
May 25, 2005 
 
BULLETIN      3-2005 
 
TO: ALL LICENSED INSURANCE COMPANIES, HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS 

(HMOs), FARMERS MUTUAL AID ASSOCIATIONS AND COMPANIES, ALL KNOWN 
INSURANCE PRODUCER TRADE ASSOCIATIONS, ALL KNOWN INSURANCE COMPANY 
TRADE ASSOCIATIONS, AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES  

 
FROM:  ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  
 
SUBJECT: ACT 1948 OF 2005 – PRE-LICENSING  

EDUCATION HOURS FOR INSURANCE AGENTS, BROKERS AND PRODUCERS – EFFECTIVE 
ON AND AFTER AUGUST 12, 2005  

 
Act 1948 amends Arkansas Code §23-64-202(b)(2)(A)(iii).  Please note that the Act is effective on August 12, 2005, and 
addresses education hours for applicants for Arkansas licenses to be an insurance agent, broker or producer. Exempt are 
insurance adjusters or consultants. 
 
When the Act is effective, the number of education hours, for a producer license applicant to meet Arkansas’ pre-license 
education requirements, is reduced from 36 hours to 20 hours per line of authority.  The lines of authority per this law are: 
 

• life,  
• accident/health/sickness,  
• property/casualty, and  
• personal lines.   

 
The education hours allow for classroom instruction; and have added hours using electronic media.    
 
The Department in advance must approve those pre-license hours, the course providers, and procedures.  This Act will also 
apply to non-resident producer-applicants whose home state laws do not include the PLMA or whose state of domicile is not 
reciprocal with the State of Arkansas.  Non-resident producers who move to Arkansas to establish residency, and whose home 
state laws are not reciprocal with Arkansas (as they do not include PLMA provisions similar to Arkansas), will be required to 
meet the pre-license education hour requirements.   
 
The Act also added that an applicant shall not be required to take the five (5) hours of instruction on Arkansas laws and rules if 
he/she has taken those particular 5 hours for a previous line of insurance authority within the last two (2) years.  Example - 
Only 15 pre-license hours for a new line of authority would be required for a resident applicant, who took 5 hours of insurance 
law/rules as pre-license hours for a previous license or line of authority six (6) months ago (as it is within the preceding two (2) 
years).    
  
The Department will begin the steps necessary to amend Rule and Regulation 31, “Educational Requirements for Insurance 
Agents”, in accordance with Act 1948 of 2005.   
 
You may view Act 1948 of 2005 on the Internet at www.arkleg.state.ar.us under “ACTS”.   
 
Please contact the License Division of the Department for information at 501-371-2750 or email 
Insurance.License@Arkansas.gov for information. 
 
(Signed by Julie Benafield Bowman) 
_________________________________   
JULIE BENAFIELD BOWMAN 
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
STATE OF ARKANSAS 
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