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BULLETIN NO. 5-2009 
 
TO: ALL LICENSED INSURANCE COMPANIES, HEALTH MAINTENANCE 

ORGANIZATIONS, HOSPITAL MEDICAL SERVICE CORPORATIONS, 
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS, AND 
OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES, 

 
FROM: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 
SUBJECT: FEDERAL STIMULUS BILL - GROUP HEALTH COVERAGE 

CONTINUATION SUBSIDY 
 
DATE: MARCH  25, 2009 

 
 
On February 17, 2009, President Barack Obama signed the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act, commonly called the “Stimulus Plan Act.”  The Stimulus Plan Act provides a 
subsidy that may reduce by 65% the cost of COBRA and other state group continuation coverage 
for workers who lose their jobs.   
 
The purposes of this bulletin are (1) to provide information about the subsidy provided by the 
Stimulus Plan Act to Arkansas citizens who have lost group health coverage due to an 
involuntary termination of employment and (2) to notify insurance companies and health 
maintenance organizations (“insurance carriers”) of their obligations in connection with the 
group continuation coverage mandated by Arkansas law, A.C.A. §23-86-114 (“state group 
continuation coverage”) resulting from the Stimulus Plan Act. 
 
THE SUBSIDY PROVIDED BY THE STIMULUS PLAN ACT 
 
What Are Group Coverage Continuation Laws? 
Group coverage continuation laws require employers to offer employees who lose group 
coverage the opportunity to continue their employer-based health insurance.  COBRA is the 
federal law that requires employers with 20+ employees to provide group continuation coverage.  
The Arkansas state continuation coverage law requires insurance carriers providing group health 
coverage to employers not subject to COBRA to provide group continuation coverage for a 
period of up to 120 days after the termination of an employee’s coverage under a group health 
plan. 
 
When an Employee Loses Group Coverage and Elects Continuation, Who Pays the 
Premium? 
 
The employee who lost group coverage, not the employer, must pay the entire health insurance 
premium. 
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What does the Stimulus Plan Provide? 
The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act provides a 65% subsidy of the premium former 
employees pay for either federal COBRA group continuation coverage or state group 
continuation coverage.  Note that the Stimulus Plan Act only applies the subsidy to continuation 
resulting from involuntary termination of employment.  Group continuations resulting from 
divorce, legal separation or loss of dependency are not subject to the subsidy. 
 
Who is Eligible for Subsidized Coverage under the Stimulus Plan Act? 
Individuals who lose group health coverage because of an involuntarily termination (“former 
employees”) between September 1, 2008, and December 31, 2009, are eligible for a 65% federal 
subsidy of their federal COBRA continuation coverage premiums for up to 9 months.  Those 
former employees who elect state group continuation coverage are eligible for the 65% federal 
subsidy of their state group continuation coverage premium for up to 120 days.   
 
The law imposes an income threshold as an additional condition on an individual’s entitlement to 
the premium subsidy. An individual is not entitled to benefit from the subsidy if the individual’s 
income exceeds $145,000 (or $290,000 for joint filers).  A reduced subsidy is available for 
individuals between $125,000 and $145,000 (or $250,000 and $290,000 for joint filers). The 
mechanism for denying the credit is imposed on the qualified beneficiaries’ tax returns via a 
recapture tax. 
 
How Do Individuals Obtain the Subsidy? 
Federal COBRA Continuation:  Employers are required to send forms to former employees so 
that former employees can elect to continue their group coverage and receive the subsidy.  
Former employees will have 60 days after receiving the forms to enroll.  Further details about 
enrollment will be provided by the federal Department of Labor.  For the most up-to-date 
information, contact the Department of Labor at 1-866-444-3272 or visit the agency’s website 
(http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/COBRA.html). 
 
State Group Continuation Coverage:  Insurance Carriers shall send a copy of this bulletin to 
each of their employer group health plan policyholders that are subject to the Arkansas law on 
continuation of coverage.  Employers shall send a copy of this bulletin along with the Arkansas 
State Group Continuation Coverage Election Form to former employees who were not eligible 
for Federal COBRA continuation, but are eligible for continuation of coverage under the 
Arkansas law.  Former employees that elect continuation of coverage under the Arkansas law 
may be eligible for the subsidy on their continuation premium.  Former employees must contact 
the insurance company to continue their coverage and receive the subsidy.  Insurance Carriers 
shall begin charging 35% of the state group continuation coverage premium to former employees 
whose state group continuation coverage was in effect or becomes effective between March 1 
and December 31, 2009. Insurance companies should make every effort to allow former 
employees the opportunity to elect state continuation coverage and to receive the subsidy even if 
the former employees fail to notify them within the ten day period required by law.  
 
When Will Eligible Individuals First Receive the Subsidy? 
The subsidy will be applied to premiums for the first period of coverage beginning on or after 
February 17, 2009.  For most individuals, the first period of subsidy-eligible coverage will begin 
March 1, 2009.  The subsidy is prospective (i.e., the Stimulus Plan Act does not subsidize group 
continuation coverage prior to the first period of coverage on or after February 17, 2009).   
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NOTE: Individuals who have already paid premiums for a period of coverage to which the 
subsidy applies are entitled to a refund or credit from their employer for the subsidy amount. 
  
How will the Subsidy be Applied to Group Continuation Coverage?  
COBRA Continuation:  Former employees who qualify for the subsidy will only be required to 
pay 35% of the group coverage continuation premium.  The former employer initially pays the 
remaining 65%, but the government will later reimburse the employer through a reduction in 
payroll taxes.  Former employees will not be required to pay the full group coverage continuation 
premium and then seek a refund. 
 
State Group Continuation Coverage:  Former employees who qualify for the subsidy will only 
be required to pay 35% of the group coverage continuation premium.  The insurance carrier will 
provide state continuation coverage and the federal government will later reimburse the 
insurance carrier for the 65% subsidy through a reduction in the insurance carrier’s federal 
payroll taxes.  Former employees will not be required to pay the full group coverage continuation 
premium and then seek a refund. 
 
Will Eligible Individuals Who Previously Terminated or Declined to Elect Group 
Continuation Coverage Have Another Opportunity to Elect Group Continuation Coverage 
and Receive the Subsidy? 
COBRA Continuation:  If the eligible individual’s employment was involuntarily terminated 
on or after September 1, 2008, and he or she initially declined to elect COBRA continuation 
coverage, or elected COBRA continuation coverage and later stopped paying premiums, the 
former employer must notify the former employee of an additional opportunity to elect COBRA 
continuation coverage and receive the subsidy.  The former employee will have 60 days to enroll 
after receiving notification from his or her former employer.  He or she must pay the initial 
premium (35% of the COBRA continuation premium) within 45 days of making the election to 
commence the COBRA continuation coverage. 
 
State Group Continuation Coverage:  If the eligible individual’s employment was 
involuntarily terminated on or after February 17, 2009, and he or she initially declined to elect 
state group continuation coverage, or elected state group continuation coverage and later stopped 
paying premiums, the former employer must notify the former employee of an additional 
opportunity to elect state group continuation coverage and receive the subsidy.  The former 
employee will have 10 days to enroll after receiving notification from his or her former 
employer.  He or she must pay the initial premium (35% of the state group continuation 
premium) within 10 days of making the election to commence the state group continuation 
coverage. 
 
Does the Stimulus Plan Act Extend the Length of Available Group Continuation 
Coverage? 
The Stimulus Plan Act does not change the length of time that group continuation coverage must 
be provided to eligible individuals: COBRA typically provides for up to 18 months of coverage, 
while the state group continuation law provides for up to 120 days of coverage.   
 
 
 



4 

Can an Individual Lose Eligibility for the Group Continuation Subsidy? 
COBRA Continuation:  A former employee can lose eligibility for the COBRA continuation 
subsidy in two ways.  First, the subsidy for COBRA continuation lasts no longer than 9 months.  
Second, the former employee becomes ineligible for the subsidy when he or she becomes 
eligible for new group health coverage or Medicare.   
 

 Former employees must notify their former employer when they become eligible for new 
group health coverage.  

 Former employees who willfully neglect to notify their former employer of their 
eligibility for a new group health plan must repay 110% of the subsidy to the federal 
government.  No such penalty shall be imposed if the former employee demonstrates 
“reasonable cause” for the failure.  

 
NOTE: Rules governing eligibility for subsidized COBRA differ from rules governing 
eligibility for unsubsidized COBRA.  Eligibility for unsubsidized COBRA ends only when a 
beneficiary enrolls in new group coverage or Medicare.  However, simply being eligible for new 
group health coverage disqualifies an individual from receiving the COBRA subsidy.  
 
State Group Continuation Coverage:  A former employee can lose eligibility for the state 
group continuation coverage subsidy in two ways.  First, the subsidy for state group continuation 
coverage and the coverage itself lasts no longer than 120 days from the date he or she lost 
coverage due to involuntary termination of employment.  Second, a former employee becomes 
ineligible for the subsidy when he or she becomes eligible for new group health coverage or 
Medicare.   
 

 Former employees must notify their former employer when they become eligible for new 
group health coverage.  

 Former employees who willfully neglect to notify their former employer of their 
eligibility for a new group health plan must repay 110% of the subsidy to the federal 
government.  No such penalty shall be imposed if the former employee demonstrates 
“reasonable cause” for the failure.  

 
OBLIGATIONS OF INSURANCE CARRIERS WITH RESPECT TO STATE GROUP CONTINUATION 

COVERAGE 
 
Insurance Carriers shall send a copy of this bulletin to each of its group health plan policyholders 
subject to the state continuation of coverage law. 
 
Insurance Carriers shall provide state group continuation coverage to former employees of group 
health plan policyholders who elect such coverage and whose right to state group continuation 
coverage has not expired (e.g. a reason for expiration is that more than 120 days have passed 
since the termination of the former employee’s group health plan coverage). 
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Insurance Carriers shall begin charging 35% of the state group continuation coverage premium 
to former employees whose state group continuation coverage was in effect or becomes effective 
between March 1 and December 31, 2009.   
 
UPDATES 
This bulletin focuses on the subsidies and changes to COBRA continuation and state group 
continuation coverage resulting from the Stimulus Plan Act.  Additional information will be 
forthcoming as a result of the adoption of guidelines and regulations by the three federal 
agencies (Department of Labor, Department of Health and Human Services and Internal 
Revenue Service) that are charged with implementing the provisions of the Stimulus Plan Act.  
For the latest updates, please refer to the Arkansas Insurance Department website, 
http://insurance.arkansas.gov, or call the Arkansas Insurance Department Consumer Services 
Division at (501) 371-2640 or (800) 852-5494.  
 
 
 
(signed by Jay Bradford)    (signed March 25, 2009) 
_______________________________________ __________________________________   
JAY BRADFORD     DATE 
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
STATE OF ARKANSAS 
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Arkansas State Group Continuation Coverage Election Form 

 
Employee’s Name: ______________________________ID #: ________________________ 
 
Dependent Name(s): ____________________________ Former Employer:________________________ 
 
            ___________________________ Insurer ________________________________ 
 

          ___________________________ Group #: _____________________ 
 
The State of Arkansas Continuation Law (A.C.A. §23-86-114) allows a former employee or former dependent to 
extend their group health insurance coverage for up to one hundred twenty (120) days.  In order to be eligible for 
this option, the former employee or dependent must have been continuously covered under the group health 
insurance policy for at least three (3) consecutive months prior to employment termination or change in dependency 
status and must make the election by notifying the insurer no later than 10 days after employment termination or 
change in dependency status.  The group health insurance premium must be paid in full by the former employee or 
dependent to the employer (policyholder) as specified below.  In the event extension of coverage is due to 
involuntary termination of employment on or after February 17, 2009 and prior to December 31, 2009, the 
insurance premium due from the former employee will be 35% of the group health insurance premium.  Failure 
to pay this premium will result in cancellation of coverage for the employee and/or any dependents. 

I, ____________________, wish to continue my group health insurance coverage under the State of Arkansas 

Continuation Law beginning __/__ /___.   
 
I am requesting continuation of my group health insurance coverage because of involuntary termination of 

employment. 
 
   The premium amount of $ _______ must be paid on the first of each month to my former employer beginning 

__/__ /__ or my coverage will be terminated.  If continuation is due to my involuntary termination of 
employment on or after February 17, 2009 and prior to December 31, 2009, the insurance premium due 
from the former employee will be 35% of the above stated premium amount.  This continuation of coverage 
shall terminate on the earliest of: 
One hundred twenty (120) days after the extended coverage begins; 
The date the former employee or dependent fails to make any premium payments to the former employer or 

the date the former employer fails to pay the premium to the insurer; 
The date on which the former employee or dependent becomes eligible for Medicare; 
The date on which the former employee or dependent is covered for similar benefits under another group or 

individual policy; 
The date on which the former employee or dependent is eligible for similar benefits under another group 

plan whether insured or uninsured; 
The date on which similar benefits are provided for, or available to, the former employee or dependent 

under any state or federal law; or 
The date on which the group policy terminates. 

 
I have read the statements above and do not wish to continue group health insurance coverage under the State of 

Arkansas Continuation Law (A.C.A. §23-86-114), for myself and/or any eligible dependents. 
___________________________________   _____________________________ 
Signature of Employee       Date of Signature 
 
___________________________________   _____________________________ 
Signature of Group Administrator     Date of Signature 
 

SUBMIT THIS FORM TO:  [Insert Insurer Name , 

Address & telephone number] 


