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10-2007 Automobile GR-19 Arkansas Shelter General 

8.      EXPERIENCE RATING PLAN (Cont.) 
  

B.  HABITUAL OFFENDER SURCHARGE 
  

The premiums for Liability, Medical Payments and Collision coverage shall be increased 25% if 
the individual driving record of the rated driver of the automobile includes:  three or more 
violations in the 36 month period immediately proceeding the date of the application. 

  
 The surcharge will be reviewed at each renewal.  If the driving record or any rated driver of the 

automobile includes violations as described above for the 36 month period ending 30 days prior 
to the effective date of the renewal, the surcharge will be continued. 

 
C.  ACCIDENT SURCHARGE 
 

Chargeable Accident Definition 
   (1) New Business 

For accidents occurring on or after October 7, 2007: 
Any accident within 36 months immediately preceding the date of the application involving 
the applicant, all drivers or any other operator residing in the same household which has 
resulted in, or may be expected to result in, payment of $1000 or more in settlement of 
Bodily Injury or Property Damage Liability or, in the event of one car accidents, Collision 
claims. 

 
   For accidents occurring before October 7, 2007: 
   Any accident within 36 months immediately preceding the date of the application involving 

the applicant, all drivers or any other operator residing in the same household which has 
resulted in, or may be expected to result in, payment of $500 or more in settlement of Bodily 
Injury or Property Damage Liability or, in the event of one car accidents, Collision claims. 

 
  (2) Renewal Business 
   For accidents occurring on or after October 7, 2007: 
   Any accident within the 36-month period ending 30 days prior to the effective date of the 

renewal, for which the Company has paid $1000 or more in losses as a result of one 
occurrence under Bodily Injury or Property Damage Liability or, in the event of a one car 
accident, Collision claims, or any other accident which was chargeable under the expiring 
policy if it falls within the same 36 month period. 

   
   For accidents occurring before October 7, 2007: 
   Any accident within the 36-month period ending 30 days prior to the effective date of the 

renewal, for which the Company has paid $500 or more in losses as a result of one 
occurrence under Bodily Injury or Property Damage Liability or, in the event of a one car 
accident, Collision claims, or any other accident which was chargeable under the expiring 
policy if it falls within the same 36 month period. 

 
(3) Exceptions to (1) and (2) above: 

   An accident will not be chargeable if the insured or applicant demonstrates through 
documentation such as a police report or proof of payment by another carrier that the 
accident occurred under any of the following circumstances: 

 
(a) The motor vehicle was lawfully parked. 
(b) The accident was the result of being struck in the rear by another vehicle, and the 

applicant or other operator of the insured vehicle has not been convicted of a moving 
traffic violation in connection with the accident. 

(c) The motor vehicle was damaged by a “hit and run” driver, provided the accident is 
reported to the proper law enforcement agency within 24 hours. 



10-2007 Automobile  GR-20 Arkansas Shelter General  

8.      EXPERIENCE RATING PLAN (Cont.) 
  

C.  ACCIDENT SURCHARGE (Cont.) 
 

(d) The operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was convicted of a moving 
traffic violation and the applicant or other operator of the insured vehicle was not 
convicted of a moving traffic violation in connection with the accident. 

(e) The accident occurred while the applicant or other operator of the insured vehicle was 
operating a vehicle of a type not eligible for this plan. 

(f) The applicant or insured is (1) determined to be 50% or less negligent or (2) if the 
company receives reimbursement regardless of the percentage of the loss that is paid to 
or on behalf of the insured. 

   (g) The accident was as a result of the operation of a motor vehicle in response to an 
emergency if the applicant or other operator of the insured vehicle at the time of the 
accident was responding to a call of duty as a paid or volunteer member of any police or 
fire department, first aid squad, or any other law enforcement agency.   

 
The determination of the appropriate Rating Table, based on the number of chargeable 
accidents, and the relationship between Table 1 (manual premiums) and the other tables are 
shown below:  

 
The premiums for Liability, Medical Payments and Collision coverages shall be subject to 
adjustment by the following Accident Table: 
 

  
Accidents 

Rating Table Factor 

0 1 1.00 
1 2 1.40 
2 3 2.00 
3 4 3.00 

4 or more 5 4.00 
 
 
9. OTHER DISCOUNTS 
 

A. SAFE DRIVER DISCOUNT 
  This discount applies to all private passenger automobiles, as defined in this manual, except 

those written under the Antique or Limited Use Classic Automobile Rule.  This discount also 
applies to vehicles written under the Motor Home Rule. 

 
  A 10% Safe Driver Discount will apply to Shelter General policies: 
 

(1) which have been in force in either Shelter Mutual or Shelter General for at least 36 
months, and 

(2) which have had no chargeable accidents (as defined in the Experience Rating Plan) 
within the 36-month period ending 30 days prior to the effective date of the renewal. 

 
 
 



 

10-2007 Automobile GR-21 Arkansas Shelter General 

9.  OTHER DISCOUNTS (Cont.) 
  
 A.  SAFE DRIVER DISCOUNT (Cont.) 

 
 A 15% Safe Driver Discount will apply to Shelter General policies: 

 
(1) which have been in force in either Shelter Mutual or Shelter General for at least 72 

months, and 
(2) which have had no chargeable accidents (as defined in the Experience Rating Plan) 

within the 72-month period ending 30 days prior to the effective date of renewal. 
 

  This discount will apply to the premiums for Liability, Medical Payments and Collision 
coverages. 

   
  The occurrence of the first chargeable accident under policies receiving either a 10% of 15% 

discount will result in the loss of the discount at the next renewal; however, the accident rating 
table increase that would normally result from the application of the Experience Rating Plan will 
be exempted. 

 
  The first otherwise chargeable accident that occurs after the policy has been in force 9 years will 

be “waived” and will not result in the loss of the 15% Safe Driver Discount.  A subsequent 
chargeable accident within 9 years of the “waived” accident will result in the loss of the discount. 

 
  Policies previously in force with Shelter Mutual or Shelter General that were eligible for either a 

10% or 15% Safe Driver Discount at the expiration date of the policy may be rewritten with the 
same 10% or 15% discount provided: 

 
(1) the policy is rewritten within 36 months, and 
(2) there have been no accidents determined to be the fault of the owner or any operator of 

the vehicle being insured since the expiration of the previous policy. 
 
 

B. PASSIVE RESTRAINT DISCOUNT 
   
  The premium for Medical Payments coverage for a private passenger automobile shall be 

reduced by the following amount provided the automobile is equipped with a factory-installed air 
bag or other passive restraint system that meets Federal safety standards. 

 
 

Passive Restraint System Discount
Air Bag  

(Driver side only) 
20% 

Air Bag 
(Driver and passenger side) 

30% 

Air Bag and Automatic Seat Belts 
(Driver and passenger side) 

40% 

 
 

 C. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE 



10-2007 Automobile  GR-22 Arkansas Shelter General  

9. OTHER DISCOUNTS (Cont.) 
 
 D. COMPANION POLICY DISCOUNT (Cont.) 

      
(1) A 5% discount applies to all private passenger vehicles written with a Shelter “48 Plus” 

rating classification if the named insured on the automobile policy is the named insured on a 
Shelter HO-3, FO-3, HO-5 or HO-6 policy. 

 
(2) A 10% discount applies to all private passenger vehicles written with a Shelter “48 Plus” 

rating classification if: 
 

(a) The named insured on the automobile policy is the named insured on a Shelter HO-
3, FO-3, HO-5 or HO-6 policy, and 

(b) The named insured is the owner or named insured on a qualifying individual life    
insurance policy, which includes all life and annuity products except single premium 
Junior Special policies, non-premium paying annuities with account balances of less 
than $5,000 and structured settlement annuities. 

 
(3) A 5% discount applies to all private passenger vehicles written not qualifying for (1) or (2) 

above if: 
 

(a) The rating classification of the automobile policy meets the definition of private 
passenger auto, and 

(b) The named insured on the automobile policy is the named insured on a Shelter 
Homeowners, Farmowners, Mobile Homeowners, Dwelling Fire or Farm Fire policy, 
and 

(c) The named insured on the automobile policy is the owner or named insured on a 
qualifying individual life insurance policy as described above in (2b) 

 
The maximum allowable discount is 10%.  This discount applies to the premiums for Liability, 
Medical Payments, Collision and Comprehensive coverages. 

 
 E. MOTOR  VEHICLE ACCIDENT PREVENTION COURSE DISCOUNT  
 

The premium for Liability, Medical Payments and Collision coverages for all Private Passenger 
Rate Classes (including T2), Motor Homes and Full Use Classics, for which a driver is 55 years 
of age or older, shall be reduced 10% provided: 

 
(1) The qualifying driver has successfully completed a Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention 

Course, approved by the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles, taught by an approved 
instructor, and 

 
(2) A certificate, or copy thereof, is furnished to the Company signifying the successful 

completion by that driver of the course within the three years prior to the effective date of the 
policy term.  After that time, the course must be repeated if the discount is to be continued. 

 
  This discount will apply only to the vehicle(s) on which the course graduate is listed as a driver.   

 
 F. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE 

 
   

G. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE  
 

 
H. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE 
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Shelter General Insurance Company 08-2007 

SHELTER GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY 

PRIVATE PASSENGER AUTOMOBILE 

ARKANSAS 

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM 
 
 

Synopsis 
 
This filing increases the chargeable accident loss threshold from $500 to $1,000.  There is no 
revenue impact as a result of this filing.   
 

General Rules 
 
The chargeable accident loss threshold has increased from $500 to $1,000 for accidents 
occurring on or after October 7, 2007.  Please refer to manual page GR-19. 
 
   

Editorial Changes 
 
Manual pages GR-20 through GR-22 are included only because the additional text in the 
Chargeable Accident definition has resulted in some text carrying over into these pages 

 
 

Exhibits 
 
Information in support of this filing is set forth in the following exhibits:          

Exhibits 
 
Property and Casualty Transmittal Document PC TD-1 
Rate/Rule Filing Schedule PC RRFS-1 
Rate Filing Abstract RF-1 
 



Effective March 1, 2007 

Property & Casualty Transmittal Document 
 2. Insurance Department Use only 1. Reserved for Insurance 

 Dept. Use Only   a. Date the filing is received:        
  b. Analyst:        
  c. Disposition:        
  d. Date of disposition of the filing:        
  e. Effective date of filing:        
   New Business       
   Renewal Business       
  f. State Filing #:        
  g. SERFF Filing #:        
  h. Subject Codes       

 

3. Group Name Group NAIC # 
 Shelter Insurance Companies 123 

 

4. Company Name(s) Domicile NAIC # FEIN # State # 
Shelter General Insurance Company MO 23361 43-6031499       
                              
                              
                              
                              
                              

 

                              
 

5. Company Tracking Number 03G00207 
 

Contact Info of Filer(s) or Corporate Officer(s)   [include toll-free number] 
6. Name and address  Title Telephone #s FAX # e-mail 

 
Brian Marcks 
 

Coord of 

Ins. Dept. 
573-214-4165 573-446-7317 BCMarcks@Shelter 

Shelterinsurance. 

 
      
 

Affairs             com 

7. Signature of authorized filer  
8. Please print name of authorized filer Brian Marcks 

 

Filing information (see General Instructions for descriptions of these fields) 
9. Type of Insurance (TOI) 19.0 

10. Sub-Type of Insurance (Sub-TOI) 19.0001 
11. State Specific Product code(s)(if 

applicable)[See State Specific Requirements] 
      

12. Company Program Title (Marketing title) Private Passenger Auto - Liability and Physical Damage 
13.  Rate/Loss Cost  Rules  Rates/Rules 
  Forms  Combination Rates/Rules/Forms 
 

Filing Type        

 Withdrawal  Other (give description)        
    

14. Effective Date(s) Requested New: 10-07-2007 Renewal: 10-07-2007 
PC TD-1 pg 1 of 2 



 
Effective March 1, 2007 

 

Property & Casualty Transmittal Document--- 
 
15. Reference Filing?   Yes   No 
16. Reference Organization (if applicable)       
17. Reference Organization # & Title       
18. Company's Date of Filing 8-03-2007 
19. Status of filing in domicile   Not Filed   Pending   Authorized   Disapproved 

 
 
20. This filing transmittal is part of Company Tracking # 03G00207 

 
21. Filing Description [This area can be used in lieu of a cover letter or filing memorandum and is free-form text] 

 

 
This filing increases the chargeable accident loss threshold from $500 to $1,000.  There is no revenue impact as a result 
of this filing. 

 

 
 

22. Filing Fees (Filer must provide check # and fee amount if applicable) 
[If a state requires you to show how you calculated your filing fees, place that calculation below] 

 
 Check #:   1010757  
 Amount:  $25.00  
      

Refer to each state's checklist for additional state specific requirements or instructions on calculating 
fees. 
 
***Refer to each state's checklist for additional state specific requirements (i.e. # of additional copies required, 
other state specific forms, etc.) 
 
PC TD-1 pg 2 of 2 



Effective March 1, 2007 
RATE/RULE FILING SCHEDULE 

(This form must be provided ONLY when making a filing that includes rate-related items such as Rate; Rule; Rate & 
Rule; Reference; Loss Cost; Loss Cost & Rule or Rate, etc.) 

(Do not refer to the body of the filing for the component/exhibit listing, unless allowed by state.) 
1.  This filing transmittal is part of Company Tracking # 03G00207 

   

2. This filing corresponds to form filing number 
(Company tracking number of form filing, if applicable) 

Not Applicable 

 

  Rate Increase   Rate Decrease   Rate Neutral (0%) 
 

3. Filing Method (Prior Approval, File & Use, Flex Band, etc.) File & Use 
4a. Rate Change by Company (As Proposed) 
Company 

Name 
Overall % 
Indicated 
Change 
(when 

applicable) 

Overall 
% Rate 
Impact 

Written 
premium 

change for 
this 

program 

# of 
policyholders 

affected  
for this 

program 

Written 
premium 
for this 

program 

Maximum 
% Change 

(where 
required) 

Minimum 
% Change 

(where 
required) 

                                                
                                                
4b. Rate Change by Company (As Accepted) For State Use Only 
Company 

Name 
Overall % 
Indicated 
Change 
(when 

applicable) 

Overall 
% Rate 
Impact 

Written 
premium 

change for 
this 

program 

# of 
policyholders 

affected  
for this 

program 

Written 
premium 
for this 

program 

Maximum 
% Change 

Minimum 
% Change 

                                                
                                                
 

5.  Overall Rate Information (Complete for Multiple Company Filings only) 
  COMPANY USE STATE USE 
5a. Overall percentage rate indication (when 

applicable) 
            

5b. Overall percentage rate impact for this filing             

5c. Effect of Rate Filing – Written premium change for 
this program 

            

5d. Effect of Rate Filing – Number of policyholders 
affected 

            

 

6. Overall percentage of last rate revision -5.3% 
7. Effective Date of last rate revision 3-22-2007 

8. Filing Method of Last filing 
(Prior Approval, File & Use, Flex Band, etc.) 

File & Use 

 

9. 
Rule # or Page # Submitted  
for Review 

Replacement 
or Withdrawn? 

Previous state 
filing number, 
if required by state 

01 
Manual pages GR-19, GR-20, GR-21 and 
GR-22 

 New 
 Replacement 
 Withdrawn 

      

02 
       New 

 Replacement 
 Withdrawn 

      

03 
       New 

 Replacement 
 Withdrawn 

      

PC RRFS-1 



PC RLC U:LossCostDraft/DataEntry.doc 

 

FORM RF-1 Rate Filing Abstract NAIC LOSS COST DATA ENTRY DOCUMENT 
 
1. This filing transmittal is part of Company Tracking # 03G00207 
   

2. If filing is an adoption of an advisory organization loss cost filing, give 
name of Advisory Organization and Reference/Item Filing Number 

N/A 

   

  Company Name Company NAIC Number 
3. A. Shelter General Insurance Company B. 23361 
   

  Product Coding Matrix Line of Business (i.e., Type of Insurance) Product Coding Matrix Line of Business (i.e., Sub-type of Insurance) 
4. A. 19.1 and 21.1 B. 19.1000 and 21.1000 
 

5.   
    FOR LOSS COSTS ONLY 

(A) 
COVERAGE 

(See Instructions) 

(B) 
Indicated 
% Rate 

Level Change 

(C) 
Requested 

% Rate 
Level Change 

(D) 
 

Expected 
Loss Ratio 

(E) 
Loss Cost 

Modification 
Factor 

(F) 
Selected 

Loss Cost 
Multiplier 

(G) 
Expense 
Constant 

(If Applicable) 

(H) 
Co. Current 
Loss Cost 
Multiplier 

Not Applicable                                           
                                                
                                                
                                                
                                                
                                                
TOTAL OVERALL 
EFFECT 

                                          

   

6. 5 Year History Rate Change History   7. 

Year Policy Count % of 
Change 

Effective 
Date 

State Earned 
Premium 

(000) 

Incurred 
Losses 
(000) 

State Loss 
Ratio 

Countrywide 
Loss Ratio  Expense Constants Selected 

Provisions 

2007 8,882 -5.3 3-22-2007 7,487 4,722 63.1 66.1  A. Total Production Expense 15.7/15.8 
2005 10,875 -3.5 4-17-2005 8,569 5,281 61.6 83.2  B. General Expense 7.3/7.3 
2004 11,887 -0.2 11-19-2003 9,208 5,406 58.7 57.9  C. Taxes, Licenses & Fees 3.0/3.0 
2003 11,845 +1.5 2-27-2003 9,341 5,717 61.2 60.0 
2002 11,493 +8.4 7-10-2002 9,041 6,285 69.5 71.4 

 D. Underwriting Profit 
 & Contingencies 

0.6/4.1 

                                                 E. Other (explain)       
                                                 F. TOTAL 26.6/30.2 

   

8.       Apply Loss Cost Factors to Future filings? (Y or N) 
9.       Estimated Maximum Rate Increase for any Insured (%) Territory (if applicable): Not Applicable  
10.       Estimated Maximum Rate Decrease for any Insured (%) Territory (if applicable): Not applicable  
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