BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN THE MATTER OF
MERCURY TITLE, LLC A.1.D. NO. 2008- 031

CONSENT ORDER

On this day Julie Benafield Bowman, Arkansas Insurance Commissioner
("Commissioner”), and Mercury Title, LLC, ("Mercury Title”), have reached an
agreement to resolve, without resort to an adjudicatory proceeding, Mercury’s
alleged failure to comply with the requirements of the Arkansas Insurance Code

as set forth herein. In this regard, the Commissioner and Mercury Title hereby

agree as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Insurance Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and
subject matter herein.

2. Mercury Title is a resident ftitle insurance agency previously
authorized to write title policies in Arkansas. Mercury Title’s agency address is
3589 N. College Avenue, Fayetteville, AR 72703.

3. Mercury Title received a resident title insurance agency license
from the now defunct Arkansas Title Insurance Agents’ Licensing Board.

4, Mercury Title’s license expired on January 31, 2008. The Arkansas
Insurance Department (“Department”) acquired jurisdiction over title insurance
agent and agency licenses on January 1, 2008, and as such was the proper
regulatory body to grant renewal of the title insurance agency license. Mercury

Title failed to request renewal of its license from the Department.



5. On or about March 17, 2008, the Department received information
that Mercury Title was writing title insurance business without a license.

6. On March 21, 2008, the Department received an e-mail from Title
Resource Group, Mercury Title’s managing entity and responded with a request
that Mercury Title stop writing title insurance business until it was properly
licensed. The Department’'s request to cease writing titie insurance business
was also made formally in a letter dated March 28, 2008. However, Mercury Title
did not actually cease writing title insurance business until April 8, 2008.

7. For the above actions, the Department alleges that Mercury Title is
in violation of the Arkansas Insurance Code for: Transacting the business of titie
insurance without authorization, in violation of Ark. Code Ann. § 23-103-403; and
Issuing title insurance reports or policies without a license, in violation of Ark.

Code Ann. § 23-103-409(4).
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Commissioner has jurisdiction over the parties and over
the subject matter herein pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-61-103.

2. That pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-103-416, if the Commissioner
determines that a title insurance agent or title insurance agency has violated the
Insurance Code, the Commissioner in his or her discretion may impose upon the
licensee an administrative penalty in the amount of up to one thousand dollars
($1,000) per violation or up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) per violation if willful

misconduct on the part of the licensee is found.



3. That Mercury Title has been made fully aware of its right to a
hearing and has voluntarily and intelligently waived said right and consents to

the entry of this Consent Order.

THEREFORE, in consideration of these Findings of Fact and Conclusions
of Law, it is hereby ORDERED AND AGREED that pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §
23-103-416, Mercury Title shall pay an administrative penaity of $10,000. The

administrative penalty shall be paid within 30 days from entry this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 82’2 )’C( day of 4%2& , 2008.
;;%LIE BENAFIEL% BOWMAN

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF ARKANSAS
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TIMOTHY FITZSIMMONS
VICE PRESIDENT

TITLE RESOURCE GROUP




