BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN THE MATTER OF | |
JOHN EDWARD WRIGHT A.L.D. NO. 2005-

047
ORDER
On July 12, 2005, a hearing was held at the Arkansas Insurance Department
(“Department”} regarding the producer application of John Edward Wright
(‘Respondent”). The Department was represented by Sara Farris, Associate Counsel.
Respondent represented himself. Based on the facts and law, Arkansas Insurance
Commissioner Julie Benafield Bowman finds as follows:
1. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and subject matter
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §23-61-103. |
2. On or about March 17, 2005, Respondent applied for an Arkansas insurance
agent’s license. Documents attached to his application showed that:
A. Mr. Wright owes at least $3,000 in child support arrearages;
| B. Mr. Wright owes the federal government $2,481.83 in back tax liability for
the year 1998. He entered into an installment agreement with the Internal Revenue
Service (“IRS”) in May of this year, and his ﬁrst $50 payment was due June 20, 2005.
C. According to his credit report, Mr. Wright has 3 open collection accounts
and one charge-off account with the following creditors:
i. Sprint for $535.00;
ii. ;\g{% F)ollection Services for $53.00, oqtstanding since March 1,

. Cox Communications in the amount of $183.00
iv. Charge-off account at Dillard's for $441.00



Q]

3. Based on the above, the Department declined Respondent’s request for a
producer’s license. Respondent requested a hearing.
4. At the hearing, Respondent presented evidence that he has made the first
payment under his repayment agreement with the IRS. He admitted that he did not file
tax returns for 2001, 2002, and 2003. He had not made a child support payment since
May 2005, in spite of an order requiring him to pay. -Respondent stated that he hoped
to begin paying his debts after receiving his producer’s license.
5. Respondent still has outstanding debt, and he is in violation of an order
requiring him to pay child support. Respondent must show that he can and will pay his
debts before he can be deemed financially responsible.

Therefore, the Arkansas Insurance Commissioner finds that:

1. Respondent’s request for a producer’s license is declined pursuant to Ark
Code Ann. § 23-64-512(a)(8) and (14).

2. Respondent may reapply for licensure after he has made consistent
payments on all his debts for six (6) consecutive months.

3. Respondent has already paid the required fees toward his licensure, and

these fees shall remain effective until March 1, 2006.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS [5‘7///\ day of August 2005.

LIE BENAFIEYD BOWMAN
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER



