
Instructions for State Agencies  
 
Workers’ Compensation Claims filed by state 
employees should be sent to the Public Employee 
Claims Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department 
as soon as possible.   
 
 
Arkansas Code Ann. Section 11-9-529 allows employers 10 days to report 
work-related injuries.   Failure to report a claim in a timely manner can 
subject the employer to fines for each such failure. The Public Employee 
Claims Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department is the workers’ 
compensation administrator for state agencies.  All workers’ compensation 
claims paperwork should be sent to: 
  

Public Employee Claims Division 
Arkansas Insurance Department 
1200 West Third Street, Suite 201 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 
(501) 371-2700  voice 
(501) 371-2733  fascimile 

 
The Public Employee Claims Division will file the appropriate paperwork 
with the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission which is the 
regulatory body of workers’ compensation in Arkansas.  
 
Claims should be filed as soon as possible.  If you are investigating a claim 
please do not hold the paperwork until your investigation is complete.  This 
could result in the claim being filed late and end up increasing the money 
paid out by your agency for the claim.  The Public Employee Claims 
Division has 15 days from the date the employer receives notice in which 
to state a position as to whether or not a claim is compensable.  The 
longer the state agency takes to send in the paperwork, the less likely that the 
Public Employee Claims Division will have adequate time to investigate the 
claim. 
 
Faxing your claims to the Public Employee Claims Division is strongly 
encouraged.  Our fax number is (501) 371-2733.   



WHO CAN MAKE A CLAIM? 
 
Any employee may file a claim. 
 
Employees have an absolute right to file a claim regardless of your 
assessment of its legitimacy.  Ark. Code Ann. Section 11-9-106; 
11-9-406.  If you feel a claim is false, you should report that 
information in the form of a memorandum attached to the claim.  
 

HOW SHOULD I INVESTIGATE A CLAIM? 
 

Document everything surrounding the incident. 
 
Have all witnesses write a statement as soon after the incident as 
possible, and attach copies to the reports sent to PECD. 
 
If the circumstances surrounding the incident are questionable, you 
should report that information on the PECD2 Form and in the form 
of a memorandum attached to the claim.   
 
If you learn that the injured employee is performing activities that 
are inconsistent with his or her complaints of injury at any time 
while the employee is off work please notify the Public Employee 
Claims Division as soon as possible so this can be investigated. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
 
SELECTION OF PHYSICIAN 

 
All employees of the State of Arkansas are covered by a Managed 
Care Organization (MCO). EFFECTIVE APRIL 24, 2003, OUR 
MCO WILL BE SYSTEMEDIC.  Corvel Corporation was our 
MCO from  April 22, 1999 until April 23, 2003.  For injuries 
arising before April 22, 1999, our MCO was Intracorp.  Some 
agencies allow employees to select a physician from the MCO 
Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) list.  Some agencies have 
selected specific physicians from the PPO network to treat their 
employee’s workers’ compensation injuries.  If there are no 
physicians contained in the PPO list in your geographic area then 
please contact the Public Employee Claims Division at (501) 371-
2700. 
 
If an employee asks to change physician advise the injured 
employee to call the claims manager handling their claim at the 
Public Employee Claims Division, at (501) 371-2700.   
 
 

PRE-APPROVAL OF MEDICAL TREATMENT 
 
When the agency selects the initial treating physician the employer should 
approve only the initial medical treatment and emergency treatment.  When 
the agency does not participate in the selection of the initial treating 
physician, the agency should not pre-approve medical treatment other than 
emergency care. If a medical provider’s office or pharmacy calls before the 
claim is received by the Public Employee Claims Division, then verify 
whether or not the employee has filed a workers’ compensation claim and 
give them the address to which they send the bills.  Once a claim is opened 
by the Public Employee Claims Division, refer all calls regarding approval 
of medical treatment or prescriptions to the Public Employee Claims 
Division at (501) 371-2700. 



 
 
 
 
FILING INITIAL CLAIMS 
 
When filing an initial claim, the following forms should be faxed 
to the Public Employee Claims Division: 
 
1A-1  
AR-N  
PECD Employee’s Notice of Injury 
Information Requested by Public Employee Claims Division to be   
   Completed by Employer   
Any Employer Incident Forms 
 
If you are unable to get the employee to fill out the forms because 
of the severity of his or her injury or other reasons then please do 
not hold the paperwork more than a day. Send in the Form 1-A1 
and PECD2 Form and get the employee to fill out his or her 
paperwork as soon as possible afterwards.   
 
VERY IMPORTANT:  Make sure that the injured employee is 
given a copy of the front and back of the Form AR-N when he 
or she fills out the form. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORMS 
 
FORM IA-1 (EMPLOYER’S REPORT OF INJURY) 
This form is to be prepared by the personnel responsible for reporting workers’ compensation claims in the 
office in which the injured employee works.  The injured employee does not fill out this form.  The section 
titled “Employer Name & Address Including Zip” should have the agency’s name and central office 
address.  For claims other than the central office please list the office and address in the upper right hand 
corner in the section titled, “EMPLOYER’S LOCATION ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT).”  Failure to fill in 
the different employer’s location will result in all claims being attributed to the central office location and 
may subject the agency to being designated as a hazardous employer. In the section titled “Department or 
Location Where Accident or Illness Exposure Occurred,” list the name of the closest town or city.   
 

FORM AR-N (EMPLOYEE’S NOTICE OF INJURY) 
(Revised January 1, 2002).  This form is to be prepared by the injured employee and signed and dated by 
the Employee.  Personnel other than the injured employee are not to fill out this form unless the employee 
is illiterate.  If the injured employee is illiterate make sure the form is filled out according to the injured 
employee’s version of the facts and have the employee make his or her mark in the signature area.  Give a 
copy of both sides of the completed form to the injured employee.  It is very important that the injured 
employee receive a copy of the back of the AR-N Form because it contains a listing of the injured 
employee’s rights regarding medical treatment. 

 
PECD1 (PECD EMPLOYEE’S REPORT OF INJURY)  
This form which is required by the Public Employee Claims Division of the Arkansas Insurance 
Department is to be prepared, signed and dated by the injured employee.  Personnel other than the injured 
employee are not to fill out this form unless the employee is illiterate.  If the injured employee is illiterate 
make sure the form is filled out according to the injured employee’s version of the facts and have the 
employee make his or her mark in the signature area. 

 
PECD2 (INFORMATION REQUESTED BY PUBLIC 
EMPLOYEE CLAIMS DIVISION TO BE COMPLETED BY 
EMPLOYER  This form is to be filled out by the employer’s representative or supervisor.  If 
there is a question about the legitimacy of the claim then please note that in paragraph 7 and attach 
additional sheets, if necessary. 
 
MEDICAL TRAVEL FORMS 
These forms are to be given to the injured employee to prepare and return to the Public Employee Claims 
Division.  Effective September 1, 2005, the injured employee is entitled to be reimbursed at the rate of 34 
cents per mile for reasonable, and related medical travel of compensable injuries.  The reimbursement rate
from October 1, 2003 to August 31, 2005 was 31 cents per mile.

 
FORM AR-S  (EMPLOYER’S SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT) 
(Formerly the Form AR-E which was replaced effective January 1, 2001). This form is to be prepared by 
the personnel responsible for reporting workers’ compensation claims in the office in which the injured 
employee works.  The injured employee does not fill out this form.  This form is to be filled out and 
returned when there is a change in the injured employee’s work status or if the injured employee dies.  
Failure to promptly fill out this form and send it to the Public Employee Claims Division can result in 
overpayments or underpayments to injured employees.  Please fax this form to the Public Employee Claims 
Division at (501) 371-2733. 
 



FORMS WHICH ARE TO BE POSTED 

 
FORM AR-H 
(Revised January 1, 2001)  The Form AR-H is the Managed Care Notice which is to be posted in a 
conspicuous place.  This form lists the employee’s rights and the Managed Care Organization with which 
we currently have a contract.  Effective April 24, 2003, our Managed Care Organization is 
Systemedic/USABLE.   Corvel was the MCO from April, 1999 to April 23, 2003.  Prior to April, 1999 
Intracorp was the MCO.  If you have a  Form AR-H listing Intracorp or Corvel as the Managed Care 
Organization then replace it immediately with the AR-H listing Systemedic/USABLE. 

 
FORM P  (POSTING NOTICE) 
(Revised April 15, 2002)  The Form P is the standard Workers’ Compensation Notice which is to be posted 
in a conspicuous place.  The Form P should list “Public Employee Claims Division, Arkansas Insurance 
Department, 1200 West Third Street, Suite 201, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201; Phone: (501) 371-2700.  The 
Form P is a double-sided legal size form. 
 
 
 
 
 

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION FORMS PLEASE CONTACT THE 
PUBLIC EMPLOYEE CLAIMS DIVISION AT (501) 371-
2700. 
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