
DATE:  JULY 1, 2013 
 
TO: ALL HEALTH INSURERS & OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES 
 
FROM: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 
SUBJECT: RULE 104 HEALTH INSURANCE MARKETPLACE ASSISTER FEES 

 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

 
Please find attached or available by electronic publication by the Arkansas Insurance Department 
(“Department”) proposed Rule 104, “Health Insurance Marketplace Assister Fees.”  The 
Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) proposes a thirty five dollar ($35.00) 
Assister licensure fee.   
 
Pursuant to Section One (1) of Act 1439 of the 2013 Arkansas General Assembly to be codified 
in Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-607, Ark. Code Ann. §§23-61-108(a)(1), 25-15-204, and other 
applicable laws or rules, NOTICE is hereby given that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held on 
July 31, 2013, at 10:30 A.M., in the First Floor Hearing Room, Arkansas Insurance Department 
(“Department”), 1200 West Third Street, Little Rock, Arkansas. 
 
The purpose of the Public Hearing will be to determine whether the Commissioner should adopt 
Rule 104, "Health Insurance Marketplace Assister Fees,” to be effective September 12, 2013.   
 
All interested persons are encouraged to attend the Public Hearing and may appear and present, 
orally or in writing, statements, arguments or opinions on the proposed Rule.  All licensees and 
other interested persons are responsible for notifying all their personnel, agents, and employees 
about this Public Hearing. 
 
Persons wishing to testify should notify the Legal Division as soon as possible, and are requested 
to submit intended statements in writing in advance. 
 
Direct your inquiries to the Legal Division at (501) 371-2820 or insurance.legal@arkansas.gov. 
 
A copy of the proposed to Rule 104 may be obtained or viewed on the Legal Division’s Internet 
Web Site at http://insurance.arkansas.gov/Legal%20Dataservices/divpage.htm.  
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Ava Franks 
Associate Counsel 
Arkansas Insurance Department 
(501) 371-2820 



 

RULE 104 
HEALTH INSURANCE MARKETPLACE ASSISTER FEES 
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Section 1. Authority 
 
 This Rule is promulgated pursuant to Section One (1) of Act 1439 of 2013 of the 
Arkansas General Assembly to be codified in Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-607, Ark. Code Ann. § 
23-61-108, Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204, and other applicable laws or rules.   
 
Section 2. Purpose 
 

The purpose of this Rule is to establish Health Insurance Marketplace Assister fees for 
licensures.  
 
Section 3. Definitions 
 

A. “Commissioner” means the Arkansas Insurance Commissioner.  
 

B. “License” means a license obtained from the Arkansas Insurance Department for 
an IPA Guide, Navigator, Certified Application Counselor, or Health Insurance 
Marketplace licensed producer.  

 
Section 4. Fees 
 
 There shall be a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) regulatory fee paid to the Commissiner prior 
to the issuance of a License.  The License shall be renewed annually at the thirty-five dollar 
($35.00) fee.   

 
Section 5. Effective Date 
 

This Rule shall apply to all persons applying for an Assister license to be issued in this 
State or renewed on and after September 12, 2013.   
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INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
STATE OF ARKANSAS 
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