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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT  

LICENSE DIVISION  
1200 WEST 3RD STREET  

LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201  
PHONE: 501-371-2750  

FAX: 501-683-2604 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION  
 

Contact the Peggy Singleton or Sheila Weeks for CE information  
Email: peggy.singleton@arkansas.gov or sheila.weeks@arkansas.gov 

  
1. When is my Continuing Education due?     

Continuing education is due annually on or before the renewal date of the license.   There is no grace 
period. If the hours are not filed with the Department on or before the renewal date, then the license is 
subject to late filing fines and the license will not renew until the requirements are met.   An individual 
who has just been licensed has a minimum of a full year before continuing education requirements are 
imposed.  Producers moving from another state and becoming licensed in Arkansas as residents have a 
minimum of a year before continuing education requirements are imposed.  If the next expiration date is 
prior to the year exemption, you must pay the required fee but not file continuing education.  Example: A 
person becomes licensed for the first time (as new agent or as a non-resident moving to AR and 
becomes a resident agent) has 1 year before continuing education is required.   If a new agent 
becomes licensed in June of 2001, and the expiration of license is February 2, 2002, the agent must 
pay the renewal fee but continuing education is not due until February 2, 2003, since the exemption 
period of 1 year has not been reached prior to the 2002 expiration date.    
  

2. How many hours of Continuing Education are due?   
The required hours are based on the lines of authority of the licensee.  See Chart.  
  
Life-------------------------------------------------------------------8 hrs  
Accident/Health/Sickness-----------------------------------------8 hrs (This line of authority replaces Disability)  
Life and Accident/Health/Sickness------------------------------8 hrs  
Property/Casualty--------------------------------------------------8 hrs (This line replaces Multi-Line)  

 Personal Lines------------------------------------------------------8 hrs 
Life & Property/Casualty----------------------------------------10 hrs  
Accident/Health/Sickness & Property/Casualty -------------10 hrs  
Life, Accident/Health/Sickness & Property/Casualty-------10 hrs 
Personal Lines & Life--------------------------------------------10 hrs 
Personal Lines & Accident/Health/Sickness------------------10 hrs  
 

3. When can a Licensee become exempt from Continuing Education?    
A licensee can become exempt based on age or length of licensure, if licensed as a resident Arkansas 
producer prior to July 1, 2003, and has remained a resident Arkansas licensee without break.  Once a 
person reaches 60 years of age, or reaches 15 consecutive years of licensure (no breaks in licensure), they 
can become exempt if licensed as a resident Arkansas producer prior to July 1, 2003.  This exemption does 
not apply if the person was licensed as a resident Arkansas producer after July 1, 2003, and the 
licensee cannot use licensure in another state prior to becoming licensed in Arkansas for the 15 year license 
exemption.  If the person is licensed as a resident Arkansas producer after July 1, 2003, they can never 
become exempt from Continuing Education. 

 
4. What courses can I take to meet my continuing education requirements?    

The licensee must take a course approved by the Arkansas Insurance Department and a continuing 
education provider who has been approved by the Arkansas Insurance Department must offer the course.  
You cannot use courses approved in other states but not approved in Arkansas.   If the course is not 
approved or the provider is not approved—then the continuing education hours will not count.  Ask the 
Provider if it is approved for Arkansas and the Provider’s courses are approved for Arkansas before you 
purchase the course.   
       



5. Can I get an extension on my continuing education?  
If you have been unable to complete continuing education because of ill health, medical disability or family 
illness, you may request an extension for the due day of the continuing education.  You need to document 
the request with medical statements from the doctor or hospital.   Since the producer has 1 year to meet the 
requirements the medical condition has to be long standing in order to meet the extension requirements.   
  

6. How do I locate a proctor for my correspondence exam?  
 All correspondence courses must have a sealed written exam which the completion of the exam must be 
 monitored by a proctor.   Proctors must provide an affidavit on appendix G which must be completed and 
 returned to the continuing education provider, prior to the provider reporting the completed hours to the 
 Department.   Proctors must be a disinterested third party and shall not serve for examinations of: family 
 members or relatives or dependents, employers or supervisors, employees or subordinates, partners or joint 
 ventures or co-owners, current or former teachers or pupils, neighbors or personal friends or significant 
 others, or for anyone in whom the proctor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful 
 outcome of the examination.  
 

7. Can I take the same course over for continuing education credit?  
A course should not be repeated unless there has been a substantial change in the course.  If the course has 
been revised and updated—the Department will issue a new course number for the course. The purpose of 
continuing education is to educate the producer; taking the same course over does not meet this standard.  
The same course cannot be repeated within a 2 year period.    

    
8. How many hours can I carry over from one year to the next?  

A producer can carry over the number of hours needed for the next requirement year, any hours above the 
hours needed for the next requirement will be lost.   Example: A producer is required 8 hours annually. 
If that producer files 16 hours in 2001, then the producer can carry over 8 hours for 2002 
requirements.  If the producer filed 20 hours, the producer can carry over 8 hours and 4 hours would 
be lost.   
  

9. I have completed my hours, what do I do now?  
 In the past the producer was required to file the appendix E with a $10.00 filing fee but effective with the 
 new Rule 50 in 2006, the continuing education provider is required to file the continuing education 
 completion to the Department on an appendix H and the producer keeps the appendix E’s for the producer’s 
 records. The producer now pays the $10.00 filing fee with the license renewal fee. Since the 
 continuing education provider has 15 days to report this completing to the Department the producer 
 cannot wait to the last minute to complete continuing education.  
 

10. What are the requirements for ethics education? 
Each individual who is required to complete continuing education must complete 1 hour of ethics education 
annually.  The one hour is not in addition to your regular continuing education requirements, but 1 hour of 
the 8 or 10 hours must be an approved ethics course.  Ethics course cannot be carried over from one year to 
the next year.   If you are exempt from completing continuing education, then you are exempt from the 
ethics education. 

 
11. What are the fines if the Continuing Education is filed after the due date?  

The fines are based on the number of days after the expiration date the requirements are filed.   See Chart:  
  
1 to 30 days---license will not renew and will be inactive---$25.00   
31 to 60 days—license inactive and $50.00 fine  
61-90 days –license inactive and $100.00 fine  
91 days to 365 days—license inactive and $150.00 fine  
After 365 days—the license is terminated and the individual must start over as if they were never licensed--
-pre-license education and license exams.   
  
If the license is inactive due to non-compliance to continuing education, the licensee cannot write business 
until the requirements are filed and the license is reactivated
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