regulations of the Insured Person’s state of 

residence; and 
 c) if We gave the Insured Person at least 60 days notice before such change becomes effective. 

 
This rider does not vary, waive, alter or extend any of the terms, conditions, or provisions of the Policy, except as 
stated herein. 
 
Signed for Humana Insurance Company  

 
 
 

       
 

 
 
 

 
Gerald L. Ganoni 

Vice President  
 

 



HIC-ACC-AMENDMENT 

Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
 
 
Named Insured:  [     ] 
Policy Number:  [XXXXXX] 
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT  
POLICY AMENDMENT 

 
 
This Policy Amendment is attached to and made part of the Policy effective [Month Day, Year] at 12:01 
AM, Standard Time at Your place of residence.  Any changes in coverage apply only with respect to 
covered losses that occur on or after that date.  Any changes in premium apply as of the first premium 
due date on or after the effective date of this Policy Amendment. 
 
In consideration of timely payment of the required premium, the Policy has been as follows: 
 

[ The following Dependent(s) is (are) added/deleted as Covered Persons under the Policy 
 
• John Doe (Spouse) 
• Jane Doe (Daughter) ] 
 
[The Total Disability Rider HIC-ACC-TDR is hereby attached to/deleted from the Policy. 
 
The Additional Benefits Rider HIC-ACC-ABR is hereby attached to/deleted from the Policy. 
 
• The Wellness Benefit Rider HIC-ACC-WBR is hereby attached to/deleted from the Policy. ] 
 
 
The Total Monthly Premium under the Policy is hereby changed to [$xxx.xxx] 
 

This Policy Amendment expires concurrently with the Policy and is subject to all of the provisions, 
limitations and conditions of the Policy except as they are specifically modified by this Policy 
Amendment. 
 

Signed for by Humana Insurance Company at its Home Office on the Policy Effective Date. 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Gerald L. Ganoni 

Vice President  
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY 

REQUIRED OUTLINE OF COVERAGE FOR POLICY FORM HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 
THIS  IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICY.  

If you are eligible for Medicare, see the Medicare Supplement Buyers' Guide available from the Company. 
RETAIN THIS FOR YOUR RECORDS! 

 
A. Read Your Policy Carefully!  This outline of coverage provides a very brief description of some of the important 

policy features.  This is not the insurance contract.  The actual policy will control.  The policy describes, in detail, the 
rights and obligations of both You and the insurance company.  Therefore, it is important that you READ YOUR 
POLICY CAREFULLY! 

 
B. ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY:   Coverage is provided for accidental death and 

dismemberment, dislocation or fractures, hospital confinement, ambulance and medical expense.   
 
C. BENEFITS. 

AMOUNT(S) PAYABLE PER UNIT (1 UNIT) 
 

1. ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT – We will pay the following amount shown: 
 

 For Loss of:      Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
    Life       $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
   Both Hands or Both Feet or Sight of Both Eyes  $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
     Both Arms or Both Legs     $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
     One Hand or Arm and One Foot or Leg   $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Sight of One Eye     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Hand or One Arm     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
     One Foot or One Leg     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One or More Entire Toes    $  1,000  $     500 $   250 
  One or More Entire Fingers    $     800  $     400 $   200 
 
Loss means with regard to:   a) hands and feet, actual severance through or above wrist or ankle joints; b) sight, entire 
and irrecoverable loss thereof; c) toes and fingers, actual severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints.  
 
If loss is sustained by a Covered Person while riding as a fare-paying passenger on scheduled Common  Carrier, 
We will pay three times the amount payable under the Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit.  
 

2. DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT – We will pay the following amount shown: 

 For Complete Dislocation of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
     Hip Joint      $2,000   $1,000  $500 
     Knee Joint (Except Patella)    $   800   $   400  $200 
     Bone or Bones of the Foot, Other than Toes  $   800   $   400  $200 
     Ankle Joint      $   800   $   400  $200 
    Wrist Joint      $   700   $   350  $175 
     Elbow Joint      $   600   $   300  $150 
     Shoulder Joint        $   400   $   200  $100 

   Bone or Bones of the Hand, Other Than Fingers    $   300   $   150  $  75 
     Collar Bone      $   300   $   150  $  75 

Two or More Fingers     $   140   $     70  $  35 
Two or More Toes       $   140   $     70  $  35 

     One Finger or One Toe       $     60   $     30  $  15 
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DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT (Continued) 

 For Fracture of Bone or Bones of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child/Children 
 Skull (except Bones of Face or Nose)   $1,900   $   950  $   475 
     Hip, Thigh (Femur)     $2,000   $1,000  $   500 
     Pelvis(Except Coccyx)     $2,000   $1,000  $   500 
     Arm, Between Shoulder and Elbow (Shaft)  $1,100   $   550  $   275 
     Shoulder Blade (Scapula)    $1,100   $   550  $   275 
    Leg (Tibia or Fibula)     $1,100   $   550  $   275 
     Ankle         $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Knee Cap (Patella)     $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Collar Bone Clavicle     $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Forearm (Radius or Ulna)    $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Foot (Except Toes)     $   700   $   350  $   175 
     Hand or Wrist (Except Fingers)      $   700    $   350  $   175 
     Lower Jaw (Except Alveolar Process)   $   400   $   200  $   100 
     Two or More Ribs, Fingers or Toes   $   300   $   150  $     75 
     Bones of Face or Nose         $   300   $   150  $     75 
     One Rib, Finger or Toe       $   140   $     70  $     35 
     Coccyx        $   140   $     70  $     35 
 

3. ACCIDENT HOSPITAL INDEMNITY BENEFIT – We will pay $100 for each day a Covered Person is Confined 
during one or more periods of Hospital Confinement if:  a) the Confinement is due to Injury; or b) the first day of 
Confinement occurs within 90 days after the accident. 

4. AMBULANCE SERVICE BENEFIT –We will pay $100 for regular ambulance and $200 for air ambulance if as a 
result of a injury, a Covered Person requires ambulance service for transfer a) to a Hospital; or b) from a 
Hospital. 

5. ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE BENEFIT – We will pay the Actual Charges incurred up to $250 if, as a result 
of Injury, a Covered Person requires medical or surgical treatment.   

 
NUMBER OF UNITS SELECTED   1 Unit  2 Units  3 Units 
 
For 2 Units of coverage, benefits are 2 times the amounts shown; and for 3 Units, benefits are 3 times the 
amounts shown. 

Actual Charges- means charges for which a Covered Person is held liable.  This includes charges that are solely Your 
responsibility, or charges that are a combination of insurance reimbursement and Your responsibility such as deductibles or 
co-payment.  The fee negotiated between a managed care organization and medical providers would be considered the 
actual charge. 
 
Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective date of coverage; or [b] for 
which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 years prior to the effective 
date of coverage. 
 

PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 
 
If a Covered Person has a pre-existing condition, We will not pay benefits for such condition during the 2 year period 
beginning on the policy date.  Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective 
date of coverage; or [b] for which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 
years prior to the effective date of coverage. 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
This Policy does not cover any loss resulting from: 

1. intentionally self-inflicted Injury; 
2. suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane; 
3. injury incurred prior to the effective date of coverage;   
4. war or act of war, whether declared or undeclared; 
5. injury sustained while in the armed forces of any country or international authority; 
6. injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except a Civil or Public Aircraft, or Military Transport  Aircraft; 
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7. injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except as a fare paying passenger in an aircraft provided by a 
licensed Common Carrier; 

8. injury sustained while voluntarily taking drugs which federal law prohibits dispensing without a prescription, 
 including sedatives, narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, or hallucinogens, unless the  drug is taken as 
 prescribed or administered by a licensed physician; 

9. injury sustained while committing or attempting to commit a felony; 
10. injury sustained while the Covered Person is operating any motor vehicle while legally intoxicated from the use of 

alcohol; 
11. injury sustained by a dependent child while practicing for or participating in organized competitive football games; 
12. driving in any organized or scheduled race or speed test or while testing an automobile or any vehicle on any 

 racetrack or speedway; 
13. voluntarily taking poison; 

 14. asphyxiation from voluntary inhaling gas or fumes. 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFITS (If Applied for and Approved) 
TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER - INJURY/SICKNESS HIC-ACC-TDR-AR 2/11.  Applied for:   Yes  No 

 
 (APPLICABLE TO INSURED PERSON ONLY - NOT AVAILABLE TO DEPENDENTS) 

 
If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount as selected by you.  You may 
select in $100 increments from [$300 to $4000] per month benefit.  Benefit selected cannot exceed 60% of monthly 
salary. 
 
The Accident Total Disability must: 

a) result from Injury; 
b) must begin within 90 days of the accident; 
c) continue for three (3) full consecutive days; and 
d) require the regular care of a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured Person’s 

physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition. 
   

After the third day of disability, benefits are payable for the first three days and every additional day for up to 6 months.   
We will not pay for more than one accident during any period of accident total disability.  
 
The Sickness Total Disability must: 
 a) result from a sickness; 
 b) continue for past the elimination period selected; and 
 c) require the regular care of  a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured 

Person's physician states that further treatment will not  improve the Insured Person's condition. 
For Total Disability of less than one full month, one-thirtieth of the Monthly Benefit amount will be payable for each day of 
Total Disability. 
 
Amount of Monthly Benefit Selected: $______________________   
 
Elimination Period Selected for Sickness:    7 days  14 days  30 days 
 
The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
 

RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 
 
This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 
 

Successive Periods of Disability 
  
Periods of disability: 
 a) due to the same or related medical causes; and  
 b) separated by less than 90 days;  
will be considered one period of disability while covered under the Policy.   
Periods of disability separated by at least 90 days will be considered separate periods of disability. 
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If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled due to Sickness, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount shown in 
Schedule Page 4 of the policy. The Benefit will begin on the day following the elimination period selected.  
 
The Total Disability must: 
 a) require the care of a legally qualified physician, other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured Person's  
physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition; and 
 b) last at least the number of days indicated above as the Elimination Period. 
 
All other general provisions of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 
 a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
 b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
 c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 

 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFITS RIDER - HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11   Applied for:   Yes  No 
 
Benefit Schedule 1 Unit 
 
Abdominal or Thoracic Surgery Benefit - We will pay $1,000 if a covered person undergoes abdominal or thoracic 
surgery to repair internal injuries as a result of a covered injury.  The surgery must be performed within 3 days of the 
covered accident.  For exploratory surgery done with no surgical repair We will pay $100. 
 
Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit - We will pay $50 per day a covered person receives a follow-up treatment 
provided that a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  This benefit is limited to 2 
treatments per covered accident per covered person.  Treatments must be administered by a physician in the physician's 
office or a hospital on an outpatient basis.  Follow-up treatments must begin within 90 days of the covered accident and 
not take place longer than 6 months after the covered accident.  This Benefit is not payable at the same time a benefit is 
payable under the Physical Therapy Benefit. 
 
Appliance Benefit - We will pay $125 for prescribed medical appliances that aid in personal mobility including 
wheelchair, crutches or walker.  Use of these devices must begin within 90 days after a covered accident and the Benefit 
is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Blood and Plasma Benefit - We will pay $300 for blood or plasma for a  transfusion required for a covered accident.  The 
transfusion must be within 3 days of the covered accident and is payable only once per covered person per accident. 
 
Brain Injury Diagnosis Benefit - We will pay $150 for the first diagnosis of the following traumatic brain injuries:  cerebral 
contusion; cerebal laceration; concussion; or intercranial hemorrage.  The covered person must be treated within 3 days 
of a covered accident; and diagnosis made by computed tomography (CT) scan, electroencephalogram (EEG), magnetic 
resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET) scan or X-ray must occur within 30 days of the accident.  
This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Burn Benefit - We will pay $100 if burns cover less than 15% of the body surface and $500 if burns cover more than 15% 
of the body surface for one or more second or third degree burns other than sunburn.  Treatment must be within 3 days of 
the covered accident and the benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Coma Benefit - We will pay $15,000 if a covered person is in a Coma as defined in this rider which lasts 5 or more 
consecutive days as a result of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Eye Injury Benefit - We will pay $100 for surgery or the removal of a foreign object from the eye.  Treatment must be 
performed by a physician and occur within 90 days of the accident.  An examination without anesthesia is not considered 
a surgery.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
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Family Member Lodging Benefit -  We will pay $100 per day for lodging of one adult member of a covered person's 
family when a covered person is confined in a non-local hospital or speciality free standing treatment center while 
undergoing treatment for a covered accident.  This benefit is payable for 30 days for each covered accident.  This benefit 
is payable  only if the Non-local Transportation Benefit is payable under the covered accident.  This benefit will not be paid 
if the family member lives within 60 miles of the treatment facility. 
 
Hospital Intensive Care Confinement Benefit -  We will pay $400 per day that a covered person is confined to a 
hospital Intensive Care Unit.  Confinement must begin within 3 days after a covered accident and is payable for up to 60 
days of continuous confinement in the Intensive Care Unit.  For a partial day confinement, the daily benefit will be pro-
rated based on the number of hours confined divided by 24 hours. 
 
Immediate Hospitalization Benefit - We will pay $1,000 upon the first confinement to a hospital during a calendar year 
for a covered accident providing that a benefit is payable under the Hospital Confinement Benefit of the policy.  The 
covered person must be confined to the hospital within 3 days of a covered accident and is payable only once per covered 
person per hospital confinement and only once per calendar year. 
 
Laceration Benefit - We will pay $50 for lacerations or cuts treated by a physician within 3 days of a covered accident.  
This benefit is only payable once per covered person per calendar year. 
 
Non Local Transportation Benefit - We will pay $300 per trip for non local treatment at a hospital or specialty free 
standing treatment center nearest the covered person's home.  Treatment must be prescribed by a physician and the 
same treatment or care cannot be obtained locally.  Non-local is treatment that is 60 miles or more one way from the 
covered person's home.  We do not pay for visits to a physician's office or clinic or for services other than actual 
treatment.  This benefit is payable 3 times per covered accident.  This benefit does not cover ground or air ambulance.  
 
Paralysis Benefit - We will pay $10,000 for paraplegia and $20,000 for quadriplegia if a covered person receives a spinal 
cord injury resulting in complete and permanent loss of use of two or more limbs.  An attending physician must confirm the 
paralysis within 3 days of a covered accident and the paralysis must last for at least 90 consecutive days.  This benefit is 
payable only once per covered person. 
 
Physical Therapy Benefit - We will pay $30 per day a covered person receives physical therapy treatment.  This benefit 
is only payable if a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  We will pay for a maximum of 
one treatment per day with a maximum of 6 treatments per covered accident per covered person.  This benefit is only 
payable for injuries resulting from a covered accident where benefits begin within 90 days of the covered accident.  
Treatments after 6 months after a covered accident are not covered.  This benefit is not payable for a same visit for which 
a benefit is payable under the Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit. 
 
Prosthesis Benefit - We will pay $500 for one device and $1,000 for 2 or more devices for a prosthetic hand, foot, or eye 
that is prescribed by a physician.  This benefit is payable if a benefit is paid for the loss of hand, foot, or eye under the 
Accidental Dismemberment benefit of the policy.  The device or devices must be received within 180 days of a covered 
accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Ruptured Disc Benefit - We will pay $500 for a ruptured disc of the spine.  The ruptured disc must be diagnosed as a 
result of a covered accident and surgically repaired by a physician within 180 days  of the date of the covered accident. 
 
Skin Graft Benefit - We will pay 50% of the Burn Benefit under this rider if a covered person receives a skin graft for a 
burn for which a benefit is paid under the Burn Benefit.  The skin graft must be performed by a physician to treat a 
covered burn within 90 days of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered 
accident. 
 
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff or Knee Cartilage Benefit - We will pay $500 per injury for an injured tendon, 
ligament, rotator cuff or knee cartliage.  The injury site must be torn, ruptured, or severed and surgically repaired by a 
physician within 180 days of a covered accident.  If exploratory surgery using arthroscopy is done and no surgical repair is 
done, we will pay $150 for the exploratory surgery.  This benefit is not paid if a benefit is paid under the Ruputured Disc 
Benefit of the rider for the same covered accident. 
 
The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
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The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
 

 
RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 

This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
 b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
 c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 
 
WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER  HIC-ACC-WBR-AR 2/11.  Applied for:   Yes  No 

NUMBER OF UNITS SELECTED  1 Unit  2 Units 

For 2 Units of coverage, benefits are 2 times the amounts shown. 

We will pay $25 (twenty-five dollars) if You or any one eligible family member undergoes routine examinations or other 
preventive testing during the following Policy year.  Services covered are: annual physical examinations, dental exams, 
mammograms, Pap smears, eye examinations, immunizations, flexible sigmoidoscopies, prostate-specific antigen tests 
(PSAs), ultrasounds, and blood screenings.  The Benefit is limited to 2 visits per calendar year per Covered Person; and a 
maximum of 4 visits per calendar year if the policy is in force as family coverage.  Eligible Family Members are Your 
Spouse and the Dependent Children of either You or Your Spouse. Service must be under the supervision of or 
recommended by a Physician, received while Your Policy is in force, and a charge must be incurred. 

 
D. RENEWAL AGREEMENT 
 
Except for fraud or material misrepresentation, you have the right to renew this policy to age 70 as long as premiums are 
paid on time.  This policy will terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force 
during a grace period. 
 
E. TOTAL PREMIUM.  The annual premium is $________; if other than annual $ «PREM_TOTAL», mode monthly. 
 
A grace period of 31 days will be granted for the payment of each premium after the first.  Your policy remains in force 
during the grace period.  Family plan coverage may include the following:  you; your spouse; your unmarried dependent 
children under age 21 (25 if full-time student); grandchildren dependent upon you for income tax purposes; and children 
required to be insured under a medical support order by a court.  Incapacitated children are covered in accordance with 
the incapacitated child continuation provision in the policy. 
 
Premium Change 

We have the right, after the first Premium Due Date, to change the rate at which further premiums will be calculated for all 
insureds of Your rate class and same State of issue. No Insured Person will receive a rate increase prior to the annual 
anniversary date of the Policy. After the first annual anniversary date of the Policy, a premium increase will not be given 
more frequently than once in a 12 month period. We will give you notice of any change at least 60 days before the 
Premium Due Date on which it is to become effective. 
 
I hereby acknowledge that this outline of coverage was delivered to me on     , 20____. 
 
This outline of coverage is not a contract.  It is intended only as a general description of the policy provisions in the 
planning of your program.  The benefits are determined by the terms and conditions of the policy alone.  IN ALL CASES, 
CONSULT  YOUR POLICY FOR FULL DETAILS. 
 

RETAIN FOR YOUR RECORDS. 
THIS OUTLINE OF COVERAGE IS ONLY A BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE COVERAGE PROVIDED.  

THE POLICY ITSELF SHOULD BE CONSULTED TO DETERMINE 
GOVERNING CONTRACTUAL PROVISIONS 



APPLICATION FOR ADMINISTERED BY: 
ACCIDENT COVERAGE/TOTAL DISABILITY SICKNESS RIDER Bay Bridge Administrators, LLC 
Humana Insurance Company P.O. Box 161690 Austin, TX 78716 
1100 Employers Boulevard, Green Bay, Wisconsin 54344 (800) 845-7519 

PROPOSED INSURED LAST 
 

FIRST 
 

MIDDLE 
 

SEX 
 

DATE OF BIRTH 
 

AGE 
 

STATE OF BIRTH 
 

HEIGHT WEIGHT SOCIAL SECURITY NO. MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY 
 

STATE ZIP PHONE NO. OCCUPATION ANNUAL SALARY 

Complete For Family Coverage: 

FIRST / LAST NAME DOB AGE SEX FIRST / LAST NAME DOB AGE SEX 

Spouse 
 

Child 

Child 
 

Child 

Child 
 

Child 

1. ACTIVELY AT WORK:  Is the proposed insured actively at work now and has she/he worked at least 17.5 hours a week for 
the last 6 months (except for minor illness or injury of one week or less or for normal pregnancy)? Yes  No       (If No, explain 
on reverse) 
2. SELECTION OF COVERAGE: [MONTHLY PAYROLL DEDUCTION] 
[ACCIDENT PLAN 
FORM HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 
 

1 Unit 
 

2 Units 
 

3 Units 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFIT RIDER  
FORM HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11 
 

1 Unit 
 

 
 

 
 

WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER  
FORM HIC-ACC-WBR-AR 2/11 
 

1 Unit 
2 Units 

 

Individual Individual & Spouse Individual & Child(ren) Family Monthly Rate $
 

[TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER (INDIVIDUAL ONLY) MONTHLY DISABILITY BENEFIT $  
FORM HIC-ACC-TDR-AR 2/11 Elimination Period Sickness 7 days 14 days 30 days 
 

 Monthly Rate $
I hereby authorize my Employer  to reduce my salary by the TOTAL DEDUCTION and forward 
this amount to Humana Insurance Company. The TOTAL DEDUCTION is calculated so as to produce the premium as shown 
herein. 
3. COMPLETED BY AGENT 
 

Frequency of Deduction: Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Semi-Monthly 
TOTAL DEDUCTION 

 

$ 
4. REPRESENTATION AND AUTHORIZATION OF APPLICANT: 

A. ACCIDENT PLAN, ACCIDENT BENEFIT RIDER AND WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER PLAN 
1. Do you have any other similar coverage in force or an application for similar insurance pending with this or any 

other company? Yes No 
2. Is the insurance applied for to replace or change any insurance in this or any other company? Yes No 

If “Yes” give Company Name and Policy Number   
 

B.  TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER - SO FAR AS YOU KNOW AND BELIEVE: 
1. Do you have any disease, disorder or impairment? Yes No 
2. Are you pregnant? Yes No 
3. Have you ever had or been told you had, or been treated for:  Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS), 

tuberculosis, disease of heart or circulatory system, high blood pressure, alcohol or drug dependency, ulcer or 
other disease of digestive system, epilepsy, nervous breakdown, psychiatric treatment, disease of urinary system, 
disease or disorder of the respiratory and reproductive system, cancer, diabetes, rupture, rheumatism, arthritis, or 
back, knee, bone, or joint condition? Yes No 

4. Have you consulted or been treated by any physician or practitioner in the past five years? Yes No 
5. Have you been advised to have an operation which has not been performed? Yes No  
6. Within the past two years have you lost time from work for sickness or accident for a period of four or more 

consecutive days? Yes No 
If the answer is “Yes” to any question, explain fully on reverse 

 

Agent’s Signature   Signature of Proposed Insured  
 

Agent’s Number   Date of Signature  
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I acknowledge receipt of the outline of coverage for this plan? Yes No 
I understand that death benefits are payable to the insured, if living, to the named beneficiary, if living, otherwise to the spouse 
of the insured, if living, otherwise to the estate of the deceased to whom benefits are payable.  
Name and Relationship of Beneficiary:  
I have read, or had read to me, the completed application and realize that any false statement or misrepresentation in this 
application may result in loss of coverage, subject to the Incontestability provision.  I represent that the statements and answers 
given on this application are true, complete and correctly recorded.  I authorize any physician, medical practitioner, hospital, 
clinic or other medical facility, insurance company, the Medical Information Bureau or other organization, institution or person, 
that has records or knowledge of me or my health to give to Humana Insurance Company or its reinsurers any information.  A 
copy of this Authorization is as valid as the original. This authorization applies to dependents on whom insurance is requested. 
 

REMARKS:   
Details of “Yes” answers to question B:   
  
  
 

Details of “Yes” answers to question B4: (explain fully giving: 1) Name(s) and Address(s) of Doctor(s), 2) Dates of Treatment, 
 3) Ailment, 4) Degree of Recovery)   
  
  
  

Any person who knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for payment of a loss or benefit or knowingly 
presents false information in an application for insurance is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and 
confinement in prison.  
 
Agent Use Only 
 

Case #:  
 

Date of First Deduction:   
 

Requested Effective Date:   

 
 

Agent Split:   
 

Agent II:  % 
 

Agent III:  % 

 
 
NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT 
OF ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS INSURANCE 
 
According to your application or information you have 
furnished, you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing 
accident and sickness insurance policy number  
 , you have with  
  Insurance 
Company, and replace it with a policy to be issued by 
Humana Insurance Company. For your information and 
protection, you should be aware of and seriously consider 
certain factors which may affect the insurance protection 
available to you under the new policy. 
 
(1) You may wish to secure the advice of your present insurer 
or its agent regarding the proposed replacement of your 
present policy.  This is not only your right, but it is also in your 
best interest to make sure you understand all the relevant 
factors involved in replacing your present coverage. 
 
(2) If, after due consideration, you still wish to terminate your 
present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain 
that all questions on the application concerning your  

 
medical/health history are truthfully and completely 
answered.  Failure to include all material medical information 
on an application may provide a basis for the company to 
deny any future claims and to refund your premium as though 
your policy had never been in force.  After the application has 
been completed, it should be carefully reviewed before being 
signed to be certain that all information has been properly 
recorded. 
 
(3)  New policies may be issued at an older age than that 
used for issuance of your present policy; therefore, the cost 
of the new policy, depending upon the benefits, may be 
higher than you are paying for your present policy. 
 
(4) This “Notice to Applicant” was delivered to me on: 
 
(date)  
 
Signature of Applicant  
 
Signature of Witness / Agent  
 
COMPLETE THIS FORM IN DUPLICATE, ONE COPY TO 
BE LEFT WITH APPLICANT AND ONE COPY RETURNED 
TO THE HOME OFFICE. 

 
PLAN ADMINISTERED BY 

BAY BRIDGE ADMINISTRATORS, LLC 
P.O. Box 161690 

Austin, Texas 78716 
(800) 845-7519 
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Certificate of Compliance with 
Arkansas Rule and Regulation 19 

 
 
Insurer:  Humana Insurance Company 
 
Form Number(s): HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11, HIC-ACC-TDR-AR 2/11, HIC-ACC-WBR-AR 
2/11, HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11, HIC-ACC-AMENDMENT, HIC-ACC-OCC-AR 2/11, HIC-
ACC-APP-AR 2/11  
 
 
I hereby certify that the filing above meets all applicable Arkansas requirements including the 
requirement of Rule and Regulation 19. 
 

                                                                          
         
Signature of Company Officer 
 
 
Gerald L. Ganoni                                              Name 
 
President                                                        
Title 
 
February 7, 2011                                                            
Date 
 
 
 
 
 
 
      

 



HumanaDental Inc., 325 De Pere, WI 54115, 1-800-233-4013 

 
 
 
 
 
January 1, 2011 
 
 
To:  All State Insurance Departments 

Humana Insurance Company hereby authorizes Insurance Compliance 
Consultants, Inc., to file the attached form(s) or a state specific variation of it, and to act 
on Our behalf regarding such filings, in all jurisdictions where this form(s) or a state 
specific variation of it is being filed. Humana Insurance Company may withdraw this 
authorization at any time, by giving notice to Insurance Compliance Consultants. 

Sincerely,  
 
 
 
Dave Vanden Heuvel 
Director of Business Services 
Humana Insurance Company  
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

 Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
 NAMED INSURED:  [ADAM SMITH]                            TYPE OF COVERAGE: [INDIVIDUAL] 
 
 POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE:  [JULY 1, 2009] PREMIUM:  [$00.00] 
 
 POLICY NUMBER:  [00000001]                     RENEWAL PREMIUM PERIOD: [MONTHLY] 
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY 
 

PREMIUMS SUBJECT TO CHANGE ON RENEWAL 
 
IMPORTANT -- PLEASE READ 
Your application is attached to and forms a part of the Policy.  PLEASE READ the copy of Your application.  If 
anything in it is not correct, You must tell Us immediately.  Your Policy was issued on the basis that all information in 
the application is correct and complete.  If not, Your Policy may not be valid. 
 
30-DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE POLICY 
WE URGE YOU TO EXAMINE THIS POLICY CLOSELY.  If you are not satisfied, You may return it to us or to the 
agent from whom it was purchased within 30 days after that event; we will consider it void from the Policy Date and 
any premium paid will be returned. 
 
GUARANTEED RENEWABLE 
Your Policy is Guaranteed Renewable until age 70, by payment of premiums as they become due.  This Policy will 
terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force during a Grace Period. 
 
PREMIUM CHANGE 
We have the right to change the table of premium rates for this Policy.  The change in premium will apply to all 
policies of this form number issued to insureds in Your state of residence.  Premiums will be charged in accordance 
with the table of premium rates using the original classification.   
 
THIS IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICY.  
 If You are eligible for Medicare, review the Medicare Supplement Buyers' Guide available from the Company. 
 
THIS IS AN ACCIDENT ONLY POLICY WHICH DOES NOT PAY BENEFITS FOR A LOSS FROM SICKNESS. 
 

 
This is a Non-Participating Policy. 

 
Pre-Existing Conditions Not Paid - Subject to the Time Limit on Certain Defenses 

 
THIS IS A LIMITED POLICY.  PLEASE READ IT CAREFULLY. 

 
Signed for Humana Insurance Company at its Home Office on the Policy Effective Date. 

 
 
 

 
Gerald L. Ganoni 

Vice President  
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POLICY SPECIFICATIONS 
 
    INSURED     [ADAM SMITH] 
  
    POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE  [July 1, 2009] 
 
    POLICY NUMBER   [0000000001] 
 
    ISSUE AGE    [35]  
 
    INITIAL PREMIUM   [$00.00] 
     
    TOTAL MONTHLY PREMIUM  [$00.00] 
 
    TERMINATION DATE    
 
 
POLICY AGE LIMIT:  Insured Person - 70; Spouse  - 70 
 
           MONTHLY 
 DESCRIPTION   NUMBER OF    PREMIUM 
 OF BENEFITS   UNITS ELECTED   AMOUNT 
 ACCIDENT PLAN [1-3] [$00.00] 
 
 [ INDIVIDUAL COVERAGE] 
 

 INSURED SPOUSE CHILD 
1. ACCIDENTAL DEATH OR DISMEMBERMENT: 
 WITH COMMON CARRIER BENEFIT 
 
 PRINCIPAL SUM [20,000] [10,000] [5,000] 
 
2. DISLOCATION OR FRACTURE: 
 PRINCIPAL SUM [2,000] [1,000] [500] 
 
3. HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT: 
 DAILY BENEFIT [100] [100] [100] 
 
4. AMBULANCE BENEFIT: REGULAR 

  AIR 
     [100] 

[200] 
[100] 
[200] 

[100] 
[200] 

 
5. EXPENSES - MAXIMUM BENEFIT [250] [250] [250] 

 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFIT (AS PROVIDED BY RIDER) 
       
HIC-ACC-TDR  TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER               [$0  Per Month]   [$00.00] 
 
HIC-ACC-ABR  ADDITIONAL BENEFIT RIDER                        [1 Unit]                              [$00.00] 
 
HIC-ACC-WBR  WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER                        [1 Unit]                               [$00.00 
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CONTRACT PROVISIONS 
 

Entire Contract:  The entire contract between You and Us consists of Your application, this Policy, and any 
riders or endorsements, copies of which are attached at issue. 

Policy Premiums:  The initial premium for this Policy is shown on page 3 under Policy Specifications. 

Change in Premiums: We have the right, after the first Premium Due Date, to change the rate at which further 
premiums will be calculated for all insureds of Your rate class and same State of issue.  We will give you notice of 
any change at least 60 days before the Premium Due Date on which it is to become effective. 

Premium Due Dates:  The Policy Premium is payable on the Policy Effective Date and the first day of each 
month thereafter.  Each Policy Premium is due in advance of the date it becomes payable.  This Policy will 
terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force during a grace period. 

Misstatement of Age: If You have misstated your age, the premium amount due will be the amount necessary to 
purchase coverage for Your correct age.  

Changes:  No agent has authority to change or waive any part of this Policy.  To be valid, any change or waiver 
must be in writing, approved by one of Our executive officers and attached to this Policy. 

Time Limit on Certain Defenses:  No misstatement in your application can be used to deny a claim or void this 
Policy unless: 

a)  the misstatement was fraudulent; or 
b)  your loss began within 2 years after You became an Insured Person. 

We cannot deny or reduce a claim for Your loss commencing after 2 years from the date You became an Insured 
Person on the basis that a disease or physical condition existed before that date unless it is excluded by name or 
specific condition. 

Conformity with State Statutes.   On the Policy Effective Date, any part of this Policy in conflict with the statutes 
of the state in which it is delivered or issued for delivery is amended to agree with the statute’s minimum 
requirements. 

Time Periods.   All periods begin and end at 12:01 A.M., Standard Time, at Your residence. 

Grace Period.   A grace period of 31 days is allowed after the due date for payment of each premium after the 
first premium payment.  This Policy will continue in force during the grace period.  If the premium is not paid 
during the grace period, this Policy will terminate at the end of the grace period.   

Reinstatement.   This Policy may be reinstated if it has terminated because the premium due was not paid 
before the end of the grace period.  Reinstatement will only be allowed if: 

a)  all past due premium is paid; and 
b)  the reinstatement request is received together with one (1) month’s premium within sixty (60) days of the 

end of the grace period. 

The reinstated policy will cover only Injury occurring after the date of reinstatement.   

If the period before reinstatement is more than 60 days after the end of the grace period, We will require the 
completion of a new application in addition to the required premium payment. 

Unpaid Premium.   Upon the payment of a claim under this Policy, any unpaid premium will be deducted. 
 
 

DEFINITIONS 
 
The terms, when used in this Policy, will have the following meanings: 

Actual Charges- means charges for which a Covered Person is held liable.  This includes charges that are solely 
Your responsibility, or charges that are a combination of insurance reimbursement and Your responsibility such as 
deductibles or co-payment.  The fee negotiated between a managed care organization and medical providers would 
be considered the actual charge. 

Airworthiness Certificate means the "Standard" Airworthiness Certificate issued by the United States Federal 
Aviation Agency; or a foreign equivalent issued by the governmental authority with jurisdiction over civil aviation in 
the country of its registry. 
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Civil or Public Aircraft means an aircraft which has a current and valid Airworthiness Certificate, is piloted by a 
person who has a valid and current certificate of competency of a rating which authorizes him or her to pilot the 
aircraft, and is not operated by the militia or armed forces of any state, national government or international 
authority. 

Class means any group of persons insured individually under this policy who have a common bond, such as age, 
sex, occupation, or geographic area. 

Common Carrier means only regularly scheduled commercial airlines, passenger trains and intercity buses 
operating between definitely established terminals. 

Covered Person means:  a) you; and b) each person named as your Dependent in the Application. 

Dependent means: 
a)  your spouse, unless divorced or legally separated from you;  
b)  your unmarried child(ren) who are less that age 21 and primarily dependent on you for support and 

maintenance; and 
c)  your unmarried child(ren) who are at least age 21 but less than age 25 who: 

  1)  regularly attend an institution of learning; and 
  2)  are primarily dependent on You for support and maintenance.  
 
A Child includes a stepchild residing with You, a child placed with you for adoption, a legally adopted child and a 
foster child.  Child will also include a grandchild, if, at the time of his or her birth, one parent is Your dependent. 
If you give Us a Written Request, You may add Dependents to the Policy while it is in force. 

Incapacitated Children:  Coverage of a child who is: a) mentally or physically incapable of earning his or her 
own living; and b) over the age limit to qualify as a Dependent; and c) unmarried and primarily dependent on you 
for support and maintenance will not terminate solely due to age.  But, you must give us notice of the incapacity 
within 31 days of the termination date.  Coverage will continue as long as the incapacity continues and the 
required premium is paid.  We may, from time to time, require proof of continued incapacity and dependency.  
After the first two years, we cannot require proof more than once each year. 

Injury means bodily injury resulting directly from an accident which occurs while the person is insured under this 
Policy and independently of all other causes.  

Loss resulting from: 
a)  sickness or disease, except a pus-forming infection which occurs through an accidental wound; or  
b)  medical or surgical treatment of a sickness or disease; 

is not considered as resulting from Injury. 

Military Transport Aircraft means a transport aircraft operated by: a) the United States Air Mobility Command 
(AMC); or b) a national military air transport service of any country. 

Newborn Child Coverage:  If a child is born to the Named Insured or his or her Spouse while this Policy is in 
force as Family Coverage, the child will become covered by the Policy from the moment of birth.  

On, when used with reference to any conveyance (land, water or air), means in or on, boarding or alighting from 
the conveyance. 

Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective date of coverage; or 
[b] for which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 years prior 
to the effective date of coverage. 

Total Disability or Totally Disabled means, when the Insured Person is employed, the complete and continuous 
inability to perform the essential duties of his or her regular occupation.  When the Insured Person is unemployed, 
his or her inability to engage in the normal and customary activities of a person of like age and in good health. 

We, Us or Our means the insurance company named on the face page. 

Written Request means any form provided by us for the particular coverage. 

You and Your means the Insured Person named on the face page. 
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PERIOD OF COVERAGE 

Effective Date of Covered Persons:  Your coverage becomes effective when:  
a)  your application has been approved by Us;   
b)  the required premium has been paid; and   
c)  this Policy has been issued. 

Termination of Covered Persons:  Your coverage terminates on the earliest of:  
a) the date the Policy is terminated;  
b) the date of Your death;  
c) Your attainment of the Policy Age Limit, shown on page 3; or  
d) Your failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period.  

Your spouse, if covered under the policy, becomes the new insured upon Your death or the date Your coverage 
terminates because You reached the Policy Age Limit.  

Coverage for Your spouse will terminate on the first to occur of:   
a) the termination of this Policy:  
b) the date following your divorce, legal separation or annulment of marriage;  
c) your spouse’s attainment of the Policy Age Limit, shown on page 3;  
d) the date of your spouse's death; or  
e) failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period. 

Coverage for your dependent child(ren) will terminate on the first  to occur of:   
a) the termination of this Policy;  
b) the policy anniversary date after he or she ceases to be a Dependent; or  
c) failure to pay the required premium, subject to the Grace Period. 

Termination will be without prejudice to a claim that begins before termination. 

 
EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 

This Policy does not cover any loss resulting from: 
a) intentionally self-inflicted Injury; 
b) suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane; 
c) injury incurred prior to the effective date of coverage;   
d) war or act of war, whether declared or undeclared; 
e) injury sustained while in the armed forces of any country or international authority; 
f) injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except a Civil or Public Aircraft, or Military Transport Aircraft; 
g) injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except as a fare paying passenger in an aircraft provided by a 

licensed Common Carrier; 
h) injury sustained while voluntarily taking drugs which federal law prohibits dispensing without a 

prescription, including sedatives, narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, or hallucinogens, unless the 
drug is taken as prescribed or administered by a licensed physician; 

i) injury sustained while committing or attempting to commit a felony; 
j) injury sustained while the Covered Person is operating any motor vehicle while legally intoxicated from 

the use of alcohol; 
k) hernia, including complications due to hernia;  
l) injury sustained by a dependent child while practicing for or participating in organized competitive football 

games; 
m) driving in any organized or scheduled race or speed test or while testing an automobile or any vehicle on 

any racetrack or speedway; 
n) voluntarily taking poison; 
o) asphyxiation from voluntary inhaling gas or fumes. 

 
PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 

 
If a Covered Person has a pre-existing condition, We will not pay benefits for such condition during the 2-year 
period beginning on the policy date, if the condition: 

a)   was disclosed without material misrepresentation in answer to questions in the application for this  
 Policy; and 
b)   is not excluded by name or specific description.  
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BENEFITS 
 

AMOUNT(S) PAYABLE PER UNIT (1 UNIT)  
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT 
 
If a Covered Person's Injury results in any of the following losses within 180 days after the date of accident, we 
will pay the sum shown opposite the loss. 
 
We will not pay more than the Principal Sum for all losses due to the same accident.    
 
The amount of the Principal Sum is shown on page 3. 
 
For Loss of:      Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
    Life       $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Both Hands or Both Feet or Sight of Both Eyes $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Both Arms or Both Legs    $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    One Hand or Arm and One Foot or Leg  $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Sight of One Eye     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Hand or One Arm    $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Foot or One Leg     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One or More Entire Toes    $  1,000  $     500 $   250 
    One or More Entire Fingers    $     800  $     400 $   200 
 
Loss means with regard to: 

a) hands and feet, actual severance through or above wrist or ankle joints; 
b) sight, entire and irrecoverable loss thereof; 
c) toes and fingers, actual severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints; 
 

If loss is sustained by a Covered Person while riding as a fare-paying passenger on scheduled Common Carrier, 
the amount of Principal Sum payable under the Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit will be tripled.   
 
 

DISAPPEARANCE 
 

A Covered Person will be presumed to have suffered loss of life if: 
a) his or her body has not been found within one year after the disappearance of a covered conveyance in 

which he or she was an occupant at the time of its disappearance; 
b)  the disappearance of the conveyance was due to its accidental forced landing, stranding, sinking or 

wrecking; and 
c)  this Policy would have covered Injury resulting from the accident. 
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DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT 

 
If a Covered Person's Injury results in any of the following losses within 90 days after the date of accident, we will 
pay the sum shown opposite the loss.   We will not pay more than the Principal Sum for all losses due to the 
same accident. 
 
The amount of the Principal Sum for Dislocation and Fracture Benefit is shown on page 3. 
 
For Complete Dislocation of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
 Hip Joint      $ 2,000   $1,000  $ 500 
 Knee Joint (Except Patella)    $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Bone or Bones of the Foot, Other than Toes  $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Ankle Joint      $    800   $   400  $ 200 
 Wrist Joint      $    700   $   350  $ 175 
 Elbow Joint      $    600   $   300  $ 150 
 Shoulder Joint     $    400   $   200  $ 100 
 Bone or Bones of the Hand, Other Than Fingers $    300   $   150  $   75 
 Collar Bone      $    300   $   150  $   75 
 Two or More Fingers    $    140   $     70  $   35 
 Two or More Toes     $    140   $     70  $   35 
 One Finger or One Toe    $      60   $     30  $   15 
  
For Fracture of Bone or Bones of: 
 Skull (except Bones of Face or Nose)  $1,900   $   950  $  475 
 Hip, Thigh (Femur)     $2,000   $1,000  $  500 
 Pelvis (Except Coccyx)    $2,000   $1,000  $  500 
 Arm, Between Shoulder and Elbow (Shaft)  $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Shoulder Blade (Scapula)    $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Leg (Tibia or Fibula)     $1,100   $   550  $  275 
 Ankle      $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Knee Cap (Patella)     $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Collar Bone Clavicle    $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Forearm (Radius or Ulna)    $   800   $   400  $  200 
 Foot (Except Toes)     $   700   $   350  $  175 
 Hand or Wrist (Except Fingers)   $   700    $   350  $  175 
 Lower Jaw (Except Alveolar Process)  $   400   $   200  $  100 
 Ribs, Fingers or Toes    $   300   $   150  $    75 
 Bones of Face or Nose    $   300   $   150  $    75 
 One Rib, Finger or Toe    $   140   $     70  $    35 
 Coccyx      $   140   $     70  $    35 

 
 

ACCIDENT HOSPITAL INDEMNITY BENEFIT 
 
We will pay the Daily Benefit for each day a Covered Person is Confined during one or more periods of hospital 
Confinement if: 
    a) the Confinement is due to Injury; and 
    b) the first day of Confinement occurs within 90 days after the accident. 
The Daily Benefit is shown on page 3. 

Confined and Confinement means: 
    a) being admitted to a Hospital for receiving inpatient hospital services; and 
    b)  the patient is charged for at least one day's room and board by the hospital each  
   time he or she is admitted. 
A period of Confinement consists of consecutive days of Confinement following the date he or she is admitted as 
an inpatient.  The last calendar day of a period of Confinement is not counted as a day of Confinement unless a 
Hospital room and board charge is made for the last day.  We will pay the daily amount shown on page 3 for 
Hospital Confinement up to a maximum of 90 days per accident. 
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AMBULANCE SERVICE BENEFIT 
 
If, as a result of Injury, a Covered Person requires ambulance service for transfer: 

a) to a Hospital; or 
b) from a Hospital; 

we will pay the amount shown on page 3 for Ambulance Services.  The amount payable for ambulance service 
will be doubled if the transfer is by air ambulance.      
 
For purposes of the Accident Hospital Indemnity Benefit and the Ambulance Service Benefit, the following 
definition applies: 
 
Hospital means an institution which: 

a) operates pursuant to law; 
b) primarily and continuously provides medical care and treatment of sick and injured persons on an 

inpatient basis; 
c) operates facilities for medical and surgical diagnosis and treatment by or under the supervision of a staff 

of legally qualified physicians; and 
d) provides 24 hour a day nursing service by or under the supervision of registered graduate nurses (R.N.). 

 
Hospital does not mean: 

a) any institution or part thereof which is used primarily as: 
1)   a nursing home, convalescent home, or skilled nursing facility; 
2)   a place for drug addicts or alcoholics; or 

 3)   a place for rest, custodial care, or for the aged; and 
b)) any institution located outside the United States or its territories. 

 
The Limitation regarding institutions located outside the United States or its territories does not apply if 
Confinement is due to an emergency. 

 
 

ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE BENEFIT 
 
 
If, as a result of Injury, a Covered Person requires medical or surgical treatment, we will pay the Actual Charges 
incurred for such treatment up to the maximum benefit amount per Injury shown on page 3.  
 
The expense: 

a) must be incurred within 90 days from the date of Injury; and 
b) incurred for physician fees, X-rays or emergency room treatment.  

 
Repair to a sound natural tooth is also included, if diagnosed by a dentist to have been the result of an accidental 
injury. 
  
Medical or surgical treatment must be: 

a) prescribed by a legally qualified physician; and 
b) for the sole purpose of treating the Injury. 
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CLAIMS 
 
Notice of Claim:  The person who has the right to claim benefits (the claimant or beneficiary) must give us 
written notice of a claim within 60 days after a covered loss begins.  If notice cannot be given within that time, it 
must be given as soon as reasonably possible, but in no event more than one (1) year after the date of the 
accident. 
 
The notice should include Your name and the policy number.  Send it to Our office, or give it to Our agent. 
 
Claim Forms:  When We receive the notice of claim, We will send forms to the claimant for giving Us proof of 
loss.  The forms will be sent within 15 days after We receive the notice of claim.  If the forms are not received, the 
claimant will satisfy the proof of loss requirement if a written notice of the occurrence, character and nature of the 
loss is sent to Us. 
 
Proof of Loss:  Proof of loss must be sent to Us in writing within 90 days after: 

a) the end of a period of Our liability for periodic payment claims; or 
b)  the date of the loss for all other claims. 

 
If the claimant is not able to send it within that time, it may be sent as soon as reasonably possible without 
affecting the claim.  The additional time allowed cannot exceed one year unless the claimant is legally 
incapacitated. 
 
Time of Claim Payment:  We will pay any daily, weekly or monthly benefit due:     

a) on a monthly basis, after We receive the proof of loss, while the loss and Our liability continue; or  
b) immediately after We receive the proof of loss following the end of Our liability. 

 
We will pay any other benefit due immediately after We receive the proof of loss. 
 
Payment of Claims:  We will pay any benefit due for loss of Your life: 
 a) according to the beneficiary designation in effect at the time of Your death;   
 b) otherwise to Your estate. 
All other benefits due and not assigned will be paid to You, if living; otherwise, to Your estate. 
 
If a benefit due is payable to: 
 a) Your estate; or 
 b) any person who is either a minor or not competent to give a valid release for the payment,  
  we may pay up to $1,000 of the amount to some other person.   The other person will be someone 

related to the minor or incompetent person by blood or marriage who we believe is entitled to the 
payment.   We will be relieved of further responsibility to the extent of any payment made in good faith. 

 
Physical Examinations and Autopsy:  While a claim is pending we have the right at our expense: 
 a) to have the person who has a loss examined by a physician when and as often as we feel is necessary;  
  and 
 b) to have an autopsy performed in case of death where it is not forbidden by law. 
 
Legal Actions:  You cannot take legal action against us: 
 a) before 60 days following the date proof of loss is sent to us; 
 b) after 3 years following the date proof of loss is due. 
 
Naming a Beneficiary:  You may name a beneficiary or change a revocable named beneficiary by giving your 
written request to Us.  Your request takes effect on the date you execute it, regardless of whether you are living 
when We receive it.  We will be relieved of further responsibility to the extent of any payment we made in good 
faith before We receive Your request. 
 
Assignment:  We will recognize an assignment You make under this Policy, provided: 
 a) it is duly executed; and 
 b) a copy is on file with us. 
 
We assume no responsibility for the validity or effect of an assignment. 
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Humana Insurance Company 
1100 Employers Boulevard 

Green Bay, Wisconsin  54344 
1-800-845-7519 

 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY 

REQUIRED OUTLINE OF COVERAGE FOR POLICY FORM HIC-ACC-POL-AR 2/11 
THIS  IS NOT A MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICY.  

If you are eligible for Medicare, see the Medicare Supplement Buyers' Guide available from the Company. 
RETAIN THIS FOR YOUR RECORDS! 

 
A. Read Your Policy Carefully!  This outline of coverage provides a very brief description of some of the important 

policy features.  This is not the insurance contract.  The actual policy will control.  The policy describes, in detail, the 
rights and obligations of both You and the insurance company.  Therefore, it is important that you READ YOUR 
POLICY CAREFULLY! 

 
B. ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT POLICY:   Coverage is provided for accidental death and 

dismemberment, dislocation or fractures, hospital confinement, ambulance and medical expense.   
 
C. BENEFITS. 

AMOUNT(S) PAYABLE PER UNIT (1 UNIT) 
 

1. ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT – We will pay the following amount shown: 
 

 For Loss of:      Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
    Life       $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
   Both Hands or Both Feet or Sight of Both Eyes  $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
     Both Arms or Both Legs     $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
     One Hand or Arm and One Foot or Leg   $20,000  $10,000 $5,000 
    Sight of One Eye     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One Hand or One Arm     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
     One Foot or One Leg     $10,000  $  5,000 $2,500 
    One or More Entire Toes    $  1,000  $     500 $   250 
  One or More Entire Fingers    $     800  $     400 $   200 
 
Loss means with regard to:   a) hands and feet, actual severance through or above wrist or ankle joints; b) sight, entire 
and irrecoverable loss thereof; c) toes and fingers, actual severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints.  
 
If loss is sustained by a Covered Person while riding as a fare-paying passenger on scheduled Common  Carrier, 
We will pay three times the amount payable under the Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit.  
 

2. DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT – We will pay the following amount shown: 

 For Complete Dislocation of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child 
     Hip Joint      $2,000   $1,000  $500 
     Knee Joint (Except Patella)    $   800   $   400  $200 
     Bone or Bones of the Foot, Other than Toes  $   800   $   400  $200 
     Ankle Joint      $   800   $   400  $200 
    Wrist Joint      $   700   $   350  $175 
     Elbow Joint      $   600   $   300  $150 
     Shoulder Joint        $   400   $   200  $100 

   Bone or Bones of the Hand, Other Than Fingers    $   300   $   150  $  75 
     Collar Bone      $   300   $   150  $  75 

Two or More Fingers     $   140   $     70  $  35 
Two or More Toes       $   140   $     70  $  35 

     One Finger or One Toe       $     60   $     30  $  15 
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DISLOCATION AND FRACTURE BENEFIT (Continued) 

 For Fracture of Bone or Bones of:    Primary Insured  Spouse  Child/Children 
 Skull (except Bones of Face or Nose)   $1,900   $   950  $   475 
     Hip, Thigh (Femur)     $2,000   $1,000  $   500 
     Pelvis(Except Coccyx)     $2,000   $1,000  $   500 
     Arm, Between Shoulder and Elbow (Shaft)  $1,100   $   550  $   275 
     Shoulder Blade (Scapula)    $1,100   $   550  $   275 
    Leg (Tibia or Fibula)     $1,100   $   550  $   275 
     Ankle         $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Knee Cap (Patella)     $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Collar Bone Clavicle     $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Forearm (Radius or Ulna)    $   800   $   400  $   200 
     Foot (Except Toes)     $   700   $   350  $   175 
     Hand or Wrist (Except Fingers)      $   700    $   350  $   175 
     Lower Jaw (Except Alveolar Process)   $   400   $   200  $   100 
     Two or More Ribs, Fingers or Toes   $   300   $   150  $     75 
     Bones of Face or Nose         $   300   $   150  $     75 
     One Rib, Finger or Toe       $   140   $     70  $     35 
     Coccyx        $   140   $     70  $     35 
 

3. ACCIDENT HOSPITAL INDEMNITY BENEFIT – We will pay $100 for each day a Covered Person is Confined 
during one or more periods of Hospital Confinement if:  a) the Confinement is due to Injury; or b) the first day of 
Confinement occurs within 90 days after the accident. 

4. AMBULANCE SERVICE BENEFIT –We will pay $100 for regular ambulance and $200 for air ambulance if as a 
result of a injury, a Covered Person requires ambulance service for transfer a) to a Hospital; or b) from a 
Hospital. 

5. ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE BENEFIT – We will pay the Actual Charges incurred up to $250 if, as a result 
of Injury, a Covered Person requires medical or surgical treatment.   

 
NUMBER OF UNITS SELECTED   1 Unit  2 Units  3 Units 
 
For 2 Units of coverage, benefits are 2 times the amounts shown; and for 3 Units, benefits are 3 times the 
amounts shown. 

Actual Charges- means charges for which a Covered Person is held liable.  This includes charges that are solely Your 
responsibility, or charges that are a combination of insurance reimbursement and Your responsibility such as deductibles or 
co-payment.  The fee negotiated between a managed care organization and medical providers would be considered the 
actual charge. 
 
Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective date of coverage; or [b] for 
which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 years prior to the effective 
date of coverage. 
 

PRE-EXISTING CONDITION LIMITATION 
 
If a Covered Person has a pre-existing condition, We will not pay benefits for such condition during the 2 year period 
beginning on the policy date.  Pre-existing Condition means a condition [a] which manifested itself prior to the effective 
date of coverage; or [b] for which medical advice or treatment was recommended by or received from a physician in the 5 
years prior to the effective date of coverage. 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
This Policy does not cover any loss resulting from: 

1. intentionally self-inflicted Injury; 
2. suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane; 
3. injury incurred prior to the effective date of coverage;   
4. war or act of war, whether declared or undeclared; 
5. injury sustained while in the armed forces of any country or international authority; 
6. injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except a Civil or Public Aircraft, or Military Transport  Aircraft; 
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7. injury sustained while riding On any aircraft except as a fare paying passenger in an aircraft provided by a 
licensed Common Carrier; 

8. injury sustained while voluntarily taking drugs which federal law prohibits dispensing without a prescription, 
 including sedatives, narcotics, barbiturates, amphetamines, or hallucinogens, unless the  drug is taken as 
 prescribed or administered by a licensed physician; 

9. injury sustained while committing or attempting to commit a felony; 
10. injury sustained while the Covered Person is operating any motor vehicle while legally intoxicated from the use of 

alcohol; 
11. hernia, including complications due to hernia;  
12. injury sustained by a dependent child while practicing for or participating in organized competitive football games; 
13. driving in any organized or scheduled race or speed test or while testing an automobile or any vehicle on any 

 racetrack or speedway; 
14. voluntarily taking poison; 

 15. asphyxiation from voluntary inhaling gas or fumes. 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFITS (If Applied for and Approved) 
TOTAL DISABILITY RIDER - INJURY/SICKNESS HIC-ACC-TDR-AR 2/11.  Applied for:   Yes  No 

 
 (APPLICABLE TO INSURED PERSON ONLY - NOT AVAILABLE TO DEPENDENTS) 

 
If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount as selected by you.  You may 
select in $100 increments from [$300 to $4000] per month benefit.  Benefit selected cannot exceed 60% of monthly 
salary. 
 
The Accident Total Disability must: 

a) result from Injury; 
b) must begin within 90 days of the accident; 
c) continue for three (3) full consecutive days; and 
d) require the regular care of a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured Person’s 

physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition. 
   

After the third day of disability, benefits are payable for the first three days and every additional day for up to 6 months.   
We will not pay for more than one accident during any period of accident total disability.  
 
The Sickness Total Disability must: 
 a) result from a sickness; 
 b) continue for past the elimination period selected; and 
 c) require the regular care of  a legally qualified physician other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured 

Person's physician states that further treatment will not  improve the Insured Person's condition. 
For Total Disability of less than one full month, one-thirtieth of the Monthly Benefit amount will be payable for each day of 
Total Disability. 
 
Amount of Monthly Benefit Selected: $______________________   
 
Elimination Period Selected for Sickness:    7 days  14 days  30 days 
 
The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
 

RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 
 
This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 
 

Successive Periods of Disability 
  
Periods of disability: 
 a) due to the same or related medical causes; and  
 b) separated by less than 90 days;  
will be considered one period of disability while covered under the Policy.   
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Periods of disability separated by at least 90 days will be considered separate periods of disability. 
 

If the Insured Person becomes Totally Disabled due to Sickness, we will pay the Monthly Benefit Amount shown in 
Schedule Page 4 of the policy. The Benefit will begin on the day following the elimination period selected.  
 
The Total Disability must: 
 a) require the care of a legally qualified physician, other than the Insured Person, unless the Insured Person's  
physician states that further treatment will not improve the Insured Person’s condition; and 
 b) last at least the number of days indicated above as the Elimination Period. 
 
All other general provisions of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 
 a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
 b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
 c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 

 
 

ADDITIONAL BENEFITS RIDER - HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2/11   Applied for:   Yes  No 
 
Benefit Schedule 1 Unit 
 
Abdominal or Thoracic Surgery Benefit - We will pay $1,000 if a covered person undergoes abdominal or thoracic 
surgery to repair internal injuries as a result of a covered injury.  The surgery must be performed within 3 days of the 
covered accident.  For exploratory surgery done with no surgical repair We will pay $100. 
 
Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit - We will pay $50 per day a covered person receives a follow-up treatment 
provided that a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  This benefit is limited to 2 
treatments per covered accident per covered person.  Treatments must be administered by a physician in the physician's 
office or a hospital on an outpatient basis.  Follow-up treatments must begin within 90 days of the covered accident and 
not take place longer than 6 months after the covered accident.  This Benefit is not payable at the same time a benefit is 
payable under the Physical Therapy Benefit. 
 
Appliance Benefit - We will pay $125 for prescribed medical appliances that aid in personal mobility including 
wheelchair, crutches or walker.  Use of these devices must begin within 90 days after a covered accident and the Benefit 
is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Blood and Plasma Benefit - We will pay $300 for blood or plasma for a  transfusion required for a covered accident.  The 
transfusion must be within 3 days of the covered accident and is payable only once per covered person per accident. 
 
Brain Injury Diagnosis Benefit - We will pay $150 for the first diagnosis of the following traumatic brain injuries:  cerebral 
contusion; cerebal laceration; concussion; or intercranial hemorrage.  The covered person must be treated within 3 days 
of a covered accident; and diagnosis made by computed tomography (CT) scan, electroencephalogram (EEG), magnetic 
resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET) scan or X-ray must occur within 30 days of the accident.  
This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Burn Benefit - We will pay $100 if burns cover less than 15% of the body surface and $500 if burns cover more than 15% 
of the body surface for one or more second or third degree burns other than sunburn.  Treatment must be within 3 days of 
the covered accident and the benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Coma Benefit - We will pay $15,000 if a covered person is in a Coma as defined in this rider which lasts 5 or more 
consecutive days as a result of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person. 
 
Eye Injury Benefit - We will pay $100 for surgery or the removal of a foreign object from the eye.  Treatment must be 
performed by a physician and occur within 90 days of the accident.  An examination without anesthesia is not considered 
a surgery.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
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Family Member Lodging Benefit -  We will pay $100 per day for lodging of one adult member of a covered person's 
family when a covered person is confined in a non-local hospital or speciality free standing treatment center while 
undergoing treatment for a covered accident.  This benefit is payable for 30 days for each covered accident.  This benefit 
is payable  only if the Non-local Transportation Benefit is payable under the covered accident.  This benefit will not be paid 
if the family member lives within 60 miles of the treatment facility. 
 
Hospital Intensive Care Confinement Benefit -  We will pay $400 per day that a covered person is confined to a 
hospital Intensive Care Unit.  Confinement must begin within 3 days after a covered accident and is payable for up to 60 
days of continuous confinement in the Intensive Care Unit.  For a partial day confinement, the daily benefit will be pro-
rated based on the number of hours confined divided by 24 hours. 
 
Immediate Hospitalization Benefit - We will pay $1,000 upon the first confinement to a hospital during a calendar year 
for a covered accident providing that a benefit is payable under the Hospital Confinement Benefit of the policy.  The 
covered person must be confined to the hospital within 3 days of a covered accident and is payable only once per covered 
person per hospital confinement and only once per calendar year. 
 
Laceration Benefit - We will pay $50 for lacerations or cuts treated by a physician within 3 days of a covered accident.  
This benefit is only payable once per covered person per calendar year. 
 
Non Local Transportation Benefit - We will pay $300 per trip for non local treatment at a hospital or specialty free 
standing treatment center nearest the covered person's home.  Treatment must be prescribed by a physician and the 
same treatment or care cannot be obtained locally.  Non-local is treatment that is 60 miles or more one way from the 
covered person's home.  We do not pay for visits to a physician's office or clinic or for services other than actual 
treatment.  This benefit is payable 3 times per covered accident.  This benefit does not cover ground or air ambulance.  
 
Paralysis Benefit - We will pay $10,000 for paraplegia and $20,000 for quadriplegia if a covered person receives a spinal 
cord injury resulting in complete and permanent loss of use of two or more limbs.  An attending physician must confirm the 
paralysis within 3 days of a covered accident and the paralysis must last for at least 90 consecutive days.  This benefit is 
payable only once per covered person. 
 
Physical Therapy Benefit - We will pay $30 per day a covered person receives physical therapy treatment.  This benefit 
is only payable if a benefit has been paid under the Medical Expense Benefit of the policy.  We will pay for a maximum of 
one treatment per day with a maximum of 6 treatments per covered accident per covered person.  This benefit is only 
payable for injuries resulting from a covered accident where benefits begin within 90 days of the covered accident.  
Treatments after 6 months after a covered accident are not covered.  This benefit is not payable for a same visit for which 
a benefit is payable under the Accident Follow-Up Treatment Benefit. 
 
Prosthesis Benefit - We will pay $500 for one device and $1,000 for 2 or more devices for a prosthetic hand, foot, or eye 
that is prescribed by a physician.  This benefit is payable if a benefit is paid for the loss of hand, foot, or eye under the 
Accidental Dismemberment benefit of the policy.  The device or devices must be received within 180 days of a covered 
accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered accident. 
 
Ruptured Disc Benefit - We will pay $500 for a ruptured disc of the spine.  The ruptured disc must be diagnosed as a 
result of a covered accident and surgically repaired by a physician within 180 days  of the date of the covered accident. 
 
Skin Graft Benefit - We will pay 50% of the Burn Benefit under this rider if a covered person receives a skin graft for a 
burn for which a benefit is paid under the Burn Benefit.  The skin graft must be performed by a physician to treat a 
covered burn within 90 days of a covered accident.  This benefit is payable only once per covered person per covered 
accident. 
 
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff or Knee Cartilage Benefit - We will pay $500 per injury for an injured tendon, 
ligament, rotator cuff or knee cartliage.  The injury site must be torn, ruptured, or severed and surgically repaired by a 
physician within 180 days of a covered accident.  If exploratory surgery using arthroscopy is done and no surgical repair is 
done, we will pay $150 for the exploratory surgery.  This benefit is not paid if a benefit is paid under the Ruputured Disc 
Benefit of the rider for the same covered accident. 
 
The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
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The benefits under this rider are subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation of the policy.  All other general provisions 
of the Policy to which this rider is attached apply to this rider. 
 

 
RIDER RENEWAL PROVISION 

This rider is renewable in the same manner as the Policy to which it is attached. 

TERMINATION 
This rider terminates: 
 
 a) when coverage terminates under the Policy to which this rider is attached; 
 b) when the premium for this rider is not paid before the end of the Grace Period; or 
 c) when the Insured Person gave Us Written Notice to terminate this rider. 
 
WELLNESS BENEFIT RIDER  HIC-ACC-WBR-AR 2/11.  Applied for:   Yes  No 

NUMBER OF UNITS SELECTED  1 Unit  2 Units 

For 2 Units of coverage, benefits are 2 times the amounts shown. 

We will pay $25 (twenty-five dollars) if You or any one eligible family member undergoes routine examinations or other 
preventive testing during the following Policy year.  Services covered are: annual physical examinations, dental exams, 
mammograms, Pap smears, eye examinations, immunizations, flexible sigmoidoscopies, prostate-specific antigen tests 
(PSAs), ultrasounds, and blood screenings.  The Benefit is limited to 2 visits per calendar year per Covered Person; and a 
maximum of 4 visits per calendar year if the policy is in force as family coverage.  Eligible Family Members are Your 
Spouse and the Dependent Children of either You or Your Spouse. Service must be under the supervision of or 
recommended by a Physician, received while Your Policy is in force, and a charge must be incurred. 

 
D. RENEWAL AGREEMENT 
 
Except for fraud or material misrepresentation, you have the right to renew this policy to age 70 as long as premiums are 
paid on time.  This policy will terminate on the last day of the period for which premium is paid unless continued in force 
during a grace period. 
 
E. TOTAL PREMIUM.  The annual premium is $________; if other than annual $ «PREM_TOTAL», mode monthly. 
 
A grace period of 31 days will be granted for the payment of each premium after the first.  Your policy remains in force 
during the grace period.  Family plan coverage may include the following:  you; your spouse; your unmarried dependent 
children under age 21 (25 if full-time student); grandchildren dependent upon you for income tax purposes; and children 
required to be insured under a medical support order by a court.  Incapacitated children are covered in accordance with 
the incapacitated child continuation provision in the policy. 
 
Premium Change 
We have the right to change the table of premium rates for this policy.  The change in premium will apply to all policies of this 
form number issued to insureds in your State of residence.  Premiums will be charged in accordance with the table of 
premium rates using the original classification.   
 
I hereby acknowledge that this outline of coverage was delivered to me on     , 20____. 
 
This outline of coverage is not a contract.  It is intended only as a general description of the policy provisions in the 
planning of your program.  The benefits are determined by the terms and conditions of the policy alone.  IN ALL CASES, 
CONSULT  YOUR POLICY FOR FULL DETAILS. 
 

RETAIN FOR YOUR RECORDS. 
THIS OUTLINE OF COVERAGE IS ONLY A BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE COVERAGE PROVIDED.  

THE POLICY ITSELF SHOULD BE CONSULTED TO DETERMINE 
GOVERNING CONTRACTUAL PROVISIONS 

 
 


	Filing Info
	Filing at a Glance
	State Filing Description
	General Information
	Filing Description
	Company and Contact
	Filing Fees

	Correspondence Summary
	Dispositions
	Objection Letters and Response Letters

	Disposition
	Objection Letter
	Response Letter
	Objection Letter
	Response Letter
	Form Schedule
	Attachment: HIC ACC POL AR 2-11.pdf
	Attachment: HIC ACC TDR AR 2-11.pdf
	Attachment: HIC-ACC-ABR-AR 2-11 .pdf
	Attachment: HIC-ACC-AMENDMENT.pdf
	Attachment: HIC-ACC-OOC-AR 2-11.pdf
	Attachment: HIC-ACC-APP-AR 2-11.pdf
	Rate Information
	Rate/Rule Schedule
	Attachment: Rates - Accident Policy.pdf
	Supporting Document Schedules
	Attachment: Cert of Comp. with Rule 19 Ind acc.pdf
	Attachment: Humana Insurance Company Authorization letter _2011_.pdf
	Superseded Schedule Items
	Attachment: HIC ACC POL AR 2-11.pdf
	Attachment: HIC-ACC-OOC-AR 2-11.pdf

