BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS 

IN THE MATTER OF

SAMANTHA SMITH

License Number 209667




A.I.D. NO. 2005-010
CONSENT ORDER

On this day Julie Benafield Bowman, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”), and Samantha Smith (“Respondent”), reached an agreement concerning the resident insurance producer’s license issued to Respondent by the Arkansas Insurance Department (“Department”). The Commissioner was represented by Nina Samuel, Associate Counsel.  The Respondent voluntarily and intelligently waived her right to a hearing and consented to the entry of this Consent Order.  The parties agreed as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT


1.
Respondent holds an in-active resident Arkansas insurance producer license granted by the Insurance Commissioner for the State of Arkansas.  Respondent’s last address of record at the Arkansas Insurance Department is 818 Dover Road, West Memphis, Arkansas 72301.  Respondent’s date of birth is February 10, 1979.


2.
On or about February 2, 2004, Respondent signed a Certificate of Completion for a course titled “Insurance in The Business World”.  During an investigation by the Insurance Fraud Investigation Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department, Respondent admitted that when she submitted the Certificate to the License Division, she knew that she had not attended the class. 


3.
For the above actions, the Department alleges that Respondent is in violation of the following insurance code provisions:  A) Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-512(a)(3), in that she turned in fictitious proof of CE requirements for renewal of her license; and B) Ark. Code Ann. §23-64-512(a)(8), in that she has used fraudulent or dishonest practices or trade practices prohibited by the laws or regulations of this state.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1.
That the Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and over the subject matter herein pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-61-103.

2.
That pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-64-512(a), the Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, or revoke, or refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license or may levy a civil penalty in accordance with § 23-64-216 or any combination of actions.

3.
That Respondent has been made fully aware of her right to a hearing and has voluntarily and intelligently waived said right and consents to the entry of this Consent Order.

THEREFORE, in consideration of these Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby ordered and agreed that Respondent’s resident Arkansas Insurance producer’s license(s) be placed in probationary status for one year from the date of this Order.  Respondent shall also pay a civil penalty of $100 within 90 days from entry this Order.  If Respondent fails to timely pay the aforestated penalty or violates the insurance code during the probation period, her license will immediately be set for a revocation hearing.

DATED this __11th __day of _February_, 2005

(signed by Julie Benafield Bowman)

Julie Benafield Bowman







INSURANCE COMMISSIONER







STATE OF ARKANSAS

(signed by Samantha Smith)
Samantha Smith
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