
Arkansas Health Connector Licensing 
 

 

Arkansas Act 1439 requires In-Person Assisters, Navigators, Certified Application Counselors, and Licensed 
Producers to be licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department in order to facilitate enrollment in the 
Health Insurance Marketplace. 

Each assister type must successfully complete the required Federal and State Specific training in order to 
become eligible for licensure. 

Upon successful completion of the required training, the candidate for licensure must submit a completed 
“Health Connector License” application along with a $35 money order and a completed Arkansas State 
Police Form ASP-122 that has been notarized. The attached AID-AHC-HC Application, ASP-122, and money 
order should be mailed to: 

Arkansas Insurance Department 
Attn: Arkansas Health Connector License 

1200 West Third Street 
Little Rock, AR 72201 

 
 

You may also hand carry the application to the Arkansas Insurance Department but the application will not  
be reviewed while you wait. 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2013/2013R/Acts/Act1439.pdf


 

Rev. 11/2012 
 

 
ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

License Division 
1200 WEST THIRD STREET, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201 

PHONE: 501-371-2750; FAX: 501-683-2604 
Website:     www.insurance.arkansas.gov/License/divpage.htm 

 
 

HEALTH CONNECTOR LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

1. a. Applicant must complete the correct application and include the proper fee according to the following chart. A money order 
should be made payable to the “Arkansas Insurance Department.” Application must be printed in ink or typed. 

 
Application Type Licensing Fees Proper Application 

IPA Guide $35.00 AID-HC-Guide(6-13) 
Navigator $35.00 AID-HC-NAV (6-13 

Certified Application Counselor $35.00 AID-HC-CAC (6-13) 
Exchange Producer $35.00 AID-HC-EP (6-13) 

 

b. EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2006: The Arkansas Insurance Department is required to complete Criminal Background 
Checks on all applicants. The applicant must complete the Arkansas State Police Form ASP-122 (located at the end of 
the License Application). You must also attach a money order in the amount of $35.00 made payable to the 
“ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT.” No other form of payment is acceptable. The completed Form ASP- 
122 and money order made payable to the “Arkansas Insurance Department” must be attached to your application 
when you send it to the Arkansas Insurance Department. 

 
c. The name on the ASP-122 must be full legal name and must match the name on the license application. The signature on 

the ASP-122 must be full legal name and must match the signature on the application. The date signed and the date 
notarized must be the same. 

 

d. All completed applications must be sent to the address listed below. You may hand carry the application to the Arkansas 
Insurance Department but the application will not be reviewed while you wait. 

 
Arkansas Insurance Department 

Attn: Arkansas Health Connector License 
1200 West Third Street 
Little Rock, AR 72201 

 
e. If you have a criminal record involving a felony and you are not sure whether your record will keep you from being licensed, 

you can attach a statement that provides a full, complete and detailed statement regarding the circumstances of the situation, 
arrest, and disposition. You must include arrest records, court documentation, and parole records (if parole was ordered). 

 
1. The $35 application fee includes all initial Arkansas licensing fees. The fee is fully earned when the application is processed. 

The application fee is not refundable. If the applicant has held a license in another state, a letter of clearance must be 
submitted with the application if the previous state does not report license information to the National Database. 

 
2. The applicant must be at least 18 years of age or, if not of legal age, minority rights must be removed by a court order and a 

copy of the court order must be forwarded along with the application and fee. 
 

a. Licenses will be issued to applicants who have successfully completed Federal and State Specific training. 

How to complete the License Application: 

1. Since an application is a legal form, certain fields of information are required and must be completed prior to the application 
being processed. If the required information is not disclosed on the application, the application will be returned for completion. 
These instructions illustrate the specific areas of the application that must have responses before the application can be 
processed. If the information is required, the item is marked “a required field,” then you must provide us with this 
information. If you reach a line which is not required and the question does not apply to you, then mark the line “N/A.” We can 
send e-mail notices of important changes to laws and rules that govern your license. 
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2. An application found to be incomplete will be returned for corrections. The corrected application must be returned to the 
Arkansas Insurance Department, Arkansas Health Connector Division within 10 working days. If the application is not 
returned promptly, then a new application will be required. 

 
The application is a legal document; corrections should be made by drawing one line through the incorrect information. Do not 
scratch out the information or use liquid paper. Changes or corrections must be initialed by the applicant showing that the 
applicant made the change. It is not legal for anyone other than the applicant to complete the application or modify it by removing 
or adding information. The applicant is held responsible for all the information on the application. 

 
Illegible applications will be returned since we will be unable to review them. 

 
Important:   If you have a past criminal record, tax lien or other item which would normally require a “yes” answer and you are 

not sure if it has been resolved, sealed, or completed, then we suggest you answer “yes” and provide an explanation, 
with appropriate documentation, if  it is not needed, the Department will disregard the information  and your 
application will be processed more quickly. If a criminal record has been sealed, you should have a document signed 
by a judge which shows the record has been sealed. There is no time limitation on criminal convictions; even if it is 
20 years old, it will still show up on the criminal background search. F a ilu r e t o d isclose r equir ed in for ma t ion on  
t he a pplica t ion ca n ca use t he a p p lica t ion t o b e d eclin ed or ma y b e gr ou n d s t o h ave a licen se r evoked a t a lat er  dat 
e. 
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1. Social Security Number-- a required field 
 

2. State of Residence-- a required field 
 

3. NPN #-- not required 
 

4. Last Name-- a required field 
 

5. First Name-- a required field –THIS MUST BE YOUR LEGAL NAME—NO NICKNAMES. 
 

6. Middle Name-- not required 
 

7. Date of Birth-- a required field 
 

8. Residence/Home Address-- a required field—must be a physical address; cannot be a P.O. Box 
 

9. P.O. Box-- not required but you may complete if you want mail sent to that address 
 

10. City-- a required field 
 

11. State-- a required field 
 

12. Zip-- a required field 
 

13. Foreign Country-- a required field 
 

14. Home phone number-- a required field---you may use cell phone number if you do not have a home phone. 
 

15. Gender-- a required field 
 

16. Are you a Citizen of the United States? --- a required field—If you are not a citizen you need to attach a copy of your 
permit to live and work in the United States. 

 
17. Business name-- not a required field, but you may provide the information if you have a business Name. 

 
18. Business Address-- not a required field 

 
19. P.O. Box-- not a required field 
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20. City-- not a required field 
 

21. State-- not a required field 
 

22. Zip-- not a required field 
 

23. Foreign Country 
 

24. Business Phone Number-- not a required field 
 

25. Business Fax Number-- not a required field 
 

26. Business e-mail Address-- not a required field (e-mail address information should be given so you can receive information 
from the Department. 

 
27. Business Web site Address-- not a required field 

 
28. Applicant’s Mailing Address-- a required field (do not use ‘same as above’ this field must be completed) 

 
29. P.O. Box---not required but complete if mail is to be sent to the P.O. Box 

 
30. City-- a required field 

 
31. State-- a required field 

 
32. Zip-- a required field 

 
33. Foreign Country-- not a required field 

 
34. Assumed Business Name/Trade Name-- not a required field; however should be provided if you will use an assumed 

business name. 
 

35. Residence Information for Last 5 years-- a required field 
 

36. Employment History-- a required field – you must show a full 5 years of employment history, which includes full and 
part-time work, self-employment, military service, unemployment, full-time education. 
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37. Type of License-- a required field 
 

(38a) Have you ever been or are you currently licensed as agent, producer, consultant or broker in Arkansas --- a required 
field. If yes, list the dates and type of license --- a required field 

 
(38b) Have you ever or are currently licensed as agent, producer, etc. in another state? --- a required field 

 
If you have been licensed in another state in the last 5 years, include a clearance letter from the state. A Clearance Letter 
indicates that your resident license in the prior state has been cancelled and you were in “good standing” at the time of 
cancellation. 

 
39. Required Fields –Required Documentation 

 
If you answer any of the questions “yes,” you must attach a statement detailing what occurred and the outcome of 
the occurrence. The application indicates what additional documentation is required with the exception of 39.7 and if 
you answer “yes,” attach a statement regarding the reason for the arrearage, and documentation from Child Support 
Enforcement showing your current status of arrearage. If you have filed a bankruptcy, attach a current and complete 
credit report to your application. 

 
 
 

Page 3 of Application 

Form AID-AHC-HC (Rev. 7/14) 
Page 3 of Instructions 



 
 

40. Required Fields 
 

The application must be dated and signed with your FULL LEGAL NAME---no nickname or printed name. It must be a 
wet signature—not a stamp. 

 
The next line must contain your full legal name—printed or typed 

 
2. Applications should be mailed to: 

 
Arkansas Insurance Department 

Attn: Arkansas Health Connector License 
1200 West Third Street 
Little Rock, AR 72201 
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ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

LICENSE DIVISION 
1200 WEST THIRD STREET, LITTLE ROCK, AR 72201 

PHONE: 501-371-2750; FAX: 501-683-2604 
ARKANSAS HEALTH CONNECTOR LICENSE APPLICATION 

(Please Print or Type) 
 

1   Social Security Number 
 

- - 

2 
State of Residence    

3 

NPN # (optional) 
 

4   Last Name JR./SR. etc 5   First Name 6   Middle Name 7   Date of Birth 

(month)       (day) (year)   

8  Residence/Home Address  (Physical Street) 9    P.O. Box 10 City 11 State 12  Zip Code 13  Foreign Country 

14  Home Phone Number 
( ) - 

15  Gender (Circle One) 
Male Female 

16  Are you a Citizen of the United States? (Check One) 
Yes No (If No, of which country are you a citizen?) 

(If No, you must supply proof of eligibility to work in the U.S.) 
17  Business Entity Name 

18  Business Address (Physical Street) 19   P.O. Box 20 City 21  State 22  Zip Code 23 Foreign Country 

24  Business Phone Number 
( ) - 

25  Business Fax Number 
( ) - 

26   Business E-Mail Address 27   Business  Website Address 

28  Applicant’s Mailing Address 29 P.O. Box 30  City 31   State 32  Zip Code 33 Foreign Country 

34  a. List any other assumed, fictitious, alias, maiden or trade names under which you have done business, are currently doing business or intend to do business. 

Residence Information for Last 5 Years  
35 
From To Street City,                                                         State                                                         Zip     

From To Street City,                                                         State                                                         Zip     

From To Street City,                                                         State                                                         Zip      

From To Street City, State Zip     

 
 
May add additional sheet if needed 

Employment History 
36  Account for all time for the past five years.  Give all employment experience starting with your current employer and working back five years.  Include full and part- 
time work, self-employment, military service, unemployment and full-time education. ( May add additional sheet if needed.) 

 From 
Month Year 

To  
Position Held Month Year 

Name      
City State Foreign Country  

Name      
City State Foreign Country  

Name      
City State Foreign Country  

Name      
City State Foreign Country  

Department Use Only: Date received  Funds Received MO # RS #   
 
Date Processed _   Other    
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Jurisdiction and Type of License Requested 
37  Check the type of license for which you are applying. 

IPA Guide Certified Application Counselor 

Navigato r Exchange Producer 

38 

a. Have you ever been or are you currently licensed as an agent, producer, consultant or broker in Arkansas?    Yes  No    
If Yes, list the dates and the type of license    

 
b. Have you ever been or are you currently licensed as an agent, producer, consultant, broker or adjuster in another state?    Yes No _ 

If Yes, list the dates and the type of license If your state does not report Adjuster information on the 
National Database, attach a current (less than 90 days old) certification from your home state showing you are currently licensed. 

 
Background Information 

39  The Applicant must read the following very carefully and answer every question. All copies of documents must be certified. All written 
statements submitted by the Applicant must include an original signature. 

 
1. Have you ever been convicted of a crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a crime? 

Note: “Crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony or a military offense.  You may exclude misdemeanor traffic citations or convictions 
involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving 
with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses.  “Convicted” includes, but is not limited to, having been found guilty by verdict 
of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contender or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended sentence or   
a fine. 

 
 
 

Yes          No_   

1a. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a 
misdemeanor? Note: You may exclude the following misdemeanor convictions or pending misdemeanor charges – traffic citations, driving 
under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or 
revoked license. 

Yes          No_   

1b. Have you ever been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a felony? 
Note: You may exclude juvenile adjudications offenses where you were adjudicated delinquent in a juvenile court. 
If you have a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of trust, have you applied for written consent to engage in the business of 
insurance as required by 18 USC 1033? N/A _ Yes _ No    

If so, was that waiver granted? (Attach copy of 1033 waiver approved by home state.) N/A _ Yes No    

1c. Have you ever been convicted of a military offense, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with 
committing a military offense? N/A Yes No    

 
If you answer Yes, you must attach to this application: 

a) a written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident, 
b) a certified copy of the charging document, and 
c) a certified copy of the official document which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

Yes          No_   

2. Have you or any business in which you are or were an owner, partner, officer or director, or member or manager of limited liability company, 
ever been involved in an administrative proceeding regarding any professional or occupational license, or registration? 

Yes          No_   

“Involved” means having a license censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated; or, being assessed a fine, a cease and desist 
order, a prohibition order, a compliance order, placed on probation or surrendering a license to resolve an administrative action. 
“Involved” also means being named as a party to an administrative or arbitration proceeding which is related to a professional or 
occupational license. “Involved” also means having a license application denied or the act of withdrawing an application to avoid a 
denial.  You may EXCLUDE terminations due solely to noncompliance with continuing education requirements or failure to pay a 
renewal fee. 

 
If you answer Yes, you must attach to this application: 

a) a written statement identifying the type of license and explaining the circumstances of each incident, 
b) a certified copy of the Notice of Hearing or other document that states the charges and allegations, and 
c) a certified copy of the official document, which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

3. Has any demand been made or judgment rendered against you or any business in which you are or were an owner, partner, officer or director, 
member or manager of limited liability company, for overdue monies by an insurer, insured or producer, or have you ever been subject to a 
bankruptcy proceeding? 

Yes          No_   

If you answer Yes, submit a written statement summarizing the details of the indebtedness and arrangements for repayment, and/or type and 
location of bankruptcy and a current credit report. 

4. Have you been notified by any jurisdiction to which you are applying of any delinquent tax obligation that is not the subject 
of a repayment agreement? 

Yes          No_   

If you answer Yes, identify the jurisdiction(s):    
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5. Are you currently a party to, or have you ever been found liable in, any lawsuit or arbitration proceeding involving allegations of fraud, 
misappropriation or conversion of funds, misrepresentation or breach of fiduciary duty? 

 
 

Yes No_ 

If you answer Yes, you must attach to this application: 
a) a written statement summarizing the details of each incident, 
b) a certified copy of the Petition, Complaint or other document that commenced the lawsuit or arbitration, and 
c) a certified copy of the official document which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

6. Have you or any business in which you are or were an owner, partner, officer or director, or member or manager of limited liability company, 
ever had an insurance agency contract or any other business relationship with an insurance company terminated for any alleged misconduct? 

Yes          No_   

If you answer Yes, you must attach to this application: 
a) a written statement summarizing the details of each incident and explaining why you feel this incident should not prevent you 

from receiving an insurance license, and 
b) certified copies of all relevant documents. 

7. Do you have a child support obligation in arrearage? 
 

If you answer Yes, 
a) by how many months are you in arrearage? 
b) are you currently subject to a repayment agreement? 
c) are you the subject of a child support related subpoena/warrant? 

 
If you answer Yes, provide documentation showing proof of current payments or an approval plan from the appropriate state child 
support agency. 

Yes          No       
 
 

  Months 
Yes          No_     
Yes          No_     

 
Applicants Certification and Attestation 

40    The Applicant must read the following very carefully: 
 

1. I hereby certify that, under penalty of perjury, all of the information submitted in this application and attachments is true and complete.  I am aware that 
submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application is grounds for license revocation or denial of the 
license and may subject me to civil or criminal penalties. 

2. Where required by law, I hereby designate the Commissioner, to be my agent for service of process regarding all insurance matters in the respective 
jurisdiction and agree that service upon the Commissioner or other appropriate party of that jurisdiction is of the same legal force and validity as personal 
service upon myself. 

3. I further certify that I grant permission to the Insurance Commissioner or other appropriate party in each jurisdiction for which this application is made to 
verify information with any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or insurance company. 

4. I further certify that, under penalty of perjury, either a) I have no child-support obligation, or b) I have a child-support obligation and I am currently in 
compliance with that obligation, or c) I have identified my child support obligation arrearage on this application. 

5. I authorize the jurisdictions to give any information concerning me, as permitted by law, to any federal, state or municipal agency, or any other organization 
and I release the jurisdictions and any person acting on their behalf from any and all liability of whatever nature by reason of furnishing such information. 

6. I acknowledge that I understand and will comply with the insurance laws and regulations of the jurisdictions to which I am applying for licensure. 
7. For Non-Resident License Applications, I certify that I am licensed and in good standing in my home state/resident state for the lines of authority requested 

from the non-resident state. 
 
 

  

Month Day Year Original Applicant Signature 
 
 

 

Full Legal Name (Printed or Typed) 

 
 



 

For Resident Applicants only 
 

 
 
 

Full Name: / 
 

First Middle Last Name Maiden/Other 
 

Date of Birth: State of Birth: Race: Sex:   
(Month/Day/Year) 

 

Social Security # : Driver’s License # :  

State 
 

Mailing Address:    
Street City State ZIP 

 
Daytime Phone # : ( )   

 
I GIVE MY CONSENT FOR THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE TO CONDUCT A CRIMINAL RECORD 
SEARCH ON MYSELF AND RELEASE ANY RESULTS TO THE FOLLOWING PERSON OR ENTITY: 

 
Name: ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT_   

(First/MI/Last Name) or Full Name of Agency 
 

Mailing Address: 1200 West Third Street Little Rock AR 72201-1904 
Street City State ZIP 

 

Signature: Date:    
(First/MI/Last Name) (Month/Day/Year) 

 
(NO REQUEST WILL BE PROCESSED WITHOUT A NOTARIZED SIGNATURE) 

 

STATE OF    
§ 

COUNTY OF    
 
 

Subscribed and sworn before me, a Notary Public, in and for the county and state aforesaid, this the 
 

   day of , 20 . 
 
 
 
 
 

 

□ 82001 Civil Record Check 

Notary Public 
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