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These forms were approved for OneBeacon America Insurance Company on 03/26/2007 in State Tracking Number

35132.

 

As with the OneBeacon America Insurance Company filing and approval previously referenced, bracketed language is

either included or deleted and not amended within the brackets. Numerical data will continue to comply with state

minimum requirements.

 

The forms will become effective upon approval. 

 

If you have any questions, please call me at (609) 443-7540 or email me at stephaniey@coulter-and-associates.com.

Otherwise we look forward to your approval.
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---------
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Fee Explanation: $50.00 per form filing

Per Company: No
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Objection Letter

Objection Letter Status Pending Industry Response

Objection Letter Date 09/07/2011

Submitted Date 09/07/2011

Respond By Date

Dear Stephanie Young,

This will acknowledge receipt of the captioned filing.  
 

Objection 1

- Occupational Accident Policy, AH 200A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

- Occupational Accident Certificate of Insurance, AH 202A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

- Administrative Change Endorsement, AH 203A OA CW 08 11 (Form)

- Policyholder Application, AH 204A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

- Driver Enrollment and Beneficiary Form, AH 205A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

Comment:

 

Our filing fees under Rule and Regulation 57 have been updated.  Please review the General Instructions for

ArkansasLH or Rule and Regulation 57.

 

The fee for this submission is $50.00 per form for a total of $250.00.  Please submit an additional $200.00 for this

submission.

 

We will begin our review of this submission upon receipt of the additional filing fee.

 
 

A.C.A. 23-79-109(1)-(5) sets forth the procedure by which filings may be deemed approved upon the expiration of

certain time periods with no affirmative action by the commissioner.  If the commissioner determines that additional

information is needed to make a decision regarding approval, such request for information will be made to the company.

The filing will not be considered complete until said additional information is received. The time periods set forth in this

statute will not begin to run until the filing is complete.

 

Please feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Sincerely, 

Rosalind Minor



-

-

-

-

-
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Response Letter

Response Letter Status Submitted to State

Response Letter Date 09/07/2011

Submitted Date 09/07/2011
 

Dear Rosalind Minor,
 

Comments: 

This is in response to your objection letter dated 9/7/11.
 

Response 1
Comments: The additional filing fee of $200.00 has been submitted via EFT.

Related Objection 1

Applies To: 

Occupational Accident Policy, AH 200A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

Occupational Accident Certificate of Insurance, AH 202A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

Administrative Change Endorsement, AH 203A OA CW 08 11 (Form)

Policyholder Application, AH 204A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

Driver Enrollment and Beneficiary Form, AH 205A OA AR 08 11 (Form)

Comment: 

 

 

Our filing fees under Rule and Regulation 57 have been updated.  Please review the General Instructions for

ArkansasLH or Rule and Regulation 57.

 

The fee for this submission is $50.00 per form for a total of $250.00.  Please submit an additional $200.00 for this

submission.

 

We will begin our review of this submission upon receipt of the additional filing fee.

 
 

 

Changed Items: 
 

No Supporting Documents changed.
 

 

No Form Schedule items changed.
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No Rate/Rule Schedule items changed.
 

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please contact me at (609) 443-7540.  Otherwise, we look

forward to your approval.
 

Sincerely, 

Dana Suter, Linda Ryan-James, Mark Swercheck, Michael Vogel, Stephanie Young
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Lead Form Number: AH 200A OA AR

Schedule

Item

Status

Form

Number

Form Type Form Name Action Action Specific

Data

Readability Attachment

Approved-

Closed

09/08/2011

AH 200A

OA AR 08

11

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate

Occupational

Accident Policy

Initial 0.000 ASIC 200A

OA AR

Policy.pdf

Approved-

Closed

09/08/2011

AH 202A

OA AR 08

11

Certificate Occupational

Accident Certificate

of Insurance

Initial 0.000 ASIC 202A

OA AR

Certificate.pdf

Approved-

Closed

09/08/2011

AH 203A

OA CW 08

11

Policy/Cont

ract/Fratern

al

Certificate:

Amendmen

t,  Insert

Page,

Endorseme

nt or Rider

Administrative

Change

Endorsement

Initial 0.000 ASIC 203A

OA CW

Administrative

 Change

Endorsement.

pdf

Approved-

Closed

09/08/2011

AH 204A

OA AR 08

11

Application/

Enrollment

Form

Policyholder

Application

Initial 0.000 ASIC 204A

OA AR

Policyholder

Application.pd

f

Approved-

Closed

09/08/2011

AH 205A

OA AR 08

11

Application/

Enrollment

Form

Driver Enrollment

and Beneficiary Form

Initial 0.000 ASIC 205A

OA AR Driver

Enrollment

and

Beneficiary

Form.pdf



 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT POLICY 
 

FOR 

 
[POLICYHOLDER] 

 
 
 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 
THIS POLICY IS NOT A WORKERS’ COMPENSATION POLICY AND IS NOT A 

SUBSTITUTE FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGE 

 
THIS POLICY PROVIDES COVERAGE FOR LOSSES DUE TO ACCIDENTS ONLY 

IT DOES NOT PROVIDE COVERAGE FOR SICKNESS OR  
LOSSES DUE TO SICKNESS 

AND IT DOES NOT COVER ANY PERSON WHO IS REQUIRED TO BE COVERED BY A 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION POLICY 

 

 
 

This Policy is a Legal Contract between the Policyholder and the Insurer. 
 

Please read this Policy carefully. 
 
 
 
 
Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company 
[1 Beacon Lane 
Canton, MA 02021-1030] 
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POLICYHOLDER:    [ABC Company]  

[123 Street 
      City, State 12345] 
       
POLICY NUMBER:    [1234567] 
 
POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE:   [January 1, 2007] 
 
POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE:  [January 1st] 
 
 
[COVERED SUBSIDIARIES OR 
AFFILIATED COMPANIES   [Names of Companies]] 
 
 
This Policy is a legal contract between the Policyholder and the Insurer.  The Insurer agrees to insure Eligible Persons of 
the Policyholder, for whom premium is paid, against loss covered by this Policy, subject to its provisions, limitations and 
exclusions. 
 
 
This Policy takes effect on the Policy Effective Date.  All periods of insurance begin and end when 12:01 AM, Standard 
Time occurs at the Policyholder’s address.  This Policy remains in force for the period for which premium has been paid. 
 
 
 
 
This Policy is governed by the laws of the state in which it is delivered. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In Witness Whereof, We have caused this Policy to be executed and attested, and, if required by state law, this Policy shall 
not be valid unless countersigned by our authorized representative. 
 
 

      
  
Dennis R. Smith, Secretary    Michael Miller, President & CEO 
Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company   Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company 

 
 
 
 
Countersigned_________________________________________________________ 

Authorized Representative    Date 
 
 
 

READ THIS POLICY CAREFULLY 
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SECTION I – ELIGIBILITY, EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERMINATION DATE 

 

 
ELIGIBLILTY 

The following persons are eligible to become Insured Persons [provided they are [eighteen (18)] years of age and 
under Dispatch an average of [thirty (30)] hours each week (i.e. Actively at Work)]: 

Class I: 

[All Actively at Work Owner-Operators who enroll for coverage under this Policy. For purposes of this Policy an 
Owner-Operator must lease to or from the Policyholder and must: 

1. have a valid and current Commercial Driver's License; 

2. own or lease a power unit; 

3. be responsible for the maintenance of the power unit; 

4. be responsible for the operating costs of the power unit, including but not limited to fuel, repairs, supplies and other 
expenses associated with the operation of the power unit; 

5. be responsible for maintaining physical damage insurance on the power unit; 

6. be responsible for hiring and supervising personnel who operate the power unit; 

7. be compensated on a basis other than time expended in the performance of work; 

8. be responsible for determining the route and hours for an assignment; 

9. have the right to select the load; 

10. have a written contract or assignment from the person who has engaged his or her services which provides that he or 
she is an independent contractor; 

11. be classified as an independent contractor by the person who has engaged his or her services and not as an employee 
for purposes of workers' compensation insurance, federal income taxes, state income taxes, social security, 
unemployment insurance or for any other purpose; [and] 

12. [not be an employee of the Policyholder;] [and] 

13. [receive a 1099 form for federal income tax reporting purposes, not a W-2.]] 
 

[Class II:] 

[All Actively at Work Contract Drivers who enroll for coverage under this Policy. For purposes of this Policy, a 
Contract Driver must: 

1. have a valid and current Commercial Driver's License; 

2. be authorized by an Owner-Operator or motor carrier to operate a power unit owned or leased by an Owner-
Operator. (The Contract Driver must neither own nor lease the power unit.); 

3. be compensated on a basis other than time expended in the performance of work; 

4. be responsible for determining the route and hours for an assignment; 

5. operate the power unit of the person who has engaged his or her services as an independent contractor. (Operating the 
unit must be the principal duty of the Contract Driver.) 

6. be classified as an independent contractor by the person who has engaged his or her services and not as an employee 
for purposes of workers' compensation insurance, federal income taxes, state income taxes, social security, 
unemployment insurance or for any other purpose; 

7. [receive a 1099 form for federal income tax reporting purposes, not a W-2; 

8. [not be an employee of the Policyholder;] 

9. [not be an employee of the Owner-Operator;] [and] 

10. [not be an employee of the Policyholder or Owner-Operator unless it is not mandatory for workers’ compensation 
coverage to be provided for such person as an employee of either the Policyholder or an Owner-Operator.]] 

 

[Class III:] 

[As requested by the Policyholder] 
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The Insured Person cannot be covered by any other Occupational Accident Policy issued by Us.  

If the Insured Person pays premium but is not eligible for coverage or does not qualify for benefits under this Policy, 
We will refund any premium paid in error. 
 

INSURED PERSON’S EFFECTIVE DATE 

Class I-[Owner-Operator]: [An [Owner-Operator's] coverage under this Policy begins on the latest of: 

1. the Policy Effective Date; 

2. the date the person becomes a member of an eligible Class as described above; 

3. if an individual enrollment form is required, the date the completed enrollment form is received by the 
Policyholder or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder.] 

 

[Class II]-[Contract Driver]: [A [Contract Driver's] coverage under this Policy begins on the latest of: 

1. the Policy Effective Date; 

2. the date the person becomes a member of an eligible Class as described above; 

3. if an individual enrollment form is required, the date the completed enrollment form is received by the 
Policyholder or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder.] 

 

[Class III]-[as requested by Policyholder]: [as requested by Policyholder]] 
 

[Coverage will not become effective until the first premium payment is paid when due. If premium is paid when due, 
coverage is effective on the later of 1, 2 or 3 above. If premium is not paid when due, coverage will not be in effect.] 
 

INSURED PERSON’S TERMINATION DATE 

Class I-[Owner-Operator]: [An [Owner-Operator's] coverage under this Policy ends on the earliest of: 

1. the date this Policy is terminated; 

2. the premium due date, if premiums are not paid when due, subject to the Grace Period; 

3. the date the [Owner-Operator] requests, in writing, that his or her coverage be terminated; or 

4. the date the [Owner-Operator] ceases to be a member of an eligible Class as described above.] 
 
[Class II]-[Contract Driver]: [A [Contract Driver's] coverage under this Policy ends on the earliest of: 

1. the date this Policy is terminated;  

2. the premium due date, if premiums are not paid when due, subject to the Grace Period; 

3. the date the [Contract Driver] requests, in writing, that his or her coverage be terminated;  

4. the date the [Contract Driver] ceases to be a member of an eligible Class as described above; or 

5. [the date the [Owner-Operator], with respect to whom the [Contract Driver] is under contract, ceases to be a 
member of an eligible Class as described above.]] 

 
[Class III]-[as requested by Policyholder]: [as requested by Policyholder] 
 

A change in an Insured Person’s coverage under this Policy, due to a change in the Insured Person’s eligible Class or 
benefit selection, becomes effective on the later of: (1) the date the change in his or her eligible Class or benefit selection 
occurs; or (2) if the change requires a change in premium, the date the first changed premium is paid. However, a change in 
coverage applies only with respect to Covered Accidents that occur after the change becomes effective. 
 
Subject to the terms, conditions, exclusions and limitations of this Policy, termination of coverage will not affect a claim 
for a Covered Loss that occurs either before or after such termination, if that Covered Loss results from an Accident that 
occurred while the Insured Person's coverage was in force under this Policy. 
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SECTION II – SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
 

 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
 
Accidental Death Benefit: 

Principal Sum *..................................................................................................................[$50,000] 
Accident Commencement Period.................................................................................... [365 days] 

Survivor's Benefit: 
Principal Sum *................................................................................................................[$175,000] 
[Monthly Benefit Percentage………………………………………….……………..……[1.0%]] 
[Monthly Benefit Amount .......................................................................................................[$1,750]] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
Principal Sum *................................................................................................................[$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period.................................................................................... [365 days] 

Paralysis Benefit: 
Principal Sum *................................................................................................................[$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period.................................................................................... [365 days] 

Temporary Total Disability Benefit: 
Disability Commencement Period..................................................................................... [90 days] 
Waiting Period ..................................................................................................................... [7 days] 
Benefit Percentage…………………………………………………………………….……[66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount ........................................................................................ [$125] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount ....................................................................................... [$475] 

   Maximum Benefit Period **..........................................................................................[104 weeks] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Hernia..................................................................................[10 weeks]] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Occupational Cumulative Trauma 
        and/or Repetitive Conditions .....................................................................................[10 weeks]] 

Continuous Total Disability Benefit: *** 
Waiting Period .................................. [Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary Total Disability] 

 Benefit Percentage ....................................................................................................................[66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount .......................................................................................... [$50] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount ....................................................................................... [$475] 
Maximum Benefit Amount..............................................................................................[$300,000] 
Maximum Benefit Period ................................................................................................ [to age 70] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period ....................................................................................... [90 days] 
Deductible Amount ................................................................................................................. [$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period...........................................................................................[104 weeks] 

 Dental Maximum ............................................................................................[$1,000.00 per Accident] 
 Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident ........................................................................[$750,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ............................................................................................[$100,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy……...[[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                                              [and] [a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy,  
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy................................. [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance...............................................................  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                                   [but] [not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance……..……………………….……...….[[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                                  [but] [not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 
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[Hernia Coverage……………………………………...lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 

Mental and Nervous – Outpatient..................................................................  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                 [maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 

Mental and Nervous – Inpatient .............................................................  [maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                   [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or 
       Repetitive Conditions..................................... lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 

 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit .....................................................................................  [$750,000] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability ..........................................................................  [$1,500,000] 
       (applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Occupational Accident) 

• [Hernia Coverage..................................combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions 
                                                       .........combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Pre-Existing Condition Limitation ...................................................................  [$10,000]] 

 
 

 
 

 

 
*At age [65], the Insured Person's Principal Sum will be based on the following schedule: 

Age at Date of Loss                                                % of Principal Sum 
65 [80%] 

66 [60%] 

67 [40%] 
68 [20%] 

69 [15%] 
            [70 and over]                                                         [10%]    
 
** If an Insured Person sustains a Covered Injury at or after age [70], the Maximum Benefit Period will be [one 

(1) year]. 
 
 
***If an Insured Person sustains a Covered Injury after the Insured Person’s normal Social Security retirement 

age, as determined by federal law, the Insured Person cannot qualify for Continuous Total Disability.
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NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
 
Accidental Death Benefit: 

 Principal Sum * ...................................................................................................................…[$7,500] 
Accident Commencement Period........................................................................................[365 days] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
  Principal Sum *.. ..................................................................................................................... [$7,500] 

Accident Commencement Period…………………………………………………….........[365 days] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period ...........................................................................................[90 days] 
Deductible Amount ........................................................................................................................[$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period.................................................................................................... [52 weeks] 
Dental Maximum ....................................................................................................[$1,000 per Accident] 
Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident............................................................................... [$5,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ................................................................................................. [$10,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy.................  [[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                                                    [and][a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy, 
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy ........................................... [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance .........................................................................  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                           [but][not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance……………………………………….......[[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                              [but][not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 

Mental and Nervous – Outpatient......................................................................  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                      [maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 

Mental and Nervous – Inpatient………………………...……………..……[maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                       [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

 

NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit ..........................................................................................................  [$7,500] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability................................................................................................. [$15,000] 
(applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Non-Occupational Accident) 

 

 

 

 

* At age [65], the Insured Person's Principal Sum will be based on the following schedule: 

Age at Date of Loss                                                % of Principal Sum 
65                                                                    [80%] 

66                                                                    [60%] 

67                                                                    [40%] 
68                                                                    [20%] 

69                                                                    [15%] 
              [70 and over]                                                         [10%] 
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SECTION III – PREMIUM 

 

 
Premium Due Date: [01/01/2007] and 1st of each month thereafter 

 
Premium Amount: 

Class I: $[0.00] per [Owner-Operator] per month 

[Class II:] [$[0.00] per [Contract Driver] per month]  

[Class III:] [$[0.00] per [as requested by Policyholder] per month] 
 

An Insured Person who enrolls on or prior to the fifteenth of the month will pay an amount equal to the full monthly 
premium.  No premium will be payable for the last full or partial month of coverage. 
 

An Insured Person who enrolls after the fifteenth of the month will pay a premium equal to the full monthly premium 
beginning on the first of the month following the month during which coverage becomes effective.  With respect to the last 
full or partial month of coverage, the Insured Person will pay an amount equal to the monthly premium. 
 
 

Grace Period: 
 

For the Policy:   A Grace Period of [ninety (90)] days will be provided for the payment of any premium due after the first 
premium. This Policy will not be terminated for nonpayment of premium during the Grace Period if the Policyholder 
pays all premiums due by the last day of the Policy Grace Period. This Policy will terminate on the premium due date 
if all premiums due are not paid by the last day of the Policy Grace Period. 

 

If We expressly agree to accept late payment of a premium without terminating this Policy, We do so in accordance 
with the Noncompliance With Policy Requirements provision in the GENERAL PROVISIONS Section of this Policy. 
In such case, the Policyholder will be liable to Us for any unpaid premiums for the time this Policy is in force, plus all 
costs and expenses (including, but not limited to, reasonable attorney fees, collection fees and court costs) incurred by 
Us in the collection of all overdue amounts.  

 

No Grace Period will be provided if We receive notice to terminate this Policy prior to a premium due date.  
 

For the Insured Person:  A Grace Period of [thirty (30)] days will be provided for the payment of any premium due after 
the first premium. The Insured Person’s coverage will not be terminated for nonpayment of premium during the 
Grace Period if the Insured Person pays the premiums due by the last day of the Grace Period. The Insured Person’s 
coverage will terminate if all premiums due are not paid by the last day of the Grace Period. 

 

No Grace Period will be provided if We receive notice to terminate the Insured Person’s coverage prior to a premium 
due date. 

 
Change of Premium Amount:   Premiums are payable to Us at the rates and in the manner described above. We may 
change the required premiums due by giving the Policyholder at least [sixty (60)] days advance written notice. We may 
change the required premiums as a condition of any renewal of this Policy. We may also change the required premiums at 
any time when any change affecting premiums is made in this Policy. 
 

We may re-underwrite and may change the terms and conditions of this Policy, including the premium rate, on the date 
when the number of Insured Persons under this Policy exceeds or is less than the number of Insured Persons in the prior 
month by [15%] or more. The Policyholder will provide Us with written notice of such increase or decrease in the number 
of Insured Persons at least [thirty (30) days] prior to the effective date of such change.  
 
 
Waiver of Premium:   Subject to this Policy remaining in force, all premiums due under this Policy with respect to an 
Insured Person receiving either a Temporary Total Disability Benefit or Continuous Total Disability Benefit under this 
Policy will be waived. Premiums will be waived from the first premium due date on or after the date the Temporary Total 
Disability Benefit or the Continuous Total Disability Benefit begins. Premium payments must be resumed on the 
premium due date next following the date the Insured Person’s Temporary Total Disability Benefit or Continuous 
Total Disability Benefit ceases. If premium payments are not resumed on that date, the Insured Person’s coverage under 
this Policy will end on that date. The Insured Person is responsible for reporting Waiver of Premium to the Policyholder 
or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder or Us. 
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SECTION IV – BENEFITS 
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFIT 

If a Covered Injury to an Insured Person results in death within the Accident Commencement Period shown in the 
Schedule, We will pay the Principal Sum shown in the Schedule. The Accident Commencement Period starts on 
the date of the Accident that caused such Injury. If the Insured Person suffers an Accidental Death such that an 
Accidental Death Benefit is payable under this Policy, We will pay the beneficiary in accordance with the Payment of 
Claims provision. 

Survivor's Benefit 

The Monthly Benefit Amount will be as described in the Schedule. The Monthly Benefit Amount will be paid to the 
surviving Spouse up to the Principal Sum shown in the Schedule. 

If the Insured Person is not survived by a Spouse, or if the Insured Person's Spouse dies or remarries, We 
will pay or continue to pay the Survivor's Benefit to the Insured Person's surviving Dependent Child(ren), if 
any. If there is more than one surviving Dependent Child, the Survivor's Benefit will be distributed equally among 
the surviving Dependent Children. The payment of the monthly Survivor's Benefit will end on the earliest of the 
following dates: 

1. the date the Spouse dies or remarries, if there are no Dependent Child(ren); 

2. the date the last Dependent Child dies or is no longer eligible as defined in the GENERAL DEFINITIONS Section of 
this Policy; or 

3. the date the Principal Sum has been paid. 

If the Insured Person is not survived by a Spouse or any Dependent Child(ren), We will pay only the Accidental 
Death Benefit in accordance with the Payment of Claims provision of this Policy. We will not pay a Survivor's 
Benefit. 

Exposure and Disappearance 
If an Insured Person is exposed to weather because of an Accident and this results in a Covered Loss, We will pay the 
applicable Principal Sum, subject to all Policy terms. 

If the body of an Insured Person has not been found within 365 days after the disappearance, stranding, sinking or 
wrecking of a [power unit] in which that person was an occupant, then it will be presumed, subject to all other terms and 
provisions of this Policy, that the Insured Person has suffered Accidental Death within the meaning of this Policy. If 
the Insured Person is subsequently found alive and identified, We have the right to recover any benefits paid. 
 

ACCIDENTAL DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT 

If Injury to an Insured Person results in any one of the Covered Losses specified below, within the 
Accident Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Percentage of the Principal Sum 
indicated below. 

For Covered Loss of: Percentage of the Principal Sum 

Both Hands or Both Feet ...............................................................................[100%] 

Sight of Both Eyes .........................................................................................[100%] 

One Hand and One Foot.................................................................................[100%] 

One Hand and the Sight of One Eye .............................................................[100%] 

One Foot and the Sight of One Eye ...............................................................[100%] 

One Hand or One Foot ...................................................................................[50%] 

Sight of One Eye ............................................................................................[50%] 

Thumb and Index Finger of Same Hand .......................................................[25%] 
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For purposes of the Accidental Dismemberment Benefit, Loss will mean: 

Loss of a hand or foot means complete severance through or above the wrist or ankle joint. Loss of sight of an eye means 
total and irrecoverable loss of the entire sight in that eye. Loss of thumb and index finger means complete severance 
through or above the metacarpophalangeal joint of both digits. 
If more than one Loss is sustained by an Insured Person as a result of the same Covered Accident, only one amount, the 
largest, will be paid. 

PARALYSIS BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

If a Covered Injury to an Insured Person results in any Type of Paralysis specified below, within the Accident 
Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Percentage of the Principal Sum indicated below. 

Type of Paralysis: Percentage of the Principal Sum 

Quadriplegia.....................................................................................................[100%] 

Paraplegia..........................................................................................................[75%] 

Hemiplegia ........................................................................................................[50%] 

Uniplegia ...........................................................................................................[25%] 

Quadriplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of both upper and both lower Limbs. Paraplegia means the 
complete and irreversible paralysis of both lower Limbs. Hemiplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of the 
upper and lower Limbs of the same side of the body. Uniplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of one 
Limb. For purposes of this benefit Limb means entire arm or entire leg.  

If the Insured Person sustains more than one Type of Paralysis as a result of the same Covered Accident, only the largest 
single amount will be considered a Covered Loss. 

TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY (TTD) BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

TTD Benefit Qualifications. 

If a Covered Injury to an Insured Person results in Temporary Total Disability within the Disability 
Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Temporary Total Disability Benefit specified below, 
subject to satisfaction of any applicable Waiting Period shown in the Schedule. The Disability Commencement 
Period starts on the date of the Accident that caused such Injury. After the Waiting Period has been satisfied, the 
Temporary Total Disability Benefit will be payable from the day the Waiting Period was satisfied.  

TTD Benefit Amount. 

The Temporary Total Disability Benefit with respect to each week of an Insured Person's Temporary Total 
Disability during a Single Period of Total Disability is equal to the lesser of:  

1.  the Benefit Percentage (as shown in the Schedule) of the Insured Person's Average Weekly Earnings; or  

2.  the Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule. 

In no event will the Weekly Benefit Amount be less than the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the 
Schedule.  
The Temporary Total Disability Benefit with respect to less than a full Benefit Week of Temporary Total Disability 
equals 1/7th of the Weekly Benefit Amount for each day of Temporary Total Disability.  

TTD Benefit Calculation. 

For the purposes of this Temporary Total Disability Benefit, Average Weekly Earnings will be calculated as follows:  

 For Class I [Owner-Operators]: 
[[Thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income the Insured Person received in the prior year as shown in his or 
her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by 52, regardless of his or her prior occupation. If the 
Insured Person worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [thirty-three percent (33%)] of the 
gross income received in the prior year as shown in his or her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, 
divided by the number of weeks worked, regardless of his or her prior occupation. The Insured Person will have to 
produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of weeks worked, if he or she is claiming less than [fifty 
(50)] weeks.]   

 [For Class II] [Contract Drivers]: 
[[Seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income the Insured Person received in the prior year as shown in his or  
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her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by 52 regardless  
of his or her prior occupation. If the Insured Person worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then 
[seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income received in the prior year as shown in his or her federal income tax 
return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by the number of weeks worked, 
regardless of his or her prior occupation. The Insured Person will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to 
Us, of the number of weeks worked if he or she is claiming less than [fifty (50)] weeks.]  

If the Insured Person did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for 
the prior year but has worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the 
current year, We will divide the gross income earned in the current year by the number of weeks worked in the current 
year. The Insured Person will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of his or her gross income and the 
number of weeks worked.  

If the Insured Person did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for 
the prior year and has not worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in 
the current year, We will award the Insured Person the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

TTD Benefit Offsets. 

Subject to the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount, the Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by: (1) Social Security 
Disability Benefits, excluding any amounts for which the Insured Person's Dependents may qualify because of the 
Insured Person's Disability; (2) Social Security Retirement Benefits; (3) Individual or Group Disability Benefits; (4) the 
amount of any disability income benefits from any automobile or no-fault policy or insurance; (5) the amount the 
Insured Person receives as compensation for lost wages or lost income in a lawsuit or the settlement of a lawsuit; and 
(6) any income from employment or services, or from leasing the Insured Person’s power unit. The Insured Person 
must provide tax schedules and returns to Us for the purpose of calculating this offset. 

TTD Benefit Termination. 

The Temporary Total Disability Benefit will cease on the earliest of the following dates: 

1.  the date the Insured Person is no longer Temporarily Totally Disabled;  

2.  the date the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule has been reached;  

3.  the date on which the Temporary Total Disability is not substantiated by objective medical evidence satisfactory to 
Us; or 

4.  the date the Insured Person dies. 

TTD Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Temporary Total Disability Benefit: 

Benefit Week means a 7-day period of time that begins on the first day of Temporary Total Disability after the 
Waiting Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability, and on the same day of each week 
thereafter. 

Continuous Care means monthly monitoring and/or evaluation of the disabling condition by a Physician. We must 
receive proof of continuing Temporary Total Disability on a monthly basis.  

Disability Commencement Period means the time period, shown in the Schedule, between the date of the Accident that 
caused the Injury and the date that Temporary Total Disability must begin for disability benefits to be payable under 
this Policy.  

Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to Temporary Total Disability, the maximum period for which benefits 
will be payable for a Temporary Total Disability Covered Loss during a Single Period of Total Disability. The 
Maximum Benefit Period begins after the Waiting Period, as indicated in the Schedule, has been satisfied. The 
length of the Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary Total Disability is shown in the Schedule.  

Single Period of Total Disability means all periods of Temporary Total Disability due to the same or related causes 
(whether or not insurance has been interrupted) except any of the following which are considered separate periods of 
disability: (1) successive periods of Temporary Total Disability due to entirely different and unrelated causes, 
separated by at least one full day during which the Insured Person is not Temporarily Totally Disabled; (2) 
successive periods of Temporary Total Disability due to the same or related causes, separated by at least 6 months 
during which the Insured Person is not Temporarily Totally Disabled. 

Temporary Total Disability or Temporarily Totally Disabled means disability that: (1) prevents an Insured Person 
from performing the Material and Substantial Duties of his or her occupation [as a commercial truck driver]; (2) 
requires the care and treatment of a Physician; and (3) requires that, and results in, the Insured Person receiving 
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Continuous Care. If the Insured Person does not adhere to the treatment plan the Physician prescribes relating to his 
or her disabling condition, the Insured Person will not qualify for the Temporary Total Disability Benefit.  

[For purposes of this section "Material and Substantial Duties" will mean a duty or duties which the Insured Person 
is required to perform as an [Owner-Operator] [or] [Contract Driver].] 

CONTINUOUS TOTAL DISABILITY (CTD) BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

CTD Benefit Qualifications. 

If a Covered Injury to an Insured Person resulting in Temporary Total Disability, subsequently results in 
Continuous Total Disability, We will pay the Continuous Total Disability Benefit specified below, provided: 

1. the benefits payable for the Temporary Total Disability Covered Loss ceased solely because the Maximum 
Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability has been reached, but the Insured Person 
remains disabled; 

2.  the Insured Person is under the normal Social Security retirement age, as determined by federal law, on the day 
after the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability has been reached; 

3.  the Insured Person has been granted a Social Security Disability Award for his or her disability (If the Insured 
Person cannot meet the credit requirement for a Social Security Award, he or she cannot qualify for the Continuous 
Total Disability Benefit even if he or she would otherwise qualify); 

4.  the Insured Person’s disability is reasonably expected to continue without interruption until the Insured Person 
dies, and is substantiated by objective medical evidence satisfactory to Us; 

5.  the Injury began within the Disability Commencement Period shown in the Schedule; and 

6.  [the Temporary Total Disability was not principally due to a Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition. (If 
the Temporary Total Disability was principally due to a Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition, the 
Insured Person does not qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit.)] 

An Insured Person cannot qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit unless the Insured Person qualified for a 
Temporary Total Disability Benefit for the same Covered Injury. 

Sunset Period: If the Insured Person is not granted a Social Security Award for his or her disability within two (2) 
years of the Injury, the Insured Person cannot qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit even if he or she 
would otherwise qualify. 

CTD Benefit Amount. 

The Weekly Benefit Amount will be the lesser of the benefit percentage, as shown in the Schedule, of the Average 
Weekly Earnings, or the Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule. In no event will the Weekly 
Benefit Amount be less than the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

The Continuous Total Disability Benefit with respect to less than a full Benefit Week of Continuous Total Disability 
equals 1/7th of the Weekly Benefit for each day of Continuous Total Disability.  

CTD Benefit Calculation. 

For purposes of this Continuous Total Disability Benefit, Average Weekly Earnings will be calculated as follows: 

 For Class I [Owner-Operators]:  
[[Thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income the Insured Person received in the prior year as shown in his or 
her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by 52, regardless of his or her prior occupation. If the 
Insured Person worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [thirty-three percent (33%)] of the 
gross income received in the prior year as shown in his or her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, 
divided by the number of weeks worked, regardless of his or her prior occupation. The Insured Person will have to 
produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of weeks worked if he or she is claiming less than [fifty 
(50) weeks].]  

 [For Class II] [Contract Drivers]: 
[[Seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income the Insured Person received in the prior year as shown in his or 
her federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by 52 regardless 
of his or her prior occupation. If the Insured Person worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then 
[seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income received in the prior year as shown in his or her federal income tax 
return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by the number of weeks worked, 
regardless of his or her prior occupation. The Insured Person will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to 
Us, of the number of weeks worked, if he or she is claiming less than [fifty (50) weeks].]  
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If the Insured Person did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for 
the prior year but has worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the 
current year, We will divide the gross income earned in the current year by the number of weeks worked in the current 
year. The Insured Person will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of his or her gross income and the 
number of weeks worked.  

If the Insured Person did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for 
the prior year and has not worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in 
the current year, We will award the Insured Person the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

CTD Benefit Offsets. 

Subject to the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount, the Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by: (1) Social Security 
Disability Benefits, excluding any amounts for which the Insured Person's Dependents may qualify because of the 
Insured Person's Disability; (2) Social Security Retirement Benefits; (3) Individual or Group Disability Benefits; (4) the 
amount of any disability income benefits from any automobile or no-fault policy or insurance; (5) the amount the 
Insured Person receives as compensation for lost wages or lost income in a lawsuit or the settlement of a lawsuit; and 
(6) any income from employment or services, or from leasing the Insured Person’s power unit. The Insured Person 
must provide tax schedules and returns to Us for the purpose of calculating this offset.  

CTD Benefit Termination. 

The Continuous Total Disability Benefit will cease on the earliest of the following dates: 

1.  the date the Insured Person is no longer Continuously Totally Disabled;  

2.  the date the Insured Person's Social Security Disability Award ceases;  

3.  the date the Insured Person attains age [70];  

4.  the date the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Continuous Total Disability has been reached; 

5.  the date the Maximum Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule for Continuous Total Disability has been reached;  

6.  the date on which Continuous Total Disability is not substantiated by objective medical evidence satisfactory to 
Us; or  

7.  the date the Insured Person dies.  

CTD Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Continuous Total Disability Benefit: 

Benefit Week means a 7-day period of time that begins on the day after the Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary 
Total Disability has been reached, and on the same day of each week thereafter.  

Continuous Care means at least quarterly monitoring and/or evaluation of the disabling condition by a Physician. We 
must receive proof of continuing Continuous Total Disability on a quarterly basis. These requirements may be 
waived by Us.  

Continuous Total Disability or Continuously Totally Disabled means disability that: (1) prevents an Insured Person 
from performing the duties of any occupation for which he or she is qualified by reason of education, training or 
experience; (2) requires the care and treatment of a Physician; and (3) requires that, and results in, the Insured Person 
receiving Continuous Care. If the Insured Person does not adhere to the treatment plan the Physician prescribes 
relating to his or her disabling condition, the Insured Person will not qualify for a Continuous Total Disability 
Benefit.  

If the Insured Person can perform an occupation which would provide an annual gross income equal to or greater than 
either the gross income from wages and/or the net income reported on Schedule C which the Insured Person filed on 
his or her most recent federal income tax return filed prior to the Covered Injury, the Insured Person is not 
Continuously Totally Disabled. The Insured Person must provide Us with such federal income tax return in order to 
qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit.  

Maximum Benefit Amount means, with respect to Continuous Total Disability, the maximum benefits payable for 
Continuous Total Disability Covered Losses.  

Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to Continuous Total Disability, the maximum period for which benefits 
will be payable for a Continuous Total Disability Covered Loss. The Maximum Benefit Period begins after the 
Waiting Period, as indicated in the Schedule, has been satisfied. The length of the Maximum Benefit Period for 
Continuous Total Disability is shown in the Schedule. Benefits payable under the Temporary Total Disability 
Benefit will not be considered Continuous Total Disability Benefits for purposes of applying the Maximum Benefit 
Period.  
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Terms used in this Continuous Total Disability Benefit, but which refer to Temporary Total Disability and are defined 
in the Temporary Total Disability Benefit, are to be interpreted as defined in that Benefit. 

ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE (AME) BENEFIT 

AME Benefit Qualifications. 

If an Insured Person suffers an Injury that requires him or her to be treated by a Physician, within the Medical 
Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Usual and Customary Charges incurred for 
Medically Necessary Covered Accident Medical Services received due to that Injury, up to the Maximum Benefit 
Amount and Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule, per Insured Person, for all Injuries caused by a 
single Covered Accident, subject to any applicable Deductible Amount. 

The Medical Commencement Period starts on the date of the Accident that caused such Injury. The Deductible 
Amount for the Accident Medical Expense Benefit is the Deductible Amount shown in the Schedule, if any, which 
must be met from Usual and Customary Charges for Medically Necessary Covered Accident Medical Services 
incurred due to Injuries sustained by the Insured Person in that Covered Accident. [If the Injury is related to a Pre-
Existing Condition, the Accident Medical Expense Benefit will be subject to the limit as shown in the Schedule.] 

AME Benefit Covered Accident Medical Services. 

1. Hospital semi-private room and board (or room and board in an intensive care unit), Hospital ancillary services 
(including but not limited to, use of the operating room or emergency room), or use of an Ambulatory Medical 
Center; 

2. Services of a Physician or a qualified nurse, if under the supervision of a Graduate Registered Nurse (RN), for 
Home Health Care which follows a [five (5)] day period of Hospital confinement and which is prescribed by 
a Physician; 

3. Services by a qualified Physician for the treatment of a covered Mental and Nervous Condition due to a 
Covered Injury. However, such charges will be considered a Covered Accident Medical Expense only to the 
extent that the charges do not exceed [$25.00] per visit and are further limited to one visit per day with a 
maximum of [twenty (20)] visits. Hospital charges for in-patient treatment of a Mental and Nervous 
Condition, whether in a psychiatric Hospital or a general Hospital, will be considered a Covered Accident 
Medical Expense and will be limited to up to a [twenty (20)] day inpatient maximum; 

4. Ambulance, including air ambulance, service to or from a Hospital for [one] round trip; 

5. Laboratory tests; 

6. Radiological procedures; 

7. Anesthetics and the administration of anesthetics; 

8. Blood, blood products and artificial blood products, and the transfusion thereof; 

9. Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy and Chiropractic or Acupuncturist Care 
as shown in the Schedule; 

10. Rental of Durable Medical Equipment, up to the actual purchase price of such equipment; 

11. The initial supply, but not replacement of: casts, splints, trusses, braces, artificial limbs and artificial eyes 
subject to the Accident Medical Expense Benefit Exclusions section; 

12. Medicines or drugs administered by a Physician or that can be obtained only with a Physician's written 
prescription; 

13. Repair or replacement of Sound Natural Teeth damaged or lost as a result of a Covered Injury, up to the Dental 
Maximum, if any, shown in the Schedule. 

14.  Extended Care Facilities; or  

15.  Home Health Care. 

The foregoing Covered Accident Medical Services are subject to all of the limits as shown in the Schedule. 

AME Benefit Exclusions. 

In addition to the GENERAL EXCLUSIONS in SECTION VI of this Policy, charges for Covered Accident 
Medical Services do not include, and benefits are not payable with respect to, any expense for or resulting from: 

 repair or replacement of existing artificial limbs, artificial eyes or other prosthetic appliances or repair of 
existing Durable Medical Equipment unless for the purpose of modifying the item because Injury has 
caused further impairment in the underlying bodily condition; 

 dentures, bridges, dental implants, or treatment not related to the Injury; 
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 eye glasses or contact lenses; 

 hearing aids or hearing examinations; 

 that portion of rental expense for Durable Medical Equipment that exceeds the usual purchase cost for similar 
equipment in the locality where the expense is incurred; 

 Custodial Services; 

 Personal Comfort or Convenience Items; 

 services of a Federal, Veteran's, State or Municipal Hospital for which an Insured Person is not liable for 
payment; 

 services or treatment which is covered by Medicare; 

 that portion of the fee for services or treatment which is more than the Usual and Customary Charge; 

 cosmetic, plastic or restorative surgery unless Medically Necessary for the treatment of an Injury; 

 services or treatment which are provided for in a settlement or court judgment; 

 services or treatment which are covered under any other insurance of any kind; 

 services or treatment for which an Insured Person is not legally obligated to pay; 

 an Extended Care Facility stay that does not follow a Hospital confinement of [five (5)] days or more; 

 any mileage charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us; 

 any translation charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us; or 

 any lodging charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us. 

AME Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 

Ambulatory Medical Center means a facility that meets all of the following requirements: 

1. operates under the laws of the state that it is situated in; 

2. has a staff of Physicians and permanent facilities that are equipped and operated primarily for the purpose 
of providing medical services or performing subject procedures; and 

3. provides continuous Physician and Graduate Registered Nurse (RN) services whenever a patient is in the facility. 
An Ambulatory Medical Center does not include a Hospital or a Physician's office or a clinic. 

Custodial Services means any services which are not intended primarily to treat a specific Injury. Custodial 
Services include, but will not be limited to, services: (1) related to watching or protecting the Insured Person; (2) 
related to performing or assisting the Insured Person in performing any activities of daily living, such as: (a) 
walking; (b) grooming; (c) bathing; (d) dressing; (e) getting in or out of bed; (f) toileting; (g) eating; (h) 
preparing foods; or (i) taking medications that can usually be self-administered; and (3) that are not required to be 
performed by trained or skilled medical or paramedical personnel. 

Durable Medical Equipment refers to equipment of a type that is designed primarily for use, and used primarily by 
people who are injured (for example, a wheelchair or a Hospital bed). It does not include items commonly used by 
people who are not injured, even if the items can be used in the treatment of Injury or can be used for rehabilitation or 
improvement of health (for example, a stationary bicycle or a spa). 

Extended Care Facility means an institution that meets all of the following requirements: 

1. operates under the laws of the state that it is situated in; 

2. is approved by the Department of Health and Human Services or its successor; 

3. is regularly engaged in providing skilled nursing care of sick or injured persons as inpatients at the patient's 
expense; 

4. provides 24 hour a day nursing service by or under the supervision of a Graduate Registered Nurse (RN); 

5. provides skilled nursing care under the supervision of a Physician; and 

6. maintains a daily medical record of each patient. 

Home Health Care means nursing care and treatment of an Insured Person in his or her home as part of an 
overall extended treatment plan. To qualify, the extended treatment plan must: 

1. be approved in writing by the attending Physician; 
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2. be provided by a Hospital certified to provide Home Health services or by a certified Home Health Care 
agency; 

3. begin within [seven (7)] days after discharge from a Hospital; and 

4. follow a Hospital confinement of [five (5)] days or more. 

No benefits are payable for Home Health Care services provided by: 

1. a member of an Insured Person's immediate family; or 

2. a person residing in the Insured Person's home. 

Hospital means a facility that: (1) operates under the law of the state that it is situated in; (2) is approved by the 
Department of Health and Human Services or its successor; (3) has organized facilities for diagnosis and surgery 
on its premises or in facilities available to it on a prearranged basis; (4) has 24-hour nursing service by 
graduate registered nurses (RN), on duty or on call; and (5) is supervised by one or more Physicians. A Hospital does 
not include: (1) a nursing, convalescent or geriatric unit of a Hospital when a patient is confined mainly to receive 
nursing care; (2) a facility that is, other than incidentally, a rest home, nursing home, convalescent home or home for 
the aged; nor does it include any ward, room, wing or other section of the Hospital that is used for such purposes; 
or (3) any military or veterans Hospital or soldiers home or any Hospital contracted for or operated by any 
national government or government agency for the treatment of members or ex-members of the armed forces. 

Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to the Accident Medical Expense Benefit, the maximum period 
for which benefits will be payable for Covered Accident Medical Services for or in connection with a single 
Accident Medical Expense Covered Loss. The length of the Maximum Benefit Period for Accident Medical 
Expense is shown in the Schedule. 

Medical Commencement Period means the time period shown in the Schedule between the date of the Accident that 
caused the Injury and the date that the first medical service or treatment must be incurred for Accident 
Medical Expense Benefits to be payable under this Policy. 

Medically Necessary means that a Covered Accident Medical Service: (1) is essential for diagnosis, treatment or 
care of the Injury for which it is prescribed or performed; (2) meets generally accepted standards of medical 
practice; and (3) is ordered by a Physician and performed under his or her care supervision or order. 

Personal Comfort or Convenience Item(s) means those items that are not Medically Necessary for the care and 
treatment of the Insured Person’s Injury. The term Personal Comfort or Convenience Item(s) includes, but is not 
limited to: (1) a private Hospital room, unless Medically Necessary; (2) television rental; and (3) Hospital telephone 
charges. 

Sound Natural Teeth means natural teeth that are either unaltered or fully restored to their normal function and are 
disease free, have no decay, and are not more susceptible to Injury than unaltered natural teeth. 

Usual and Customary Charge(s) means a charge that is made for a Covered Accident Medical Expense Benefit 
that: (1) does not include charges that would not have been made if no insurance existed; (2) is the lesser of the 
usual charges for similar services, treatment, supplies, or Hospital room and board in the locality where the expense 
is incurred, or the negotiated rate of the Preferred Provider designated by Us.  For a Hospital stay, the Usual and 
Customary Charge is based upon the expense for a semi-private room and board charge, unless the stay is a 
Medically Necessary stay in an intensive care unit; and (3) with respect to drugs, is the negotiated rate of the 
Preferred Provider designated by Us, if applicable, or [[125%] of the Average Wholesale Price (AWP), if 
applicable] [[125%] of the generic drug price, if available] [[125%] of the Average Sales Price (ASP), if applicable]. 

 
 

 
SECTION V – LIMITATIONS 

 

Combined Single Limit. 

We will not pay more than the Combined Single Limit stated in the Schedule. 
 

Aggregate Limit of Liability.   

We will not pay more than the Aggregate Limit of Liability stated in the Schedule. 
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[Incarceration Limitation.  

Benefits being made to an Insured Person will cease while the Insured Person is incarcerated in a penal facility. The 
benefit will resume, as if the benefits had been paid, subject to all Policy conditions, when the Insured Person is 
released from such facility.] 
 

[Pre-Existing Condition.   

Benefits under this Policy for an Injury due to a Pre-Existing Condition will be limited to the amount shown in the 
Schedule.] 

 
 

 
SECTION VI – GENERAL EXCLUSIONS 

 

This Policy does not cover any losses caused in whole or in part by, or resulting in whole or in part from, the following: 

 suicide or any attempt at suicide; intentionally self-inflicted Injury or any attempt at intentionally self-inflicted 
Injury [, including, but not limited to, any attempt to restrict the flow of oxygen to the brain for purposes of 
autoeroticism or auto-erotic asphyxiation] or any Injury resulting from a provoked attack; 

 illness or disease [,regardless of how contracted,]; medical or surgical treatment of illness or disease; or complications 
following the surgical treatment of illness or disease; [except for Accidental ingestion of contaminated foods];  

 any Pre-Existing Condition [until the Insured Person has been continuously covered under this Policy for [twelve 
(12)] consecutive months]; 

 Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions, unless as shown in the Schedule; 

 Occupational Disease[, unless (and to the extent as) specifically provided by this Policy]; 

 Hernia of any kind, unless as shown in the Schedule; 

 Hemorrhoids of any kind; 

 performing, learning to perform or instructing others to perform as a crew member of any vessel while covered 
under the Jones Act or the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers' Act, or similar coverage; 

 war, or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared [unless it occurs in the following geographic locations [named 
countries]only]; 

 involvement in any type of active military service [.] [(Reserve or National Guard active duty training is not excluded, 
unless it extends beyond [thirty-one (31) consecutive days].)] [(For purposes of this exclusion, orders to active military 
service for [sixty (60) days] or less will not be considered involvement in active military service.)][(This exclusion 
does not apply to the first [sixty (60) consecutive days] of active military service.)]; 

 any Injury for which the Insured Person is entitled to benefits pursuant to any Workers' Compensation Law or 
other similar legislation; 

 any loss insured by employers' liability insurance; 

 the Insured Person being intoxicated. The Insured Person is conclusively deemed to be intoxicated if the level of 
alcohol in his or her blood exceeds the amount at which a person is presumed, under the law of the locale in which the 
Accident occurred, to be under the influence of alcohol if operating a motor vehicle, regardless of whether he or she is 
in fact operating a motor vehicle, when the Injury occurs. An autopsy report from a licensed medical examiner, law 
enforcement officer reports, or similar items will be considered proof of the Insured Person's intoxication; 

 [the deliberate ingestion of a [poison,] [fume,] [noxious chemical substance][;][or][the use of a prescription drug unless 
taken as prescribed by a Physician][;][or] [a non-prescription drug, unless taken in accordance with its directions]. 
[This exclusion shall not apply to the ingestion of alcohol.];] 

[the use of a controlled substance as defined in Title II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act 
of 1970 as amended and the regulations issued under its authority unless taken as prescribed by a Physician or for a 
non-prescription controlled substance unless taken in accordance with its directions;] 

 participation in the commission or attempted commission of [a crime,] [any felony,] [an assault,] [insurrection] [or] 
[riot]; 
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 travel or flight in or on (including getting in or out of, or on or off of) any vehicle used for aerial navigation, if the 
Insured Person is: 

a. riding as a passenger in any aircraft not intended or licensed for the transportation of passengers; 

b. performing, learning to perform or instructing others to perform as a pilot or crew member of any aircraft; 

c. riding as a passenger in an aircraft owned, leased or operated by the Policyholder or the Insured Person; [or] 

 participation in any of the following activities: 

skydiving     hang gliding   parachuting   parasailing 
automobile racing or stunts   bungee-jumping   scuba diving   heli-skiing  
motorcycle racing or stunts  endurance tests    fire fighting   racing  
acrobatic or stunt flying   extreme sport stunts   [hunting] 
flight on a rocket-propelled or rocket launched aircraft 

[or any other extra-hazardous activity]; or] 

 [the use or release of [explosives, however delivered,] [nuclear energy,] [radiation,] [chemicals,] [biological agents or 
diseases,] [an organism or agent which disrupts the environmental or ecological balance of a geographic area] which 
results directly or indirectly from the intentional or unlawful act of a person or persons, including any resulting 
sickness or disease][.][; or]  

 [a cardiovascular event or stroke caused by exertion prior to or at the same time as an Accident][.][; or]  

 [alcoholism, drug addiction or the use of any drug or narcotic except as prescribed by a Physician operating within his 
or her scope of authority.] 

 
 

 
SECTION VII –TERMINATION OF POLICY 

 

This Policy will terminate at 12:01 A.M. Standard Time at the Policyholder's address on the earliest of:  

1. the premium due date if premiums are not paid when due subject to the Grace Period;  

2. the date specified in the written notice of Our intent to terminate this Policy, which will be at least [thirty (30)] days 
after the date We send such notice to the Policyholder's last known recorded address; or  

3. the date specified in the written notice of the Policyholder's intent to terminate this Policy, which will be at least 
[thirty (30)] days after the date the Policyholder sends such notice to Us.  

 
If We terminate this Policy, any unearned premium will be returned on a pro-rata basis. If the Policyholder requests 
termination, We will return any unearned premium paid on a pro-rata basis.  

Termination will not affect any claim for a Covered Loss occurring prior to the effective date of termination. 

 

 
SECTION VIII – CLAIMS PROVISIONS 

 

Notice. The Insured Person or the beneficiary, or someone on their behalf, must give Us written notice of the loss within 
twenty (20) days of such loss. The notice must name the Insured Person and the Policy Number. To request a claim form, 
the Insured Person or the beneficiary, or someone on their behalf may contact Us at [1-111-111-1111]. The notice must be 
sent to the Claims Department at Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company, [44 Whippany Road, Morristown, NJ 07960], or 
any of Our agents. Notice to Our agents is considered notice to Us. 
 
Claim Forms. We will send the claimant Proof of Loss (claim) forms within fifteen (15) days after We receive notice. If 
the claimant does not receive the forms in fifteen (15) days after submitting notice, he or she can send Us a detailed written 
report of the claim and the extent of the loss. We will accept this report as a Proof of Loss if sent within the time fixed 
below for filing a Proof of Loss. The notice should include the Insured Person’s name, the Policyholder’s name and the 
Policy number. 
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Proof of Loss. Written Proof of Loss, acceptable to Us, must be sent within ninety (90) days of the date of the loss. If the 
loss is one for which this Policy requires continuing eligibility for periodic benefit payments, subsequent written proofs of 
eligibility must be furnished at such intervals as We may reasonably require. Failure to furnish Proof of Loss, acceptable to 
Us, within such time, will neither invalidate nor reduce any claim if it is not reasonably possible to furnish the Proof of 
Loss, and the proof is provided as soon as reasonably possible. and in no event, except in the absence of legal capacity of 
the claimant, later than one year from the time proof is otherwise required. We have a right to investigate the Proof of Loss 
and any relevant documents which the Insured Person will make available to Us upon request. 
 
Time of Payment. We will pay claims for all Covered Losses, other than Covered Losses for which this Policy provides 
any periodic payment, [within [thirty (30)] days] [immediately upon receipt] of written Proof of Loss that is acceptable to 
Us.  

Unless an optional periodic payment is stated or chosen, any Covered Loss to be paid in periodic payments will be paid at 
the end of each [one (1)] week period. The unpaid balance, which remains when Our liability ends, will then be paid when 
We receive the proof of Covered Loss that is acceptable to Us. 
 
Recipient of Payment.  
1. Loss of Life. Covered Losses resulting from the Insured Person’s death are paid to the named beneficiary at the time 

of death. If there is no beneficiary named or the named beneficiary predeceases or dies at the same time as the Insured 
Person, We will pay the benefit to the Insured Person's survivors in the following order: 

a. the Insured Person's legally married spouse; 

b. the Insured Person's child(ren); 

c. the Insured Person's parents; 

d. the Insured Person's brothers and sisters; 

e. the Insured Person's estate. 

2. All Other Claims. Benefits are paid to the Insured Person. The Insured Person may direct in writing that all or part 
of an Accident Medical Expense Benefit be paid directly to the party who furnished the service. The direction may be 
changed by the Insured Person at any time up to the filing of the Proof of Loss. If an Insured Person dies before all 
payments due have been made, the amount still payable will be paid to his or her beneficiary, or if there is no 
beneficiary designated, as set forth above. 

 
Physical Examination and Autopsy. We have the right to examine an Insured Person, whose Injury is the basis of a 
claim, when and as often as We may reasonably request while the claim is pending. Such examination will be at Our 
expense. We may also require an autopsy be performed, unless forbidden by law. 
 
Conditional Claim Payment. If an Insured Person suffers a Covered Loss(es) as the result of Injuries for which a 
third party may be liable, We will pay the amount of benefits otherwise payable under this Policy. However, if the 
Insured Person receives payment from the third party, the Insured Person agrees to refund to Us the lesser of: (1) the 
amount actually paid by Us for such Covered Loss(es); or (2) an amount equal to the sum actually received from 
the third party for such Covered Loss(es). If the Insured Person does not receive payment from the third 
party for such Covered Loss(es), We reserve the right to subrogate under the Subrogation clause of this Policy. 

At the time such third party liability is determined and satisfied, this amount will be paid whether determined by 
settlement, judgment, arbitration or otherwise. This provision will not apply where prohibited by law. 
 
Rehabilitation. We will consider a rehabilitation program for the Insured Person if he or she is receiving benefits under 
either the Temporary Total Disability Benefit or the Continuous Total Disability Benefit. The program must be 
mutually agreed upon by the Insured Person and Us. The extent of Our participation will be determined by mutual 
agreement and benefits payable will continue during the Insured Person’s rehabilitation.  
 
Sunset. In no event will a claim made for losses sustained by an Insured Person be considered valid and collectible in 
accordance with this Policy unless full details of such claim are presented to Us within three years from the date of the 
Accident which is the basis of such claim.    
 
[Right to Recover Overpayments. In addition to any rights of recovery, reimbursement or subrogation provided to 
Us herein, when payments have been made by Us with respect to a Covered Loss in an amount in excess of the maximum 
amount of payment necessary to satisfy an obligation under the terms of this Policy, We will have the right to recover 
such excess payment, from any person to whom such payments were made. We maintain the right to offset the 
overpayment against other benefits payable to the Insured Person (and his or her assignee) under this Policy to the 
extent of the overpayment.] 
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[Suit Against Us. No action on this Policy may be brought until sixty (60) days after written Proof of Loss has been sent to 
Us. Any action must commence within three (3) years, (five (5) years in Kansas and Tennessee; and six (6) years in South 
Carolina and Wisconsin) of the date the written Proof of Loss was required to be submitted. If the law of the state where the 
Insured Person lives makes such limit void, then the action must begin within the shortest time period permitted by law. In 
those states where binding arbitration is allowed, binding arbitration will supersede this provision.] 
 
[Mediation. Any contest to a claim denial under this Policy will be settled by non-binding mediation with Our consent and 
the consent of the Insured Person or beneficiary, whichever is applicable. The mediation will be administered by the 
American Arbitration Association in accordance with its Commercial Arbitration Rules. The mediation will occur at the 
offices of the American Arbitration Association nearest to the Insured Person or the person claiming to be the beneficiary.  
No legal action may be brought by the Insured Person, beneficiary, or Us until thirty (30) days after the mediator(s) issues 
a non-binding award.] 
 
Recovery. In the event an Insured Person makes a recovery from a third party for a loss paid under this 
Policy, the Insured Person will reimburse Us up to the amount of the benefits made by Us. 
 
[Subrogation. We have the right to recover all payments including future payments, which We have made, 
or will be obligated to pay in the future, to the Insured Person from anyone liable for the Covered Injury. If the 
Insured Person recovers from anyone liable for the Covered Injury, We will be reimbursed first from such 
recovery to the extent of Our payments to the Insured Person. The Insured Person agrees to assist Us in preserving 
Our rights against those responsible for such loss, including but not limited to, signing subrogation forms supplied by Us.]  
 
[Claims for Workers' Compensation and Other Insurance. No benefits will be payable under this Policy for any loss 
which the Insured Person claims or files under any Workers' Compensation, employers' liability, occupational disease or 
similar law or any other insurance until such claim or filing is approved or denied. Upon approval or denial, We will 
determine Our liability under the terms and conditions of this Policy. If such a claim is denied, and the Insured 
Person appeals the denial, no benefits will be paid under this Policy until a final disposition of the appeal is issued, at 
which time We will determine Our liability. We reserve the right to recover, from the Insured Person, any benefits 
paid under this Policy which are subsequently paid for under any Workers' Compensation, employers' liability, 
occupational disease or similar law or any other insurance.] 
 
[Workers’ Compensation Indemnification. If an Insured Person is determined by a court of law or the appropriate state 
regulatory authority to be covered under Workers’ Compensation insurance for a Covered Loss, any benefits for which the 
Insured Person is eligible under this Policy, are payable to the person who was determined to be the Insured Person’s 
employer or such person’s designee or assignee. The Workers’ Compensation exclusion in the GENERAL EXCLUSIONS 
Section of this Policy is deleted in its entirety.]  
 

 

 
SECTION IX – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

Beneficiaries. The Insured Person has the sole right to name a beneficiary. The beneficiary has no interest in the Policy 
other than to receive certain payments. The Insured Person may change the beneficiary at any time. Consent to a change 
by a prior beneficiary is not needed unless the previous beneficiary was designated as irrevocable. Any beneficiary 
designation must be in writing on a form acceptable to Us. 

If any payee is a minor or is not competent to give a valid release for the payment, the payment will be made to the 
legal guardian of the payee's property. If the payee has no legal guardian for his or her property, a payment not exceeding  

$1,000 may be made, at Our option, to any relative by blood or connection by marriage of the payee, who, in Our opinion, 
has assumed the custody and support of the minor or responsibility for the incompetent person's affairs 
 
Change or Waiver. A change or waiver of any terms or conditions of this Policy must be issued by Us in writing and 
signed by one of Our executive officers. No agent has authority to change or waive Policy terms or conditions. A failure to 
exercise any of Our rights under this Policy will not be deemed as a waiver of such rights in the same or future situations. 
 
Clerical Error. A clerical error or omission, whether by the Policyholder, the Producer, or Us, will not increase or 
continue an Insured Person’s coverage, which otherwise would not be in force. If an Insured Person applies for insurance 
for which he or she is not eligible, We will only be liable for any premiums paid to Us. 
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Conformity With Statute. Terms of this Policy that conflict with the laws of the state where it is delivered are amended to 
conform to such laws. 
 
Entire Contract. This Policy, together with any riders, endorsements, amendments, applications, completed 
enrollment materials and attached papers, if any, make up the entire contract between the Policyholder and Us. In the 
absence of fraud, all statements made by the Policyholder or any Insured Person will be considered representations 
and not warranties. No written statement made by an Insured Person will be used in any contest unless a copy of 
the statement is furnished to the Insured Person or his or her beneficiary or personal representative. 
 
Insured Person Certificates. We will give to the Policyholder a Certificate, in either paper or electronic format, for their  
Insured Persons, where required by state law. The Policyholder will either give or make these Certificates available to 
the Insured Persons. Such Certificate will contain a summary of terms that affect benefits.  
 
Policyholder Records/Audit. The Policyholder will keep a record of the coverage, premium and other pertinent 
administrative information for each Insured Person. We may examine these records at reasonable times while the Policy is 
in force and for six (6) years after the termination of the Policy. We reserve the right to charge or refund premium, as 
applicable. The Policyholder will report to Us, within a reasonable time, all changes in information regarding an Insured 
Person. [The Policyholder will indemnify Us for any benefits or other payments that are caused in whole or in part by the 
Policyholder’s negligence or error in performing the record keeping function. In addition, the Policyholder will be liable 
for any retroactive premium.] 
 
Data Required. The Policyholder and the Producer must maintain adequate records acceptable to Us and provide 
any information required by Us relating to this insurance.  
 
[Renewal. This Policy will automatically renew for an additional twelve-month period unless either party expresses its 
intent not to renew as specified by Policy termination provisions.]  
  
Assignment of Interest. This Policy is non-assignable. 
 
[Incontestability. The validity of this Policy will not be contested after it has been in force for two (2) years from 
the Policy Effective Date, except as to nonpayment of premiums.] 

Noncompliance With Policy Requirements. Any express waiver by Us of any requirements of this Policy will not 
constitute a continuing waiver of such requirements. Any failure by Us to insist upon compliance with any Policy 
provision will not operate as a waiver or amendment of that provision. 
 
[Newly Acquired Subsidiary/Affiliated Company.  If the Policyholder acquires a subsidiary or affiliated company that is 
to be covered under this Policy, and notifies Us of such acquisition within [thirty (30)] days of the date of acquisition, the 
eligible [Owner-Operators] and [Contract Drivers] of the Newly Acquired Subsidiary/Affiliated Company will be 
insured under this Policy as of the effective date of the acquisition.   

If the Policyholder does not notify Us and provide Us with the underwriting information necessary for Us to determine the 
amount of additional premium required, if any, within the [thirty (30)] days, or does not pay such additional premium, if 
any, as required, the coverage for the [Owner-Operators] and [Contract Drivers] of the Newly Acquired 
Subsidiary/Affiliated Company will terminate. However, the Policyholder will be liable for the payment of any premium 
required for the period such coverage was in effect.] 
  
[Offset Debt. We will have, and may exercise at any time, the right to offset any balance or balances, whether on 
account of premiums or otherwise, due from the Policyholder or the Insured Person to Us against any balance or 
balances, whether on account of losses or otherwise, due from Us to the Policyholder or the Insured Person.] 
 
 

 
SECTION X – GENERAL DEFINITIONS 

 

 Accident or Accidental means a sudden, unexpected, specific and abrupt event that occurs by chance at an identifiable 
time and place during the Policy term. 

 Accident Commencement Period means the time period, shown in the Schedule, between the date of the Accident 
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which caused the Injury and the date the Loss must occur for death or dismemberment benefits to be payable under 
this Policy. 

 Actively At Work means that the person is under Dispatch an average of [thirty (30)] hours each week.  

 Aggregate Limit of Liability means the total benefits We will pay for a Covered Accident or Covered Accidents 
set forth in this Policy. For purposes of the Aggregate Limit of Liability provision, Covered Accident or Covered 
Accidents will include a Covered Loss or Covered Losses arising out of a single event or related events or 
originating cause [occurring within a [one (1)] day period] and includes a resulting Covered Loss or Covered 
Losses. If the total benefits under the Aggregate Limit of Liability is not enough to pay full benefits to each Insured 
Person, We will pay each one a reduced benefit based upon the proportion that the Aggregate Limit of Liability 
bears to the total benefits which would otherwise be paid. 

 [Co-Driver means a person who drives in the same unit on a full-time basis with the Primary Driver.] 

 Combined Single Limit means, with respect to any one Insured Person, the total amount of benefits that are 
payable under this Policy for or in connection with a Covered Injury sustained as the result of any one 
Covered Accident. When the Combined Single Limit has been reached, no further benefits will be payable under 
this Policy, with respect to that Insured Person for or in connection with an Injury sustained as the result of that one 
Covered Accident. 

 Contract Driver is as described in SECTION I. 

 Co-Owner means a person who has partial ownership of a vehicle operating as an Owner-Operator. 

 Covered Accident means an Accident that results in a Covered Loss.  

 Covered Injury means an Injury directly caused by an Accident, which is independent of all other causes, results 
from a Covered Accident, occurs while the Insured Person is insured under this Policy, and results in a Covered 
Loss.   

 Covered Loss means a loss which meets the requisites of one or more benefits, results from a Covered Injury, and for 
which benefits are payable under this Policy. 

 Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions means conditions which impair the normal physiological function 
of the body over an extended period of time, and which do not arise as the result of a single Accident. 

 Deductible Amount means the portion of the Usual and Customary Charges for Medically Necessary Covered 
Accident Medical Services, incurred due to Injuries sustained by an Insured Person in a Covered Accident, 
which must be met before the Accident Medical Expense Benefit will be paid. The Deductible Amount is shown 
in the Schedule. 

 Dependent Child(ren) means those unmarried children of the Insured Person, including natural children 
from the moment of birth, step or foster children, or adopted children, from the date of the final decree of 
adoption, [who rely on the Insured Person for [more than 50% of] their support [and are taken as dependents 
on the Insured Person’s Federal Income Tax Return],] and who are either: 1) less than nineteen (19) years of 
age; or 2) less than twenty-three (23) years of age and enrolled on a full-time basis in a college, university 
or trade school, or who satisfy neither 1) nor 2), but who prior to age twenty-three (23), became incapable of 
self-sustaining employment by reason of mental retardation or physical handicap. We may require proof of such 
Dependent Child(ren)'s incapacity and dependency. 

 Dispatch means when the Insured Person is: 

1. in route to pick up a load;  

2. picking up a load;  

3. in route to deliver a load;  

4. unloading a load;  

5. in route after dropping off a load;  

6. waiting for a load if the Insured Person is not at home; 

7. required to perform services by or for a motor carrier; or 

8. performing activities to comply with federal or state laws to satisfy motor carrier or commercial driving 
requirements. 



AH  200A  OA  AR  08  11       Page 24 of 25 

Dispatch must be authorized by the Policyholder. Dispatch does not include an Injury during usual travel between, 
to, and from work or a bona fide leave of absence or vacation. 

For purposes of this Policy, if the Insured Person is performing maintenance and/or repairs on a power unit which the 
Insured Person owns or leases, the Insured Person will be deemed to be under Dispatch. The Insured Person must 
provide proof which is satisfactory to Us that the Injury was sustained while performing such maintenance or repairs 
in order to receive Occupational Accident Benefits for the Injury. 

 Eligible Person means a person who is described in the ELIGIBILITY portion of SECTION I.  

 Immediate Family Member means a person who is related to the Insured Person in any of the following ways: 
Spouse, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, mother-in-law, father-in-law, parent (includes 
stepparent), brother or sister (includes stepbrother or stepsister), or child (includes legally adopted or placed for 
adoption, or stepchild) or any person residing in the Insured Person's home. 

 Injury or Injuries means bodily harm or bodily damage. 

 Insured Person means a person who: (1) is an Eligible Person as described in the ELIGIBILITY portion of 
SECTION I; (2) has enrolled for coverage; and (3) has coverage in effect according to the terms of this Policy. 

 Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition means mental, nervous or emotional diseases or disorders of any type 
including schizophrenia, dementia, organic brain syndrome, delirium, amnesia syndromes, and organic delusional or 
hallucinogenic syndromes. 

 Non-Occupational means an activity involving an Insured Person, which occurs while the Insured Person is not 
under Dispatch. [If a Co-Driver is not operating a unit, any Covered Injury sustained will be considered a Non-
Occupational Covered Injury and will be covered under the Non-Occupational Accident Benefit schedule.] 

 Occupational means an activity involving an Insured Person, which occurs or arises out of or in the course of the 
Insured Person performing services while under Dispatch. Occupational does not encompass any period of time 
during the course of everyday travel to and from work or while on vacation. 

 Occupational Assessment means a test of vocational capabilities. The process includes a review of medical records, 
Injury and treatment, history and background (education, military, previous occupation(s)), evaluation of basic skills 
such as reading, understanding, spelling and/or math capabilities, and vocational alternatives. 

 [Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions means bodily Injury to an Insured Person 
caused by the combined effect of repetitive physical Occupational activities extending over a period of time, where: 
(1) such condition is diagnosed by a Physician; (2) the Insured Person's performance of the activities causing the 
Injury occurred during the Policy period, and the onset of the Injury occurred and was reported during the Policy 
period; and (3) such activities resulted directly and independently of all other causes in a Covered Loss.] 

 Occupational Disease means a sickness which results in disability or death, and is caused by exposure to 
environmental or physical hazards during the course of the Insured Person's Occupational activities, where: (1) such 
condition is diagnosed by a Physician, and is generally accepted by the National Centers for Disease Control to be a 
disease caused by such hazards; (2) exposure to such hazards is not an Accident but is caused or aggravated by the 
conditions under which the Insured Person performs Occupational services; (3) the Insured Person’s last day of last 
exposure to the environmental or physical hazards causing such condition occurs during the Policy Period; and (4) 
such exposure results directly and independently of all other causes in a Covered Loss. 

 Owner-Operator is as described in SECTION I. 

 Physician means a practitioner of the healing arts acting within the scope of his or her license who is not: (1) 
the Insured Person; or (2) an Immediate Family Member; or (3) a practitioner retained by the Policyholder. 

 Policy means this [Truckers] Occupational Accident Insurance Policy.  

 Policyholder means the group named on the front page of this Policy. 

 Pre-Existing Condition means a condition for which an Insured Person has sought or received medical advice or 
treatment during the twelve months immediately preceding his or her effective date of coverage under this Policy. 

 Preferred Provider means a Physician or Hospital with which We have an agreement or contract to perform a 
covered service or treatment at an agreed upon rate or a company which provides prescription drugs at an agreed 
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upon rate to Our Insured Persons. 

 [Primary Driver means a person who has ownership or leases a power unit and is the principal driver of the 
power unit.] 

 Principal Sum, as applicable to each Insured Person, means the amount of insurance in force under this Policy  
as described in the Schedule. 

 Schedule is SECTION II of this Policy. 

 Spouse means the Insured Person's legally married spouse. 

 Waiting Period means the consecutive number of days an Insured Person must be Temporarily Totally 
Disabled or Continuously Totally Disabled before benefits become payable under the Temporary Total Disability 
Benefit or the Continuous Total Disability Benefit provisions of this Policy. Benefits are not retroactive to the 
first day of disability. The Waiting Period is shown in the Schedule. 

 We, Us, and Our refers to Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Policyholder:  [ABC Company] 

Policy Number:  [123-456-789] 

Policy Effective Date:    [January 1, 2007]] 

 
 
 
 
[Underwritten by: Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company] 



 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT 
  

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 
 
 

FOR 
 

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS OF 
[POLICYHOLDER] 

 
 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

THIS INSURANCE IS NOT WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE  
 

IT IS NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE 

 
 

THIS INSURANCE PROVIDES COVERAGE FOR LOSSES DUE TO ACCIDENTS ONLY 
 

IT DOES NOT PROVIDE COVERAGE FOR SICKNESS OR  
LOSSES DUE TO SICKNESS 

AND IT DOES NOT COVER ANY PERSON WHO IS REQUIRED TO BE COVERED BY A 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION POLICY 

 
 

 
Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company 
[1 Beacon Lane 
Canton, MA 02021-1030] 
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POLICYHOLDER:    [ABC Company] 
 
POLICY NUMBER:    [1234567] 
 
 
[COVERED SUBSIDIARIES OR 
AFFILIATED COMPANIES   [Names of Companies]] 
 
 
The insurance evidenced by this Certificate provides Accident insurance only. It does not provide Coverage for sickness. 
This Certificate describes the main features of the Policy, but the Policy is the only contract under which benefit payments 
are made. If there is an inconsistency between the Certificate and the Policy, the Policy will govern. 
 
 
 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT  

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Table of Contents 
 
 

Provision              Section 

 

Eligibility, Effective Date and Termination Date..………………………….I 

 

Schedule of Benefits.……………………………………………………….II 

 

Premium……………………………………………………………………III 

 

Benefits…………………………………………………………….………IV 

 

Limitations…………………………………………………………………V 

 

General Exclusions………………………………………………………..VI 

 

Claims Provisions…………………………………………………………VII 

 

General Provisions………………………………………………………..VIII 

 

General Definitions………………………………………………………..IX 
 
 
 
 



AH  202A OA  AR  08  11                   Page 3 of 23  

 
SECTION I – ELIGIBILITY, EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERMINATION DATE 

 

 
ELIGIBLILTY 

You are eligible to become an Insured Person provided You [are [eighteen (18)] years of age, under Dispatch an 
average of [thirty (30)] hours each week (i.e. Actively at Work),] have completed enrollment material on file with the 
Policyholder, if required, and You are: 

Class I: 

[An Actively at Work Owner-Operator who is enrolled for coverage under the Policy. For purposes of the Policy, an 
Owner-Operator must lease to or from the Policyholder and must: 

1. have a valid and current Commercial Driver's License; 

2. own or lease a power unit; 

3. be responsible for the maintenance of the power unit; 

4. be responsible for the operating costs of the power unit, including but not limited to fuel, repairs, supplies and other 
expenses associated with the operation of the power unit; 

5. be responsible for maintaining physical damage insurance on the power unit; 

6. be responsible for hiring and supervising personnel who operate the power unit; 

7. be compensated on a basis other than time expended in the performance of work; 

8. be responsible for determining the route and hours for an assignment; 

9. have the right to select the load; 

10. have a written contract or assignment from the person who has engaged his or her services which provides that he or 
she is an independent contractor; 

11. be classified as an independent contractor by the person who has engaged his or her services and not as an employee 
for purposes of workers' compensation insurance, federal income taxes, state income taxes, social security, 
unemployment insurance or for any other purpose; [and] 

12. [not be an employee of the Policyholder;] [and] 

13. [receive a 1099 form for federal income tax reporting purposes, not a W-2.]] 
 
[Class II:] 

[An Actively at Work Contract Driver who is enrolled for coverage under the Policy. For purposes of the Policy, a 
Contract Driver must: 

1. have a valid and current Commercial Driver's License; 

2. be authorized by an Owner-Operator or motor carrier to operate a power unit owned or leased by an Owner-
Operator. (The Contract Driver must neither own nor lease the power unit.); 

3. be compensated on a basis other than time expended in the performance of work; 

4. be responsible for determining the route and hours for an assignment; 

5. operate the power unit of the person who has engaged his or her services as an independent contractor. (Operating the 
unit must be the principal duty of the Contract Driver.) 

6. be classified as an independent contractor by the person who has engaged his or her services and not as an employee 
for purposes of workers' compensation insurance, federal income taxes, state income taxes, social security, 
unemployment insurance or for any other purpose; 

7. [receive a 1099 form for federal income tax reporting purposes, not a W-2; 

8. [not be an employee of the Policyholder;] 

9. [not be an employee of the Owner-Operator;] [and] 

10. [not be an employee of the Policyholder or Owner-Operator unless it is not mandatory for workers’ compensation 
coverage to be provided for such person as an employee of either the Policyholder or an Owner-Operator.]] 

 

[Class III:] 

[As requested by the Policyholder] 
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You cannot be covered by any other Occupational Accident Policy issued by Us.  

If You pay premium but are not eligible for coverage or do not qualify for benefits under the Policy, We will refund any 
premium paid in error. 
 

YOUR COVERAGE EFFECTIVE DATE  

Class I-[Owner-Operator]: [If You are an [Owner-Operator], Your coverage under this Policy begins on the latest of: 

1. the Policy Effective Date; 

2. the date You become a member of an eligible Class as described above; 

3. if an individual enrollment form is required, the date Your completed enrollment form is received by the 
Policyholder or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder.] 

 

[Class II]-[Contract Driver]: [If You are a [Contract Driver], Your coverage under this Policy begins on the latest of: 

1. the Policy Effective Date; 

2. the date You become a member of an eligible Class as described above; 

3. if an individual enrollment form is required, the date Your completed enrollment form is received by the 
Policyholder or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder.] 

 

[Class III]-[as requested by Policyholder]: [as requested by Policyholder]] 
 

[Your coverage will not become effective until the first premium payment is paid when due. If premium is paid when due, 
coverage is effective on the later of 1, 2 or 3 above. If premium is not paid when due, coverage will not be in effect.] 
 

YOUR COVERAGE TERMINATION DATE 

Class I-[Owner-Operator]: [If You are an [Owner-Operator], Your coverage under this Policy ends on the earliest of: 

1. the date this Policy is terminated; 

2. the premium due date, if premiums are not paid when due, subject to the Grace Period; 

3. the date You request, in writing, that Your coverage be terminated; or 

4. the date You cease to be a member of an eligible Class as described above.] 
 
[Class II]-[Contract Driver]: [If You are a [Contract Driver], Your coverage under this Policy ends on the earliest of: 

1. the date this Policy is terminated;  

2. the premium due date, if premiums are not paid when due, subject to the Grace Period; 

3. the date You request, in writing, that Your coverage be terminated;  

4. the date You cease to be a member of an eligible Class as described above; or 

5. [the date the [Owner-Operator], with respect to whom You are under contract, ceases to be a member of an eligible 
Class as described above.]] 

 
[Class III]-[as requested by Policyholder]: [as requested by Policyholder] 
 

A change in Your coverage under this Policy, due to a change in Your eligible Class or benefit selection, becomes 
effective on the later of: (1) the date the change in Your eligible Class or benefit selection occurs; or (2) if the change 
requires a change in premium, the date the first changed premium is paid. However, a change in coverage applies only with 
respect to Covered Accidents that occur after the change becomes effective. 
 
Subject to the terms, conditions, exclusions and limitations of the Policy, termination of coverage will not affect a claim for 
a Covered Loss that occurs either before or after such termination, if that Covered Loss results from an Accident that 
occurred while Your coverage was in force under this Policy. 
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SECTION II – SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

 

 
OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 

 

Accidental Death Benefit: 
Principal Sum *  ......................................................................................................................................[$50,000] 
Accident Commencement Period........................................................................................................  [365 days] 

Survivor's Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ...........................................................................................................................................[$175,000] 
[Monthly Benefit Percentage............................................................................................................  [1.0%]] 
[Monthly Benefit Amount ...............................................................................................................  [$1,750]] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ........................................................................................................................................... [$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period..............................................................................................................  [365 days] 

Paralysis Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ........................................................................................................................................... [$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period..............................................................................................................  [365 days] 

Temporary Total Disability Benefit: 
Disability Commencement Period ..............................................................................................................  [90 days] 
Waiting Period ................................................................................................................................................. [7 days] 
Benefit Percentage .......................................................................................................................... [66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount..................................................................................................................  [$125] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount.................................................................................................................  [$475] 

   Maximum Benefit Period **.................................................................................................................... [104 weeks] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Hernia.......................................................................................................  [10 weeks]] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Occupational Cumulative Trauma 
        and/or Repetitive Conditions ................................................................................................  [10 weeks]] 

Continuous Total Disability Benefit: *** 
Waiting Period .........................................................  [Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary Total Disability] 

 Benefit Percentage .......................................................................................................................... [66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount....................................................................................................................  [$50] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount.................................................................................................................  [$475] 
Maximum Benefit Amount ........................................................................................................................ [$300,000] 
Maximum Benefit Period...........................................................................................................................  [to age 70] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period .................................................................................................................  [90 days] 
Deductible Amount ................................................................................................................  [$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period....................................................................................................................  [104 weeks] 

 Dental Maximum ..................................................................................................... [$1,000.00 per Accident] 
 Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident ................................................................................................. [$750,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ....................................................................................................................... [$100,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy ............................. [[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                                               [and] [a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy,  
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy....................................................  [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                                                    [but] [not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                                                  [but] [not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 

[Hernia Coverage ..........................................................................lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 
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Mental and Nervous – Outpatient  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                                    [maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 
Mental and Nervous – Inpatient  [maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                                                     [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 
[Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or 
       Repetitive Conditions........................................................ lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 

 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit ........................................................................................................  [$750,000] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability .............................................................................................  [$1,500,000] 
       (applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Occupational Accident) 

• [Hernia Coverage..................................................... combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions 
                                                       ............................ combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Pre-Existing Condition Limitation ......................................................................................  [$10,000]] 

 
 

 
 

 

 
*At age [65], Your Principal Sum will be based on the following schedule: 

Age at Date of Loss                                                % of Principal Sum 
65 [80%] 

66 [60%] 
67 [40%] 

68 [20%] 

69 [15%] 
            [70 and over]                                                         [10%]    
 
 

** If You sustain a Covered Injury at or after age [70], the Maximum Benefit Period will be [one (1) year]. 
 
 
***If You sustain a Covered Injury after Your normal Social Security retirement age, as determined by federal 

law, You cannot qualify for Continuous Total Disability.
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NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
 
Accidental Death Benefit: 

 Principal Sum * ........................................................................................................................................  [$7,500] 
Accident Commencement Period......................................................................................................... [365 days] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
  Principal Sum * ........................................................................................................................................  [$7,500] 

Accident Commencement Period......................................................................................................... [365 days] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period ............................................................................................................ [90 days] 
Deductible Amount ......................................................................................................................................... [$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period.....................................................................................................................  [52 weeks] 
Dental Maximum ........................................................................................................  [$1,000 per Accident] 
Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident................................................................................................  [$5,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ................................................................................................................... [$10,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy................................... [[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                                                            [and][a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy, 
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy ............................................................  [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                                   [but][not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                                       [but][not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 

Mental and Nervous – Outpatient  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                              [maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 

Mental and Nervous – Inpatient  [maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                                                 [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit ............................................................................................................................  [$7,500] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability.................................................................................................................. [$15,000] 
       (applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Non-Occupational Accident) 

 

 

 

 

* At age [65], Your Principal Sum will be based on the following schedule: 

Age at Date of Loss                                                % of Principal Sum 
65                                                                    [80%] 

66                                                                    [60%] 

67                                                                    [40%] 
68                                                                    [20%] 

69                                                                    [15%] 
              [70 and over]                                                         [10%] 
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SECTION III – PREMIUM 
 

 
[Premium Due Date: 1st of each month] 

 
[Premium Amount: 

Class I: $[0.00] per [Owner-Operator] per month 

[Class II:] [$[0.00] per [Contract Driver] per month]  

[Class III:] [$[0.00] per [as requested by Policyholder] per month] 
 

[If You enroll on or prior to the fifteenth of the month, You will pay an amount equal to the full monthly premium.  No 
premium will be payable for the last full or partial month of coverage. 
 

If You enroll after the fifteenth of the month, You will pay a premium equal to the full monthly premium beginning on the 
first of the month following the month during which coverage becomes effective.  With respect to the last full or partial 
month of coverage, You will pay an amount equal to the monthly premium.] 
 
[Grace Period: 
 

A Grace Period of [thirty (30)] days will be provided for the payment of any premium due after the first premium. Your 
coverage will not be terminated for nonpayment of premium during the Grace Period if You pay the premiums due by the 
last day of the Grace Period. Your coverage will terminate if all premiums due are not paid by the last day of the Grace 
Period. 
 

No Grace Period will be provided if We receive notice to terminate Your coverage prior to a premium due date.] 
 
Waiver of Premium: 
 

Subject to the Policy remaining in force, all premiums due under the Policy with respect to You receiving either a 
Temporary Total Disability Benefit or Continuous Total Disability Benefit under the Policy will be waived. Premiums 
will be waived from the first premium due date on or after the date the Temporary Total Disability Benefit or the 
Continuous Total Disability Benefit begins. Premium payments must be resumed on the premium due date next following 
the date Your Temporary Total Disability Benefit or Continuous Total Disability Benefit ceases. If premium payments 
are not resumed on that date, Your coverage under this Policy will end on that date. You are responsible for reporting 
Waiver of Premium to the Policyholder or an authorized person designated by the Policyholder or Us. 
 
 
 

 
SECTION IV – BENEFITS 

 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFIT 

If a Covered Injury to You results in death within the Accident Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We 
will pay the Principal Sum shown in the Schedule. The Accident Commencement Period starts on the date of the 
Accident that caused such Injury. If You suffer an Accidental Death such that an Accidental Death Benefit is payable 
under this Policy, We will pay Your beneficiary in accordance with the Payment of Claims provision. 

Survivor's Benefit 

The Monthly Benefit Amount will be as described in the Schedule. The Monthly Benefit Amount will be paid to 
Your surviving Spouse up to the Principal Sum shown in the Schedule. 

If You are not survived by a Spouse, or if Your Spouse dies or remarries, We will pay or continue to pay the 
Survivor's Benefit to Your surviving Dependent Child(ren), if any. If there is more than one surviving 
Dependent Child, the Survivor's Benefit will be distributed equally among the surviving Dependent Children. The 
payment of the monthly Survivor's Benefit will end on the earliest of the following dates: 
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1. the date Your Spouse dies or remarries, if there are no Dependent Child(ren); 

2. the date Your last Dependent Child dies or is no longer eligible as defined in the GENERAL DEFINITIONS Section 
of the Policy; or 

3. the date the Principal Sum has been paid. 

If You are not survived by a Spouse or any Dependent Child(ren), We will pay only the Accidental Death Benefit 
in accordance with the Payment of Claims provision of the Policy. We will not pay a Survivor's Benefit. 

Exposure and Disappearance 

If You are exposed to weather because of an Accident and this results in a Covered Loss, We will pay the applicable 
Principal Sum, subject to all Policy terms. 

If Your body has not been found within 365 days after the disappearance, stranding, sinking or wrecking of a [power 
unit] in which You were an occupant, then it will be presumed, subject to all other terms and provisions of the Policy, that 
You have suffered Accidental Death within the meaning of the Policy. If You are subsequently found alive and 
identified, We have the right to recover any benefits paid. 
 

ACCIDENTAL DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT 

If Injury to You results in any one of the Covered Losses specified below, within the Accident 
Commencement Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Percentage of the Principal Sum indicated 
below. 

For Covered Loss of: Percentage of the Principal Sum 

Both Hands or Both Feet ...............................................................................[100%] 

Sight of Both Eyes .........................................................................................[100%] 

One Hand and One Foot.................................................................................[100%] 

One Hand and the Sight of One Eye .............................................................[100%] 

One Foot and the Sight of One Eye ...............................................................[100%] 

One Hand or One Foot ...................................................................................[50%] 

Sight of One Eye ............................................................................................[50%] 

Thumb and Index Finger of Same Hand .......................................................[25%] 

For purposes of the Accidental Dismemberment Benefit, Loss will mean: 

Loss of a hand or foot means complete severance through or above the wrist or ankle joint. Loss of sight of an eye means 
total and irrecoverable loss of the entire sight in that eye. Loss of thumb and index finger means complete severance 
through or above the metacarpophalangeal joint of both digits. 

If more than one Loss is sustained by an Insured Person as a result of the same Covered Accident, only one amount, the 
largest, will be paid. 

PARALYSIS BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

If a Covered Injury to You results in any Type of Paralysis specified below, within the Accident Commencement Period 
shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Percentage of the Principal Sum indicated below. 

Type of Paralysis: Percentage of the Principal Sum 

Quadriplegia.....................................................................................................[100%] 

Paraplegia..........................................................................................................[75%] 

Hemiplegia ........................................................................................................[50%] 

Uniplegia ...........................................................................................................[25%] 

Quadriplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of both upper and both lower Limbs. Paraplegia means the 
complete and irreversible paralysis of both lower Limbs. Hemiplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of the 
upper and lower Limbs of the same side of the body. Uniplegia means the complete and irreversible paralysis of one 
Limb. For purposes of this benefit Limb means entire arm or entire leg.  
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If You sustain more than one Type of Paralysis as a result of the same Covered Accident, only the largest single amount 
will be considered a Covered Loss. 

TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY (TTD) BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

TTD Benefit Qualifications. 

If a Covered Injury to You Person results in Temporary Total Disability within the Disability Commencement 
Period shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Temporary Total Disability Benefit specified below, subject to 
satisfaction of any applicable Waiting Period shown in the Schedule. The Disability Commencement Period starts on 
the date of the Accident that caused such Injury. After the Waiting Period has been satisfied, the Temporary Total 
Disability Benefit will be payable from the day the Waiting Period was satisfied.  

TTD Benefit Amount. 

The Temporary Total Disability Benefit with respect to each week of Your Temporary Total Disability during a 
Single Period of Total Disability is equal to the lesser of:  

1.  the Benefit Percentage (as shown in the Schedule) of Your Average Weekly Earnings; or  

2.  the Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule. 

In no event will the Weekly Benefit Amount be less than the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the 
Schedule.  
The Temporary Total Disability Benefit with respect to less than a full Benefit Week of Temporary Total Disability 
equals 1/7th of the Weekly Benefit Amount for each day of Temporary Total Disability.  

TTD Benefit Calculation. 

For the purposes of this Temporary Total Disability Benefit, Average Weekly Earnings will be calculated as follows:  

 If You are a Class I [Owner-Operators]: 
[[Thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income You received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income 
tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by 52, regardless of Your prior occupation. If You worked less than 
[fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income received in the prior 
year as shown in Your federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by the number of weeks worked, 
regardless of Your prior occupation. You will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of 
weeks worked, if You are claiming less than [fifty (50)] weeks.]   

 [If You are a Class II] [Contract Drivers]: 
[[Seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income You received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income 
tax return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by 52 regardless of Your prior 
occupation. If You worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [seventy-five percent (75%)] of the 
gross income received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s or 
similar wage reporting documents divided by the number of weeks worked, regardless of Your prior occupation. 
You will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of weeks worked if You are claiming less 
than [fifty (50)] weeks.]  

If You did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for the prior year 
but have worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the current year, 
We will divide the gross income earned in the current year by the number of weeks worked in the current year. You will 
have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of Your gross income and the number of weeks worked. 

If You did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for the prior year 
and have not worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the current 
year, We will award You the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

TTD Benefit Offsets. 

Subject to the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount, the Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by: (1) Social Security 
Disability Benefits, excluding any amounts for which Your Dependents may qualify because of Your Disability; (2) 
Social Security Retirement Benefits; (3) Individual or Group Disability Benefits; (4) the amount of any disability income 
benefits from any automobile or no-fault policy or insurance; (5) the amount You receive as compensation for lost wages 
or lost income in a lawsuit or the settlement of a lawsuit; and (6) any income from employment or services, or from 
leasing Your power unit. You must provide tax schedules and returns to Us for the purpose of calculating this offset. 
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TTD Benefit Termination. 

The Temporary Total Disability Benefit will cease on the earliest of the following dates: 

1.  the date You are no longer Temporarily Totally Disabled;  

2.  the date the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule has been reached;  

3.  the date on which the Temporary Total Disability is not substantiated by objective medical evidence satisfactory to 
Us; or 

4.  the date You die. 

TTD Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Temporary Total Disability Benefit: 

Benefit Week means a 7-day period of time that begins on the first day of Temporary Total Disability after the 
Waiting Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability, and on the same day of each week 
thereafter. 

Continuous Care means monthly monitoring and/or evaluation of the disabling condition by a Physician. We must 
receive proof of continuing Temporary Total Disability on a monthly basis.  

Disability Commencement Period means the time period, shown in the Schedule, between the date of the Accident that 
caused the Injury and the date that Temporary Total Disability must begin for disability benefits to be payable under 
this Policy.  

Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to Temporary Total Disability, the maximum period for which benefits 
will be payable for a Temporary Total Disability Covered Loss during a Single Period of Total Disability. The 
Maximum Benefit Period begins after the Waiting Period, as indicated in the Schedule, has been satisfied. The 
length of the Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary Total Disability is shown in the Schedule.  

Single Period of Total Disability means all periods of Temporary Total Disability due to the same or related causes 
(whether or not insurance has been interrupted) except any of the following which are considered separate periods of 
disability: (1) successive periods of Temporary Total Disability due to entirely different and unrelated causes, 
separated by at least one full day during which the You are not Temporarily Totally Disabled; (2) successive periods 
of Temporary Total Disability due to the same or related causes, separated by at least 6 months during which You are 
not Temporarily Totally Disabled. 

Temporary Total Disability or Temporarily Totally Disabled means disability that: (1) prevents You from performing 
the Material and Substantial Duties of Your occupation [as a commercial truck driver]; (2) requires the care and 
treatment of a Physician; and (3) requires that, and results in, You receiving Continuous Care. If You do not adhere 
to the treatment plan the Physician prescribes relating to Your disabling condition, You will not qualify for the 
Temporary Total Disability Benefit.  

[For purposes of this section "Material and Substantial Duties" will mean a duty or duties which You are required to 
perform as an [Owner-Operator] [or] [Contract Driver].] 

CONTINUOUS TOTAL DISABILITY (CTD) BENEFIT (does not apply to a Non-Occupational Accident) 

CTD Benefit Qualifications. 

If a Covered Injury to You resulting in Temporary Total Disability, subsequently results in Continuous Total 
Disability, We will pay the Continuous Total Disability Benefit specified below, provided: 

1. the benefits payable for the Temporary Total Disability Covered Loss ceased solely because the Maximum 
Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability has been reached, but You remain disabled; 

2.  You are under the normal Social Security retirement age, as determined by federal law, on the day after the 
Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Temporary Total Disability has been reached; 

3.  You have been granted a Social Security Disability Award for Your disability (If You cannot meet the credit 
requirement for a Social Security Award, You cannot qualify for the Continuous Total Disability Benefit even if 
You would otherwise qualify); 

4.  Your disability is reasonably expected to continue without interruption until You die, and is substantiated by 
objective medical evidence satisfactory to Us; 
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5.  the Injury began within the Disability Commencement Period shown in the Schedule[.][; and] 

6.  [the Temporary Total Disability was not principally due to a Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition. (If 
the Temporary Total Disability was principally due to a Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition, You do 
not qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit.)] 

You cannot qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit unless You qualified for a Temporary Total Disability 
Benefit for the same Covered Injury. 

Sunset Period: If You are not granted a Social Security Award for Your disability within two (2) years of the Injury, 
You cannot qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit even if You would otherwise qualify. 

CTD Benefit Amount. 

The Weekly Benefit Amount will be the lesser of the benefit percentage, as shown in the Schedule, of Your Average 
Weekly Earnings, or the Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule. In no event will the Weekly 
Benefit Amount be less than the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

The Continuous Total Disability Benefit with respect to less than a full Benefit Week of Continuous Total Disability 
equals 1/7th of the Weekly Benefit for each day of Continuous Total Disability.  

CTD Benefit Calculation. 

For purposes of this Continuous Total Disability Benefit, Average Weekly Earnings will be calculated as follows: 

 If You are a Class I [Owner-Operator]:  
[[Thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income You received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income 
tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by 52, regardless of Your prior occupation. If You worked less than 
[fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [thirty-three percent (33%)] of the gross income received in the prior 
year as shown in Your federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s, divided by the number of weeks worked, 
regardless of Your prior occupation. You will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of 
weeks worked if You are claiming less than [fifty (50) weeks].]  

 [If You are a Class II] [Contract Driver]: 
[[Seventy-five percent (75%)] of the gross income You received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income 
tax return with schedules or 1099s or similar wage reporting documents divided by 52 regardless of Your prior 
occupation. If You worked less than [fifty (50)] weeks during the prior year, then [seventy-five percent (75%)] of the 
gross income received in the prior year as shown in Your federal income tax return with schedules or 1099s or 
similar wage reporting documents divided by the number of weeks worked, regardless of Your prior occupation. 
You will have to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of the number of weeks worked, if You are claiming 
less than [fifty (50) weeks].]  

If You did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for the prior year but 
have worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the current year, We 
will divide the gross income earned in the current year by the number of weeks worked in the current year. You will have 
to produce proof, which is satisfactory to Us, of Your gross income and the number of weeks worked.  

If You did not file a federal income tax return or receive 1099s or similar wage reporting documents for the prior year 
and have not worked as [an Owner-Operator] or [Contract Driver] for at least twenty-six (26) weeks in the current 
year, We will award You the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount as shown in the Schedule.  

CTD Benefit Offsets. 

Subject to the Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount, the Total Disability Benefit will be reduced by: (1) Social Security 
Disability Benefits, excluding any amounts for which Your Dependents may qualify because of Your Disability; (2) 
Social Security Retirement Benefits; (3) Individual or Group Disability Benefits; (4) the amount of any disability income 
benefits from any automobile or no-fault policy or insurance; (5) the amount You receive as compensation for lost wages 
or lost income in a lawsuit or the settlement of a lawsuit; and (6) any income from employment or services, or from 
leasing Your power unit. You must provide tax schedules and returns to Us for the purpose of calculating this offset.  

CTD Benefit Termination. 

The Continuous Total Disability Benefit will cease on the earliest of the following dates: 

1.  the date You are no longer Continuously Totally Disabled;  

2.  the date Your Social Security Disability Award ceases;  

3.  the date You attain age [70];  
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4.  the date the Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule for Continuous Total Disability has been reached; 

5.  the date the Maximum Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule for Continuous Total Disability has been reached;  

6.  the date on which Continuous Total Disability is not substantiated by objective medical evidence satisfactory to 
Us; or  

7.  the date You die. 

CTD Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 

Benefit Week means a 7-day period of time that begins on the day after the Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary 
Total Disability has been reached, and on the same day of each week thereafter.  

Continuous Care means at least quarterly monitoring and/or evaluation of the disabling condition by a Physician. We 
must receive proof of continuing Continuous Total Disability on a quarterly basis. These requirements may be 
waived by Us.  

Continuous Total Disability or Continuously Totally Disabled means disability that: (1) prevents You from 
performing the duties of any occupation for which You are qualified by reason of education, training or experience; (2) 
requires the care and treatment of a Physician; and (3) requires that, and results in, You receiving Continuous Care. If 
You do not adhere to the treatment plan the Physician prescribes relating to Your disabling condition, You will not 
qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit.  

If You can perform an occupation which would provide an annual gross income equal to or greater than either the 
gross income from wages and/or the net income reported on Schedule C which You filed on Your most recent federal 
income tax return filed prior to the Covered Injury, You are not Continuously Totally Disabled. You must provide 
Us with such federal income tax return in order to qualify for a Continuous Total Disability Benefit.  

Maximum Benefit Amount means, with respect to Continuous Total Disability, the maximum benefits payable for 
Continuous Total Disability Covered Losses.  

Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to Continuous Total Disability, the maximum period for which benefits 
will be payable for a Continuous Total Disability Covered Loss. The Maximum Benefit Period begins after the 
Waiting Period, as indicated in the Schedule, has been satisfied. The length of the Maximum Benefit Period for 
Continuous Total Disability is shown in the Schedule. Benefits payable under the Temporary Total Disability 
Benefit will not be considered Continuous Total Disability Benefits for purposes of applying the Maximum Benefit 
Period.  

Terms used in this Continuous Total Disability Benefit, but which refer to Temporary Total Disability and are defined 
in the Temporary Total Disability Benefit, are to be interpreted as defined in that Benefit. 

 

ACCIDENT MEDICAL EXPENSE (AME) BENEFIT 

AME Benefit Qualifications. 

If You suffer an Injury that requires You to be treated by a Physician, within the Medical Commencement Period 
shown in the Schedule, We will pay the Usual and Customary Charges incurred for Medically Necessary 
Covered Accident Medical Services received due to that Injury, up to the Maximum Benefit Amount and 
Maximum Benefit Period shown in the Schedule, for You, for all Injuries caused by a single Covered Accident, 
subject to any applicable Deductible Amount. 

The Medical Commencement Period starts on the date of the Accident that caused such Injury. The Deductible 
Amount for the Accident Medical Expense Benefit is the Deductible Amount shown in the Schedule, if any, which 
must be met from Usual and Customary Charges for Medically Necessary Covered Accident Medical Services 
incurred due to Injuries You sustained in that Covered Accident. [If the Injury is related to a Pre-Existing Condition, 
the Accident Medical Expense Benefit will be subject to the limit as shown in the Schedule.] 

AME Benefit Covered Accident Medical Services. 

1. Hospital semi-private room and board (or room and board in an intensive care unit), Hospital ancillary services 
(including but not limited to, use of the operating room or emergency room), or use of an Ambulatory Medical 
Center; 
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2. Services of a Physician or a qualified nurse, if under the supervision of a Graduate Registered Nurse (RN), for 
Home Health Care which follows a [five (5)] day period of Hospital confinement and which is prescribed by 
a Physician; 

3. Services by a qualified Physician for the treatment of a covered Mental and Nervous Condition due to a 
Covered Injury. However, such charges will be considered a Covered Accident Medical Expense only to the 
extent that the charges do not exceed [$25.00] per visit and are further limited to one visit per day with a 
maximum of [twenty (20)] visits. Hospital charges for in-patient treatment of a Mental and Nervous 
Condition, whether in a psychiatric Hospital or a general Hospital, will be considered a Covered Accident 
Medical Expense and will be limited to up to a [twenty (20)] day inpatient maximum; 

4. Ambulance, including air ambulance, service to or from a Hospital for [one] round trip; 

5. Laboratory tests; 

6. Radiological procedures; 

7. Anesthetics and the administration of anesthetics; 

8. Blood, blood products and artificial blood products, and the transfusion thereof; 

9. Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy and Chiropractic or Acupuncturist Care 
as shown in the Schedule; 

10. Rental of Durable Medical Equipment, up to the actual purchase price of such equipment; 

11. The initial supply, but not replacement of: casts, splints, trusses, braces, artificial limbs and artificial eyes 
subject to the Accident Medical Expense Benefit Exclusions section; 

12. Medicines or drugs administered by a Physician or that can be obtained only with a Physician's written 
prescription; 

13. Repair or replacement of Sound Natural Teeth damaged or lost as a result of a Covered Injury, up to the Dental 
Maximum, if any, shown in the Schedule. 

14.  Extended Care Facilities; or  

15.  Home Health Care. 

The foregoing Covered Accident Medical Services are subject to all of the limits as shown in the Schedule. 

AME Benefit Exclusions. 

In addition to the GENERAL EXCLUSIONS in SECTION VI of the Policy, charges for Covered Accident 
Medical Services do not include, and benefits are not payable with respect to, any expense for or resulting from: 

 repair or replacement of existing artificial limbs, artificial eyes or other prosthetic appliances or repair of 
existing Durable Medical Equipment unless for the purpose of modifying the item because Injury has 
caused further impairment in the underlying bodily condition; 

 dentures, bridges, dental implants, or treatment not related to the Injury; 

 eye glasses or contact lenses; 

 hearing aids or hearing examinations; 

 that portion of rental expense for Durable Medical Equipment that exceeds the usual purchase cost for similar 
equipment in the locality where the expense is incurred; 

 Custodial Services; 

 Personal Comfort or Convenience Items; 

 services of a Federal, Veteran's, State or Municipal Hospital for which You are not liable for payment; 

 services or treatment which is covered by Medicare; 

 that portion of the fee for services or treatment which is more than the Usual and Customary Charge; 

 cosmetic, plastic or restorative surgery unless Medically Necessary for the treatment of an Injury; 

 services or treatment which are provided for in a settlement or court judgment; 

 services or treatment which are covered under any other insurance of any kind; 

 services or treatment for which You are not legally obligated to pay; 

 an Extended Care Facility stay that does not follow a Hospital confinement of [five (5)] days or more; 

 any mileage charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us; 
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 any translation charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us; or 

 any lodging charges related to the Covered Injury unless authorized by Us. 

AME Benefit Definitions. 

As used in this Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 

Ambulatory Medical Center means a facility that meets all of the following requirements: 

1. operates under the laws of the state that it is situated in; 

2. has a staff of Physicians and permanent facilities that are equipped and operated primarily for the purpose 
of providing medical services or performing subject procedures; and 

3. provides continuous Physician and Graduate Registered Nurse (RN) services whenever a patient is in the facility. 
An Ambulatory Medical Center does not include a Hospital or a Physician's office or a clinic. 

Custodial Services means any services which are not intended primarily to treat a specific Injury. Custodial 
Services include, but will not be limited to, services: (1) related to watching or protecting You; (2) related to 
performing or assisting You in performing any activities of daily living, such as: (a) walking; (b) grooming; 
(c) bathing; (d) dressing; (e) getting in or out of bed; (f) toileting; (g) eating; (h) preparing foods; or (i) taking 
medications that can usually be self-administered; and (3) that are not required to be performed by trained or skilled 
medical or paramedical personnel. 

Durable Medical Equipment refers to equipment of a type that is designed primarily for use, and used primarily by 
people who are injured (for example, a wheelchair or a Hospital bed). It does not include items commonly used by 
people who are not injured, even if the items can be used in the treatment of Injury or can be used for rehabilitation or 
improvement of health (for example, a stationary bicycle or a spa). 

Extended Care Facility means an institution that meets all of the following requirements: 

1. operates under the laws of the state that it is situated in; 

2. is approved by the Department of Health and Human Services or its successor; 

3. is regularly engaged in providing skilled nursing care of sick or injured persons as inpatients at the patient's 
expense; 

4. provides 24 hour a day nursing service by or under the supervision of a Graduate Registered Nurse (RN); 

5. provides skilled nursing care under the supervision of a Physician; and 

6. maintains a daily medical record of each patient. 

Home Health Care means nursing care and treatment for You in Your home as part of an overall extended 
treatment plan. To qualify, the extended treatment plan must: 

1. be approved in writing by the attending Physician; 

2. be provided by a Hospital certified to provide Home Health services or by a certified Home Health Care 
agency; 

3. begin within [seven (7)] days after discharge from a Hospital; and 

4. follow a Hospital confinement of [five (5)] days or more. 

No benefits are payable for Home Health Care services provided by: 

1. a member of Your immediate family; or 

2. a person residing in Your home. 

Hospital means a facility that: (1) operates under the law of the state that it is situated in; (2) is approved by the 
Department of Health and Human Services or its successor; (3) has organized facilities for diagnosis and surgery 
on its premises or in facilities available to it on a prearranged basis; (4) has 24-hour nursing service by 
graduate registered nurses (RN), on duty or on call; and (5) is supervised by one or more Physicians. A Hospital does 
not include: (1) a nursing, convalescent or geriatric unit of a Hospital when a patient is confined mainly to receive 
nursing care; (2) a facility that is, other than incidentally, a rest home, nursing home, convalescent home or home for 
the aged; nor does it include any ward, room, wing or other section of the Hospital that is used for such purposes; 
or (3) any military or veterans Hospital or soldiers home or any Hospital contracted for or operated by any 
national government or government agency for the treatment of members or ex-members of the armed forces. 
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Maximum Benefit Period means, with respect to the Accident Medical Expense Benefit, the maximum period 
for which benefits will be payable for Covered Accident Medical Services for or in connection with a single 
Accident Medical Expense Covered Loss. The length of the Maximum Benefit Period for Accident Medical 
Expense is shown in the Schedule. 

Medical Commencement Period means the time period shown in the Schedule between the date of the Accident that 
caused the Injury and the date that the first medical service or treatment must be incurred for Accident 
Medical Expense Benefits to be payable under this Policy. 

Medically Necessary means that a Covered Accident Medical Service: (1) is essential for diagnosis, treatment or 
care of the Injury for which it is prescribed or performed; (2) meets generally accepted standards of medical 
practice; and (3) is ordered by a Physician and performed under his or her care supervision or order. 

Personal Comfort or Convenience Item(s) means those items that are not Medically Necessary for the care and 
treatment of Your Injury. The term Personal Comfort or Convenience Item(s) includes, but is not limited to: (1) a 
private Hospital room, unless Medically Necessary; (2) television rental; and (3) Hospital telephone charges. 

Sound Natural Teeth means natural teeth that are either unaltered or fully restored to their normal function and are 
disease free, have no decay, and are not more susceptible to Injury than unaltered natural teeth. 

Usual and Customary Charge(s) means a charge that is made for a Covered Accident Medical Expense Benefit 
that: (1) does not include charges that would not have been made if no insurance existed; (2) is the lesser of the 
usual charges for similar services, treatment, supplies, or Hospital room and board in the locality where the expense 
is incurred, or the negotiated rate of the Preferred Provider designated by Us.  For a Hospital stay, the Usual and 
Customary Charge is based upon the expense for a semi-private room and board charge, unless the stay is a 
Medically Necessary stay in an intensive care unit; and (3) with respect to drugs, is the negotiated rate of the 
Preferred Provider designated by Us, if applicable, or  [[125%] of the Average Wholesale Price (AWP), if 
applicable] [[125%] of the generic drug price, if available] [[125%] of the Average Sales Price (ASP), if applicable]. 

 

 

 
SECTION V – LIMITATIONS 

 

Combined Single Limit. 

We will not pay more than the Combined Single Limit stated in the Schedule. 
 
Aggregate Limit of Liability.   

We will not pay more than the Aggregate Limit of Liability stated in the Schedule. 
 
[Incarceration Limitation.  

Benefits being made to You will cease while You are incarcerated in a penal facility. The benefit will resume, as if 
the benefits had been paid, subject to all Policy conditions, when You are released from such facility.] 
 

[Pre-Existing Condition.   

Benefits under the Policy for an Injury due to a Pre-Existing Condition will be limited to the amount shown in the 
Schedule.] 
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SECTION VI – GENERAL EXCLUSIONS 
 

A loss will not be a Covered Loss if it is caused in whole or in part by, or results in whole or in part from: 

 suicide or any attempt at suicide; intentionally self-inflicted Injury or any attempt at intentionally self-inflicted 
Injury [, including, but not limited to, any attempt to restrict the flow of oxygen to the brain for purposes of 
autoeroticism or auto-erotic asphyxiation] or any Injury resulting from a provoked attack; 

 illness or disease [,regardless of how contracted,]; medical or surgical treatment of illness or disease; or complications 
following the surgical treatment of illness or disease; [except for Accidental ingestion of contaminated foods];  

 any Pre-Existing Condition [until You have been continuously covered under this Policy for [twelve (12)] 
consecutive months]; 

 Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions, unless as shown in the Schedule; 

 Occupational Disease[, unless (and to the extent as) specifically provided by this Policy]; 

 Hernia of any kind, unless as shown in the Schedule; 

 Hemorrhoids of any kind; 

 performing, learning to perform or instructing others to perform as a crew member of any vessel while covered 
under the Jones Act or the United States Longshoremen and Harbor Workers' Act, or similar coverage; 

 war, or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared [unless it occurs in the following geographic locations [named 
countries]only]; 

 involvement in any type of active military service [.] [(Reserve or National Guard active duty training is not excluded, 
unless it extends beyond [thirty-one (31) consecutive days].)] [(For purposes of this exclusion, orders to active military 
service for [sixty (60) days] or less will not be considered involvement in active military service.)][(This exclusion 
does not apply to the first [sixty (60) consecutive days] of active military service.)]; 

 any Injury for which You are entitled to benefits pursuant to any Workers' Compensation Law or other similar 
legislation; 

 any loss insured by employers' liability insurance; 

 You being intoxicated. You are conclusively deemed to be intoxicated if the level of alcohol in Your blood exceeds 
the amount at which a person is presumed, under the law of the locale in which the Accident occurred, to be under the 
influence of alcohol if operating a motor vehicle, regardless of whether he or she is in fact operating a motor vehicle, 
when the Injury occurs. An autopsy report from a licensed medical examiner, law enforcement officer reports, or 
similar items will be considered proof of Your intoxication; 

 [the deliberate ingestion of a [poison,] [fume,] [noxious chemical substance][;][or][the use of a prescription drug unless 
taken as prescribed by a Physician][;][or] [a non-prescription drug, unless taken in accordance with its directions]. 
[This exclusion shall not apply to the ingestion of alcohol.];] 

[the use of a controlled substance as defined in Title II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act 
of 1970 as amended and the regulations issued under its authority unless taken as prescribed by a Physician or for a 
non-prescription controlled substance unless taken in accordance with its directions;] 

 participation in the commission or attempted commission of [a crime,] [any felony,] [an assault,] [insurrection] [or] 
[riot]; 

 travel or flight in or on (including getting in or out of, or on or off of) any vehicle used for aerial navigation, if You 
are: 

a. riding as a passenger in any aircraft not intended or licensed for the transportation of passengers; 

b. performing, learning to perform or instructing others to perform as a pilot or crew member of any aircraft; 

c. riding as a passenger in an aircraft owned, leased or operated by the Policyholder or an Insured Person; [or] 

 participation in any of the following activities: 

skydiving     hang gliding   parachuting   parasailing 
automobile racing or stunts   bungee-jumping   scuba diving   heli-skiing  
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motorcycle racing or stunts  endurance tests    fire fighting   racing  
acrobatic or stunt flying   extreme sport stunts   [hunting] 
flight on a rocket-propelled or rocket launched aircraft 

[or any other extra-hazardous activity]; or] 

 [the use or release of [explosives, however delivered,] [nuclear energy,] [radiation,] [chemicals,] [biological agents or 
diseases,] [an organism or agent which disrupts the environmental or ecological balance of a geographic area] which 
results directly or indirectly from the intentional or unlawful act of a person or persons, including any resulting 
sickness or disease][.][; or]  

 [a cardiovascular event or stroke caused by exertion prior to or at the same time as an Accident][.][; or]  

 [alcoholism, drug addiction or the use of any drug or narcotic except as prescribed by a Physician operating within his 
or her scope of authority.] 

 
 
 

SECTION VII – CLAIMS PROVISIONS 
 

 

Notice. You or Your beneficiary, or someone on Your behalf, must give Us written notice of the loss within twenty (20) 
days of such loss. The notice must include Your name and the Policy Number. To request a claim form, You or Your 
beneficiary, or someone on Your behalf may contact Us at [1-111-111-1111]. The notice must be sent to the Claims 
Department at Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company, [44 Whippany Road, Morristown, NJ 07960], or any of Our agents. 
Notice to Our agents is considered notice to Us. 
 
Claim Forms. We will send the claimant Proof of Loss (claim) forms within fifteen (15) days after We receive notice. If 
the claimant does not receive the forms in fifteen (15) days after submitting notice, he or she can send Us a detailed written 
report of the claim and the extent of the loss. We will accept this report as a Proof of Loss if sent within the time fixed 
below for filing a Proof of Loss. The notice should include Your name, the Policyholder’s name and the Policy number. 
 
Proof of Loss. Written Proof of Loss, acceptable to Us, must be sent within ninety (90) days of the date of the loss. If the 
loss is one for which the Policy requires continuing eligibility for periodic benefit payments, subsequent written proofs of 
eligibility must be furnished at such intervals as We may reasonably require. Failure to furnish Proof of Loss, acceptable to 
Us, within such time, will neither invalidate nor reduce any claim if it is not reasonably possible to furnish the Proof of 
Loss, and the proof is provided as soon as reasonably possible. and in no event, except in the absence of legal capacity of 
the claimant, later than one year from the time proof is otherwise required. We have a right to investigate the Proof of Loss 
and any relevant documents which You will make available to Us upon request. 
 
Time of Payment. We will pay claims for all Covered Losses, other than Covered Losses for which the Policy provides 
any periodic payment, [within [thirty (30)] days] [immediately upon receipt] of written Proof of Loss that is acceptable to 
Us. 

Unless an optional periodic payment is stated or chosen, any Covered Loss to be paid in periodic payments will be paid at 
the end of each [one (1)] week period. The unpaid balance, which remains when Our liability ends, will then be paid when 
We receive the proof of Covered Loss that is acceptable to Us. 
 
Recipient of Payment.  
1. Loss of Life. Covered Losses resulting from Your death are paid to Your named beneficiary at the time of death. If 

there is no beneficiary named or Your named beneficiary predeceases or dies at the same time as You, We will pay the 
benefit to Your survivors in the following order: 

a. Your legally married spouse; 

b. Your child(ren); 

c. Your parents; 

d. Your brothers and sisters; 

e. Your estate. 

2. All Other Claims. Benefits are paid to You. You may direct in writing that all or part of an Accident Medical Expense 
Benefit be paid directly to the party who furnished the service. You may change the direction at any time up to the 
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filing of the Proof of Loss. If You die before all payments due have been made, the amount still payable will be paid to 
Your beneficiary, or if there is no beneficiary designated, as set forth above. 

 
Physical Examination and Autopsy. We have the right to examine You if Your Injury is the basis of a claim, when and 
as often as We may reasonably request while the claim is pending. Such examination will be at Our expense. We may also 
require an autopsy be performed, unless forbidden by law. 
 
Conditional Claim Payment. If You suffer a Covered Loss(es) as the result of Injuries for which a third party may 
be liable, We will pay the amount of benefits otherwise payable under the Policy. However, if You receive payment 
from the third party, You agree to refund to Us the lesser of: (1) the amount actually paid by Us for such Covered 
Loss(es); or (2) an amount equal to the sum actually received from the third party for such Covered Loss(es). If 
You do not receive payment from the third party for such Covered Loss(es), We reserve the right to subrogate 
under the Subrogation clause of the Policy. 

At the time such third party liability is determined and satisfied, this amount will be paid whether determined by 
settlement, judgment, arbitration or otherwise. This provision will not apply where prohibited by law. 
 
Rehabilitation. We will consider a rehabilitation program for You if You are receiving benefits under either the 
Temporary Total Disability Benefit or the Continuous Total Disability Benefit. The program must be mutually agreed 
upon by You and Us. The extent of Our participation will be determined by mutual agreement and benefits payable will 
continue during Your rehabilitation.  
 
Sunset. In no event will a claim made for losses You sustained be considered valid and collectible in accordance with the 
Policy unless full details of such claim are presented to Us within three (3) years from the date of the Accident which is the 
basis of such claim. 
 
[Right to Recover Overpayments. In addition to any rights of recovery, reimbursement or subrogation provided to 
Us herein, when payments have been made by Us with respect to a Covered Loss in an amount in excess of the maximum 
amount of payment necessary to satisfy an obligation under the terms of the Policy, We will have the right to recover 
such excess payment, from any person to whom such payments were made. We maintain the right to offset the 
overpayment against other benefits payable to You (and Your assignee) under the Policy to the extent of the 
overpayment.] 
  
[Suit Against Us. No action on the Policy may be brought until sixty (60) days after written Proof of Loss has been sent to 
Us. Any action must commence within three (3) years, (five (5) years in Kansas and Tennessee; and six (6) years in South 
Carolina and Wisconsin) of the date the written Proof of Loss was required to be submitted. If the law of the state where 
You live makes such limit void, then the action must begin within the shortest time period permitted by law. In those states 
where binding arbitration is allowed, binding arbitration will supersede this provision.] 
 
[Mediation.  Any contest to a claim denial under the Policy will be settled by non-binding mediation with Our consent and 
Your consent or the consent of Your beneficiary, whichever is applicable. The mediation will be administered by the 
American Arbitration Association in accordance with its Commercial Arbitration Rules. The mediation will occur at the 
offices of the American Arbitration Association nearest to You or the person claiming to be Your beneficiary. No legal 
action may be brought by You, Your beneficiary, or Us until thirty (30) days after the mediator(s) issues a non-binding 
award.] 
 
Recovery. In the event You make a recovery from a third party for a loss paid under the Policy, You will 
reimburse Us up to the amount of the benefits made by Us. 
 
 
[Subrogation. We have the right to recover all payments including future payments, which We have made, 
or will be obligated to pay in the future, to You from anyone liable for the Covered Injury. If You recover from 
anyone liable for the Covered Injury, We will be reimbursed first from such recovery to the extent of Our 
payments to You. You agree to assist Us in preserving Our rights against those responsible for such loss, including but 
not limited to, signing subrogation forms supplied by Us.]  
 
[Claims for Workers' Compensation and Other Insurance. No benefits will be payable under the Policy for any loss 
which You claim or file under any Workers' Compensation, employers' liability, occupational disease or similar law or any 
other insurance until such claim or filing is approved or denied. Upon approval or denial, We will determine Our 
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liability under the terms and conditions of the Policy. If such a claim is denied, You appeal the denial, no benefits 
will be paid under the Policy until a final disposition of the appeal is issued, at which time We will determine Our 
liability. We reserve the right to recover, from You, any benefits paid under the Policy which are subsequently paid for 
under any Workers' Compensation, employers' liability, occupational disease or similar law or any other insurance.] 
 
[Workers’ Compensation Indemnification. If You are determined by a court of law or the appropriate state regulatory 
authority to be covered under Workers’ Compensation insurance for a Covered Loss, any benefits for which You are 
eligible under the Policy, are payable to the person who was determined to be Your employer or such person’s designee or 
assignee. The Workers’ Compensation exclusion in the GENERAL EXCLUSIONS Section of the Policy is deleted in its 
entirety.]  
 
 

 

SECTION VIII – GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

 

Beneficiaries. You have the sole right to name a beneficiary. The beneficiary has no interest in the Policy other than to 
receive certain payments. You may change the beneficiary at any time. Consent to a change by a prior beneficiary is not 
needed unless the previous beneficiary was designated as irrevocable. Any beneficiary designation must be in writing on a 
form acceptable to Us. 

If any payee is a minor or is not competent to give a valid release for the payment, the payment will be made to the 
legal guardian of the payee's property. If the payee has no legal guardian for his or her property, a payment not exceeding 
$1,000 may be made, at Our option, to any relative by blood or connection by marriage of the payee, who, in Our opinion, 
has assumed the custody and support of the minor or responsibility for the incompetent person's affairs 
 
Change or Waiver. A change or waiver of any terms or conditions of the Policy must be issued by Us in writing and 
signed by one of Our executive officers. No agent has authority to change or waive Policy terms or conditions. A failure to 
exercise any of Our rights under the Policy will not be deemed as a waiver of such rights in the same or future situations. 
Clerical Error. A clerical error or omission, whether by the Policyholder, the Producer, or Us, will not increase or 
continue Your coverage, which otherwise would not be in force. If You apply for insurance for which You are not eligible, 
We will only be liable for any premiums paid to Us. 
 
Conformity With Statute. Terms of the Policy that conflict with the laws of the state where it is delivered are amended to 
conform to such laws. 
 
Assignment of Interest. The Policy is non-assignable. 
 
[Incontestability. The validity of the Policy will not be contested after it has been in force for two (2) years from 
the Policy Effective Date, except as to nonpayment of premiums.] 
 
Noncompliance With Policy Requirements. Any express waiver by Us of any requirements of the Policy will not 
constitute a continuing waiver of such requirements. Any failure by Us to insist upon compliance with any Policy 
provision will not operate as a waiver or amendment of that provision. 
 
[Offset Debt. We will have, and may exercise at any time, the right to offset any balance or balances, whether on 
account of premiums or otherwise, due from You to Us against any balance or balances, whether on account of losses 
or otherwise, due from Us to You.] 
 

 

SECTION IX – GENERAL DEFINITIONS 
 

 Accident or Accidental means a sudden, unexpected, specific and abrupt event that occurs by chance at an identifiable 
time and place during the Policy term. 

 Accident Commencement Period means the time period, shown in the Schedule, between the date of the Accident 
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which caused the Injury and the date the Loss must occur for death or dismemberment benefits to be payable under 
this Policy. 

 Actively At Work means that You are under Dispatch an average of [thirty (30)] hours each week.  

 Aggregate Limit of Liability means the total benefits We will pay for a Covered Accident or Covered Accidents 
set forth in the Policy. For purposes of the Aggregate Limit of Liability provision, Covered Accident or Covered 
Accidents will include a Covered Loss or Covered Losses arising out of a single event or related events or 
originating cause [occurring within a [one (1)] day period] and includes a resulting Covered Loss or Covered 
Losses. If the total benefits under the Aggregate Limit of Liability is not enough to pay full benefits to each Insured 
Person, We will pay each one a reduced benefit based upon the proportion that the Aggregate Limit of Liability 
bears to the total benefits which would otherwise be paid. 

 [Co-Driver means a person who drives in the same unit on a full-time basis with the Primary Driver.] 

 Combined Single Limit means, with respect to any one Insured Person, the total amount of benefits that are 
payable under the Policy for or in connection with a Covered Injury sustained as the result of any one Covered 
Accident. When the Combined Single Limit has been reached, no further benefits will be payable under the Policy, 
with respect to that Insured Person for or in connection with an Injury sustained as the result of that one Covered 
Accident. 

 Contract Driver is as described in SECTION I. 

 Co-Owner means a person who has partial ownership of a vehicle operating as an Owner-Operator. 

 Covered Accident means an Accident that results in a Covered Loss.  

 Covered Injury means an Injury directly caused by an Accident, which is independent of all other causes, results 
from a Covered Accident, occurs while You are insured under the Policy, and results in a Covered Loss.   

 Covered Loss means a loss which meets the requisites of one or more benefits, results from a Covered Injury, and for 
which benefits are payable under the Policy. 

 Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions means conditions which impair the normal physiological function 
of the body over an extended period of time, and which do not arise as the result of a single Accident. 

 Deductible Amount means the portion of the Usual and Customary Charges for Medically Necessary Covered 
Accident Medical Services, incurred due to Injuries You sustain in a Covered Accident, which must be met 
before the Accident Medical Expense Benefit will be paid. The Deductible Amount is shown in the Schedule. 

 Dependent Child(ren) means Your unmarried children, including natural children from the moment of birth, 
step or foster children, or adopted children, from the date of the final decree of adoption, [who rely on You for 
[more than 50% of] their support [and are taken as dependents on Your Federal Income Tax Return],] and who 
are either: 1) less than nineteen (19) years of age; or 2) less than twenty-three (23) years of age and enrolled 
on a full-time basis in a college, university or trade school, or who satisfy neither 1) nor 2), but who prior to 
age twenty-three (23), became incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of mental retardation or 
physical handicap. We may require proof of such Dependent Child(ren)'s incapacity and dependency. 

 Dispatch means when You are: 

1. in route to pick up a load;  

2. picking up a load;  

3. in route to deliver a load;  

4. unloading a load;  

5. in route after dropping off a load;  

6. waiting for a load if You are not at home; 

7. required to perform services by or for a motor carrier; or 

8. performing activities to comply with federal or state laws to satisfy motor carrier or commercial driving 
requirements. 
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Dispatch must be authorized by the Policyholder. Dispatch does not include an Injury during usual travel between, 
to, and from work or a bona fide leave of absence or vacation. 

For purposes of the Policy, if You are performing maintenance and/or repairs on a power unit which You own or lease, 
You will be deemed to be under Dispatch. You must provide proof which is satisfactory to Us that the Injury was 
sustained while performing such maintenance or repairs in order to receive Occupational Accident Benefits for the 
Injury. 

 Eligible Person means a person who is described in the ELIGIBILITY portion of SECTION I.  

 Immediate Family Member means a person who is related to You in any of the following ways: Spouse, brother-in-
law, sister-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, mother-in-law, father-in-law, parent (includes stepparent), brother or 
sister (includes stepbrother or stepsister), or child (includes legally adopted or placed for adoption, or stepchild) or any 
person residing in Your home. 

 Injury or Injuries means bodily harm or bodily damage. 

 Insured Person means a person who: (1) is an Eligible Person as described in the ELIGIBILITY portion of 
SECTION I; (2) has enrolled for coverage; and (3) has coverage in effect according to the terms of the Policy. 

 Mental and Nervous or Depressive Condition means mental, nervous or emotional diseases or disorders of any type 
including schizophrenia, dementia, organic brain syndrome, delirium, amnesia syndromes, and organic delusional or 
hallucinogenic syndromes. 

 Non-Occupational means an activity involving You, which occurs while You are not under Dispatch. [If a Co-
Driver is not operating a unit, any Covered Injury sustained will be considered a Non-Occupational Covered Injury 
and will be covered under the Non-Occupational Accident Benefit schedule.] 

 Occupational means an activity involving You, which occurs or arises out of or in the course of You performing 
services while under Dispatch. Occupational does not encompass any period of time during the course of everyday 
travel to and from work or while on vacation. 

 Occupational Assessment means a test of vocational capabilities. The process includes a review of medical records, 
Injury and treatment, history and background (education, military, previous occupation(s)), evaluation of basic skills 
such as reading, understanding, spelling and/or math capabilities, and vocational alternatives. 

 [Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or Repetitive Conditions means bodily Injury to You caused by the 
combined effect of repetitive physical Occupational activities extending over a period of time, where: (1) such 
condition is diagnosed by a Physician; (2) Your performance of the activities causing the Injury occurred during the 
Policy period, and the onset of the Injury occurred and was reported during the Policy period; and (3) such activities 
resulted directly and independently of all other causes in a Covered Loss.] 

 Occupational Disease means a sickness which results in disability or death, and is caused by exposure to 
environmental or physical hazards during the course of Your Occupational activities, where: (1) such condition is 
diagnosed by a Physician, and is generally accepted by the National Centers for Disease Control to be a disease caused 
by such hazards; (2) exposure to such hazards is not an Accident but is caused or aggravated by the conditions under 
which You perform Occupational services; (3) Your last day of last exposure to the environmental or physical 
hazards causing such condition occurs during the Policy period; and (4) such exposure results directly and 
independently of all other causes in a Covered Loss. 

 Owner-Operator is as described in SECTION I. 

 Physician means a practitioner of the healing arts acting within the scope of his or her license who is not: (1) 
You; or (2) Your Immediate Family Member; or (3) a practitioner retained by the Policyholder. 

 Policy means the [Truckers] Occupational Accident Insurance Policy.  

 Policyholder means the group named on the front page of the Policy. 

 Pre-Existing Condition means a condition for which You have sought or received medical advice or treatment during 
the twelve months immediately preceding Your effective date of coverage under the Policy. 
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 Preferred Provider means a Physician or Hospital with which We have an agreement or contract to perform a 
covered service or treatment at an agreed upon rate or a company which provides prescription drugs at an agreed 
upon rate to You. 

 [Primary Driver means a person who has ownership or leases a power unit and is the principal driver of the 
power unit.] 

 Principal Sum, as applicable to You, means the amount of insurance in force under the Policy as described in the 
Schedule. 

 Schedule is SECTION II of this Certificate. 

 Spouse means Your legally married spouse. 

 Waiting Period means the consecutive number of days You must be Temporarily Totally Disabled or 
Continuously Totally Disabled before benefits become payable under the Temporary Total Disability Benefit or 
the Continuous Total Disability Benefit provisions of the Policy. Benefits are not retroactive to the first day of 
disability. The Waiting Period is shown in the Schedule. 

 We, Us, and Our refers to Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company. 

 You and Your refers to the Insured Person 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In Witness Whereof, We have caused the Policy to be executed and attested. 
 
 

      
 

Dennis R. Smith, Secretary     Michael Miller, President & CEO 
Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company    Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company 
 
 

 
 
 



 
 

Policyholder: [ABC Company]           Effective Date of Endorsement:       [January 1, 2007] 

Policy Number: [1234567]    
 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE CHANGE ENDORSEMENT 

 
[This endorsement will be used to make the following changes to the Policy: 

Addition or deletion of a subsidiary or affiliate 
Name change of Policyholder 
Address change of Policyholder 
Changes to the Eligibility or Schedule pages, e.g. change to the classes of Insured Persons or increasing or decreasing 

amounts of coverage 
Renewal 
Other administrative changes] 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Except for the above, this Endorsement does not vary, alter, waive, or extend any of the terms of the Policy to which it is 
attached. 

 

Endorsement No. _____________   
 

In Witness Whereof, We have caused this Endorsement to be executed and attested, and, if required by state law, this 
Endorsement shall not be valid unless countersigned by our authorized representative. 
 

                 
Dennis R. Smith, Secretary     Michael Miller, President & CEO 
Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company    Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company 
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POLICYHOLDER APPLICATION 
TRUCKERS OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT INSURANCE 

 
POLICYHOLDER INFORMATION 

 

Motor Carrier Name: ________________________________________________________________________ 

Street Address:_____________________________________________________________________________ 

City: ________________________________________________ State:___________Zip: ______________ 

Contact Person:  Title:  

Telephone Number: _________________________________ Fax Number: _________________________________ 

USDOT Number:_____________________________ 
 

Please answer the following questions: 

 Number of years in business:     _____________ 

 Is there Occupational Accident coverage in force now?  Yes*________  No_________ 

If yes, who is the carrier?   ______________________________________________________________ 

Please supply copy of the policy. 

What is the in force rate?     $__________________________ 

 Number of Independent Contract Drivers to be covered:  _____________ 

Please provide copy of the most current drivers list. 

 Average annual miles per driver:    _____________ 

 Radius of operations:           0-50 miles _________% 

                    50-200miles _________% 

          200+miles _________% 

              Maximum length of haul _________miles 

 What do drivers haul?   ___________________________________________________________________ 

 Percentage of equipment:                 Box        _________% 

             Flatbeds        _________% 

              Tankers       _________% 

                    Refrigerated        _________% 

           Container        _________% 

                 Dump        _________% 

Other (describe)  ____________________________ ___        _________% 

 Do the drivers load or unload?     Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, what percentage of time?    _________% 

 Is the driver responsible for maintenance of the truck?  Yes________  No_________ 

 How are the drivers compensated?**  ________________________________________________ 
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 Do you have employee drivers?    Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, how many?      _____________ 
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 Do drivers sign Owner-Operator Lease Agreements?  Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, please supply a copy of the Lease Agreement. 

 Do you lease Contract Drivers from fleet operations?  Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, how many?      _____________ 

 Do you require that the Contract Drivers submit an  
   application or enrollment form to you?   Yes________  No_________ 

 Do you lease out drivers to other motor carriers?    Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, to whom and how many?  ___________________________________________________________ 

 Will Occupational Accident coverage be:             voluntary __________    or compulsory __________ 

 Are Casual Laborers or Helpers used?     Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, where and how?  ________________________________________________________________ 

 Do you provide light or restricted duty for drivers?  Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, describe: _________________________________________________________________________ 

 Terminal locations (attach list if needed):  ____________________________________________________ 

 Indicate number of Owner-Operators by state of residence: 
_____Alabama    _____Louisiana    _____Oklahoma 
_____Alaska     _____Maine    _____Oregon 
_____Arizona    _____Maryland    _____Pennsylvania 
_____Arkansas    _____Massachusetts   _____Puerto Rico 
_____California    _____Michigan    _____Rhode Island 
_____Colorado    _____Minnesota    _____South Carolina 
_____Connecticut    _____Mississippi    _____South Dakota 
_____Delaware    _____Missouri    _____Tennessee 
_____District of Columbia   _____Montana    _____Texas 
_____Florida     _____Nebraska    _____Utah 
_____Georgia    _____Nevada    _____Vermont 
_____Hawaii     _____New Hampshire   _____Virginia 
_____Idaho     _____New Jersey    _____Washington 
_____Illinois     _____New Mexico   _____West Virginia 
_____Indiana    _____New York    _____Wisconsin 
_____Iowa     _____North Carolina   _____Wyoming 
_____Kansas     _____North Dakota 
_____Kentucky    _____Ohio    _____TOTAL 

 Provide details of minimum standards for Owner-Operators: 

Minimum age:           _____________ 

Maximum age:         _____________  

Minimum prior experience as an Owner-Operator:     _____________  

Minimum prior experience driving similar equipment:    _____________ 

Maximum number of accidents permitted:    #_______in past _____years 

Maximum number of violations permitted:      #_______in past _____years 

Do you provide training for the Owner-Operator?  Yes________  No_________ 

Describe any other criteria for qualifying Owner-Operators: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Has an Owner-Operator or Contract Driver filed a  
Workers’ Compensation claim in the past three (3) years? Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, what was the disposition of such claim(s)? _______________________________________________________ 
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 Provide information about Safety and Loss Control: 

Name of safety manager:   _____________________________________________________ 

Number of years experience in loss prevention:  _____________ 

Number of years working with you:    _____________ 

Provide details of in force safety program: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Please indicate the situs state where the Policyholder’s  
   contract is to be issued:     ____________________________________ 

 
* Experience:  Please provide: (1) the last three (3) years of Occupational Accident coverage loss runs. The  

   losses should present detailed medical and indemnity claims both reserved and paid. and (2) a  complete  
   description of injury and circumstances of any loss to an Owner-Operator involving death, dismemberment,  
   or TTD/CTD losses in excess of $25,000. 

** Please provide a copy of the standard settlement statement provided to the drivers. 
 

 
PRODUCER INFORMATION 
 

Agent/Broker:_____________________________________ Name of Firm:______________________________________ 

Street Address:_________________________________________________________________________ 

City:________________________________________________ State:__________ Zip:_______________ 

Telephone Number: ________________________________  Fax Number :__________________________________ 

Producer Number: __________________________________ Commission: __________________________________ 
 
 Broker of Record for this risk?     Yes________  No_________ 

 Is Broker licensed in contract situs state?   Yes________  No_________ 

 Is the license a:      resident license         _________ 
             non-resident license  _________ 

 Is the license for:       Accident & Health   _________  
Property & Casualty _________ 
Both                          _________ 

 Is the Broker licensed in the situs state for Surplus lines?  Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, please provide license number:     __________________________ 
 

 
 
INSURANCE PLAN DESIGN 

 

A. OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 

Accidental Death Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ................................................................................................................................[$50,000] 
Accident Commencement Period .................................................................................................. [365 days] 

Survivor's Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ..............................................................................................................................[$175,000] 
[Monthly Benefit Percentage .....................................................................................................  [1.0%]] 
[Monthly Benefit Amount ......................................................................................................................[$1,750]] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ..............................................................................................................................[$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period .................................................................................................. [365 days] 
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Paralysis Benefit: 

Principal Sum * ..............................................................................................................................[$225,000] 
Accident Commencement Period .................................................................................................. [365 days] 

Temporary Total Disability Benefit: 
Disability Commencement Period ................................................................................................... [90 days] 
Waiting Period ................................................................................................................................... [7 days] 
Benefit Percentage ...................................................................................................................................[66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount ...................................................................................................... [$125] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount...................................................................................................... [$475] 
Maximum Benefit Period **........................................................................................................[104 weeks] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Hernia.................................................................................................[10 weeks]] 
[Maximum Benefit Period for Occupational Cumulative Trauma 

and/or Repetitive Conditions .....................................................................................................[10 weeks]] 

Continuous Total Disability Benefit: *** 
Waiting Period ................................................. [Maximum Benefit Period for Temporary Total Disability] 
Benefit Percentage ...................................................................................................................................[66.67%] 
Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount ........................................................................................................ [$50] 
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount...................................................................................................... [$475] 
Maximum Benefit Amount ............................................................................................................[$300,000] 
Maximum Benefit Period............................................................................................................... [to age 70] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period ..................................................................................................... [90 days] 
Deductible Amount ............................................................................................................................... [$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period .........................................................................................................[104 weeks] 
Dental Maximum ...........................................................................................................[$1,000.00 per Accident] 
Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident.......................................................................................[$750,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ..........................................................................................................[$100,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy...................... [[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                            .................................    [and] [a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy,  
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy .............................................. [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance ............................................................................  [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                                                [but] [not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital]  
                                                              [but] [not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 

[Hernia Coverage................................................................... lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 

Mental and Nervous – Outpatient ................................................................................  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                                 maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 

Mental and Nervous – Inpatient...........................................................................  [maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                                  [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or 
       Repetitive Conditions.................................................. lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$10,000]] 

OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit ..................................................................................................  [$750,000] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability .......................................................................................  [$1,500,000] 
    (applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Occupational Accident) 

• [Hernia Coverage...............................................combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Occupational Cumulative Trauma and/or  
Repetitive Conditions.............................. ..combined lifetime Maximum Benefit of [$15,000]] 

• [Pre-Existing Condition Limitation ................................................................................  [$10,000]] 
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B. NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 

Accidental Death Benefit: 
Principal Sum * ............................................................................................................................. …[$7,500] 
Accident Commencement Period .................................................................................................. [365 days] 

Accidental Dismemberment Benefit: 
Principal Sum *.. ............................................................................................................................... [$7,500] 
Accident Commencement Period .................................................................................................. [365 days] 

Accident Medical Expense Benefit: 
Medical Commencement Period ..................................................................................................... [90 days] 
Deductible Amount................................................................................................................................... [$0] 
Maximum Benefit Period.............................................................................................................. [52 weeks] 
Dental Maximum ............................................................................................................... [$1,000 per Accident] 
Maximum Benefit Amount per Accident ......................................................................................... [$5,000] 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit ............................................................................................................ [$10,000] 

Limits on Accident Medical Expense Benefits: 

Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy...........................  [[$1,000] per Injury] 
                                                                                                                             [and][a combined [36] visits] 

Services provided by a Chiropractor or Acupuncturist, not including Physical Therapy, 
      Occupational Therapy, Work Hardening Therapy......................................................  [$1,000] per Injury 

Ambulance..................................................................................... [[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                                     [but][not more than [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

[Air Ambulance .........................................................................[[one] round trip to and from a Hospital] 
                                                                                        [but][not more than [$7,000] for any one Accident]] 

Mental and Nervous – Outpatient ................................................................................  [[$25.00] per visit]  
                                                                                                [maximum [20] visits for any one Accident] 

Mental and Nervous – Inpatient............................................................................ [maximum [20] days] 
                                                                                                  [maximum [$1,000] for any one Accident] 

NON-OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT LIMITS OF LIABILITY 

• Combined Single Limit ....................................................................................................................  [$7,500] 

• Aggregate Limit of Liability ........................................................................................................... [$15,000] 
       (applicable to all Covered Losses with respect to any one Non-Occupational Accident) 

 
 

* At age [65], the Insured Person's Principal Sum will be based on the following schedule: 

Age at Date of Loss                                                % of Principal Sum 

65                                                                    [80%] 

66                                                                    [60%] 
67                                                                    [40%] 

68                                                                    [20%] 
69                                                                    [15%] 

            [70 and over]                                                          [10%] 

 
** If an Insured Person sustains a Covered Injury at or after age [70], the Maximum Benefit Period will be 

[one (1) year]. 
 

*** If an Insured Person sustains a Covered Injury after the Insured Person’s normal Social Security retirement 
age, as determined by federal law, the Insured Person cannot qualify for Continuous Total Disability. 
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[FRAUD STATEMENT 
Any person who knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for payment of a loss or benefit or knowingly presents false 
information in an application for insurance is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and confinement in prison.] 
 

The undersigned: 

1. Declares that all information provided in this Application and any attachments hereto is true and correct. He or she 
understands that all information provided in this Application and any attachments hereto is material to Atlantic Specialty 
Insurance Company’s decision to provide this insurance, and that insurance will be provided, at Atlantic Specialty 
Insurance Company’s sole discretion, in reliance upon the truth of such information. 

2. Understands and agrees that the insurance applied for will not become effective until the Application for Occupational 
Accident Insurance coverage is approved by the Insurer, and the initial premium deposit, if applicable, is received; and 

3. Agrees that if the insurance applied for is approved by Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company, he or she will pay all 
premium due after the Effective Date of the insurance, including any premium which may accumulate between the 
Effective Date of the insurance and the date the Policy is issued. 

 
If coverage is issued, this Application will be made part of the Policy. 

 
 
 

Application completed by: ___________________________________________________________ 
     (Risk manager or the person responsible for insurance procurement) 

On Behalf of Motor Carrier: ______________________________________________________ 
 
 

Signature of Authorized Person: ___________________________________________________ Date: ________________ 

Print Name: _____________________________________________________ Title: ______________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR HOME OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

 
APPROVED:     YES______ NO_______    DATE:_________________________ 



 
 

DRIVER ENROLLMENT AND BENEFICIARY FORM 

TRUCKERS OCCUPATIONAL ACCIDENT INSURANCE 
 

Please print: 

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________  Male: ______  Female:______ 

Street Address: ________________________________________________ City: __________________________ State: ______ Zip: ____________ 

Social Security Number: _________________________ Date of Birth: ________________ E-Mail Address:________________________________ 

Home Telephone Number: _______________________________Cell Telephone Number: _______________________________ 

Name of Beneficiary:___________________________________________________ Relationship of Beneficiary: ___________________________ 
 

CDL Number:____________________________________________________________ Number of Years Experience: ________ 

Contracted by (Name of Company): ________________________________________________ Effective Date of Contract: ____________________ 

Street Address: ________________________________________________ City: __________________________ State: ______ Zip: ____________ 

Motor Carrier Telephone Number: ______________________________ Fax Number: ______________________________ 

Motor Carrier E-Mail Address: ____________________________________________ 

Please answer the following general questions: 

 Are you an Owner-Operator?     Yes________  No_________  

If yes, is the Certificate of Title in your name?    Yes________  No_________ 

If no, are you a:  Co-Owner_________ Leased Driver________  Team Driver________  Contract Driver_________ or Employee________ 

 Do you drive for another person?    Yes________  No_________   

 Do you load/unload?     Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, what is the average weight you lift?   _____________ 

 Do you attach and detach the trailer?    Yes________  No_________ 

 Do you tarp?      Yes________  No_________ 

 Do you drive:      Automatic _________  or Shift _________ 

        Long Haul _________  or Short Haul ________  

 Do you receive:      1099 ________  or W-2 ________ 

 What other duties do you perform? ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Please answer the following medical questions: 

 Are you covered under any medical plan?   Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, identify: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

 Have you ever filed a claim for Workers’ Compensation  
or any other occupational related injury?   Yes________  No_________  

If yes, explain:____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Have you ever been treated for: back, neck, spinal impairment ______ arthritis/gout  ______ 
 disorder of muscle or bone      ______ hemorrhoids  ______    
 high/low blood pressure           ______ prostatitis      ______ 
 kidney condition                      ______ diabetes         ______    
 heart condition                         ______ hernia            ______ 

If yes, explain: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Are you presently using any prescription medication?  Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, explain: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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 Have you had any disease or injury, within the  
past five (5) years, not listed above?    Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, explain: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Have you ever been treated for alcohol or drug dependency? Yes________  No_________ 

If yes, explain: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 What is the name and address of your current physician? 

Your Physician’s Name: ___________________________________________________________________ 

Your Physician’s Street Address: __________________________________ City: _______________________ State: _____ Zip: __________ 

 
 

[FRAUD STATEMENT 

Any person who knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for payment of a loss or benefit or knowingly presents false 
information in an application for insurance is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and confinement in prison.] 

 
In providing this information, I, the undersigned, understand and hereby state that: 

1. to the best of my knowledge and belief, all information on this Form is complete and truthful; 

2. this coverage being is not a contract for Statutory Workers’ Compensation Insurance, and neither I nor my carrier become participants in the 
Workers’ Compensation system by purchasing this insurance; and 

3. if, based on the information supplied in this Form, I am not eligible for coverage, premium will be refunded and no claims will be payable. 
 
By my signature below, I, the undersigned, also authorize any licensed physician, medical practitioner, hospital, clinic or other medical or medically 
related facility, insurance company or any other organization, institution or person that has any records, including any medical records, to furnish 
such information or copies of records to Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company, the motor carrier or the motor carrier’s designee. A photographic 
copy of this authorization shall be as valid as the original. 

 
IF THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS FORM IS FRAUDULENT,  

THE INSURER HAS THE RIGHT TO RETURN PREMIUM AND CANCEL COVERAGE. 
 
In order to verify the information provided in this Form, I, the undersigned, give the Insurer authority to examine the records that are maintained by 
the motor carrier. 

 
[I certify that I am an independent contractor, paid by a 1099 tax form, not as a W-2 employee.] 
 
 
Driver’s Signature: ___________________________________________________    Date: ____________________ 

[Motor Carrier] Representative’s Signature: _____________________________________________________  

 
 
 

 

Payment Authorization:  I authorize the above named motor carrier, with whom I have a contract, to take monthly deductions, equal to my 
premiums, from my settlement account on my behalf, and to remit these funds to Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company.  

I UNDERSTAND THAT THE COST OF THE INSURANCE IS MY SOLE OBLIGATION AND RESPONSIBILITY, regardless of the above 
arrangement of premium payment. I agree that I will forward any amount due and owing to Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company, upon demand, for 
any insurance at any time my account remains unpaid. 
 
Signature: ______________________________________________________________   Date:______________________ 
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For Residents of Arkansas:  IMPORTANT NOTICE: ARKANSAS INSURED'S ACCESS TO INSURER 
INFORMATION:  This notice is to comply with Arkansas House Bill 1221.  We are required by law to notify you of the 
complete addresses and phone numbers of the Arkansas Insurance Department, the insurance company's servicing 
office, and the agent.   
 
Below is this information:  Arkansas Insurance Department, Consumer Services Division, 1200 West Third Street, Little 
Rock, Arkansas  72201-1904, Telephone:  1-800-852-5494.   
 
Servicing Office:  
OneBeacon 
44 Whippany Road 
Morristown, NJ 07960 

AR Notice 
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